reviews for: listing #11008 - Front Royal, Virginia Cottage rental

Carson Mountain Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $160 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

A Memory For All

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Ray & Sherrie - We had an awesome Thanksgiving at the cabin. It was a beautiful setting for our family. The Fall flowers in the cabin made it feel warm and festive. Everyone wrote a 'what they were thankful for' on a leaf and placed it on branches of a pumpkin that was the centerpiece on the table. It will be a memory for all, for years to come. It was a blessed Thanksgiving. It was the celebration of an old fashioned Thanksgiving.

Peace, love & happiness,
Bret & Debbie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fifth Anniversary

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Ray & Sherrie - We loved staying at your cozy cabin. We took you up on all your suggestions - Flint Hill Public House, Chester Gap Cellars and the Sushi [Yamafuji] in Front Royal - and we were not let down. Thanks for making our 5th anniversary one to remember!

Melissa and Elie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful HomeBase

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Ray & Sherrie - Thanks again for providing a wonderful home base for another amazing wine weekend. It's always great to get out of the city for a weekend and your cabin is one of our favorite destinations. Can't wait to see you again soon!

Love,
K & B - Washington, DC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Much Character

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Sherrie & Ray - We just loved our visit with you!! Beautiful cabin with so much character and expression. You both made us feel at home away from home.

Love to both of you,
Mike & Pat
PS: We promise to visit sooner than later. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Four Days of Bliss

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Ray & Sherrie - Four days of bliss from every hidden secret delight, inside the cabin and out. "And what is the use of a book thought Alice without pictures or conversation? - Lewis Carroll - Alice in Wonderland. What is the use of a cabin, we think without someone to fill and occupy with love . . .

XXXXOOOOO
Washington, DC
PS: Jayson has been so inspired, he will email all the pictures he took.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All The Antiques

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Sherrie & Ray - Thank you for letting us share your "little piece of Heaven." We found pleasant serenity in the time we spent here at the cottage. We aooreciate your generous hospitality and enjoyed the delicious birthday cheesecake. The decor was an amazing experience with all the antiques which perfectly fit in the heritage of the area. We enjoyed the magnificent local vineyards and the antique shops in Front Royal. The time at the cottage will be a memory we will never forget. We especially enjoyed the heated floor in the bathroom and, more importantly, the pellet stove I stood by to warm my tush! :)

Thank you so much,
Williamsburg, VA.
PS: We look forward to coming back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond Our Expectations

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

Dear Ray & Sherrie - Thank you so much for your hospitality. It has truly been a pleasure to experience your slice of Heaven in the middle of the forest. You two have been such gracious hosts and the cabin was beyond our expectations. We'd love to come back again and again.

All our love,
Washington,DC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A True vacation

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Ray & Sherrie - As your plaque over the window says - "Home Away From Home" - that's what ir feels like - except so special and a true vacation for us! Thank you for your hospitality and the opportunity to spend time with you both and, especially with my beloved daughter and her husband. We had time to take another walk in the woods but cherished our time just relaxing here on the porch and inside for the cozy comfort it affords. You have thought of everything!

Most fondly,
Isle of Palms, SC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Never Been so WOWED

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

Dear Sherrie & Ray,

Thank you so much for allowing me to stay at your little piece of Heaven in the forest. I traveled a lot, all over the world, stayed in Inns and B&Bs but never been so WOWED. The decor, the furnishings and the overall atmosphere of the cottage and surroundings left me breathless. I certainly will be back and will recommend this wonderful cottage to my friends and co-workers. Take care and God bless you both.

Waynesboro, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Amazing Visit

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

We had another amazing visit at the mountain cottage...starting the new year off with some relaxation and time away from the city. Thank you for sharing this lovely place with us (again!) and thanks for handing out those reflective vests to the deer so we could avoid them on our night drive :) Wishing you and the cottage an excellent 2012!

Washington, DC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Things Feel Familiar

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Thank you both for another lovely retreat to the cottage. Bob and I love that we've now been back enough times that things feel "familiar" the moment we walk thru the door. It was wonderful to "escape" for a couple of days and begin the new year in comfort and solitude, reading and relaxing. It was exactly what we needed and your magical little cottage is the perfect place in which to do it!!

