reviews for: listing #11096 - Oceanside, California House rental

Breathtaking Beachfront Rental with Private Beach Fire Ring
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,600 - $6,800 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

This beach house is exactly as pictured. It is clean and very comfortable. It was equipped with more than expected. Four adults and five children were in our party and there was more than enough room. We loved the privacy of not having to share anything with other families. We cooked/grilled almost every meal at "home" so we could take full advantage of the beach and yard. Loved that we truly had the beach as our backyard for the week. No wall or street between us and the beach. Kim is very accessible and helpful. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this home to anyone looking for that perfect beach house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

grass and sand

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

well i am quite a fan my family and i had a blast as a matter of fact we are going again booking now but maybe we will try the other house they have as well

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

what a great time

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

wow could not believe my husband took us here its been a while since we were there but hoping to go soon the view i mean the water was just breath taking

Owners response: Thank You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Miss the sound of the Waves

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We had a great vacation. We will be back. Thanks for having the house so inviting and beach ready. The only suggestion I have is paddles for the Kayaks. we really did relax and enjoy our nightly bonfires. It was a nice each evening to sit and talk as a family. Now that we are back home, we miss the sound of the waves.

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply Wonderful

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

Simply Wonderful

We have finally found what we consider to be our family beach rental. The home is wonderful and clean. Our kids took body board lessons and my husband shore fished right from the backyard. Wish we had brought bikes but did walk to many fun place to eat. The Flying Pig was unique

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

This bungalow is a gem. Cute and well maintained. Loved the landscaped beachfront yard. We used the bonfire ring every night. Enjoyed all the craft breweries nearby. Stone was our favorite. Best meal was at 333 and best breakfast at Beachbreak. Next time I would bring bikes to ride to food, drink and movies

Owners response: Thank you for choosing this beachfront home for your vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Property

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

We were very satisfied and then some with this property. As we walked up and down the beach there was no other home that had such obvious barrier free and direct beach access. Just amazing.

Owners response: Thankyou!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

10 Stars

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This place was perfect for our family. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Kim. You're the best.

Owners response: Thank you !!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely ocean hone

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

The house is right on the beach! It is beautiful and Kim was a wonderful hostess. She is so nice and informative. The kids ages 2-7 loved the proximity to surf and sand!

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach house for families.

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

Beautiful grassy yard and sand area just off patio -- then easy access (no rocks) to lower beach for surfing, swimming, boogie boarding, etc. Perfect for families with kids of any age. On-site parking for 2 cars. Clean and well-equipped. Large bedrooms and updated baths. Short drive to grocery store, pharmacy, and gas station. Property is neat and well-maintained. Great service!! Enjoyed breakfasts at 101 Cafe and walks to the pier. Best of all . . . saw playful dolphins and whales just off our beach! Wonderful place to relax.

Owners response: Thank you!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

over all a great time

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

had the most fun beautiful just amazing

Owners response: Thanks for staying at the beach house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Location!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

This home is well cared for and loved, very well maintained - comfortable, and a great place to call "home" for your vacation. Having your own yard on the beach is a dream come true - you get the best of both worlds here.... Your own backyard AND you're directly on the beach. LOVE this house, would absolutely recommend to everyone looking to rent in Oceanside!

Owners response: Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect beach house

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

The location to the water is amazing! Kim was wonderful. My husband and I got married here on January 7th and it was absolutely perfect. Would recommend it to anyone! Great for wedding or family getaway. We loved the fire pit at day and night!

Owners response: Your wedding was stunning! Thank you for the review

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Private Beach House

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

After having been in rental condos it was a pleasure to be in a private beach house. The advertisement is correct there is no street or sidewalk between the home and the ocean. This house really is on the beach and it looks just like the pictures-something you always hope for but never know until you arrive!

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

beach fun

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Just a fun way to spend time with the family. Loved not being in a condo or having to share the property with other renters. We have a baby and wanted it quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed that we were one of the few rental houses to have a private beach and fire ring yet this home was less expensive than many of the trendy condos.

Owners response: Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An excellent place to relax and ponder life

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

One of the best times we'd ever had as a family. RIght on the beach, and listening to the waves as I fell asleep was a big highlight for me. Simple, and open; with room for people to be outside or inside as they want. The sand and surf are close, and the fog at night adds mystery to a great place to go to get away and spend time with people you care about. Loved it, and Kim is the best host you could hope for!

