reviews for: listing #11011 - Big Bear Lake, California Cabin rental

Bearfootin' - Lakeside log home with jacuzzi and fireplace
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $225 /nt
    $450 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful, warm, cozy, perfect location. Can't wait to go back.

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

We couldn't help but smile the minute we opened the door. The cabin looks like a home you would see in a decorator magazine. It is so warm and cozy...even more impressive than the pics on your website. Such a nice break for my husband and I. We have 3 young boys, we could just let them go. The cabin is very secluded (and safe, no thru streets/no cars), yet it is in close proximity to everyting. Don't think you can find a more perfect location!! There is something to do every minute, yet is also very tranquil. Although it is perfect for families with kids, I think we're coming back alone next time, it is also very romantic. We could just picture ourselves peacefully hanging out on the deck sharing a bottle of wine overlooking the beautiful view of the lake. Bridget, you were so accomodating, don't know if you decorated the house or you had it done, but it is breathtaking the minute you walk in the door. What a treat!!! The whole family loved it, loved it, loved it!!!! Thank you so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Quick Getaway

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2014

Our family was in need of a quick getaway. I was so happy to come across this cabin. Bridget, the owner was a sweet lady full of information and really helped us make this quick getaway a great family vacation.. She was very attentive and easy to reach. Wonderful to rent from. I have four children ages 13, 12, 5 and 9 months. We were excited from the moment we arrived. The cabin is really nice and cozy. We all loved the decor. Its decorated nicely. The middle children stayed in the loft upstairs. My older son had the living room and the pull out sofa. Bridget provided a pack n play which was very convenient for the baby and a baby gate for the stairs. The cabin had more than we expected. We cooked every meal in the kitchen. We enjoyed mornings on the porch and evenings in the hot tub. The hot tub is in a gazebo that has a lake view which is a really nice touch. Big bear was a great vacation for our family. Just down the road is boulder bay and we spent the first day there. We rented a 3 seater kayak and took turns cruising the lake. We did some fishing and my son caught his first fish. Its a great place to catch fish. The second day we took all the kids to the alpine slide. It was great fun for everyone. We rode down the alpine slide and the water slides enjoyed ice cream and the arcade. A few miles away is swim beach. for a small fee you can play on inflatables in the lake. Probably the best place to swim in the lake and the only place that has lifeguards. At night we cruised The Village. The Village has restaurants treats and shopping. We had such a nice relaxing time that we plan on making bearfootin and big bear our yearly summer destination and cant wait to check it out in the winter.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy means cozy

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

The cabin is cute and cozy, the view is pretty, and in mid-March, it's nice and quiet. It was clean, everything necessary was provided, and the spa was just what we needed after a week at Disney. Bridget was awesome to work with - so friendly and positive!! - and the location was great. Only minutes from the main part of town, and the kids loved the snow play areas. This would be a perfect cabin for a romantic twosome. Had it just been the hubby and me with an overnight bag, it would have been great. But we were a family of four with a week's worth of luggage spending our last few days of spring break before heading home. The "cozy" part of the cabin was more of a challenge than expected. The useable space is small, and there was so much "decor" that we really had no place to unpack our things, and wound up with our bags spread out in the living room. The bathroom is truly incredibly small - like "turning sideways to get past the sink into the shower" small - and we aren't large people. This could be an issue for some folks. From what we saw, though, this is pretty much the norm for most cabins up here. Those are the few cons that I felt would be important for others to know - everything else was exactly as described, the check in/out was easy, and like I said, the owner was great. We had a great time. Another good VRBO experience.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, Beautiful, Blissful

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

The view of the lake and surroundings from the jacuzzi alone was worth the rental. In addition, the photos of the view of the lake from inside the cabin don't do justice of the gorgeous view you actually get. While the cabin doesn't have direct lake access, it's but a 5-minute walk to the Boulder Bay park water access. Plus, the boulders in the back of the cabin offer gorgeous views, a fun time doing some light bouldering, and a feeling of having your own natural playground. Thank you Bearfootin'!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Get-Away

