reviews for: listing #110814 - Tybee Island, Georgia Condo rental

My Ships Ahoy - Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beach and Racquet Club
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $120 /nt
    $650 - $750 /wk
    $1,250 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

A great getaway!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

The condo was easy to find and very clean. It has quick access to the beach. There are several restaurants within a few miles. The check-in/out process was a breeze. Would recommend My Ships Ahoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for such a nice review. I am so glad that you had such a wonderful time at My Ships Ahoy. We strive to make your time here as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. Please come stay with us again anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My Ships Ahoy was a great last minute decision for myself! Room was very clean and in a great location to access the beach and other attraction Tybee had to offer.

Our over all stay was a B+. When entering the room there was a nice welcoming basket that made a good impression right off the bat. The only thing we and issue with was the smell of suffer from the water. Other than that I would consider coming back to this location in the future.


Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review. I apologize for the smell of the water. Typically if you run the hot water it will dissipate, but we have since realized that we need to replace the water heater due to a sulfur buildup that is causing the smell. That is scheduled to be done this weekend. Please come to visit with us again anytime you are back this way!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Rotten eggs anyone?

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

I hope that maintenance keeps the facilities up better during the summer months. There were chairs thrown into the pool, garbage in the halls, and cars getting maintenance in the parking lots. The condo was small and simple. There is a window in the bedroom (head of the bed) that has access to the inner hallway(strange). When using the water (no matter where) in the condo an strong disgusting aroma comes from the drains that is a dead ringer for rotton eggs. The smell is so bad that I was gagging in the shower. I text Donna to see if there was something we could do for it and received no response. The condo is nothing super. Wouldn't stay there agin due to the horrible drain smell.

Owners response: I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the facility. I will certainly address these issues with the complex management. We have never had a review like this one. All of the units are designed with the same layout, having the bedroom facing the hallway. There is sometimes a higher sulfur content in the water, which will make it smell something like what you described. However, if you run the hot water for a few minutes it will dissipate. As you can see in past reviews, Donna is very prompt with her responses, and did not receive a text addressing this matter. If she had, I'm confident that she would have responded. Is it possible that you sent that text to the wrong phone number? Again, I apologize for this and hope you will stay with us again so that you can appreciate all of the wonderful things this cozy condo has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Not a good experience for our family. Needs a thorough cleaning inside the condo and halls.

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

I have mailed a letter to the owner and manager today, describing our disappointment with the cleanliness of our condo. It was unsanitary and not properly cleaned. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I will not be visiting this place again. We did enjoy other parts of the island, and we did enjoy the food that we had at the Crab Shack, and the Stingray. We did not appreciate the $35. parking ticket we were honored with, while shopping on your strip. (We did not notice the parking regulations, until we pulled away from the curb. The River Front in Savannah offered free parking on Saturday, which I thought was very generous for their many guests from all over the world. I feel that your island has a long way to go in the hospitality department.

Owners response: As you can see in past reviews, the cleanliness of My Ships Ahoy is almost always complimented. I understand that you are upset regarding your parking ticket, but it is clearly posted all over the island that it is a "Pay To Park Community". As we are a small community, Tybee is not as financially able to offer free parking as often as Savannah. There is free parking for the month of December on the island, however.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Trip to Tybee 2013

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

I was, at first, not thrilled with the location, even though I knew it wasn't on the "main drag." After checking out the "main drag" I realized our peaceful location on the North Beach was desirable to me. We are able to get to anything we wanted via car or bike and still be able to have quiet, enjoy the beach and enjoy the pool. Having the pool was a key reason in our choice. The condo was very clean, and as expected. It was kind of a hassle to deal with the gate in and out with cars and bikes, but the security was worth that. The pool seemed to be a little outdated and not cleaned daily, or even weekly. I liked the setup of the pool, but I just wish it was a little better managed and maintained. Most days, the water was filled with bugs and general dirtiness from the outdoors, which is totally expected by the end of the day, but it got progressively worse each day. So I am guessing it isn't cleaned daily. It wasn't enough to keep me out of the pool, though. The condo had everything we needed, including dishes and appliances, as well as beach chairs and an umbrella. The balcony gave just enough view to see dolphins head out to sea in the mornings. Overall, it was a nice, comfortable experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Aaron,
Glad you were able to experience the peaceful tranquility of the north beach. It is a great spot that provides privacy and is only a few minutes from the "action". Please come visit again when you return to Tybee!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1



Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay at My Ships Ahoy. My Ships Ahoy has everything that you need. It was very clean. We were very impressed.