Owners response: Thanks you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bucket List Beach House!

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

If I could give this house ten stars I would. The property is absolutely amazing, and far exceeds our expectations. The layout is perfect for our family, and I can't believe how large and inviting the rooms are. The kitchen is fully stocked and has every appliance you could hope for. Sometimes in these rentals you can feel squished but that is not the case here! Everything has been clean and neat ... it's truly been a dream. The patio, yard, and private beach (including sand pit) are so amazing. Our family has all the fun of the ocean and beach, but have safety and privacy at the same time. The owner is a joy! We have rented from several places and this truly is in it's own category! Thank you so much Kim! My only regret is that we can't stay longer.

Owners response: You are a wonderful family and of course welcome back ANY time. Thank you for such a tremendous review!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

UNBEATABLE !!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Our Family of 6 had plenty of room. The house is great and the 2 Kitchens and 2 baths were very convenient. I don't know how you would ever get closer and easier access to the beach....Its right there!! We enjoyed great BBQ and sat by the fire most every night! It was perfect for us and Kim is an awesome host with great advice and tips. We would highly recommend this rental to friends and hope to come back!

Owners response: Hope to see you again sometime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Great place to stay for a family with children. We stayed here with our four children and had an amazing time. Nice house, beautiful view, nice sandy beach. Definitely would recommend this house to everyone.

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean - Comfortable - BEACH house.

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

We love coming to Oceanside CA for family vacations. Warm and inviting town plus close to everything our family loves. Lego-land, San Diego, and we may try Disneyland next time. This house is amazing. Very comfortable for our group. We had 3 children and 6 adults and everyone was very comfortable and happy with our stay. Kim was very friendly to work with and helpful throughout the entire visit if we needed. Gave great suggestions and tips, plus the house was kept in tip top shape. It is an older home, but it is taken great care of. Thank you so much. Our children have so many great memories yet again. We will be back. The kids are already planning.

Owners response: Thank you! Loved meeting your family!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Beach Memory

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

I was just asked to write a review and I am most happy to do so. We have nothing but wonderful memories of this beach house. It was clean and fresh but the best part was the lawn on the beach. It was so nice and refreshing and a great place to tan. We BBQd every evening out there. Still have to sort all the shell and shell bits we collected. We were very happy with this beach house.

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nice beachfront

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

great property, clean house,accurate ad

Owners response: Our goal is for you to arrive and say, "Its just like the pictures, only better! " Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

True Beachfront

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

I dont think there is another property as beachfront as this one. Just amazing. We loved it even more when we walked down the beach and checked out other homes we were going to rent and discovered they were not real beachfronts. Kind of wish we could keep this house a secret, but we were asked to leave a review so we will and gladly!

Owners response: Thank you! We work pretty hard to keep the yard on the beach landscaped and special. Glad you enjoyed it

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Beachfront Location and Beach House

Review submitted: June 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

We wanted a home that was right on the beach and did not want our kids to have to cross a street or walkway to get to the beach. We wanted to keep our kids protected and safe on a private beachfront. We were so pleased with the house and the location. Every day we enjoyed having a bon fire on the beach. I could sit in the sun on our private beach while reading my book and was still able to see our kids either in the ocean or watch them go back into the house without having to move from my beach chair! We enjoyed walking to the pier area to see movies at night and loved eating at "Hello Bettys" Glad we were not in a condo, as most of them seem separated from the beach by significant seawalls and are in areas where the beach disappears at high tide. We had dry sand in front of us the entire vacation. Loved the beach style decor inside the house. When we arrived, we were greeted with fresh flowers and cookies! Nice touch, Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The start to a great day and a great way to end it

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

Awesome Month on the Beach

We just arrived from Arizona for a 3 generation family reunion on the beach and it could not be better! I am sitting here in a turquoise Adirondack chair on a private beach watching fantastic waves. This yard is awesome. House is great- there are TWO kitchens. Its even better than the pictures!

Owners response: I hope you have a FANTASTIC vacation on the beach, enjoy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

did not want to leave

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

We had an excellent beach front location and great house for an extended family vacation. Walked to many places down by the pier. Only use the car to go to the zoo, market and other theme places. Some of us rented bikes and biked on the rail trail The kids enjoyed the beach a lot, and we can watch over them on the wonderful large deck. The house has all the necessary amenities. We found it much better than staying in the hotel. Will come back again!

