reviews for: listing #109534 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Stunning Hugh Kaptur designed Mid Century Beauty!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $375 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,400 /wk
    $3,300 - $4,600 /mth

sort by:

Spring Break!

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

This home is a great choice for a family gathering. Three Kings and a queen bed made everyone happy with their accommodations. The beds were very comfortable as well. Everything was clean and the decor was true to era of the home. There were even magazines from the 1960's. The photos are an accurate representation of the home and yard. We played crochet in the lawn and used the volleyball court as well. I will say that we had a lot of wind that made it harder to enjoy the outdoors. The pool did not disappoint. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this rental. It is one of the gems of this transitional neighborhood and the owners were helpful with any questions or concerns.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Impeccable and classy

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We loved the beautiful decor, the excellent light, the well-stocked kitchen, and the amazing yard with a great pool, hot tub, and mountain view. Photos do no do it justice. The property is very clean and in excellent condition. It was perfect for our family retreat; the grandparents loved their separate casita, which is attached but apparently soundproof. We also appreciated the responsive and accommodating owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a beautifully appointed and immaculate house!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

My husband and I rented this great, freshly remodeled mid-century beauty over the Thanksgiving weekend for five days. Accompanying us was our daughter and her husband, his mother (visiting from England), and my son who could only joined us for Thanksgiving Day because of work. We cooked and enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving meal for eight of us. (My mom and her husband have their own place in PS but joined us for dinner)
There was more than enough room for all of us at the indoor dinner table plus had it been warmer we could have eaten on the table outdoors under the covered patio.
My only complaint was the weather which was cooler than normal until our last day. It even rained a bit which was so unlike the desert!
It's a small drive into town so make sure that you have a car.
All in all the home is fantastic. The owners were very nice and great with their correspondence and information about the house. We would stay there again. Donna Schuller

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Many Thanks

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

Lisa and Steve,
Many thanks for sharing your beautiful oasis with us. We felt cozy, relaxed and right at home. With a house full of creative women, the mid-century decor was inspiring and fun! A weekend to celebrate a new marriage and to catch up with friends proved to be just what we all needed...we could not have imagined the weekend away any where else. Thank you!!!

Love and Joy, Alicia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

Dear Harding,
We had a wonderful stay at your home. I love the decor. Your house is so comfortable and was perfectly wonderful for our annual girls weekend in P.S. I scored the casita, awesome!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait To Return

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we all had at this fabulous Palm Springs home! Thank you for having us. We can not wait to return. P.S. We are all MCM furniture nerds and we really enjoyed the beautiful pieces through the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Dear Hardings,
Just want to take a moment to thank you guys for allowing us to enjoy a great weekend of sun and fun in your gorgeous home. We look forward to making more memories here soon.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Beds Were Amazing

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Dear Hardings,

Thank you so much for letting us stay here! You did a wonderful job on the house. We loved playing volleyball and lounging by the pool. The beds were amazing! Better than a 5 star hotel :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Time

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Dear Steve and Lisa,
This was our first annual Girls Weekend in Palm Springs and we had THE BEST TIME at your beautiful home. Thank you for the wonderful accommodations - we will be back next year...can't wait! The house is so much fun and just perfect!

All the Best,
U of A Alumn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgetable

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Dear Hardings, You made our stay unforgettable. No only will we look forward to our next visit, but will recommend this house to others. And you have impeccable taste.

Sincerely,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

What a wonderful place to reunite with friends! Thank you for sharing your awesome home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to a return visit! All the best from Canada!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Fabulous, Georgeous and beautiful! Your home is the nicest rental I have ever stayed in. The Decor is amazing and all the supplies...crazy. All we needed to bring was ourselves and clothes. We came to celebrate my daughter's 16th Birthday and it was truly a dream. We will deffinately be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What Can We Say Beyond WOW!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

We all had a fantastic time and felt like we were in the home of our dreams. The decor was Fabulous, the pool was relaxing, and the beds were super comfy. Thank you for this oasis in the sun and we look forward to coming back soon. Cheers!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Great home. Big backyard. Decor very vintage, looks way nicer in person than in the photos. The home was a perfect place for my closest friends and I to celebrate a birthday. We all were very comfortable. Would rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Palm Springs Beauty

