reviews for: listing #109419 - Aliomanu Bay, Hawaii House rental

Waters Edge, Fantistic New Beach home,4bd,3Ba,
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $485 - $699 /nt
    $3,398 - $4,893 /wk
    $11,000 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful and Relaxing

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

We just returned from Mikes Kauai beach home. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We planned on doing a lot of sight seeing, but just kind of hung around the home and explored the beaches there. We enjoyed swimming each day in the back yard, saw a beached monk seal and almost daily saw several blow spouts of whales in the distance.
The home is comfy and had everything we needed.
Thanks for everything.
Carolee

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Words cannot say enough!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

Words really cannot say enough about this house! We arrived late at night and were wowed with the home the moment we arrived...BUT in the morning, we were awakened to the most spectacular sunrise I have ever witnessed.
This home has it all, location, location, location...it was so close to the beach that we could smell the pleasant sea every day.
The pictures really don't do the home justice, it is by far the cleanest, roomiest, fun home we have ever rented in our vast vacation experience.
Mike was super easy to work with and guided us to several areas of the island that would be over looked by us rookies.
Sheila is the most pleasant house keeper I have ever met. She takes great pride in her cleaning/housekeeping skills...Kudos to Mike and her.
Anyway, be sure to find the farmers market, they have such fresh, pleasant foods, and fruits....try the apple bananas.
Go bike riding along the beach...you can rent bikes for $7.50 for 2 hours.
Anyway, thanks for the great time..we are bringing our entire family back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Property

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

We stayed from Jan 5-17, 2014. The best review we can give is to say we'd go back in a heartbeat. We've stayed in Anahola several times and this home is by far the best kept and appointed we've rented. Four adults stayed comfortably with room to spare. Very quite area with mostly locals around. The Owner/Mike was very accommodating to all our requests. Mahalo Mike for sharing your ocean home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

I have been going to the islands since a kid in 1969 and this home is a dream. Just my wife and her friend so way too much room. My mother in law lives in Lihue and she and my wife's father had a home on Aliomanu which you can walk to. The resident white duck is an interesting addition and obviously had been fed by prior visitors so it took a day for him to calm down when we wouldn't. A wonderful place which we will go back to. We usually go to Maui Kapalua to a place on the beach but this place us more than equal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a dream

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

I have been coming to the islands since I was a kid in 1969 and this place was perfect. My mother in law lives in Lihue and she and my wife's father had a house on Aliomanu so we are familiar with the area. What a nice home large and a perfect location for us away from tourists and hotels. The resident duck was an interesting addition since I believe with prior parties they were feeding him and he expected us to do the same which we didn't so he was irritated for the first day. The beach was so unihabited and peaceful which is what we were looking for. We usually go to Maui at a place in Kapalua on the water but we will obviously will go back to this wonderful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in a beautful location

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days with a group of 10 ranging in age from 7 to 67. All had a great time and were sorry to leave. It is a big, well appointed house and Sheila the housekeeper does a great job in making sure it is all ready for you.
Anahola is a quiet, local area so if you are wanting busy resorts this is not the place for you to stay. If you want a friendly location with quiet beautiful beaches right outside your door this is the one. Kauai is not a big island so you can easily make it to other places to explore anywhere on the island and be home in your own quiet paradise to sleep.
I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Property!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We spent 7/3 - 7/11 at this home, and loved every minute! The new home was in perfect shape and well furnished in each room, including flatscreen TVs throughout. There was nothing missing from the kitchen but food. We loved the house-wide music system where we played Hawaiian music each morning. There was even a closet filled with beach gear, and plenty of beach towels for our use. The location was ideal. First, Anahola is right between the North Shore attractions to the north and the towns and shopping to the south. Second, the home (as you can see from the pictures) is right on the water! Spectacular scenery from every room in the house, and Aliomanu Beach has good swimming and snorkeling for the adventurous. We've stayed in dozens of different rental properties, and this one tops the list!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't have picked a better place!