Owners response: And you are welcome back anytime, THANK YOU!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

want to go back

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Very enjoyable beach house right on the Pacific Ocean in Oceanside. We arrived late at night on Saturday, and access to the cottage easy. Everything was clean and as expected. We travelled as a family of one couple and one teen age son. There was enough room for all of us. Also, the parking on driveway was very convenient. Having the lawn on the beach and not having to share with other renters ( privacy) was wonderful. If in San Diego with a small family or group of people, I would whole heartily recommend looking at this cottage as a base for your trip.

Owners response: Thankyou! The lawn is a favorite with just about everyone. we even had one family put up a tent in front of the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Treasure!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

What a wonderful place!! We absolutely loved our stay and will be back! We came with our four children and my parents. This darling & comfortable cottage more than accommodated us! Our little children rolled out of beds and into their swimsuits and then off to the sand and waves. They played for hours in the water, found a treasure trove of shells and built a city in the sand. And when they had enough it was so wonderful that they could just run into the house and clean up! The fire pit and grill has been so much fun! This home couldn't be more perfectly situated! There is nothing between you and the beach. The view from the house is stunning and unobstructed. We have enjoyed our stay immensely. We thank you Kim for your generous hospitality, delightful insights and kindnesses! Thank you so so much for your help with our ever mounting laundry - and the special shells to satisfy our shell seeker hearts. We truly look forward to returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are blessed with a delightful family. Thank you for selecting our beach house for your family vacation. You are welcome back anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved our stay!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

Thank you so much for providing such an amazing beach house for our stay! We had such a great vacation. I loved that the beach was our backyard - it couldn't have been more convenient. The house was spacious and very clean. We will definitely be back!

Owners response: Thankyou! The House is a cottage so I am glad you found there was enough room for all of you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Favorite Beach House

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

After getting tired of the beach condos that were noisy, jammed with renters and not really on the beach we searched for an Oceanside property that really was ON the beach and private. Since then, we have stayed here multiple times and could not imagine staying anywhere else. The owners are always doing something new with the decor or the beautiful yard on the beach so we enjoy this house more than any other beach rental

Owners response: Thank you. Looking forward to your next visit !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Beach House

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

I am happy to leave a review for this house. Great location and great house. We spent most of our time on the private beach and had bon fires just about every night. There were five queen beds and even two kitchens in the beach house so it fit our group well. Everything was clean and very nice. Lots of place nearby for eating and shopping. Z

Owners response: Thank you for staying and thank you for a wonderful review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wow just wow

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

This house was great so different from texas my friends thought it would be fun to get away and they were right such great food and so relaxing to have your own beach was an experience next year I'm bringing my family thank you for letting us stay in this lovely home on the beach

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

just what a mommy needed

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

We will be back for sure. This place was just what we were needing in a beach rental. I just had a baby three months ago and we needed a quiet, clean place to rest on the beach. I just wanted to sit and watch the sunsets with my husband yet have baby Scott with us too. We actually set up a crib in the walk in closet off the master- I know that sounds odd but I wanted a dark place for him to rest near our bed. The house is very clean and they had a high chair and a pack n play ready for us. The kitchen had just about everything we needed except a crock pot. Next time I am going to do more take out dinners and eat it on the deck or the private beach. Very restful.

Owners response: We hope that baby Scott can return to the beach house every year! There isnt a better vacation for kids than playing on the beach. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

overall the best week this year

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

this property was simply amazing the pictures were on point except much better in person and so relaxing my family and i had a great time

Owners response: Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best vacation ever

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

love this beach rental we come here every year i make it a point to have my kids and there family's get together love love the owners they are just perfect they never let us down the house feels like home and i guess once a year it is home

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FUNNNN IN THE SUNNNNNNN

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

I LOVED THIS PLACE WHAT A GREAT VACATION MY KIDS WERE SO THRILLED TO BE RIGHT ON THE WATER THE HOUSE ITS SELF WAS AMAZING SO COMFORTABLE LOTS OF THINGS TO DO BUT HAVING A PRIVATE BEACH WAS THE BEST FEELING EVER THE GRASS AREA WAS TOO PERFECT FOR MY LITTLE ONE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us and thank you for such a great review. Your family was a delight. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just perfect

