reviews for: listing #109420 - Laguna Beach, California Cottage rental

Blessing Cottage at the Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Laguna Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Adorable Cottage, Amazing Location!

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Blessing Cottage was our home away from home for 3 weeks, and we enjoyed every bit of our stay! The cottage was very clean, had comfortable furnishings, fully stocked kitchen, and breathtaking garden and patio for entertaining. The cottage had a great vintage retro feel! Our favorites were the herb garden and avocado tree, seriously…. a spectacular garden and front yard! We loved the outside shower too, as this came in handy when walking back from the beach (yes, it really is walking distance to the beach) and washing off our sandy feet, and our sandy little boys! Our boys couldn't get enough of Thalia Beach, probably one of the nicest in Laguna. The cottage came equipped with plenty of sand toys, umbrella strollers, and also a crib for our littlest. Anything we needed, Debra supplied! Her friend, Peter, who came to pick up the trash cans and roll them out to the curb for trash pick-up day, was also very sweet and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend part of our winter! The location is the best, and we highly recommend all the restaurants, cafes, and boutiques right off of PCH and Thalia…… you get a real local surfer vibe versus the touristy one in downtown Laguna. We have traveled to many exotic places, and hands-down, Laguna Beach is one of the most beautiful places in the world. Cannot wait to return next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love at First Sight

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The moment we walked in we were charmed. The cottage is warm and inviting. My Grandson walked in and said "I want live here" and when we would return from the beach he would call it "Home sweet beach home."

The veranda was by far our favorite place to hang out after a busy day at the beach. The beach, restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance. Just park your car and enjoy Laguna. I hope we can return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Our third time & as charmed as the first

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

How did we let 4 yrs lapse since our last stay?! The moment we arrived we were home...the garden out back was as lovely and fragrant as ever, the kitchen was immaculate (I love that incredible O'Keefe and Merriitt classic range with the griddle), & fluffy towels & sumptuous linens were as stellar as before. The location is perfect...easy strolls to those unbeatable beaches, a much improved Ralph's grocery, fine restaurants and coffee houses and one of a kind shops. You cannot find anything comparable in Laguna Beach for the price...the loving care and attention to detail is unsurpassed. The listing is accurate, if a bit understated. The photos do not reveal how large the gardens and patio are...the front yard's grass and huge airy tree invite one to lie down in the soft grass observing the neighborhood. Sylvia, the cleaning angel, makes the cottage sparkly clean. The gardener showers love and kindness on the gardens and yard. The owners are so easy to communicate with...their local contact Sue is there at a moments notice. I recommend this to all my friends and relatives. Don't miss the Saphire Laguna restaurant for something special. The Stand, a Laguna institution, just block down Thalia from the cottage, has glorious juices, smoothies, salads, fruit, yummy waffles, baked food treats...eat under their tree. Penguin Cafe is a great "greasy spoon " for a superb omelette or luscious French toast, the beaches have amazing tide pools, huge stretches of immaculate sand for long walks, the surfers are fun to watch, the bodyboarding is fun for all. The sunsets will amaze you. Barbecuing in the back garden with the sparkly patio lights on is fine dining in my book.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Blessing Cottage is a perfect getaway.

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blessing Cottage in Laguna Beach!!! It is such a beautiful cottage and the backyard is awesome!!! When the weather is warm, you just want to spend your time on the back patio and enjoy the beauty!. My husband kept saying – You did great! – meaning that he loved the place that I had chosen. Staying in this little house made it one of the best trips I’ve had to Laguna Beach. Everything, about the cottage is perfect. The owners have thought of everything, and it was a short walk to most everything – beach, gym, grocery store, restaurants, shops, etc.

I hope to stay at Blessing Cottage again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

FANTASTIC

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The house & gardens were exactly as the pictures show - immaculate and inviting. The owners warm hospitality was appreciated right down to the chilled glasses and wine in the refrig. We were never without a thing in the kitchen, right down to the cheese grater & elec beater. The one and only thing we would change would be for more comfy chairs in the seating area - now would we return? In a heartbeat. Thank you for sharing your great cottage with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Laguna Beach Rental!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This is the perfect house for a delightful vacation! It is very well maintained and extremely comfortable. The owners have created an exceptional environment and the house is well equipped with everything you need to enjoy your time in Laguna Beach. The gardens are lovely and the rear patio is the perfect spot for a relaxing afternoon or outside entertaining. The house is so inviting that I felt more like a houseguest than a tenant. I will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Peak District Party

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We stayed at blessing cottage june 2011. The cottage was a perfect peaceful retreat after spending 10 days in hotels. Our children 6 and 9 loved the cottage and the garden was great for them to run around in and had comfortable beach chairs and toys, togrther with an outside shower, which was perfect for washing sandy bodies. The location was ideal and near to all amenities and supermarkets. We would stay here again and recommend this holiday home as a convenient, clean and comfortable environment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

