reviews for: listing #109354 - Madeira Beach, Florida Condo rental

512 - Sunset Chateau
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $94 - $156 /nt
    $595 - $980 /wk
    $2,117 - $3,539 /mth

sort by:

happy vacationer

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

I rented this condo with a few friends and family for a spring break retreat. I have stayed at the sunset condominium before in a different room Irreturned because of the quiet location and great beach! This room was very nice and offered everything we needed. 2 of the beach chairs were broke but they had several others to chose from and the tent they had was missing the canopy and although it would have been nice to have we didn't need it. The itrip staff was very helpful and resolved all issues. I would definitely recommend this vacation spot and plan on returning myself!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

joe and cheryl

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We where very pleased with the location and the view, but the cleanliness and the worn look of the place was not what we expected. It seemed like it could have used a very good updating. Although the place was relatively clean, nothing was cleaned under the sofa or tables. Candy wrappers, snack chips, clothing labels where found in the master bedroom, along with an unused, open comdemn. That sent my wife into panis cleaning mode! I would recommend the building but not that condo.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: There are plans to update the kitchen soon. The cleaning company has been replaced. We have only heard good reviews about the cleaners so we are sorry to hear of your comments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fun at treasure island

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We loved staying at this condo in treasure island! It is exactly what it says and more. The private beach is so close out your door. The dolphin show can be watched everyday from your balcony it was awesome. The owners were easy to work with and answered all our questions. All beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, floatation toys, boogie boards and more were all provided. My teenager boys loved this place. Tons of activities to do, lots of shell and sand dollar collecting. Great beach for walking, running or have lunch at the Caddy. Johns Pass is a fun place to rent activities or just walk around the shops. Safe area and the weather was perfect for Christmas vacation around 83 to 78 degrees. We would strongly recommend this place to stay. We will rent again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place at a great price

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

My family and I spent a week in the condo and were very pleased with the accommodations. The decor is very simple but you don't spend much time in the place because of all the things to do around the area. The pool is small but why use it when the beach is a few steps away!!! The area is quite but still has activity. The complex is very easy to access from anywhere on St. Pete Beach so getting around is very easy. The view at night from the balcony is very relaxing and with nothing blocking your view, it goes on forever!!

The condo does need some "refreshing" as far as the decor and the furniture but it is nothing that you wouldn't expect for this price. They have all the utensils that you need along with items for the beach. The condo was clean and is well maintained. They have on-call maintanence that fixed a towel bar very quickly and without much problem.

I would recommend this condo to anyone that has 4 people in their family. There are plenty of restaurants close by (Dockside Dave's is a must stop!!) and getting around to the other activities is very fast. You do need a car if you stay here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mrs

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Our stay was excellent! Very nice condo with a great view of the gulf!! Hope to be able to get this condo again in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family oriented beach and facility.

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We loved the location. It was quiet and right on the beach!! Room was clean and nice but needs just a little updating. Kitchen was a little small but we didn't cook much so it wasn't a concern. The air in the master bedroom needs a little work because it was a lot warmer in that room. LOVED how close we were to the beach, ocean, and pool. Owner has seating for outside and toys for the kids so we didn't have to bring anything. Inside furniture was nice. Very secluded location and family oriented. Not a lot of young people drinking or causing trouble. Secure elevators that you must have a key to go up after 10:00 so we felt safe. Enjoyed seeing the sea turtle nests below our room and watched for them to hatch.

If/when we go back we would stay in that room again if it was available.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Had a great week with family and friends

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorial Day weekend

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

this is the 3rd unit we have stayed in and, as usual, everything was wonderful. I would have liked more dishes and glass ware for the kitchen. it was a bit sparse. every thing else was very plentiful-- lots of blankets, beach towels and chairs. we had a great time and, certainly, we'll be back. thank you for our fun stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach Trip with my Sisters

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

My sisters from Ohio and I from Alabama rented this condo for a little beach time. The location was ideal! Easy access, private parking, close to local restaurants and John's Passe Shopping. Condo was a 10-15 minute walk to the Publix grocery and Cabby's a local beach restaurant by way of beach or sidewalks on street. The views from the condo were awesome. Would have preferred a private balcony.

The condo itself was a step back in time. Vertical shutters on front windows were broken a bit and did not complete provide privacy from those walking by to their rooms. Felt like I was staying at a great-great grandma's place that had not been updated. Kitchen appliance and size were adequate, but there was a general lack of enough kitchen dinnerware, glasses and utensils for eating and cooking. Everything was so old and cruddy, that if we darned use it, we washed it first. Very disappointing!!