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

wow the best vacation we've ever had so relaxing even with our 4 kids i so recommend this rental the property was well kept and the owners were on point with what they promised my wife is already planning to go back

Owners response: Thank you for staying at this beach house. We are the only Oceanside beach rental to not have a rock seawall or barrier to climb over or go around between the house and the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVE THIS BEACH RENTAL

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

This place has it all great view great house all and all great feel the home was clean and perfect for my husband and i and our 3 kids and the owners were awesome cant wait to do it again next year

Owners response: Thankyou!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I did not want to be anywhere else

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

I could not believe it when we got there my husband and i had the best time it felt like a week wasn't enough by far the best anniversary ever the house had a great feel to it we felt at home

Owners response: So glad to hear you had a great time. You were one of the first guests to enjoy the new beachfront lawn. Its so nice to have a cooling lawn to sit on during a hot summer day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

breath taking beach rental

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

the picture did not do it justice my family and i had the best time and a relaxing time at that we will be going back for sure there is not one bad thing i can say about this property clean cozy and refreshing

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. We work real hard to make sure the home is freshly updated for each guest. ! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Looking for some spring break fun and sun

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Vacationed with our college kids and their friends here. Good location for site-seeing as well as relaxing by the beach. Kids did lots of swimming and boogie boarding. House had all the basic needs. Nice to have a separate space for my husband and I while all the kids had the upstairs area to themselves. We ended every night with a bonfire on the beach. Lots of fun memories were made. Would definitely recommend this house and would stay here again.

Owners response: We so appreciate that you selected our beach house for your vacation. You are welcome back any time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This is an excellent vacation spot, whether you want to just relax and enjoy a California beach, or use this as a home base for excursions to Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Sea World, San Diego Zoo and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. Best to just enjoy the beach!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We enjoyed the beach walks and the close axcess to stores. The house was perfect, comfortable and clean. Kim is an exceptional hostess
and we were grateful for the chance to meet her. If we ever
come back to the area we will use the house as our vacation
again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Military family

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

My military family thanks you for a beautiful home away from home. May GOD bless you and your family!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

family time

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Thank you so much for letting my family and I enjoy your home. We stayed for close to a week and felt right at home. The pictures on the site do not show a true vision of your place. It is MUCH more than we expected! I really have no suggestions because you seemed to have covered it all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunset

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

A wonderful visit this was. So many lovely sunsets with family. This is a beautiful place. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girl time

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2008

Most of us sisters did enjoy daily walks along the beach so that was enjoyable. The Farmer's Market that we found on Thursday was a great delight as well.

We certainly had a good time there and we all went home with good memories for sure. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach House

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay at your lovely home. We had a good time getting together and going over pictures from our childhood and sorting them and reminiscing our childhood memories.

Everything was comfortable and boy did you think of every single thing. I even came away with some good ideas for my own home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

Met up with family to spend time with Mom before she deploys to Afghanistan. Great time, great waves, great food, great memories! Thanks for sharing your place. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach wedding

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Thanks for making my sisters beach wedding perfect. It was just amazing. Maybe I will get married here too

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No Seawall or barrier

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

I guess you need to have stayed on the beach to appreciate what they mean when they say this is the only property on the beach without a seawall. Its really true. When we walked down the beach ALL the other homes had the huge rock seawalls to cross. From the house side the seawalls look about 2-3 ft. BUT from the beach side, because sand levels change, the rock wall can just tower over you and be 12-15 ft high. We needed a place on the sand where our grandkids could run into the house if they needed to and this sure was it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

It really was the best location on the beach. We were married here and it was perfect

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach Wedding

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

This was a dream come true.We had our fairytale wedding right on the private beach. Its the most beautiful beachfront location in the world

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ultimate Relaxation

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

A true "home" away from home. This was truly the most relaxing week ever. Five Queen beds, seriously genius!!! I did nothing the entire week except take turns laying on the beach and on a comfy bed. Sounds of the ocean, cool breezes, semi private beach, dancing dolphins, a fire ring, BBQ, the comfiest beds and a fully functional kitchen made this a relaxing week. Loved having the Ralphs literally up the street - so convenient. I can not wait to get back there. I almost didn't want to write this review because I didn't want too many people to find out about this place. Just close enough to home to run to work if needed, but just far enough away to relax. Kim, the owner, is extremely helpful and proved true to her sterling reputation. Thanks, Kim!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We really do care about all of our families and our number one goal is to have you love your time on the beach, in our home. Thank you, Thank you, thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Memory

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

" Thank you Kim for helping to create the best family memory we could have asked for. Your location is unbelievable and our kids sure enjoyed themselves" Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family's Top Vacation!