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed this cozy cabin in Boulder Bay for 5 days and 4 nights. The cabin is located at the end of a cul-de-sac. The 2 story cabin is furnished and makes you feel welcome the moment you step in through the front door. The furnishings are of a rustic yet comfortable feeling. The amenities were numerous and other than the food we brought, nothing else was required, not even a can opener. The owner has thought of everything. Mornings on the front porch were glorious as you face the rising sun looking over the lake. Sitting in the jacuzzi at night is the perfect place to gaze at the stars. Even though the cabin has a TV and DVD player, you really don't need to use it. There are plenty of things to keep the kids occupied during quiet times. The cabin is within minutes of "The Village", There are many interesting places to explore throughout the area. We hated to leave yet look forward to coming back to this jewel in the mountains. You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Right on the $$$

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

My family and I have stayed in many cabins in Big Bear Lake and Bearfootin' was by far our favorite! Thank you for all the special details that helped to make our stay perfect. It's unbelievable that it would have cost us more to have stayed in a hotel. We like the privacy factor of the setting of the home, the ability to have home-cooked meals together and having everything provided in the kitchen that we needed to do so. Whether gathered on the deck looking over the lake at sunset, barbecuing followed by a spa session, or gathered in front of a warm fire to enjoy a movie (all the while still enjoying the magnificent lake and mountain views!), it was 'togetherness' at it's best. We are already looking forward to coming back this winter to enjoy your great sledding hill, skiing and boarding, and more spa and warm fires!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You For Making Our Big Bear Experience Great

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We had a great stay in your cozy cabin! My family felt very comfortable. We loved the views and we had lots of fun in the hot tub! It was a very unique experience having all the boulders in our own backyard - we enjoyed climbing on them. We also loved all of our rooms. Thank you so much for making our saty in Big Bear a great experience!

Tom,Bethany,Brittany & Spence

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Get Away

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We were looking for a a nice cabin to enjoy a family weekend. This place was perfect for "us." some of the criticisms are fair, i.e. the couch cushions were pretty worn and the decorations a bit dated; but, it's a "rental". If it were my property, I imagine it would be in about the same condition. It's a great little get away cabin. it's not the Ritz and it's not a "home". it's a get a way cabin and it is perfect as that.

it's very cozy and comfortable, a place you can "kick the shoes off and rest easily". You will feel right at home. additionally, the kitchen is truly full of everything you will need should you decide to do some meals in as we did.

we felt safe and like we got a good price for what we received.

i would really challenge some of these 1 and 2 "star" reviewers to ask themselves what they were expecting. the pictures and description of this property are accurate. it bothers me that people want to pay a mid-tier hotel price for a 2 bedroom cabin in a resort location and have it be luxurious.

the owner was easy to work with and very considerate. my only criticism would be the lack of an AC, however, that's normal for Big Bear, and how far the key pick-up and drop-off was from the property. Because it's so far from the cabin, it took about 45 minutes out of the first and last day; but, those are hardly "bad" attributes.

we really loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Greetings, Tony and Family, Thank you for your recent visit to Bearfootin'! I am very pleased that you found the accommodations to be comfortable, enjoyable and "perfect" for your family! We will continue striving to ensure future guests share in your same positive experience. Regarding the key pick up destination, according to MapQuest, it is precisely 4.21 miles from the cabin, being a 10 minute drive. The destination is a 24-7 operation which is considered a convenience factor for most. You will only need to bipass the cabin for key pick up when coming up the front side of the hill to Big Bear via the 330; otherwise, when coming up the 38 through Redlands or the other side of the mountain through Lucerne Valley, key pick up is on your way to the cabin as well as on your way out of town. As for the 2 reviews that you alluded to; fortunately, they are the only 2 of their nature in Bearfootin's 11-year history . . . I hope this speaks for itself! Unfortunately, there is no way of knowing when you are handing your keys over to one who is maliciously motivated or has ill-intent. It is a tactic that has become more prevalent throughout the resort during this downed economy. We are grateful for all of our lovely guests of Bearfotin' over the many years who continue to see her for her beauty and experience this beautiful paradise to it's fullest, just as it was intended! We hope to see you again . . . with many thanks and best wishes!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dirty, cramped and a waste of money!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Anything but sophisticated and elegant. This cabin was dirty, full of hair and old dusty Christmas decorations up in June is just unsettling! Pillows on couch had burn marks all over them and dried mac n cheese from prior guests which is just unacceptable! (Yes, I took pics!) Sheets smelled and cleaning lady who met us there had her dog in the house- clearly not pet free as stated on VRBO listing! Issues with tv's, most of the window shades were broken or ripped, bath towels were old and smelled and the bathroom is tiny and cramped!