Many thanks for your hospitality and good cheer. We LOVE it here - and look forward to our next visit. Best wishes for a happy, healthy and prosperous 2012!

Harrisburg, Pa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Foggy and Rainy Weekend

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cottage with us. It has been a wonderful place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Thank you for all the special touches - and especially the wine and cake! In spite of a foggy and rainy weekend, we still were able to enjoy ourselves. We did quite a bit of antiquing in town and in Strasburg and enjoyed several good meals out. Thankfully, the fog has lifted this morning so we are heading to Skyline Drive for our final day. We love your place and we look forward to returning soon - hopefully in the sunshine!

Thanks so much for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgettable Time

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

What a wonderful place to spend our first nights as a married couple. We loved being away from everything but having all the comforts (and more) of home. We enjoyed using the outdoor areas and just feeling so relaxed and comfortable. Thank you for an unforgettable time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hidden Gem

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

What an absolutely splendid weekend! We enjoyed ourselves beyond expectations. The cottage is lovely, comfortable, cozy and quiet. We will definitely be back, and will pass the word on this hidden gem!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sweetest Place Possible

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We have had the most wonderful early Spring weekend in your enchanted cottage! This is the coziest, sweetest place possible and you have simply thought of everything that could make a guest feel at home. We had cool days with bright sunshine ~ perfect for a hike up to Compton Peak! We also did our share of antiquing and found some real treasures.

We will always remember our time here...and we hope to return again. We have so enjoyed exploring the cottage grounds, original works of art and collected pieces adorning the walls. I especially love the bits of crystal and colored glass that catch the light as the sun shines in ~ positively magical!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Cottage

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Thank you for sharing this perfect cottage with us! It was an amazing way to start a new year, in a wonderfully decorated, cozy cabin in the mountains. It was great to meet you and I hope we will see you again. We will tell all our friends about this wonderful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin in the Woods

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

One year ago we came to a cabin in the wood,
everything beautiful, magical and good.
A trail outside our door to hike,
easy to reach without car or bike.
This weekend was especially great,
we had our son's graduation to celebrate!
Your hospitality, charm and caring so real,
you are friends we have made, I truly feel.
On to our daughter in Washington, DC.
As the year passes, you, we again hope to see.
Our gratitude, thanks and good cheer abound.
We hope to see you the next time around!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love it - Love it!

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Love it - love it! From the tiny lead figurines to the exquisite lampshades to the detail of the cottage itself, we recognize and appreciate the thought and care you have invested to make this such a cozy and welcoming place to be. We feel so pampered!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slice of Serenity Pie

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

For Sherrie and Ray and guests of this cottage, I am an amateur poet - nonetheless, I pay homage...

Three days and three nights, we spend them in bliss.
Not a single moment considered a miss.
Despite my quick tumble on the first eve,
breathtaking surroundings assured I wouldn't leave.
Birdman Steven Kenny, an avian salute.
The imagery and artistry no one can dispute.
Hello sun and moon as I brush my teeth.
relaxing in the clawfoot, smiling cheek to cheek.
Sun catchers in the windows send sparkles across the floor.
The sparkles piqued my interest - I want more and more and more.
Exquisite storytelling hangings on the wall
to the Appalachian Trail, you can almost hear nature call.
Through the rustling of the leave's enchanting autumnal hues...
breath deep, look up, release those city blues.
Exhilarating passages at the peak of Skyline Drive,
into town for supper and music that was live!
One cannot miss the sunset as seen at Blue Rock Inn.
A glass of local crafted wine, pleasant shivers through my skin.
Sherrie and Ray - what can I say?
"I cannot tell a lie."
Our gratitude is extended to you
for the slice of serenity pie.
From the moment we pulled in
to the moment we pulled out,
I knew we would be back
with that there is no doubt.
Peace.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place to Get Away

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We had a wonderful time. Very relaxing. Weather was wonderful on your mountaintop. We felt a million miles from everywhere. Perfect place to get away from life and make time stand still. Your family is so generous to share this paradise with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Masterpiece

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

What a glorious retreat from the stress of our everyday life. You have created a "masterpiece." We will be back. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Make Me Smile

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Thank you so much for opening your beautiful cottage to us. We felt right at home and were so comfortable all week. Your decorating, paintings, plates, etc. are wonderful. Every day that we were here I saw something new that would make me smile. I especially love the crystals hanging by all of the windows. What a great idea! We had a great time spending this week in this part of Virginia and returning to the cottage in the evening. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. Best wishes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Valentine's Day Getaway