Owners response: That's great to hear! We aim to please, and are so happy that we were able to deliver a great experience once again! We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0



Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Are first time to tybee island. We absolutley loved it. The condo was perfect for us. Great location, we had a lot of fun, and was a perfect much overdo family vacation

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise! We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Tybee. Thank you so much for your nice review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We loved our stay at My Ships Ahoy. The condo was clean and looked exactly like the pictures.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: So glad you had a good time, and that everything was what you expected. Please come back and stay with us again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Privacy at it's Finest

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed the privacy that you have at this condo. We had a nice stroll on the private beach and a nice swim in the Olympic size pool. The condo was very clean and had that beachy feel to it. I would absolutly recommend this property!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Michelle for your kind review. I love the privacy that the North end of Tybee offers myself. This end of the island is perfect for that romantic stroll on the beach or to watch the dolphins play! So glad you enjoyed yourself at My Ships Ahoy, and we welcome you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Great stay

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We stayed at My Ships Ahoy for the weekend of my daughter's beach wedding. It was a short stay but was a pleasant one. Everything was as stated in the listing and we even received a "welcome" basket full of goodies/essentials. It was a stress-free check-in / check-out during a rather chaotic wedding time and Donna was so friendly and pleasant to work with. I only wished we had more time to enjoy the entire condo/complex. If we get to Tybee again, I will certainly look to stay at My Ships Ahoy again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Sherrae,
What a wonderful place for your daughter to have her wedding. It is so very nice to know that we were able to help you and your family enjoy such a special occasion. I am happy to hear that you felt "stress-free" with the SELF check-in / check-out procedure. We want you to feel that way right from the very beginning. I wish your daughter and her new husband the best, and please do stay at "My Ships Ahoy" when you come back to Tybee again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


My ships ahoy

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We spent the week of the 4th at my ships ahoy. The place is very nice and clean. We were happy that the place is very family friendly. We enjoyed our stay and hope to come back again. The only problem we had is not knowing that we should have brought plenty of quarters for laundry. There is no change machine in the laundry rooms and most of the convenience stores won't give you any.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tonya, I am so happy to hear that you had such a great Independence Day Weekend at My Ships Ahoy, and that you were so happy with the accommodations. Please do come back to visit with us again, and make sure you let us know if there is ANYTHING you need. We pride ourselves on helping you enjoy your vacation in every way possible, (even telling you where you can get quarters)! We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Great value for Tybee Island!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Everything was as expected when we arrived. Room was very nicely decorated and clean. Parking was never a problem. The owner was very helpful with information and the welcome packet contained everything we needed. We have been to Tybee several times, so I would recommend the Sugar Shack for breakfast, and either the Crab Shack or Stingrays for dinner. All in all, this room was great for my wife and I, and the futon couch would have slept 1-2 kids also. Thanks LaTrelle!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Robert. I am so glad you were pleased with everything during your stay at My Ships Ahoy. We try our best to make sure you always come into a clean, comfortable place when you arrive. The Gift Basket is provided to you as our way of saying "Welcome, Enjoy your time here!" Filled with some necessities, goodies, and the latest on things to do and places to eat on Tybee. Although, you seem to know your way around pretty good! I hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to this wonderful island. Just call us whenever you are ready to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Loved My Ships Ahoy

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Hello, well it was my mom and I who stayed at the My Ships Ahoy, and we stayed there two nights. We were both pleasantly surprised to find that it was nicely cleaned and provided everything necessary if we may need something. It was seriously like a mini home away from home, it was very lovely and comfortable. The gift basket was sweet as well! :) The only thing I would say is that I wish the checkout time was a bit later so we could sleep in a little later or enjoy the beach a bit more. But other than that, everything was fantastic and Ms. Donna was very patient and informative. :) We had a great time!!! By the way, my mom LOVED the fact that there was an umbrella and chairs provided for the beach. The condo was amazingly equipped with things we needed, thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: So glad that you loved My Ships Ahoy. This is the reaction we strive for when someone arrives. Although there's no place like home, we want you to feel at home when you stay here. We make every effort to make you feel comfortable and welcome as soon as you walk in. Although we can't provide everything you might need, we have the beach chairs and umbrella so you have one less thing to worry about. Sorry you weren't able to sleep in a little later, we just want to make sure we have time to prepare for the next guests' arrival so they can enjoy the same wonderful experience. Thanks so much for your kind words. We look forward to having you stay again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Girls Get-a-way

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Me, my daughter and grand-daughter had a wonderful time. The condo was clean and exactly what we expected! Everything worked properly, the beds were comfortable the condo was cozy. We had a wonderful vacation. Thanks for allowing us to stay there!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: I love your thought that the My Ships Ahoy is cozy....I personally have that thought as well when I am lucky enough to retreat there. So glad you enjoyed and we look forward to your next trip to visit us here on Tybee Island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Two days on Tybee Island

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

My Ships Ahoy is somewhat small but very tidy, clean and cute. This was one of the few rentals I was able to find that allowed only a (2) day stay. It is a great little spot if your intentions are to get out and about and just want a place to sleep, eat, shower and change.(though we ate out most of the time) However, if you are looking for a place to stay where most of your time is to be spent indoors enjoying an ocean view this is not the place for you.