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

WOW! Our family of 6 can't remember having a better vacation! We knew this property would be great for the kids based on the pictures but we never imagined how perfect it would be! There is nothing better than being able to play on the beach without having to pack up a car of "gear". We loved putting on our suits and stepping into the sand within minutes. The home was fresh and clean and had plenty of space to relax and play games, do puzzles and cook meals. The views of the ocean are unmatched and we loved the fire pit for smores and stories. Thanks a million for such a lovely time, our family needed the break and we couldn't have come home more relaxed! We've already booked for next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such a wonderful review! This beach really is the perfect place for families to have fun together. We are thrilled your family had such a great time.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Absolutely amazing

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

My husband, myself and our two girls had the most wonderful week here. The home is beyond gorgeous, has everything you need, the private yard and beach can not be beat - it was truly a dream vacation. Hoping we can make another trip there this year, my daughter still talks about it all of the time. Perfect vacation, beautiful home - and the view - it's more incredible than you can imagine!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your awesome review!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Two Months of our Life

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Thanks for letting us stay in your home for the last two months, it was just wonderful. Until we can buy our own home in Oceanside, we would like to continue with renting yours a few months each year! Thanks again Don and Bettie

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fabulous Vacation Home!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We spent a week in this beautiful vacation home with another family. We had an amazing week! The photos show exactly what you get. The ocean is truly your backyard. We had a range of children from 13 down to 3 and everyone had a great time! The little ones loved every second in the sand with the sand toys that were at the house. The older kids enjoyed boogie boarding in the ocean every day! We woke to dolphins swimming by each morning and even saw a few seals bouncing around! There is plenty of relaxation space and the owner is wonderful to work with. I would absolutely recommend this property and hope to return someday myself!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for choosing this home for your family vacation. It really is important to us that you had a great vacation on the beach and of course you are welcome back any time!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Great place for a family with small children! We were drawn to it because it has the large grassy area for our "ladder golf" game followed by AMPLE private sand area where toddlers could dig & play. You are still just 2 feet above the actual beach and ocean area so we could watch those who chose to play down there and get to them quickly if there was a need.
Kim has decorated tastefully and beds were comfortable. Great shower; great laundry facilities. There were 14 of us with plenty of room for port-a-cribs or a floor-sleeping toddler. Nice to have a separate big screen in one of the bedrooms for the little kids to all go off on their own for videos and let parents play games & do puzzles at the large dining room table. Warm, friendly hosts with family values. We rented entire cottage and were glad for the extra fridge downstairs & kitchen prep area which made it convenient for cook-out day. Some might object to only having an outside stair access to lower floor but not a problem for us. (Although those who slept downstairs did comment that every footstep above sounded like elephants!) Food storage was a little bit problematic but we came choosing NOT to eat out a lot so had a lot to store. I understand plans are in the works for solving that problem for future renters.
Had glorious weather, one glorious sunset to watch, plenty of dolphin sightings. Enjoyed the Sunset Market Thursday night for a fun combination of different ethnic foods. Never had a problem with street parking for three different vehicles, which I had worried about. Necessary stores close by requiring only a short automobile run. Spent one day at Old-Town in San Diego and the creative, informative Mormon Battalion Monument.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See You Next Summer

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Thanks for a great time once again. We want to reserve for next summer and bring our kids and grand kids again. What fun they have, what fun we all have. They already call this Grandmas beach house so I hope you dont mind if I dont correct them. You make us feel so welcome it is like we are returning home. If it were only true. Thanks again, Flo

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Experience on the Beach

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

My family and I just recently stayed at this wonderful beach cottage. All I can say is that it was absolutely fantastic! The house itself is great. If you are looking for a beach theme house that is very comfortable and relaxing, this is the place for you. The views are wonderful, with the house only about a mile south of the pier. Almost every morning we woke up to see dolphins swimming out front of the house. Kim was extraordinarily helpful in everything we needed. She went out of her way to make sure we had a great stay. The house is also located near a ton of great restaurants and surf shops where you can rent and buy anything you need to have fun in the ocean. All in all this was one of the best vacations my family and I have ever been on and I cannot wait to book another week in the future!
Owner Submitted Review

