reviews for: listing #109588 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Pacific Monarch Penthouse
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $910 - $910 /wk
    $3,600 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

A great location with amazing views.

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our nine days in apartment 3204. Being on the top floor, with only the recreation room above, it was very quiet. Everything that we needed was supplied including beach towels and beach chairs. A compact studio but well set out and while the balcony is very narrow, you can open up the sliding doors and invite the outside in. We appreciated the air conditioning because with a wall of windows and thin curtains, it got hot in the afternoon. The air conditioner kept it at a comfortable temperature. The leather reclining couch was very comfortable and we enjoyed the large flat screen TV with cable connected. The free Wi Fi worked well and the fridge with the cold water and ice dispenser was brilliant. While the Pacific Monarch is looking a bit tired, the apartment certainly isn't and the location is perfect for accessing the beach and all of the Waikiki down town attractions, shopping and eating establishments. A full supermarket is within a five minute walk and this supplied plenty of beautiful fresh fruit as well as all our other grocery supplies. There were only two minor issues that we encountered; the mattress was too soft and so we turned it over to the firmer side (which was perfect)and the curtains are thin and don't touch the floor resulting in the apartment becoming light as soon as the sun rises - once again it didn't bother us but you might need a sleep mask if you need a darkened room. We would certainly stay in this apartment again because we thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, the views and the location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place in a great location.

Review submitted: July 26, 2014   Date of arrival: July 15, 2014

This rental property was a great location. It was a very short walk to the beach and located just across the street from the bus station. Right across the street is a great little shop for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The price there for breakfast is cheaper than most places in Waikiki. They do have a pool right above the unit but why would you go to the pool when the beach is only a short 5 minute walk. The only cons I can think of is that there is no gym so I paid for a weekly membership at 24 hour fitness which was expensive. The parking in the building is managed by another company and the cost of that is $25 a day. I think they close the gate after a certain time because I've seen the gate in the down position during the later hours in the evening. Overall, the price of the unit is much better compared to the hotels in the area and Julia response time was quick whenever I had questions. We had a great time during our stay in Oahu. Thank you Julia.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful island vacation

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

The property was within perfect walking distance to the beach and attractions!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Suite and an Incredible Value

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first few nights of honeymoon and first trip to Hawaii and could not have been happier. The room was extremely clean and modern, with great views of the mountains, ocean and Waikiki. Check in and out was also very easy and quick even when we arrived late our first day.

For some reason this unit seems to be flying under the radar in terms of reviews, but we could not have been happier - especially with the great price and prime location. It'll be a tight fit for more than two people, but it's a perfect amount of space for a couple.

Protip: Eat breakfast at the great little Korean place across the street and park a very short walk up the street at the Waikiki Banyan - the lot at the Monarch was small and difficult to navigate during our visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PRIME LOCATION HIDDEN GEM!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We had an amazing time in hawaii and julia's penthouse was great! It was quite small but plenty had of room for the two of us, plus why would you spend all the time in your room haha? The bathroom and kitchen where both newly renovated which was lovely and the listing photo's are very accurate. The location is amazing right in the middle of Waikiki but being higher up you don't hear that much noise. The condo was very clean and well maintained. So close to the beach and the cheesecake factory which is great! Would totally recommend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well-Maintained Condo in the Heart of Waikiki

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cute condo. Julia was extremely helpful and emailed us very explicit directions regarding; what to expect and the check in/out process. Unit in the building is quiet and the view was incredible!!! Lovely amenities: comfortable bed and couch, wifi in the room, beautiful bathroom and kitchen, etc.!! It was nice being within walking distance of everything in Waikiki and we did rent a car to explore the other attractions on the island (parking was hassle-free). One thing that made us nervous was how easily the room card keys demagnetized. You MUST keep them away from everything!!! Other than that, we highly recommend you stay in this fabulous condo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rent Waikiki Fabulous

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

Julia's penthouse was indeed everything she described. An adorable apartment in the sky overlooking downtown Honolulu, mountains, and glorious views of the cerulean ocean. Conveniently located to everything you could possibly want to do/ see/experience-this condo is but a block away from pristine beaches, restaurants and activity depots. Friday nights are a bonus if you choose to sit on the lanai and watch the fireworks. There are fantastic beach chairs for your use and beach towels are provided. You will not need a car. A short walk to public bus stop gets you to Hanauma Bay, the North Shore, Pearl Harbor, Diamondhead, etc. The unit is blissfully peaceful and insulated from hallway or other units' noise. If you need privacy this is your place since you can see the world but the world cannot see you. Pack lightly. There are laundry facilities in the building. The view from the rooftop pool is exquisite and if you like meeting new people from faraway lands the pool will serve you well. Julia was extremely responsive when I demagnitized my key the day I arrived. This unit could not have been more perfect and was certainly key to one of the dream vacations on our bucket list.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great location and stay in Waikiki

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful penthouse at the Pacific Monarch. The room and hotel were lovely and clean, with great staff that were very helpful. The views from our room were simply breathtaking! The room was very bright and airy, was very accurately depicted in the listing, and had everything we needed, and was very comfortable. We simply loved the location, with the beach being only a block away and in close proximity to many great stores, restaurants and coffee shops. The owner was very helpful and answered all our questions. We would definitely recommend this property, and would love to come here again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful condo!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

This was a super awesome condo. I loved it. We were the first to stay here, so there were only a few minor issues, but nothing to stop me from coming back here again! The owner was available to address any of our issues and questions, which made it great. The view from the patio was amazing. You could even watch the Friday night fireworks show from it if you don't make it down to the area in time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review