The pool area was quite nice and nightly we enjoyed sitting on the bences at the end of the pier gazing at the stars and the shrimp boats with their casted nets gleaming in the darkness like long forgotten pirate ships.

Just down the steps to the beach area you will find that you are not quite on the ocean but rather at the end of the river where the water is brackish and calm. One must take a stroll down the beach to find waves crashing on the shore.

This property is at the very beginning of the Island which is not close to the major action so if you plan to party be sure to call the local Island shuttle service. I would highly recommend the local music at Merlin Monroes on Sunday afternoons. Stingrays for dinner! Cute little shops with local artistry and a fun bar within walking distance.

Keep in mind property is on the 3rd floor and there are no elevators. Pack light! I plan to stay there again my next trip to Tybee.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: OH MY.....this guest didn't find the elevators....they are at the west end of the building and take you to the 3rd floor! NO FEAR, ELEVATORS ARE HERE! Next time you come, be sure to locate that wonderful treat, unless you prefer the stairs, of course. ;)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Sand, Sun and Good Times

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

I just spend the month of May in ‘MY SHIPS AHOY’. We had a great time and we plan to return.
I am confused with a negative review of this property from a guest in March. The bathroom fan is not working but the owner left a note that the fan was still on order. The problem with the shower is that there is no restrictor head on it. I had forgotten what a great shower we used to have before we all went 'green'. We had no problem having sequential multiple showers we just turned down the volume of water. While we were there we were approached by the owner, ‘Would we consider allowing their cleaner to do the carpets and tiled areas in the condo, as the cleaner’s schedule and the rental schedule hasn’t matched recently and it was overdue’? So those of you that are scheduled in for the summer months can look forward to an immaculate space for your holiday. What a great vacation, this condo is on the best walking beach we have ever experienced. You can walk on the Beach to South End of the Island and we did several times. We loved the songbirds and enjoyed the swimming pool and sundeck most days. There is also an ‘open air taxi service’ if you want to hit the South End bars and restaurants and not want to drive your car. Savannah was only minutes away and if you have the time you should try to spend at least one day there. We are sad to leave this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: My Ships Ahoy is so happy you enjoyed your stay on Tybee Island. Your review is very nice and just what we are all about....helping guests enjoy themselves and want to come back again and again! We look forwar to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Needs A LOT of Maintenance and Repairs

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

While Carol was very sweet and the condo is nicely decorated, I have to be honest in my review. When I stay at a hotel I have one set of expectations and another for a home/condo. Here's what I found lacking: 1. There is no ocean view, as state, when sitting in the condo looking out - only the view of a parking lot. Even on the balcony you have to lean WAY over the rail to see it. 2. Only 1 1/2 rolls of toilet paper for 4 people for 7 days. 3. There is no second key to the condo. If people want to go out separately, only one person has the key. 4. The bathroom door off of the bedroom does not latch closed unless you lean on it to push it closed from inside of the bathroom. It appears to be warped and should be replaced. 5. The bathroom door off the hallway appears to have been kicked open which split the wood at the door jam. The wood trim should be replaced. 6. There are no closets to hang clothes - only some hangers on the back of the door. Even hotels have a hang bar. 7. Listing says there's a washer and dryer. This is deceptive. There is a filthy PAY Laundomat at the end of the building. It is not in the condo as implied. And the dryer took my money but didn't work. 8. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was inoperable. It left the bathroom steamed up and the grout around the tile looked moldy from the excessive moisture. 9. No plug for the bathroom sink makes it difficult for a man to shave. The plunger is there but the plug is missing. That needs to be replaced. 10. The tub does not drain well so when taking a shower you are left standing ankle deep in water. A bit disgusting. 11. We ran out of hot water during the second shower of each day. Two of us had to take short showers at night and then the other two the next morning. It appears the hot water heater needs to be replaced. 12. The sprayer hose is missing at the kitchen sink. The open hole looks terrible and needs to be replaced. 13. The plug for the kitchen sink doesn't hold water so I was left washing dishes in a bowl. 14. The pots and pans had food stuck on them which was revolting and downright unsanitary. There's no scrubby to wash dishes so apparently people couldn't get the dishes clean and just put them away dirty. 15. The handle on the sliding glass door is missing making it difficult to open and close the door. Seems like a safety issue in case of a fire. 16. The latch assembly is broken on the front door knob. The door knob needs to be replaced.

