reviews for: listing #109733 - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina House rental

Make Your Family Vacation Plans Now
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Lakes
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $400 /nt
    $600 - $2,700 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

We have a wonderful time at the beach and the owner's were very helpful with knowledge of the area. Very clean house and will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Beach House

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

We had a great time at this beach house. We have rented several houses at Ocean Lakes and this was one of my favorites. I could sit on the deck and watch the dolphins jumping in the ocean. Also, I greatly appreciated the ability to bring my dog with me. He is a member of the family too!

The house was clean and very spacious. Both the owner and property manager were excellent to work with. I hope to rent from them again. We had a great week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Love hearing that you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to having you again as our guest!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Roach motel

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

The photos accurately reflected the house and décor and our initial impressions were that the house was fine. There was toothpaste smeared on the bathroom wall and the floor in the kitchen and eating area was sticky.

On day one we saw three roaches and one palmetto bug in the house. It went downhill from there. We saw multiple roaches EVERY day. We brought our own Keurig coffee maker, and my mother found a roach in the pod holder on morning.

After the first day and so many bugs, we decided that we would not cook in the house because we felt like everything was dirty. We actually debated leaving a couple of days early but stuck it out since we don't get that many vacations. I couldn't wait to get out of there. We actually started taking pictures of the roaches.

One of the nice things was that we were able to take our dogs. The owner charged us a cleaning fee since there was dog hair on the floor. I hope they cleaned some of the roaches out! Gross!

Owners response: It is unfortunate that this guest had this experience but we were not notifed by the guest that they saw a roach in the house until 4 days after arrival. I asked if it was ok if we had our pest control company visit the house the next day but they did not want to because of their dogs. I am personally in the house every week and did not see any roaches nor did any past guest report a problem. South Carolina is known for the palmetto bugs and unfortunately we can not get rid of these pesky bugs. The house was sprayed by our professional pest control company that Saturday but even they did not see evidence of roaches. The departure cleaning fee was taken from their deposit because there was an excessive amount of dog hair throughout the house which means that they did not follow the departure cleaning checklist at check out time nor did they pay for a departure cleaning in advance. We welcome all guests to bring their four legged family members but do not clean up after them for free.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful House!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We had a great time at this beach house! 4 teenagers and 3 adults... they had their space and we had ours! We would definitely rent this house again! Especially since we were able to bring our dog! So convenient to walk to the beach too. I thought the owners were super nice and available when we had a small problem with the stove. My only suggestion would be to replace the master bed- its really hard and sorta of noisy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: So glad that you had a great vacation and we wil be taking your suggestion and replacing the bed. Thanks for letting us know! Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun at the Beach House - 1530!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We had a great week at #1530 Beach House. It was our first time in Myrtle Beach and I know we lucked out with the weather, so it just made it more enjoyable. The house is very well equipped with lots of room for everyone. 10 min. walk to the beach and short drive with cart or car to pool etc. Ocean lakes is a very well maintained, clean, fun park with lots of amenities. Note that the outdoor pool was not yet open, but they had just opened the kiddie pool. The indoor pool is also super! Myrtle Beach is by far the nicest beach we have ever been too. All in all - fabulous vacation and the beach house made it perfect.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our Favorite House at Ocean Lakes

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

This is our favorite house at Ocean Lakes. It's wonderful to walk out the door and in just a few steps you are on the beach. After returning from the beach, we love sitting on the deck with a cool drink. Too relaxed to leave, makes grilling out a lot of fun. The home It is always fresh and clean when we arrive. It is very open with lots of room for the whole family. We can't wait for our next visit. Thanks Ted and Linda!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A relaxing get away!! Great location

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in this beach house quite a few times over the last several years and have never been disappointed. It is well stocked with everything we need to enjoy a relaxing stay. You can sit on the deck in the mornings or evenings and look out over the ocean - what more would you want. Not only is the house wonderful but the owners are as well. They are very nice people and have always been accommodating. I would highly recommend this beach house to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Stay away from the owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

We were a group of six people lived at this property (the last 6 pictures are correct. The other ones are of a different property. So don't get fooled.). We lived here for 3 nights. We paid a cleaning deposit upfront on top of the full rent for 3 nights. It looked as if the house was not cleaned for months when we checked in. There were leaves every where in the garage, patio and the stairs. When we entered the house, we saw a dead cockroach under the dining table. I have lived in several different vacation rental houses on entire east coast. This was definitely one of the least clean house I have lived in. There was no internet. The golf carts were locked as if we would steal them. There was no air in the bikes. We could still live with all these. But here is the worst part. After the check out, they charged us 75% for the cleaning fee. On inquiry, we were told that the house was not cleaned as per the departure check list. How much more dirty six people can make an already somewhat dirty house in 3 days particularly when they remained out half of the time and the other half comprised of sleeping time? They said that their cleaning standards are higher than others. If that was true, we wouldn't have seen the leaves all around and the dead insects. This was just an excuse that the owners used to steal additional money from the tenants. This bad review is more for the owners than the house. The property itself is not bad. The location is safe for the families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The house was fully cleaned prior to this guests arrival. Renter contacted me 3 times during their stay, once to tell me they arrived and everything looked great, the two other times were for recommendations for activities around the area. NOT ONCE did this guests mention that there was anything wrong with the house, especially that "it looked as if the house was not cleaned for months". If this were true, the first call from the guest would have been that they were totally not happy and the house was not clean. ONE very important fact this renter left out -- they called me on their departure date and wanted to know if they could stay past the normal check out time 10am, I told them no problem they could stay as late as 5 pm since I did not have anyone checking in the house. If the house were that dirty, why would they want to stay another day????
The bikes are not for our guests to use unless they arrange it prior to arrival and the golf carts are ALWAYS locked up. This is a disgruntled renter who decided not to clean the house AT ALL prior to departure and just thought he would get free maid service.

We take a lot of pride in all of our houses and it is too bad he decided to lie in his review.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Chris, Playa Del Rey, California

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Coming from California, it is hard to rely on pictures and descriptions, but the ones about this house were perfect! It was a wonderful and comfortable house with really nice furnishings and a terrific view. We enjoyed our entire stay. Having breakfast on the porch while looking at the ocean every morning was so awesome! Ocean Lakes is a great place to stay - you have everything you need and the people are very friendly. We traveled into Charleston one day which was an easy drive and it was so nice to come home to this house. The owners are such nice people and are so willing to make your stay fantastic! I would most definitely recommend this property - it was so clean and well maintained. I am looking forward to going back again another time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sad to be back in Illinois

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We had a great time at the beach last week, Linda was very friendly and a joy to deal with. The house was great and as close to the beach as listed. It is a little smaller then it appears in the photos as far as the living area but again we were there for the beach not the inside living space. Ocean Lakes is perfect for teenagers with all the activities and social gatherings, the kids were out late without any worry of anything happening to them due to the amount of security around,. Overall the house was perfect for its purpose and we will definitely recommend it to friends and family, we will be going back to Ocean Lakes again,

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

This house was perfect! Had a great time! Owners were nice and honest people. Would definately go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review