reviews for: listing #109940 - Brush Creek Forest, Ohio House rental

"The Sanctuary" of Brush Creek Forest
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $169 - $189 /nt
    $950 - $1,000 /wk
    $2,999 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

A relaxing place to unwind and just enjoy the woods.

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 6, 2014

We stayed at the Brush Creek Cabin for two nights in mid-May, 2014 and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. This cabin lived up to all of our expectations. It was comfortable, immaculate, well stocked with supplies, linens, nice-to-have items such as coffee and popcorn, etc., etc. The location is so beautiful that I could feel myself unwinding as I sat on the deck and watched the trees swaying in the breeze, and listened to the birds and spring peepers. We simply loved our stay. It is near to great hiking and historic sites, such as the Great Serpent Mound, but we couldn't tear ourselves away from the deck and the beautiful trees. We'll have to see those things next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much, we also fell in love with this place.. what a spot!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A++ for a "Girls Getaway Weekend"!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

We have been doing a girls weekend away for the past 6 years and the "Sanctuary" is now on the top of our list of awesome places! The property is very private and the owners provivde nearly everything but your food!

The house and surrounding area is beautiful! We loved the sanctuary!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Christmas Gathering

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

This spacious home with a well-equipped kitchen was the perfect gathering spot for us to connect with our married children coming from eastern Kentucky, central PA and the Cinncinnati area. There was plenty of sleeping and comfy relaxing space! The secluded wooded location allowed us to enjoy a family hike as well! We had a great time together and will likely return. Our son-in-law will be keeping this place in mind for some hunting group stays as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Great! We're so glad to hear you had a good time. We're happy we could provide a good place for your family Christmas gathering, and hope to see you in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Evelyn

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

The home was just a described; beautifully decorated, clean and secluded in a lovely setting.The photos were just as we found it to be. Everything was clean an in good working order. The owners were very helpful in giving us directions to the home and suggestions on activities and destinations in the area. I would most definitely recommend this property to my firiends. We are looking forward to a return visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guys trip

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

We chose The Sanctuary for our annual guys trip. We could not have made a better choice! Last year we rented an expensive cabin in Hocking Hills and thought we were spoiled. As soon as we pulled up the drive to the house it was as if we were back in Hockin Hills only better. Last year we had neighbors all around. The Sanctuary is totally secluded. The house was every bit as nice and clean as our cabin in HH but with tons of extras! They provide just about everything you need to have a great, carefree weekend for an amazing price. The best part is how close they are to Cinci. We caught some of the cleanest catfish we've ever seen out of the pond and enjoyed awesome fires at the huge fire pit area. Honestly could not have asked for a better weekend. After the first night we decided we did not need to look for any other spot for our annual trip. The Sanctuary will be our go to place! Thanks to Lee and Deb for providing such a cool spot to getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seclusion

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The Sanctuary is truly secluded! You're literally in the middle of the forest, it's a lovely setting. We had a wonderful family gathering. Our children, grandchildren , niece and husband joined us a few days at a time from IL, KY, and PA. There was plenty of room for all to spread out.
The house was clean which was greatly appreciated. The kitchen was nicely stocked except for the frying pans which were in very poor condition ,so you probably should bring your own.
The firepit, cornhole game, and wii were enjoyed by all. Our little grandsons were looking forward to playing in the creek and fishing. Unfortunately the creek and pond are seasonal. The picture of the creek that you cross going into the Sanctuary is not the creek on their property. They do have a creek but in Aug. it was very small. The pond also looked to be about half of what the lovely picture on their website showed . A stocked pond seemed almost a guarantee for the kids to catch fish but "not a bite."
There is a lovely area for the children to run around in down by the pond but not near the house. If you have any toddlers or young children just be alerted that the stone driveway and cement patio are around the house and not grass. We had many brush burns, scrapes , cuts, and bruises. Also the stairs to the loft are quite steep so perhaps a baby gate might be useful.
It's a very lovely home in an amazing setting for a fair price. You definitely will not be disappointed if you rent the Sanctuary.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! The Sanctuary really is secluded - not another home in sight. We purchased brand new T-fal frying pans for your next visit. Thanks for keeping us updated.

We know the weather can really put a damper on things but there's nothing you can do about Mother Nature. Children can play on the grass right off the back porch patio, or any of the other grassy areas.

It's a shame you didn't have any bites while fishing, but the next guests caught and released 5 catfish.

