reviews for: listing #10961 - San Francisco, California Apartment rental

Cottage Gate
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Castro/Upper Market
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $120 /nt
    $805 - $805 /wk
    $3,200 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Adorable place on a high hill

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

This is an adorable place just outside of the Castro area. The room was well-kept and thoughtfully prepared for our arrival. Jim graciously greeted us and left a nice selection of breakfast pastries, fruits, juices, and yogurt for us.

The neighborhood was very quiet, but the house was incredibly convenient to get to the Castro Street Muni station (about a 5-10 min. walk) and other transit. There are lots of great little restaurants and coffee houses in the neighborhood as well.

The only warning I have for folks is that the place is atop a very steep hill. If you plan on walking to/from the place regularly, make sure you bring good walking shoes. If mobility (or heights) isn't an issue for you, I'd definitely recommend the place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Cottage - we loved it.

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

We loved staying here. Jim was so kind to let us leave our luggage early on the day we moved in. We stayed for 4 nights but would have stayed longer but it was booked up. Book early! We really liked staying at the Castro, but you will need to walk to the muni to take the 5-10 min subway to downtown. Beware of the hills, you must be able to walk uphill! We got the 7 day muni pass and went everywhere by public transport. The Castro is not downtown.
The Cottage is VERY clean & tidy & Jim takes care of everything. As noted previously, the home owner is right next door, so this is NOT a "party" property.
I would HIGHLY recommend the cottage to any couple seeking out a neighborhood of SF and a great deal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute Cottage Near Castro

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Jim and his son Matt were quite responsive and helpful in the coordination and booking of the cottage for our vacation. The rental is essentially a private section of a cottage house on a quiet residential street near the Castro district. Just a 5 minute walk to Castro Street with lots of restaurants, cafes, and bars. Plus, the Muni train station is very accessible!

The rental was clean, cozy, and comfortable. Inclusion of some basic bathroom amenities are a nice touch as well as breakfast food (bagels, yogurt) in the fridge were pleasant and quite helpful for busy mornings. When we were there in May, it was a bit cool in the evenings and the space heater was definitely needed for just before bedtime and occasionally in the mornings. Sometime there was a feel of slightly less privacy as it is an apartment within the house (as opposed to a completely separate property), but never to any detriment. Just worth mentioning.

Very pleasant and easy working with Jim and Matt and would recommend for anyone seeking a quiet home base from which to take public transit to the city's attractions; or even just a more relaxed getaway in the Castro area.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Empfehlenswert / ruhig

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Wir haben zwei Wochen im Cottage Gate verbracht und uns wie Zuhause gefühlt. Der Kühlschrank wurde gefüllt, die Wohnung war sehr sauber, die Handtücher schön flauschig, und das viktorianische Haus liegt sehr ruhig in einem gepflegten Wohngebiet, am Hang.
Die Wohnung ist sehr zu empfehlen. Die Anbindung an öffentliche Verkehrsmittel ist gut, ein Auto braucht man nicht. Man ist in 45 min in der Innenstadt oder - in entgegengesetzter Richtung - am Pacific Beach.
Empfehlenswert: zu Fuss vom Haus auf die Twin Peaks gehen oder in den Buena Vista Park (dort Blick auf die Golden Gate). Und abends in Castro ausgehen, inkl. einem Kinobesuch im Castro Theatre und Essen im Harvey's.
Und unbedingt die Historic Streetcars nehmen, um in die Stadt zu fahren!

Die Wohnung ist für Touristen zu empfehlen ebenso wie für Business Traveller.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy and Perfect !!!

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

The place was absolutely perfect. We were there for 6 days and did not want to come home. The owner is very nice and left us with everything you would need to know as a visitor to the city. The neighborhood is quiet which is nice when on vacation. We did not have a car and it was not needed, only a block from bus stop and a couple from popular Castro/Market street.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

impeccable!!!Perfect !!!!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

Nous avons passé 6 nuits dans ce joli studio à San Francisco tres bien placé, tout à côté de Castro Street !! L'endroit est TRES calme et PROPRE et nous avons toujours pu garer notre voiture sans problèmes !! Jim nous a bien accueilli et nous nous sommes de suite senti chez nous !! Juste un bémol, si vous voulez cuisiner il n'y a pas de plaque de cuisson prévue dans la cuisine équipée !! C'est dommage !! Mais il y a non loin du studio un supermarché pour trouver votre bonheur ! Nous y reviendons !! Thank you Jim & Diane and take care!! ;-))
Nicolas et Bruno from NICE, FRANCE !!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Vacation

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Cottage. They also provided fruit,and other foods to eat on the first day. They provided good customer service. The owners gave us directions of places to see, good dining areas, . . . We would recommend this property to a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

Description and photos of property were very accurate. To our surprise, owner stocked the kitchen and fridge with enough breakfast goodies for our whole (4-day) stay, including fresh pastries. Good location for walking to Castro St. and 24th St. shopping areas. Very quiet neighborhood, though seriously hilly. Close to Market St. trolley line which takes you downtown and to Fisherman's Wharf. We didn't have a car and you won't need one, as long as you love walking. Owner, Jim, is very nice; sadly, his wife is in hospice at the moment. Would highly recommend property for couple who likes to walk/use public transit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Quiet, clean, lovely

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My husband and I were pleased to find this perfect studio for two. We arrived to a warm welcome and were amazed to find a very generous stock of supplies in the kitchen, including coffee, yogurts, milk, fruit, pastries, and even homemade jam! All the kitchen appliances are easy to use and seem new. The bathroom is small but very very clean. The towels are plentiful and good quality. The bathroom is supplied with a good variety of bath needs. The bed was very comfortable, with excellent quality linens, plenty of blankets and pillows. We were pleased with wireless service. The tv is small, but adequate. We parked on the street right in front of the place. Then we left our car and walked the neighborhood, finding charming places to eat and relax. There was no noise except the occasional car on the street, but we hardly noticed. We hope Cottage Gate will be available the next time we want to spend some time in the city.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place, Lovely Owners

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

My parter and I arrived to San Francisco on the firsts days of the year looking for a place to live. We stay with a friend for a week, and then we had no place to go. I send a email to the Jim and Diane late at night and I receive a call from Jim first thing next day, we move in the same day and stay on the cottage for about a month.

The place is small, but fine for two people, specially if you are on vacations, and just want to use it to rest. The cottage is close to Castro, and that's always fun, from there you can go almost everywhere.

Jim and Diane are really nice people, they help us to take our first steps in the city, and I'm very thankful. I even use the cleaning sponges Diane recommend me :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lovely property,lovely owners.Strongly recommended

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

My daughter and I enjoyed a lot our time in this suite. The owners, Jim and Diane are extremely nice and they are always on duty for their tenants.
The studio is exactly as the photos and is perfectly clean and complete.
The linen is absolutely new and fresh, the gadgets in the kitchen are new and very, very clean and the bed is perfect.
The whole studio is extremely organized for two people and tidy.
We will return in the future and we'll recommed the property!!
Thanks a lot Jim and Diane !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review