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

I came here for a girls weekend, four of us total. We all let out an excited scream when we opened the door to this mid-century beauty. This home is very comfortable and pretty. I stayed in the casita, perfect for a member of the group that needs more sleep. We would stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Midcentury Oasis

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

This home is truly amazing, as soon as you walk in the door, you feel like you are in the 60's but everything is new. We were are amazed by the detai and magnificent choice of colors. Each room is tastefully done in vibrant colors, the kitchen is a dream to work in, the background is truly an escape with a new pool, spa and sand volleyball court. What more could you ask for we never had to leave this place had everything you wanted and more and it was recently redone so everything is brand new. Its a great home for a girls weekend which is what we used it for or a family get away and its close to downtown Palm Springs. We will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome House at Fantastic Rates

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We came to Palm Springs for a girls' getaway and this house could not have been more enjoyable. It's a true Mid-Century modern house and the owner has really taken it to a whole new level. Beautiful fixtures throughout the house, fabulous colors, all the amenities of home, period furniture with a modern twist, and the artwork is fantastic! The pool is so amazing and the grounds are inviting. If you want to getaway and truly enjoy yourself, stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

There is no way you won't LOVE this house

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My husband and I invited our adult children (27 & 25) and their partners to spend a weekend with us. We also brought our small dog.
I had never rented a private house before and I was a bit nervous. Would the place actually look as good as the pictures? Was my deposit safe? Would our kids like it? My answer was a big yes on all fronts. We all ran from room to room excited about what was ahead for our weekend. Beware though, you will want to go home and replace your mattresses with similar ones from this house. Every bed was first class.
We had plans to do several things while there but found it difficult to leave the house. Everything we needed or wanted was provided for. The owners were terrific. If I had to nitpick about anything I would say I was nervous about using the pool remote but it all worked out fine.
If you want a private location, a newly remodeled home, first class amenities, plenty of room inside and out, located close to all, this is the place. Next time we will stay longer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wife and Kids Loved It!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

House was awesome! Everything was well maintained and easy to use. Perfect place for my family (4) of us. My son aged 8, daughter 10 and wife (not even going to go there with her age!).

Had a great bedroom with a private entrance, I might be tempted to bring my mom next time and stick her there. Spa heater worked great, enough grass space to run around and fun with the volley ball court.

There are water toys, soccer ball, volley ball provided (in the garage). Even two bikes if you feel like riding around.

Dishwasher soap, laundry detergent and plenty of condiments provided. Just bring your favorite food and use the outdoor grill. The pool and backyard are bigger in person than the pictures.

Love the flow of the tile from inside to outside. But most importantly the beds, man slept like babies. The owners get the importance of comfortable beds and linen. Our family stays at Westin properties when we travel, and the main reason for me is the heavenly beds. Nothing like great nights sleep away from home.

This is the third different house we have stayed in when visiting Palm Springs, but I think we have found our "repeat" location. My family and I are spending time in Europe and Maui this summer or we would have already planned another visit to this oasis in the desert.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

mid century mod home

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

This home offers a wonderful base for a palm springs vacation. Private and quiet, yet close to amenities,downtown and attractions such as the tram and waterpark. The home itself is impeccably kept and well appointed -- and the mid century decor is whimsical and fun to live in...indoor to outdoor area was very functional and spacious, easy for two families of four to comfortably enjoy the space without being on top of one another. The house has lots of natural light and a covered outdoor space that is protected from the sun for any especially hot desert days. The yard is huge, pool a decent size and the beach volley ball court an added bonus. Especially important to me -- good beds with decent linens! I often yearn for my own bed on vacation, but everyone rested well in this house. We experienced just one minor issue while staying, but the owners were very responsive in taking care of it. I would recommend this house as a vacation rental...we hope to return to it again soon in the not too distant future. Leslie & Ron

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mid Century Amazing

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

My wife, friends and dog (8 & a dog total) had an absolute blast at the house. I can easily say that the rental exceeded all of our expectations.

Our friends arrived before us and the second we walked through the door, everyone was cheering with excitement about how awesome the house was. Amenities were state of the art, the decor was straight out of a Shulman photograph, and the entire home was spotlessly clean and more comfortable than the nearby Viceroy Hotel. My wife actually wants to know what kind of mattress was in the detached poolhouse because it was so comfortable! We've decided to upgrade our own bed after our stay here.