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House, Great Vacation and Great Beach

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

For the past several years my family and I have always come to San Diego to escape the cold. A couple weeks ago we visited San Diego for a family wedding and stayed at this house. We have always rented houses instead of staying at hotels when in San Diego and this is by far the best house we have come across. The interior of the home gives a fun beach vibe yet is very clean and updated, while the exterior has a private beach area for your family and a patio and picnic table for hanging out. The owner was very considerate and showed us numerous local spots for eating and shopping etc.. that we would have never found on our own. In my experience finding a good place to rent is way to stressful and Im just thankful i found Kim and her house to make the experience the best it could be and take the hassle out renting. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a fun family trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfection! Thank you so Much!

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

My family and I just recently stayed at this wonderful beach cottage. All I can say is that it was absolutely fantastic! The house itself is great. If you are looking for a beach theme house that is very comfortable and relaxing, this is the place for you. The views are wonderful, with the house only about a mile south of the pier. Almost every morning we woke up to see dolphins swimming out front of the house. Kim was extraordinarily helpful in everything we needed. She went out of her way to make sure we had a great stay. The house is also located near a ton of great restaurants and surf shops where you can rent and buy anything you need to have fun in the ocean. All in all this was one of the best vacations my family and I have ever been on and I cannot wait to book another week in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Perfect Spot on the Beach

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This is our fifth year in a row to travel to this wonderful vacation rental on the beach in Oceanside. It has the most superb location with a private beach. We come to relax, read and soak up the sun. We always visit during the month of Aug. It was perfect the first time we stayed but each year we find wonderful new updates and changes the owner has made to the home. It always feels brand new. We love being able to walk to many nice restaurants and we love the farmers market on Thursdays. The best part is falling asleep to the magnificent sound of the waves. We think this is the only home without a rock seawall in California and it makes such a difference to open up the bedroom door and walk straight into the ocean. Very private and there is no private beach better than this one. Someday we hope to own a similar home but for now we are happy to return here each year

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun Summer Kick-Off Vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Fun Summer Kick-Off Vacation Dee Goodrich, Michigan
Review Submitted June 21, 2011 Date of Stay June 1, 2011
My husband and I decided it would be nice to rent a beach house with another family to kick off our kids' summer vacation this year. We had never been to Oceanside before (though we had been to San Diego for a Sea World trip once before) but it turned out to be just perfect. The kids enjoyed having a room to share and play in and the house was more than large enough to contain all 8 of us. The house has it's own private beach and the kid's definitely enjoyed being able to go play outside "without the parents" (though we could still see them from the living room windows!) We took advantage of the fire pit for roasting marshmallows and enjoyed the gorgeous California beach weather. There is truly nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing - this is truly one of the most relaxing places I have been in quite sometime and I'm sure we will be returning for many years to come! Thanks Kim for the great vacation and for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful beach cottage in Oceanside

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We love staying in this extremely comfortable, well furnished and equipped cottage right on the beach. We've been coming back for a number of years; it feels like our second home! You hear the surf night and day. And our kids and grandkids love coming to the beach 'at our place'. We highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

The beach house and private beach exceeded our expectations. The staff was exceptional too. We will be back for the same time next year! Thank you for helping us make great memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

"You provided us with a wonderful memory for our family and we so appreciate you and your services. Thank you it was just perfect in every way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Wedding on the Beach

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Our stay was absolutely perfect ... my husband and I along with 50 of our closest friends and family had our wedding out on the private beach and it was everything we could have imagined and more !!! We could not have picked a better or prettier place to celebrate the most important day of our lives

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

As always thank you for the
wonderful beach house, we love it, and hopefully someday we will have one just like it. Your the best..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can We Come Back?

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

Hi!

