reviews for: listing #109552 - Alajuela, Costa Rica House rental

Rainforest Vacation Rental, Lake Arenal, Costa Rica
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $145 /nt
    $875 - $1,015 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Wake up to the Magical Sound of Howler Monkeys

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

Wake up to the magical sound of howling monkeys and the view of.. A truly unique rental, very cozy and well appointed, in a very secluded location (4WD essential!), right in the middle of the Costa Rican jungle, with wonderful views of the lake and the arenal volcano! We were a family of 5 (3 adult children), and spent 4 nights here during our Christmas vacation to Costa Rica. Service by property manager was superb.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfection!

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

My husband and two daughters, ages 6 and 11, are here at hacienda encantada now. We are already sad to leave even thought we have another day to stay! The pictures on the website to can't show how amazing this place is. Our host and concierge, nancy, and her husband z, were very helpful and guided us to the house upon arrival. Nancy also arranged for a horseback ride with a wonderful ranch owner in the area named lilander. He was awesome! His stables a called stables appaloosa and his horses are so well taken care of. He took us on a 4 hour adventure through pristine rainforest to a waterfall that was cool to see. The hacienda itself is beautiful. It is completely secluded but feels very secure. The house functions wonderfully. There are a couple little tricks since the house is off the grid, such as using appliances one at a time and working with the hot water. The windows all screened for bug defense. There is a cell phone provided to give us instant access to nancy if we need help with anything. That is a nice touch! We can't wait to return to hacienda encantada. It is a magical place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful House with Beautiful Views

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

We stayed at Hacienda Encantada 2 nights with another couple, but wish we had stayed longer; it was such a pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed the house. We stayed at 3 other properties while in Costa Rica, and we were most impressed with Hacienda Encantada. It was very clean, amply stocked, tastefully furnished; and perfect for our needs. Nancy & Z made themselves very available & were quite helpful with tips & suggestions. The house was very clean & everything was in good working condition. We could not have asked for a more perfect setting, and we could not have enjoyed it more.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful House and Beautiful Area

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

We can't express how much we enjoyed this wonderful little cottage in paradise. We were three adults and two young kids (3 and 6 years old). The kids spent half the time playing in the hammock and the other half just running circles around the outside of the cottage. We all made the trip down the steps to the river, journeyed into the little town, barbequed and just enjoyed the sheer beauty of the nature surrounding us! The WiFi worked great and there were loads of DVDs to keep the kids entertained at night. We wouldn't blink about giving this delightful gem of a home the highest rating. Oh - and we even got a tip on free hot springs which saved us a chunk of change! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! PS - Please do heed the advice about the 4x4... the trip up to this paradise is a steep & tricky one!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Sits a Top a Steep Rocky Hill

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We can't express how much we enjoyed this wonderful little cottage in paradise. We were three adults and two young kids (3 and 6 years old). The kids spent half the time playing in the hammock and the other half just running circles around the outside of the cottage. We all made the trip down the steps to the river, journeyed into the little town, barbequed and just enjoyed the sheer beauty of the nature surrounding us! The WiFi worked great and there were loads of DVDs to keep the kids entertained at night. We wouldn't blink about giving this delightful gem of a home the highest rating. Oh - and we even got a tip on free hot springs which saved us a chunk of change! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! PS - Please do heed the advice about the 4x4... the trip up to this paradise is a steep & tricky one!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW! Hacienda Encantada far exceeded our expectati

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

If it was possible to give this home 7 stars, I would! Truly this is a remarkable little home. I cannot say enough great things about Hacienda Encantada. Everything on the listing is accurate and up to date, the photos do not do the place justice, and it is very close to nearby attractions. Nancy, the property manager, was amazing (as well as her husband Z). She organized and booked our zip-line tour, guided jungle tour, our lovely horseback ride with Appaloosa Stables to a local private waterfall, and also recommended Ecothermales (the hot springs near Arenal that everyone should visit). The cell phone available to those who stayed was such a help as Nancy and Z didn't mind us calling to have them answer questions. I felt like I was staying at a 5 star resort with the accommodations and assistance from everyone involved. Also eating at Pizza John is a must! He makes you feel quite at home. To top things off, the place was clean and well stocked which is important for us! Thank you, Nita, Nancy and Z, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May not be paradise but you can see it from here!

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

FANTASTIC week at the Hacienda Encantada. This little casita is a wonderful respite from the adventures of the day. If you have ever wondered what it would be like to own your own little piece of paradise, without sharing with any neighbors, you can try it out here. The Arenal volcano is huge and dominates the surrounding country. The Hacienda Encantada is certainly not the only place to enjoy a volcano view but it is surprising how many high end properties enjoy either no view at all or a severely compromised view. Not the case here. Located on the top of a ridge with clear sight lines from many places on the property (including the outdoor hammocks), the volcano will "knock your socks off" when the clouds lift, which is quite often. Lake Arenal is huge and is almost always visible. dominating the scenery in another direction. The property description talks about a few little "quirks." The only "quirk" that was really noticeable to me was the benefit of renting a 4-wheel drive. That was a small price to pay for an abode on the edge of the bush. And I do mean the edge. When you step off the cultivated property on the volcano side, you are immediately engulfed by the cloud forest! Don't miss the little nature trail down to the pool at the bottom of the ravine for a great little soak after the days activities or a few quiet early morning reflections before taking off for the day. If being immersed in nature is one of the reasons you are coming to Costa Rica, this place will not disappoint. I really did hear howler monkeys almost every day from the Hacienda Encantada and the toucans made several visits during my week long stay. They were visible with the naked eye but binoculars really made their colors pop. Of course, there are always other birds around, singing and flitting from tree to tree. The Arenal area of Costa Rica is a popular tourist destination so you will have your choice of things to do, whether that involves the nearby Sky Tram, zip-lining through the cloud forest, horse back rides, nature walks, ATVing, dining out, eating at the local digs, nature excursions, etc. Just don't pack your schedule so full that you don't leave yourself a little down time. There won't be many times in your life that you will be able to live Robinson Crusoe-like in the jungle, but with the amenities of home. Take advantage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review