Thanks for letting people know they will not be disappointed if they rent The Sanctuary. Thanks, Lee and Deb

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly a Sanctuary

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

This lovely place is as advertised. The home itself was beautiful and could easily accommodate the 10 of us comfortably. I was joined by my sister and brother and their teenage children (we had 7 kids between 13 - 19) and there was plenty to for all age groups. We knew there was plenty to do around the area, but other than running out for a few groceries we never left the house. Between fishing, hiking, horseshoes during the day, and endless games of cornhole on the great patio out back at night, we felt no reason to leave. I strongly suggest going out by the pond late at night as it is in the clearing. You can look up and see an amazing array of stars that you will never know existed in the suburbs. I only wish it wasn't so hot (it was 90's during the week we were there) to take more advantage of the great firepit they set up. Might just have to come back in the fall. If you want a get-a-away for all ages I strongly recommend coming to the Sanctuary. And Lee and Deb are awesome, I had some issues with my initial payment and Lee was beyond patient (thanks again Lee). And for the record, he has a great sense of humor, really had me laughing on the phone and could hardly wait to get my vacation started. Great place, can't go wrong.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

This place was honestly paradise! Everything was clean and exactly how it is described on the website, if not better, many things are updated from the current pictures on here. Lee and Deb were awesome and we are all so thankful we were able to stay in their home. (recommendation:We ate pizza at I believe Hometown Pizza, drove to Cincinnati for a day spent at King's Island amusement park, and took a few hikes in Brush Creek State Forest; remember bug spray!) I would definitely recommend this to any friends and family looking to get away and enjoy time with each other away from everything. It was perfect for a last get together with my friends after graduation and before we all go to college. Out of the 11 of us, there wasn't a complaint. The house was gorgeous and it will hold soo many memories! It was amazing walking outside and hearing how serene it was;all the birds and animals. Absolutely beautiful, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. This was a vacation none of us will forget. Hoping to make this a tradition!

Owners response: Hey Lacey,

Thanks for the great review, Thanks also for noticing the updates. The location really does speaks for itself! Check out the new zip-line over the little Miami River next time.. Now start studying and come back on your break from college.

Best of Luck,
Lee and Debbie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our entire family loved this place!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Our family of 11 just stayed for a wonderful weekend at this rental, we do have one huge regret... that we didn't book it for a week! If you live in Cincinnati, do yourself a favor and book this house. It is incredibly easy to get to from the city and only about an hour and a half away. We had a baby, 2 teenagers, adults and elderly family members in our group and everyone absolutely loved it. Don't worry if it rains, you'll still have plenty to do. The teenagers played the wii system and watched a movie in the downstairs family room when it rained for a couple of hours. The house is clean and very well equipped. EVERYTHING you need is already in the kitchen but the food. The out door spaces are incredible, the huge fire-pit with chairs was the center of most of our activities. Our elderly family members were able to enjoy a fire on the side patio as well, and they really appreciated the easy access into the house. We hiked, and hiked, and hiked in the woods and saw an unbelievable amount of birds, lizards, frogs, toads, turtles, flowers and an amazing variety of mushrooms and other interesting fungi. Nature lovers like ourselves will not be disappointed.

The house is just as described and better. Plenty of places to be in a group or alone. The owners Deb and Gil gave fantastic customer service, and I would recommend this place to anyone. Part of our group took a trip to Serpent Mound, and we also went to the Keim Family Market to stock up on 'goodies'. Mostly we all enjoyed the isolation and privacy. If you want to relax, this is the place to go.

The only thing I could even consider a negative is that 2 people didn't like their mattresses so much, but I slept on the roll out cot like a baby. People can be very picky about mattresses, if you ask me!

We spent the morning talking about renting the place for a week next time, and my mother said that if she wins the lottery, she's going to make an offer to Deb and Gil because she loved the place that much. We just had a wonderful time. 5 stars from us with no hesitation.

Owners response: We're very glad you had a wonderful time! Our goal is to have a beautiful place that people can go and relax and get away from the stresses of everyday life. We'll be in touch to figure out which mattresses people didn't like and look at replacing them.
Thanks again for booking The Sanctuary! We hope to see you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW! Talk about secluded.

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My women's group takes a trip every year. We try to find a nice house out, away from town where we can relax and not be bothered by the every day. This house totally filled the bill. It may be set in the middle of no where, but it is a beautiful no where. The house was clean when we arrived. The beds were comfortable. Most everything worked for us. (The outside grill didn't have any gas.) All in all it was a great experience. We try to go different places each year, but this house is one we would come back to visit.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We're sorry the gas grill was out of gas! There is an extra tank there and we will switch them out immediately. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and the peace and quiet. We'd love to have you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BETTER THAN A MASSAGE!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