We stayed at one of your Oceanside properties in January 2010. We had such a great time, hoping to do it again with family during the holidays this year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be Back

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

This is our fifth year in a row to travel to this wonderful vacation rental on the beach in Oceanside. It has the most superb location with a private beach. We come to relax, read and soak up the sun. We always visit during the month of Aug. It was perfect the first time we stayed but each year we find wonderful new updates and changes the owner has made to the home. It always feels brand new. We love being able to walk to many nice restaurants and we love the farmers market on Thursdays. The best part is falling asleep to the magnificent sound of the waves. We think this is the only home without a rock seawall in California and it makes such a difference to open up the bedroom door and walk straight into the ocean. Very private and there is no private beach better than this one. Someday we hope to own a similar home but for now we are happy to return here each year

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect, Perfect ,Perfect

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We were so pleased with this home and our vacation this year. We wanted a beach house right on the sand and required our accommodations to be attractive and well maintained. We are usually difficult to please and were not disappointed in this property. It is right on the beach and does indeed own the beach all the way to the water. The home itself is cheerful, immaculate and well maintained. We rented this home as a site to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had friends join us. It was an ideal selection. My wife and I stayed on the lower level and loved having our own kitchen and sitting room. It was nice to wake up each morning watching the waves and then to be able to have a cup of coffee from our private kitchenette. Our guests stayed upstairs on the main level. We took advantage of the private chef services that are an option with this home. Rather than trying to get reservations at the local restaurants that offer ocean views we decided there was no better view than the one offered by this home and its location and so we opted for Chef Frank to cook for us every evening. Some of our children and grandchildren joined us for part of the week and the home even had sand toys and boogie boards for the kids to use. The beach was as enjoyable as the home itself. Overall, it was an excellent vacation. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Experience on the Beach

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We just wrapped up a FABULOUS week in Oceanside! This week was truly our favorite family vacation. The accommodations were welcoming in its decor, comfy in its style and clean in its appearance! The beach experience is amazing. We felt as if we had our own private, family beach for a week! We left with so many amazing memories. We can't wait to come back to this house in Oceanside again next year!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Vacation and Amazing Beach House

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

My husband and I decided it would be nice to rent a beach house with another family to kick off our kids' summer vacation this year. We had never been to Oceanside before (though we had been to San Diego for a Sea World trip once before) but it turned out to be just perfect. The kids enjoyed having a room to share and play in and the house was more than large enough to contain all 8 of us. The house has it's own private beach and the kid's definitely enjoyed being able to go play outside "without the parents" (though we could still see them from the living room windows!) We took advantage of the fire pit for roasting marshmallows and enjoyed the gorgeous California beach weather. There is truly nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing - this is truly one of the most relaxing places I have been in quite sometime and I'm sure we will be returning for many years to come! Thanks Kim for the great vacation and for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Priceless

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

Not only did we collect seashells but we collect memories of a lifetime.
I don't know what I cherish the most the 2 grandchildren running on the beach or the adult children sitting around the fire ring spending precious time together.
Our vacation was perfect. The house was perfect. It had everything we needed. Not only was it comfortable but the decor was perfect for a beach house. Everything was coordinated in sea shore cottage decor.
Kim, the owner was marvelous. She went above and beyond to make our vacation very special.
We have made our reservations for 2011 already.
The location of the home is perfect, close to everything.
We stayed at the beach house most of the time. It was to beautiful, relaxing and enjoyable to leave. There are numerous restaurants and local attractions. Took the 2 grandchildren (2 & 3 years) on a quick train ride to San Clemente and to pick strawberries in Carlsbad. I have to admit I did slip away long enough to have a massage.
I cannot say enough about our spectacular stay at this perfect location. Can't wait until our next vist.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

An amazing property. Well worth the money. Having the beach out your backdoor is the best part. Very private and cozy. Simply put, a little piece of paradise on the California coastline.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation Home!!

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

For the past several years my family and I have always come to San Diego to escape the cold. A couple weeks ago we visited San Diego for a family wedding and stayed at this house. We have always rented houses instead of staying at hotels when in San Diego and this is by far the best house we have come across. The interior of the home gives a fun beach vibe yet is very clean and updated, while the exterior has a private beach area for your family and a patio and picnic table for hanging out. The owner was very considerate and showed us numerous local spots for eating and shopping etc.. that we would have never found on our own. In my experience finding a good place to rent is way to stressful and Im just thankful i found Kim and her house to make the experience the best it could be and take the hassle out renting. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a fun family trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AMAZING Vacation

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

My family and I just recently stayed at this wonderful beach cottage. All I can say is that it was absolutely fantastic! The house itself is great. If you are looking for a beach theme house that is very comfortable and relaxing, this is the place for you. The views are wonderful, with the house only about a mile south of the pier. Almost every morning we woke up to see dolphins swimming out front of the house. Kim was extraordinarily helpful in everything we needed. She went out of her way to make sure we had a great stay. The house is also located near a ton of great restaurants and surf shops where you can rent and buy anything you need to have fun in the ocean. All in all this was one of the best vacations my family and I have ever been on and I cannot wait to book another week in the future!