One Word: FABULOUS

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

I feel terrible that it's taken me this long to write something here regarding this darling cottage. We stayed here this past June (2011) for a week with our two teenagers. From the moment I walked into the house (well really, walked onto the darling back patio) I felt a sense of calm come over me. I had been through a very stressful month with work and my father being in and out of the hospital for most of May and June so I really needed a place to relax. Blessing Cottage WAS THAT PLACE. I can't say enough about it. The house itself is charming as are both the front and back yards and the beautiful patio. We enjoyed meals out there and just relaxing with a glass of wine after a day at the beach. The kids had the front bedroom and my husband and I had the back bedroom. The beds were extremely comfortable (and I have a bad back so I'm picky about beds!) We walked everywhere except for the beach because we went to the main beach and always has a lot of stuff so we drove and parked the car. It's about a five minute drive and then a short walk to the main beach. LOTS of wonderful shopping and excellent restaurants too.

Debra was amazing to work with. I emailed her the morning we were leaving basically to tell her how sad I was to be leaving but also mentioned 2 minor things I thought she would want to know about and within the hour her friend who helps her manage the property was there with a new coffee maker for the next guests. Talk about excellent customer service!

I am already counting the days until I can go back to Blessing Cottage. Thank you again Debra and I'm sorry it took me so long to write you a RAVE REVIEW!

Julie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Blessing at Laguna...

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Our stay at the Blessing Cottage was beyond our expectations! We enjoyed the easy walk to downtown areas of Laguna, the short walk to the beach and the privacy of the little cottage. The outdoor patio off the back of the cottage provides a delightful dining atmosphere for a romantic getaway as well as for a group of friends enjoying an evening together. The library of books and personal touches in the cottage add to the charm, warmth, and "at home" experience of a home away from home. The property is well maintained and I would definitely recommend this to family and friends. Rosie d.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It was Perfect!

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

I was amazed at the beautiful Cottage. It was even better than I had expected. Pristine and full of extras, from beach towels to hang at the outdoor shower, to boogie boards and other beach toys for the kids, to shelves of books for me to choose from. Laguna Beach, downtown Laguna, restaurants and cafes and amazing shopping - all within walking distance. The ocean air, the lush garden, the beautiful blue sky - I can't wait to go back! Thank you for a great vacation, it was perfect!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thank You Blessing Cottage!

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Thank you Blessing Cottage for another great vacation to Laguna Beach! We loved our stay in this amazing beach home. It was so close to everything, the neighborhood is so beautiful! The patio is very romantic, peaceful and where we enjoyed many meals! I love this town and this home! Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Serenity of Blessing Cottage

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

We stayed at Blessing Cottage for two weeks while our home was being painted. We fell in love with the back patio, relaxing under the arbor while enjoying the beautiful garden. We had many enjoyable BBQ's, and were very pleased with the well stocked kitchen. Cooking with the many herbs we found in the garden was a treat.
The property is beautifully maintained, and immaculately clean. The beds are very comfortable with crisp linens and fluffy pillows. Blessing Cottage was a serene and peaceful retreat for us at the end of our hectic days.
We have recommended Blessing Cottage to several of our friends visiting from out of town. They too, have enjoyed staying in this charming, well appointed home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Cottage!

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Very tastefully decorated and furnished with everything we needed. Our family and friends enjoyed dining outside on the patio under the grape arbor overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens. We found the location to be perfect for our family. It was great being within walking distance of the beach and town yet nice to be able to return from our adventures to enjoy the peaceful gardens of Blessing Cottage. This is the sole of old Laguna.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cool Evening Breeze

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Our stay at the Blessing Cottage was outstanding and relaxing. We enjoyed the location - close to great restaurants and the beach. Walked in the neighborhood every morning and found it quiet with minimal traffic. The accommodations are excellent with just enough room for two couples to enjoy good wine, eat appetizers on the back porch and walk to dinner without the hassle of parking a car. The cool evening breeze with the windows open during the late summer was perfect. We have recommended the cottage to several friends and we plan to return very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Blessing Cottage

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

We have stayed at Blessing Cottage several times over the past few years, and especially enjoy the tranquil patio, the garden with its fig and avocado trees, and the meticulous care with which the Cottage is maintained, right down to the artwork, books and music. On each visit, we have only to set down our suitcases, pour a glass of the wine thoughtfully provided in the 'frig, and we are home. Located just three blocks from the beach and less than a ten minute walk from the centre of town, it is a secluded little oasis. Our only problem is leaving.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location with Old Laguna Charm