A quick 90 minutes from downtown Cincinnati, the Sanctuary lived up to it's name for a girlfriends getaway. Just riding up the driveway into the woods we felt our cares melting away. The trees surrounding the property were awash in autumn glory. The sunlight dappled through the canopy and we were snug in front of the fire. We each had a freshly cleaned bedroom & a bathroom to ourselves- bliss! Deb & Lee's home made us feel so welcome and at ease, and the reservation process was a breeze. (A relief for working moms!) The absolute quiet was a gift. We all left talking about when we will return; together & with our families in tow. A day at the spa could not have compared to how therapeutic a weekend in the forest at the Sanctuary can be!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Sanctuary was magnificent

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Words cant describe the house and property of The Sanctuary. My family consits of myself,wife and five kids ranging from two thru eighteen and nobody wanted to leave id buy the property in a second. To see the deer,raccons ,wild turkey,and to go fish in your own backyard was amazing. Roasting marsmallows in the three firepits to grilling on the back patio completed every night. I would
Of never guessed this would be in ohio let alone at such a resonable price. Id advise anybody wanting peace in the woods to rent the sanctuary its worth it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad everyone enjoys The Sanctuary so much. When we were told we rated right up there with Gatlinburg, that made us very happy. We love the deer and turkeys also.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect retreat location

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We had a fantastic time. Lee and Deb have made this a great family place. They are the best property owners I have ever rented from. The firepit is amazing. We sat there till one in the morning because we enjoyed it so much. The house was clean when we arrived. The forest next door is great for riding and hiking. Thank you Lee and Deb!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

third timer

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

This was my third time of staying at this cottage/house. Once with couples, once with family and once for a girls getaway. Each time was an extreme pleasure. The solitude, being surrounded by nature and the comfort of the house cannot be beat. The house is very well cared for and each time I returned there were even more improvements inside and out. The owners, too, were a pleasure to work with. I hope to return for a 4th time. PS-The teenagers in the family sought solace and WiFi at the local McDonalds. They have asked about when we were going back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Carol We're glad you enjoyed your time at The Sanctuary. We've improved yet again; we just installed WiFi, so the teenagers in your family won't have to go to McDonald's unless it's for a cheeseburger! We'll be looking forward to seeing you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet, clean, peaceful, beyond our expectations!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

It's tough to know what you are getting when you rent a place based off pictures. This was a last minute getaway to connect with my parents and brother over the holiday. We came with a two year old in tow and we all were sad to go! We could not have been happier with our choice. The house was beautiful, so well maintained and everything we needed was there. It was comfortable and clean and we felt right at home. The location is remote enough for lots of quiet, but there were plenty of local stops and shops to keep us entertained when we felt like venturing out. The owners also made everything easy in terms of payment and rental agreement and answered all of our questions promptly. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We loved your home. So private and restful. We encountered deer and turkeys along with the raccoons. Your home is beautiful. If people are looking for a quiet and restful vacation-this is the place to be. Adams County is a dry county so we did have to travel a little to find a restaurant that served alcohol. Traveled to Cincinnati to watched a Reds game and visit the zoo. Our friends traveled to West Virginia and Kentucky. Glad you had a phone we could use as cell phone use was impossible at the home because of the forest.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Steve and Mary,

Adams County now sells beer and wine only 5 miles away so you won't have to drive far next time! We have free long distance for all our guests, and we have installed free wifi !!!

Thanks again,
Lee and Debbie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

I have stayed here before all by my lonesome during Spring break from college. I liked it so much that I wanted to bring my kids back. The kids first words were, "this is an awesome house Mom!" I said I know ain't it cool?. The seven yr old boy wanted to have our house moved to the property via use of 16 semi's, lol. (I told him it would only take one.) We spent 4 days here and enjoyed every minute of it. From the peaceful porch enjoying my morning coffee to the fire pit in the evening for the kids to make smores. I also had the opportunity to enjoy the stocked pond this time around that was a blast. The kids enjoyed trapsing through the creek and at some point or other we all enjoyed the jacuzzi bathtub. Watching the deer and seeing the kids trying to catch the lizards was also enjoyed. We had everything we needed all provided by the wonderful and friendly owners, Lee and Debbie. I would and have recommended this place to many of my friends. We will definitely be back another time and are looking forward to it, even the kids didn't want to come home. I hope Lee and Debbie many years of success in their endeavor, with all they do to try and make your stay as enjoyable as possible they deserve it. They go above and beyond inorder to accomodate their guests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful home

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This home was very beautiful and so comfortable. My family was so pleased with the accommodations and we had such a good time. The Gibbs are the nicest and most accommodating owners. They prepare you with so much information and the personalized touches make it even more pleasing. Thank you for a wonderful holiday weekend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Awesome place - we will DEFINITELY be back! Private, beautiful, everything you could ask for!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review