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

Another perfect anniversary/Valentine's Day getaway! Thanks again for your 1st class hospitality. We're already looking forward to 2011. See ya then!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Blissfully Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 25, 2009

From my first email until the day we arrived, I felt I had met kindred spirits. Opening the door to your wonderous cabin, my heart soared. It was like entering a magical little world. This was the perfect, blissfully relaxing getaway for a Floridian couple. Arriving on Christmas day to a Winter wonderland is a delight for us. The hiking was great, the views spectacular but most of all, the cabin was perfect. Your love is evident in all the detail and whimsy that exists here. We could have asked for nothing more. It was a Christmas/33rd anniversary that we will not soon forget. Warmest regards.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

We loved the cabin! A nice home away from home. Thank you for decorating the cabin with so many unique pieces and pictures, and offering more than most cabin rentals do. We hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love This Cottage!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

We absolutely love this cottage! From the moment we walked in the front door, we knew this weekend would be exactly what we wanted - a quiet and romantic get-away! Everything we needed was right here. You stocked the kitchen, provided us with trail maps and even had a Wii! We went on a 10 mile hike, saw several deer and even a bear! The views were spectacular and well worth the hike to get there. We also ventured into Front Royal to see your lovely town. But most of all, our favorite part of the weekend was relaxing in the cottage! It is so beautiful and comfortable, we will definitely be recommending it to our friends. Thank you for being great hosts! We enjoyed the wine and the birthday cake. We hope to come here again someday to celebrate more birthdays.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Escape

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

Thank you so much for such a lovely weekend escape! We loved you cabin and look forward to creating one of our own someday. You are marvelous hosts and it was a much needed escape.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anniversary Getaway

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

We enjoyed our anniversary getaway at your cozy mountain cottage. It was secluded, romantic, the perfect getaway. We visited the Chester Gap (Cellars) winery and enjoyed the company of the owners and left with some of the special wine you left us to celebrate. Enjoyed the breathtaking views of Skyline Drive and the awesome hike through the Appalachian Trails. It was unbelievable to walk up on deer standing in the woods and sneaking away from a snoozing black bear. We enjoyed our long weekend in your beautiful mountain cottage. Look forward to coming back to see you again. We truly considered this our home away from home!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Quiet

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

What a magical place! To wake up in the morning to the perfect quiet and watch the sunbeams dancing through the crystals in the windows and onto the floor! We slept like babies, full of great food and wonderful Champagne. What a treat in the morning to look at all your art treasures and beautiful stained glass lamps while sipping our coffee.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Storybook Cottage

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

What a 'storybook cottage' this is! Such attention to detail with so many personal touches - as beautiful as they are endearing. And a lovely, peaceful location. So charming here and so relaxing! What a lovely place to celebrate our first anniversary! And thank you for the introduction to Chester Gap Vineyards - we paid them a visit to take home a supply! We'd love to return and see the Fall foliage and even a Winter scene - and hope you will let us cook you dinner one evening. Many thanks for sharing your charming and cozy cottage with us. We are happy to meet you and look forward to seeing you again!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin is Beautiful

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2009

Wonderful location. Cabin is beautiful. So much attention to detail with everything. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The recommendation for the Thornton River Grill - that is a very special place. What a meal - thank you! There's lots to love about Virginia!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Again Wonderful!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Again wonderful!!! We love this place!!! As soon as we walk in the door, the ugliness of our working lives disappear and our hearts and souls fill with happiness and relaxation! And it was so nice chatting with you. On our next visit we'll share some wine and some stories. You are warm, giving people. See you soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anniversary Spectacular

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

Thanks for making our 1st anniversary spectacular. The cake and wine were so thoughtful. Just saying "thank you" doesn't seem adequate. The gorgeous cottage and your hospitality made our getaway perfect! But now its back to reality. When we get home, we'll be checking our calendars for next year's visit. We'll see you then!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Weekend

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

What a glorious get-away we have had at your cabin. Thank you so much for sharing this gem with us. We cooked up a storm, ate like royalty, hiked through the snowy Shenandoah, watched the birds, stayed warm by the pellet stove and played Wii until all hours of the night (love Mario Galaxy by the way!). Truly. it was a magicalweekend, and just what we needed. We'll definitely be back! Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