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

This cottage is a great example of a classic early/mid-century Laguna beach cottage. Cute, sunny, comfortable, well appointed but not fancy, with lovely patio doors opening up to a rear terrace and a small front garden with a white picket fence. Perfect for families with small children or couples entertaining guests. The cottage is far enough from the tourist hubbub of Main Beach to be quiet and serene. But close enough for a quick walk down to a restaurant or shopping. And it's only three short blocks to Thalia Street beach, where southern California beach culture was basically invented in the 1950s and 60s. Surfing, skimboarding, fishing, paddleboarding, snorkling at Crescent bay. All easily accessible. The owners keep the place clean and the outdoor shower is very useful after a day at the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

so lovely & relaxing!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

i love blessing cottage! i've stayed here on several occasions & always look forward to returning. it's a relaxing, fully equipped cottage w/a backyard that provides the perfect spot for reading, barbequeing or enjoying an evening cocktail. the proximity to downtown laguna is grt & it's an easy walk to restaurants, the beach, grocery stores & shops.
the photos are accurate & the property is well-maintained. i would definitely recommend this to friends & family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lazy Hazy Crazy days of summer!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We were yearning for some peace and quiet so we headed to Blessing Cottage. We explored the charming village of Laguna on foot ( be sure to find and eat at Zinc Cafe! ) shopped and went to the beach. As much as we loved the outings, we loved being at "home" at Blessing Cottage the most. Start slow and taper off was the plan for most days and the amazing array of books and music entertained us as we lazed around in the tranquil patio and gardens. The cottage is incredibly clean and the beds are comfy. We have already booked for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax and Rejuvenate

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

If you are looking for a relaxing and tranquil escape, but want to be conveniently located, you can’t find a better place than Blessings Cottage. My family and I have gone two years in a row and are eagerly looking forward to going again this summer. The cottage itself is beautiful, clean, and charming. All amenities are provided, including a chilled bottle of wine waiting for your arrival. From a fully stocked kitchen ready to prepare a gourmet meal, to beach toys for the kids, every detail has been thought of (including wireless internet!). We have gone for weeklong retreats and have been able to enjoy so many new experiences I can’t think of anywhere I would rather go. Conveniently located, Blessings Cottage is only a ten-minute walk from the beach, the market, delicious restaurants and snazzy boutiques. With a short 5-minute drive, we were able to go Bluebird Park and attend a locals “jazz” concert and enjoy a picnic while the kids played on the various slides. Taking a little longer drive (20-minutes) up the coast and we were able to catch the ferry over to Balboa Island, catch a whale watching cruise, ride the Ferris Wheel, do some shopping and be back in time to have a lovely BBQ at the cottage while the kids tried to catch the “ferries” they are sure live in the amazing gardens out back. Take a 45-minute drive and your at Sea World San Diego watching Shamu, the new dolphin shows, learning about and holding live starfishes and sea sponges. Before you know it, you’ve closed the park and have some amazing adventures to share. Best of all, if you just want a down day, you can pop in a movie for the kids and relax with a glass of wine on the patio, play a board game, read a book or just sit and talk. Blessings Cottage has given us some of the most wonderful memories. Not only did we get the escape we needed, we were well rested, and ready to come back to the real world. We can’t wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Property, Busy Street

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

This is a less than positive review, so I do not expect it to be posted. I understand that owners approve
tenant commentary, so the following is passed along for the record only. Blessing Cottage is everything that the VRBO listing indicates, with one notable exception. The owners were terrific to deal with, but misled us on one significant item. I do NOT believe that this was intentional, just quite innaccurate. The property is beautiful, inside and out, and very well maintained. The location is excellent in that you can walk almost everywhere you care to be. However, the cottage is on Thalia Street, and Thalia is a gateway to and from the several neigborhoods in the hills above Laguna Beach. Thousands of vehicles use this street every day. Blessing Cottage is not a "tranqil retreat" from 7am to 9pm. Far from it. Fortunately, however, it is at night. We left 12 days into a 21-day rental. I could only recommend this
property to a friend or family member if, in my judgement, they were already accustomed to fair degree of noise in their regular lives.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Actually we were quite surprised by this review. In the four years we've been renting our cottage these are the first people to comment on noise. There is some street noise in the morning when parents are driving their children to school between 7:30 - 9:00 am. When you are inside the cottage or in the back garden, noise is not an issue. You would be hard pressed to find any location in Laguna Beach, near the ocean that has less noise. The cottage is in a residential neighborhood, it's not near any of the major through town commuter streets.

As any visitor will see our guest book is filled with comments from guests, many who return every year, who adore the cottage. We have no negative comments at ail in our guest book.
My husband and I spend as much time as we can in our cottage, and find the atmosphere tranquil and relaxing. We take a lot of pride in wholeheartedly recommending our cottage to our friends, family and guests.

I'm happy to discuss any concerns.
Sincerely,
Debra

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review