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

I can't rave enough about my experience with Mike (owner), and this beautiful home. This was a destination wedding for us and Mike was so very helpful in giving me information about the house and surrounding areas. Although we didn't hold the wedding at the house like we orginally planned, we did have the ceremony at the beach just to the north. Having the wedding at the beach had nothing to do with the house though, it was the cost of renting tables and chairs that caused us to change locations. The house was perfect for our needs; 6 adults and 3 younger kids stayed at the house. The younger kids shared the media room, they had a futon and air matress. Although they usually all ended up sleeping together on the futon. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes and extras I haven't found at other rentals (crockpots, eletric griddles, wine and champange glasses) The kids made use of the beach closet frequently, which is filled with sand toys, snorkeling gear and a boogie board. We never ran out of hot water for showers. There is a washing machine and dryer on the main floor. Plenty of space for the 9 of us that we didn't feel like we were on top of each other all week. Sheila the housekeeper is quick to help with any issues as well. We didn't have any issues but she did inform us at checkin that the ipod jack was broken, and she already had a call in to fix it. Wasn't a big deal to us but it was nice to know she and the owners are quick to fix any issues. One of the couples with us was so impressed with the house they are looking to rent Mike's other house for their trip to Kauai in 2014.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation house for 1 to 3 couples - plus extra room for the kids. You won't want to leave.

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

This was our third vacation on Aliomanu Beach - first in this house. We've met and made friends with several of the full time residents there so it feels like going home for a visit.

You can't go wrong here. It feels like a new place (it is) - and the finish out is fantastic (unlike a lot of rentals). We had the pleasure of meeting Mike and Carol Ann (the owners) while we were there - as well as Luis and Eddie (the builders) as they were working on a remodel of the house next door. All great folks. I can't leave personal info on this site - but Mike has my contact info he can share if you want a personal review.

Basics - every room is large, bedrooms are separated, more bathrooms than you can use (it was just the two of us this trip), fully appointed kitchen (quality pots/pans/tableware), tv's everywhere. Lady Deborah was even happy with the linens - we seemed to have needed to buy 'better' sheets in several places we have stayed before - but the quality was indicative of everything in the house.

The lagoon on this stretch of the beach is great for snorkeling - you can watch whales breaching from the yard (or even better from upstairs); we've seen rays and dolphins in the lagoon - as well as turtles and monk seals.

The house is behind the sea wall - but there are steps down to the beach. Actually, we were a bit concerned before arriving we couldn't walk directly out on the beach - but ended up liking the arrangement better. Pulling the lawn chairs up to the wall to sit and enjoy the view and sounds was great -the extra elevation helped in whale watching - and added a bit of privacy.

I could go on, but guess I'll just sum up by saying we will definitely be returning! (probably with the kids/grand-kids). Seems two weeks there wasn't enough......

D&d

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great spot on a secluded part of Kauai

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

We intentionally sought out a place on the ocean and in a quieter part of the island, and this place delivered on both fronts. Is still a short drive out to the north part of the island, though (30 mins to Hanalei Bay), and even closer to Kapaa (10 mins). The house is very clean, with a fully equipped kitchen, laundry and ample TVs throughout. Lots of room for lounging about both inside and outside the home, and the three bedrooms are spacious as well. This house had everything we needed, if not more, and the photos provide a good view of what you can expect. Mike was also very responsive on those few occasions where I had questions.

The beach is right off the back yard and easily accessed by just a few stairs. The only thing that would have made this a perfect location would have been calmer winds, but being here during the winter months, the trade winds from the east blow often. That said, the waves break offshore, leaving relatively calm waters hitting the beachfront so was still fine for our kids to play down at the water (though you do need to walk 30-40 yards down the beach to lay out some towels). We were told by several locals that the east part of Kauai has the most beautiful beaches during the summer months, and I could easily see that being the case. Still, we had a great time during our stay and would definitely recommend the place to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Gorgeous NEW home; relaxing, picturesque, quiet private area

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Me, spouse & 2 year old have stayed in Anahola several times over the years & prefer it due to it's calm beaches & privacy. It is only 7-8 miles to downtown Kapaa.
The house is brand spanking new & feels like it, all new appliances, dishes, bedding, etc,. kitchen & bathrooms are gorgeous, it was great. House has separate powerful ice cold A/C unit in each room which was appreciated a couple of days in the afternoon when the heat peaked.
The photo's don't capture how unbelievably close to the ocean you are, we were standing on the edge of the lawn & could feel spray from the ocean. We took a walk on the beach every morn & eve & it was absolutely priceless. The water was calm enough overall that I would consider it kid friendly, there is a cove on each side within walking distance (1-3 min walk) that you can choose from.
House had beach chairs & pails/shovels, etc, that came in handy.
Loved the TV's set up to stream Netflix! A lot of other bells & whistles we didn't have time to enjoy
There is a Whalers General Store at the top of your street (1 mile) that is open early & closes late & has most things you need - same center is the famous Ono Char Burger stand that we ate at most days - tip: instead of standing in line 10 min, call ahead your order & pick up.
Working with the owner Michael was fantastic, he is pleasant & informative.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review