Awesome, awesome, awesome! The area is beautiful, the scenery fantastic! And after walking trails for 4 hours, coming back to the cottage warmed our souls and hearts. We felt so comfortable and the stress of work seemed to disappear. Just a fantastoc experience. Oh - will you help me decorate our new home in Florida? :-) Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

B&B Adventures

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2008

Our future B&B adventures will be measured by your place. We felt so comfortable here, it was hard to leave. The Appalachian Trail and local wineries were great. Thanks for all the hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magnificent Hideaway

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

Here we are again after an entire year has gone by since we discovered this magnificent hideaway. Thank you once again for making the memories special, this one for our 20th anniversary. Our newest discovery this trip "Vintage Ridge Winery" is a must see! Looking forward to the next time, and the next, and the next! Peace always.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Country Character

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

I am so glad to have found your mountain paradise. It is surely a home away from home. Thank you for all the special effort you put into ensuring our weekend would be perfect. The special touches, country character and the abundance of love you have added shines through. You are very wonderful people and I'm grateful to have shared a tiny part of your world.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place to Come

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful cabin. When you welcomed us you said you felt like you lived in paradise and liked to share it with others - and after being here for the weekend I know you meant it! The place is beautiful and warm and we felt at home right away. It was the perfect place to come for a weekend away - we had a fabulous time! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Lovely Cottage

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

Hiking on the scenic Appalachian Trail, visiting the wonderful local wineries and enjoying the delicious local cuisine were capped off by a relaxing evening in your lovely cottage. We truly enjoyed the charming artwork and extra little decorating touches you've placed throughout the cottage. We even found some time to Wii! We look forward to visiting again! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enchanting Whimsy

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

This beautiful cabin is as delightfully entertaining and welcoming as the surrounding park and vistas are beautiful and peaceful. After a day of hiking and wine tasting, we returned to the cabin in time to catch the magical patterns of rainbows dancing across the cabin floors and furniture as the prisms in the windows gently twisted in the breeze. Such attention to detail - from roosters and fairytales to wrought iron leaves throughout - this cottage is filled with enchanting whimsy and original art. We's love to return for a visit in each season! Thank you for a wonderful time; you thought of everything! (The fresh-picked blackberries were perfect topping for our oatmeal!)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hideaway

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

I'm not a writer but when my friend gave us the opportunity to come up to her hideaway with her, we couldn't wait - and we weren't disappointed! You are so warm and welcoming. The tender touches around your beautiful cabin show this. Words cannot describe how comfortable we felt. It was wonderful to meet you and we hope to see you again soon! Take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2008

Thanks so much. Its a great place. Weather was refreshing. Great mountain air. Lots of wildlife on the Skyline Drive. Saw a black bear, seven white tail deer, including young ones and four falcons hovering over the mountain view. Just saw another deer in yard near gazebo! Great stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Enchanted Place

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

We have had a wonderful week here in your lovely cottage. Thank you for thinking of everything to make our stay comfortable. It is an enchanted place to be. Our hikes in the woods will always be remembered. It was fun to try out the local golf courses in Front Royal (the back half is situated along the Shenandoah River! Just fantastic...for just $10.00 each and they provided the clubs for no charge). We had a delicious meal in Culpeper as well as a great tour of Little Washington at The Inn. All in all, we have been very busy having a wonderful time and can't thank you enough for making this cottage - cabin truly a "home away from home" for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Ground of Our Being

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

What a delight to spend a couple of nights in quiet and comfortable solitude - reconnecting with nature and "the ground of our being." Your welcoming cabin and your gracious hospitality have made it all the easier to wind down quickly from the hectic pace (and heat!) of DC. Many thanks. Peace and light to you both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Cabin Rocks!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2008

Sherrie & Ray! Your cabin rocks! We love the Wii! We thought about moving into the cabin but thought it might be awkward when other people come to stay. The cabin had everything we needed - great access to the Appalachian Trail - although the .5 miles to the trail was all uphill - 30 minutes to get up - 8 minutes coming down - oye! Thanks for having us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Delightful Time