Management was friendly, easy to coordinate with, and overall a pleasure to talk to. I could not recommend this place more highly. I'm a little worried about giving them such a rave review in fear that the house will be booked for the next time we want to rent it out!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Mid-Century Modern Gem

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

I think I may have been the first person to book this property after its complete, head-to-toe renovation, and at the time it didn't have any reviews, so I admit I was a bit hesitant. Even though the description and the photos made it look like the right choice for me, the lack of any information from fellow travelers at first gave me pause. My fears proved to be unwarranted.

As soon as my boyfriend and I stepped into the house, I think I may have actually said "wow." The place is a real beauty. Bigger and nicer than the pictures suggest (even though they suggest a very nice place). Immaculately clean, with the right mix of mid-century design and modern convenience. We both lamented that we hadn't rented the house for longer! As we waited for our friends to arrive, we debated whether or not to take the beautiful master bedroom with the enormous en suite bath, or the separate and wonderfully appointed casita. In the end we chose the casita, but you really cannot go wrong with any of the (4) bedrooms. The kitchen that opened up to the dining room was almost perfect for all the cooking that we did (though it lacked a dish drying rack and some of the knives were dull), and the living room area with surround sound was a great place to just hang out (we did, however, have to buy an adapter from Radio Shack to play our iPhones through the nice but somewhat dated stereo).

And then there's the backyard. Enormous, pristine, with a lovely pool and hot tub and barbecue (and a sand volleyball court!) that was completely walled off and secure, which was terrific for our dog to safely gallivant around (she particularly liked to lie on the warm sand). It does get a little windy in that area of Palm Springs, but we took full advantage of the yard, hot-tubbing each night (the hot tub heats up quickly, the pool, not so much) and having a barbecue (with delicious meat from a nearby Mexican carniceria) one evening. Though we did leave the house to go on a hike and have lunch downtown, we mainly stayed in, it was almost too nice to leave.

I'd recommend the house without hesitation, and if we're back in Palm Springs will try and stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

This is an amazing home you will be amazed at the interior and the incredible backyard. How wonderful to rent a home that has been completely restored and is truly a midcentury beauty. The house is very spacious with large bedrooms and an outside casita that opens to the patio. The kitchen is perfect for cooking and entertaining your guests at the Danish modern table that seats 8! The back yard is huge, a brand new pool and spa with a sand volley ball court. There are plenty of chairs on the patio and lounges by the pool to relax. We had the best time playing volleyball when we were tired of swimming in the pool or relaxing in the inviting spa. This house is immaculate and has all the amenities you need!

This location is close to down town Palm Springs and is truly an oasis you may never want to leave and then again the Tram is just up the road if you want a breath taking view of the city. We will be back to stay at this beautiful midcentury home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Viva Mid-Century Modern!

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

This beautifully renovated mid-century modern home is in a perfect location to enjoy scenic mountains leading up to the airel tramway and close to Palm Springs proper. Everything about this home says, "Welcome."

The property is clean and well-maintained, the decor is up-beat and pleasing to the eye, and it has all of the amenities needed to make the stay enjoyable.

We rented this property to create a fun venue for a group of six friends from different areas in California to re-connect. We played tennis and golf, went shopping downtown and to the outlets, and experienced the airel tramway ride. Our final activity was a day at the property cooking food, relaxing in the backyard around a gorgeous pool/jacuzzi, and watching the Super Bowl. It was absolutely perfect!

I will definitely recommend this place to others and would like to plan a return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be back for sure!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

What a treat it was to be the first ones to experience this incredible remodeled home. We were transported back in time, with a modern twist. You can immediately tell that great care was taken to make this home a picture-perfect oasis. The pics actually don't do the place justice. This place is incredible. There is such a happy spirited vibe in this home it just makes you smile. Eveyone had so much room to spread out and do their thing. The lot is so large and the view of the mountains is awesome. The road just outside the neighborhood takes you right up to the tram which is such a "must do" every time we visit Palm Springs. We'll come back in a heartbeat. I highly recommend it and the owners are awesome too and want everyone to have a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review