Owners response: The concerns of this guest have been addressed and all items have been seen to by owner. Please note the guest reviews that have followed and come on down to Tybee Island and My Ships the way, there are water views from balcony.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8


Great Place to stay on Tybee Island

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay for us! Right by the beach with the pool in between. Island life is relaxed and the North end is the quiet end of the island. Plenty of things to do nearby including seeing two cannons fire several times a day at Fort Pulaski.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1


Perfect place to stay on Tybee Island

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

My Ships Ahoy was the perfect place to stay for me and my family! The condo fit our family of 4 great. The kids loved sleeping on the futon couch in the living room with the TV & we loved having our own room. We ate several meals out on the balcony on the cute table with high chairs, so you could see the ships coming in. My kids 8 & 5 loved the pool and thought is was so fun to swim under the tunnel to the smaller pool. I liked how close we were to the beach and could go back & forth from the pool to the beach easily. Tybee Island was beautiful and I liked being on the quiet end of the island. My daughter was in a dance competition in Savannah, and I was impressed how easy it was to get to the civic center in downtown Savannah. We will definitely be back to this beautiful place as soon as we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


My Ships Ahoy is a nice and relaxing place

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

We had a great visit to My Ships Ahoy. Had everything we needed for my wife and I to relax for the week. Options to stay in or go out. Various beach access options, good location, pool, rented a tandem beach cruiser, all and all went home with smiles on our faces. Thanks again!

Owners response: You are so Welcome! I know you will come again soon, as Tybee Island just gets in your blood! Glad you had a great time at My Ships Ahoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

Guest Comment entered by owner


Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

We had a great time at your condo this past week. Plenty of dolphins, seafood, swimming, and sunburn. Thanks for everything. With any luck, we will be able to stay there again next year.

Scott and Amanda

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

Guest Comment entered by owner


Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Great Vacation

Great three day vacation for my daughter, grandson, and myself. The owner was extremely nice and helpful. The condo was exactly as described with great location, great pool, and a few short steps to the beach. We would DEFINETLY stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2


Great Girls Getaway

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Comfy bed and fution, Well stocked kitchen. Plenty of big fluffy towels. Owner was easy to work with and very accomodating. Walk to Huc A Poos and gift shops.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are so right is very close to several restaurants and great gift shops! Glad you had a "wonderful stay!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Spot To Land

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

This condo was soooooo relaxing and just what we needed for the Holiday week. The puffy chair in LR was especially comfortable and we fought over it! LOL For the price, you can't beat it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 3


I wish I could say it better 2

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

I was also so very dissapointed in the view! When sitting on the deck what you see is a brown, red, and green roof with tree tops. If you lean way, and I mean WAY over the railing and look left you can see the water. It is very tiny cute place but does not have a decent chair to sit in. It was clean except for the mildewed shower curtain and very large stained carpet in the LR.
I thought the mattress was OK.

Owners response: These units are staggered back from the front and all offer a view of the water....and, being on the Top Floor (3rd with elevator access) you can see the Big Ships coming into port long before they go by the front of condo building. Facing Southeast, the balcony is shaded with cool ocean breezes. A futon couch is left in the lounging position with lots of comfy pillows.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


I wish I could say it was better.

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Although it is decorated nicely, we were disappointed. Fortunately, it was just the two of us. The mattress in the bedroom was terribly saggy and I awoke with a back ache. So, we had to spend the rest of our nights on the futon. Seems maintenance has been over looked. Broken handle on the sliding glass door which made it tough to open, missing outlet covers, bathroom vent not working which would have been nice because we didn't know every time you run the hot water it makes the whole condo smell like sulpher. I would have appreciated be told upfront so I could have brought bottled water. The view is not great, unless you lean over the railing and look extreme left. It was clean. I would stay at this complex again, but not this condo.

Owners response: This is the first negative comments we have had on this cute condo. Even had a previous guest call and ask for the name of our "featherbed" topper as it helped their back. Hot water heaters need to be "flushed" out and replaced with clean water when it has sat for a few days. For the price, the views are great and, the water is drinkable, but don't most folks bring bottled water on vacations? My Ships Ahoy is a sweet spot to relax.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

The owner of this property is wonderfully accomodating. The condo was decorated beautifully! The location was wonderful. Convenient to everything. We enjoyed walking on the beach and watching the dolphins swim just off shore. It has a great proximity to the beach. I would definitely recommend this property. It is a great value for your money. Just wonderful!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: What a nice review from a satisfied Guest. I also especially like the closeness of the Ocean and watching the Dolphin Dance! Tybee Island is so unique and My Ships Ahoy is Too! Thanks...LaTrelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review