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2008

We've had a delightful time in this woderful, cozy cabin. We've explored the wineries and hiked the trails, and feel more centered and at peace than when we arrived. And what glorious weather! We'll definitely return. Thank you, Ray and Sherrie, for all the special touches ~ they're much appreciated!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Built on Something Amazing

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2008

While the believers in magic and the mysteries of fate lie in the heart of the recipients, we believe that Carson Mountain Cottage has been sprinkled or built on something amazing or perhaps just the owners and the builders are just such special people that it carries over to those who stay here. This is, without question, our place for recovery, a place to find peace and be renewed. We had such a wonderful time at dinner with you and at the festival, the people here are kind, gentle and hospitable. We explored some new wineries and just simply relaxed. Thank you!! We will be back...again and again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Unique

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2008

Thank you for sharing this very special place. We enjoyed hiking on several areas of the Appalachian Trail and spending time at the Confederate Museum in Front Royal. Your "Cottage" is so unique. We will be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Weekend get-away

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2008

Thank you for the perfect weekend get-away place. The hiking, restaurants and vineyards were all amazing. Inside the cottage was cozy and warm, especially the pellet stove and bathroom floor. The Wii is a great addition and provided hours of entertainment...and this from someone who didn't like video games. Thank you again for this wonderful reprieve from our daily lives.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unexpected Surprise

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2008

Coming out here was a wonderful, unexpected surprise. The cottage is a peaceful haven. Hope to be back someday. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Private Get-away

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2008

Thank you so much for the cottage. This weekend private get-away was so needed. I slept very peaceful for the first time in many months. The cottage has everything a perspn would ever want or need. Thank you, thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2007

Its Sunday morning and we're looking at a Winter wonderland (ICE). Its so beautiful. We can't thank you enough for the stay at your cabin to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. The cabin is much like home, its hard to leave. The decor and workmanship of this cabin is exquisite. I love the bathroom floor, how neat is that! The whole atmosphere is comfy cozy. Thank you very much for the hospitality. We would love to come back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2007

"Home away from home" is a good name for the cabin, but "cabin to come back to" is another. We were so surprised and delighted with the care and thought you both put into this place! The surprises abounded - from the heated floor to the wonderful kitchen equipment, from the hardware and appliances to the incredible group of antique furnishings. It was fun to explore the surroundings and come back to the comfort of home. Thanks for the great treats you supplied - our anniversary cake was a special touch we will never forget. We'll be back, and we'll certainly refer our friends! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Escape

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2007

What a wonderful escape for weary city dwellers seeking some peace. Who knew we'd be treated to such hospitality on a quick getaway. Cheese platter, wine from Chester Gap Cellars, spa robes and the much praised heated tiles. What's most impressive is learning that you created this beautiful space with your hands and hearts. We look forward to a time when the weather cooperates and we might enjoy the gazebo and fire.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorable Weekend

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2007

Thank you so much for sharing your charming cottage with us. We had a great 27th anniversary getaway! We enjoyed the brilliant Fall days, fresh mountain air, beautiful Autumn colors and your great local vinyard, Chester Gap Cellars. But we especially want to thank both of you for being such gracious and generous hosts. You created a memorable weekend for us and saw to every detail. We hope to make this visit an annual tradition.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Completely Wonderful

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2008

We wanted to say thank you so much for this wonderful weekend get-away. You have such a beautiful place, making this time even more incredible, much more than we could have ever imagined. Thank you again. It was completely wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Magnificent Place

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2007

We thank you so kindly for the gift of this magnificent place. The labor and the detail that you took the time to share with us is greatly appreciated. We came here for our 19th anniversary to find some magic that we'd lost in the daily grind of life and thanks to you both and some forest magic we did. We will be back and we will send others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything Was Perfect

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2007

My husband and I were amazed by the cabin the moment we saw it, and it only got better. Every detail is so beautiful and we felt like we were living a life of luxury for the weekend. Everything was perfect. Thank you for all the obvious hard work and care you put into this place, you have made it wonderful - every detail is lovely. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2006

Serenity at its best. What a labor of love the cottage is... I will recommend a stay at the cottage to anyone who wants a piece of heaven here on earth! We'' be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

It's like a mini museum. The art work is amazing. The amenities are endless. Charming cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate the kind words. Thanks so much for visiting our cottage and especially for your return visit!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review