We were not impressed!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Wendy

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

We have stayed at the cabin for our winter vacation 3 years in a row now. We can't wait to get back to the beautiful lake view. It is very cozy, nice and quiet!!!
The location is great, the cabin is close to sking, restaurants, shopping, a bowling alley and arcades. Bridget, you really think of everything, like sleds for the kids, tent if you want to go hiking an stay the night, Picnic basket for outtings, a TV for the kids and the list goes on. We always enjoy are our home away from home. See you next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

An absolutely lovely cabin with a spectacular view of the lake from the living room. Probably the best decorated cabin that I've stayed in up in Big Bear as well, with lots of neat little touches here and there to make you feel like you're staying in someone's home rather than merely a rental. View of the lake from the hot tub out back is simply wonderful as well, and makes for a very romantic time. I was able to rent a weekend here last-minute for my wife's birthday, and she simply loved it and my wife is not easily impressed. Without a doubt a 5 star rating, as we could not have been happier!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Cobwebs everywhere, both inside and out, looks like the owners haven't been there in years to see what's actually going on there. Dirty, old ratty furniture. Poorly ventilated and good luck finding the lightswitch that turns on the overhead lights in the living room. What irked us the most was that we rented this in August and all the Christmas decorations were still up, including the TREE!! No joke. This place is just some abandoned old shack that no one but visitors come to. It's definitely not worth what they charge. Oh, and you can't see much of the lake from any part of the house.

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

Cozy little home

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We spent Memorial weekend at this lovely cabin, and enjoyed every minute of it. The view was amazing. My boys loved the rocks in the backyard, they did nothing else but climbed them over and over again. We were walking distance to the Castle Rock trail as well, which was a blast to hike. The cabin is close to everything, but still far enough to enjoy the peace and quiet. Thank you Bridget to sharing your beautiful home with us, we will be back for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

The soft snow, cozy fire and warm blanket...what better way to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary!! We enjoyed the fun of discovering all the "small" touches you had so thoughtfully arranged around the cabin. The views from the porch were beautiful and we made friends with the bluejay who kept us company while we read outside. Thank you again Bridget.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, Loree, and for becoming part of Bearfootin' history with the celebration of your 38th wedding anniversary! Congratulations!Thank you for sending the lovely pictoral account of your stay - the photos will be enjoyed by all for years to come. Please join us again! Bridget

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great place for 1st vacation together in 3 yrs.

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

Bella Luna is a cozy cabin with everything needed for maximun enjoyment and relaxation. We were in Big Bear to attend our nephew's wedding and then had a few days to ourselves in this lovely house and setting. Judy and Don have thought of everything to make the stay there incredible!! You can't go wrong if you choose this location for your vacation for a few days or more, as there is so much to see and enjoy in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

Had a great four days at this cabin in August 2008. The cabin is cute and well maintained. Beds are comfortable and the jacuzzi was warm and relaxing! View is fantastic. Sat outside on the front porch every morning and evening. Kitchen was welled supplied and easy to use. The owner made it very easy for us to just come up, pick up the keys and relax. I would definitely recommend this cabin to a couple or a family. We took my 83 year old mom and she loved it!
Jean

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 15, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

You will always remember the fun nights we have spent in this cabin! We've cozied up and enjoyed the snow and the pines many times over the last 3 yrs, and are looking forward to many more visits! Thank you for your hospitality!

Owners response: Thank you for many returns to your "home-away-from-home" in Big Bear! We always appreciate the extra TLC you give our cozy cabin...a warm hearth will always await your next arrival! Bridget

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review