Unit appeared clean enough, including the 2 full bathrooms. Beds were comfortable and had fresh linens, There were fresh linens in bath and beach towels were all nice to use. The one lounge chair that was available to use on beach was broken and the rest of the outdoor chairs were not beach chairs, which we would have preferred. All were old. We opted for a blanket on the beach.

The condo seemed to be a haven for friendly retired couples. It was nice and quiet, except for the fire alarm that went off in the complex one night.

Overall, I was glad we only stayed 3 nights and only had 3 people in our party. Just a little clean up of old kitchen "stuff" and updating of the decor would go a long way.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Spring Break 2013 at Sunset Chateau

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunset Chateau! The view was amazing from our 5th floor condo. We kept the windows open at night so we could sleep to the ocean sounds! We loved the convenience of having the unit so close to the beach. We felt very comfortable allowing our kids to go back and forth from the beach/pool to the condo on the elevator by themselves. We love the Treasure Island area and plan to come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing, friendly and great location - perfect!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely, gulf-front condo with outstanding views! We were lulled to sleep each night with the sounds of waves and soothing breezes. The condo was on the 5th floor and had a great balcony to sit on and watch the sunsets each night. The residents and guests were both friendly and quiet. We swam daily in the heated pool and walked for miles on the soft sand beach. Caddy's on the beach is a short walk to the north and had drinks and a variety of burgers, fish and salads. The condo was very clean and spacious and stocked well with all the items we needed. As other guests have noted, the decor is dated but the pictures showed this and we found everything comfortable and meeting our needs. This is a perfect place to go if you are looking to relax and to enjoy the Florida gulf. I would suggest you bring beach chairs but beach towels are provided. There is a Publix grocery store close by and several restaurants to choose from. We loved Sweet Sage for breakfast. The condo has nice picnic tables and grills on the beach. Our deposit was refunded promptly and the manager of this property was prompt in answering and questions. Perfect vacation! Pam

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME STAY - HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Upon arrival the condo was clean and stocked with all of the necessities and then some. The furniture was clean and comfortable. This is a prime location for the view, it was absolutely breathtaking and the neighborhood is excellent. It was quiet but just a block or 2 away are fantastic restaurant/bars. Anything we wanted to do away from the beach was all within a reasonable driving distance. The photos in the listing is exactly what you see when you get there. No deceptions at all which has been typical for our previous renting trips. The property is very clean and clean and very well maintained, the beach including picnic tables, bbq grills and the pool were all clean every day.

We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a beach vacation. The communication you receive from iTrip will be excellent and was above any of our expectations.

We visited several but highly recommend these food places:
Caddy's Waterfront (excellent unique dishes)
Salty Rim (our absolute favorite)
Sea Hag (excellent Grouper)

We also recommend the Dolphin Experience - We booked it from John's Pass but it left the Gulf Port Marina. We seen so many Dolphins plus it stops on the Island for 3 hours where we had lunch (self packed) and collected sea shells and took photos. The water was a bit cold for snorkeling this time of year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great! Thank you and we appreciate your kind review. We enjoy hearing about all the Florida fun our guest have!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

nor'coaster

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Our stay at #512 had everything we needed and was very clean. The condo has older furniture but was very comfortable and relaxed. It was perfect for spending the day at the beach and relaxing afterward with a meal cooked at "home". No change machine for the laundry room so bring quarters if you're gonna need to do a load or two. Basically a good experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, long weekend

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

We immensely enjoyed our stay. Sunset Beach is lovely, and Sunset Chateau offers great access to the beach and terrific views. I would recommend this unit to family and friends, as it is a good value and had plenty of room for 4 people.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

512

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

This was our first time to the Gulf area. The condo was in a great spot and the water was perfect. If we ever come back would have no problem staying in this condo again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easter at Sunset Chateau

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

I took my elderly parents on a mini vacation to the Gulf for Easter weekend. The Sunset Chateau is in a beautiful location, right on the Gulf of Mexico - beautiful sunsets. We stayed in Unit 512, which is very spacious, but VERY outdated. The bathroom throw carpets are filthy and moldy. Although, the rest of the unit was very clean. I only stayed a few days, not sure if I could visit for a longer period, I would want something a bit more updated. Nice pool and property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review