Thank you for the amazing memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House, Great Vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

We were so pleased with this home and our vacation this year. We wanted a beach house right on the sand and required our accommodations to be attractive and well maintained. We are usually difficult to please and were not disappointed in this property. It is right on the beach and does indeed own the beach all the way to the water. The home itself is cheerful, immaculate and well maintained. We rented this home as a site to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had friends join us. It was an ideal selection. My wife and I stayed on the lower level and loved having our own kitchen and sitting room. It was nice to wake up each morning watching the waves and then to be able to have a cup of coffee from our private kitchenette. Our guests stayed upstairs on the main level. We took advantage of the private chef services that are an option with this home. Rather than trying to get reservations at the local restaurants that offer ocean views we decided there was no better view than the one offered by this home and its location and so we opted for Chef Frank to cook for us every evening. Some of our children and grandchildren joined us for part of the week and the home even had sand toys and boogie boards for the kids to use. The beach was as enjoyable as the home itself. Overall, it was an excellent vacation. Thank you Home Away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thankyou. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Congratulations on 45 years! All our best.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from Home!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We spent two weeks in the wonderful beach house. We could not have asked for a more perfect place. The views from the upstairs is breath taking, our first night we saw so many dolphins. It was so fun each evening to look for them again. Our family had fun just seeing who would see them first. There is no other spot in Oceanside that has this spot on the beach! We have spent the last 10 years vacationing at Oceanside......and this year we finally found the perfect spot. Thanks Kim for being a wonderful hostess!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you once again. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay on the beach at this house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love This Place!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

My family has stayed at this house since 2005. Every May we head down to Oceanside for our one and only yearly vacation. Kim and Mark are like family to us and their beach rental is to die for. The house is always extremely clean frequently redecorated. The fire pit is always ready for us to make our smores and to just sit by as the sun goes down each evening. The sunsets are to die for..the beach is right out the back door and my 7 year old loves digging for crabs. We have met some of the nicest families on our stays in Oceanside. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay and certainly not for more down to earth people like Kim and Mark. If you have to stay in Oceanside...check this place out...you won't be sorry!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you once again for selecting our house to stay in. We get such a kick out of hearing about the fun your little one has while he is on the beach. Know you are always welcome at any of our homes. Such awesome guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach Memories/From Our Guestbook

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We have stayed in your home once or twice a year for the past ten years and we cant imagine staying anywhere else. Our kids and grandkids feel like this is "their" beachhouse. The memories are priceless to the entire family. Thank you Kim for making us feel so welcome. We appreciate how you always keep improving the home and adding those special touches. Over the years we have recommended the beach house to so many of our friends that it seems all of Utah comes to stay in your house. We are so excited we have the month of Novemeber this next time. Take care and we will see you in Novemeber. PS Now our grandkids are asking for surfboards for Christmas gifts. I bet they are the only kids in Salt Lake City wanting surfboards! All our best, D.E.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lovely Spring Vacation!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My husband and I vacationed here with our three kids last March and had a lovely time. When we arrived we were told to make ourselves at home by the owner, which we did. The views were amazing - the first afternoon we were there we even saw a pod of dolphins from the back window! What a lovely welcome!

The kids played in the backyard which we felt comfortable about because there was rarely anyone else on the beach (it felt like our own private beach!!) and we could see them from the back windows of the house. We couldn't keep them off the beach! The backyard has patio furniture which is great for a picnic under the sunset. The house is also extremely close to the pier, which we walked to collecting shells along the way a few times.

The house itself is extra clean and has a very cozy feel - It truly felt like a home away from home and I, as a housewife, appreciated the decorative touches. We asked the owner to recommend local places to eat, which she kindly did. (By the way, the Fish Joint has DELICIOUS sushi!!)

I would definitely recommend this home for vacationers! It is wonderful for families and appeared to be able to sleep twice what we slept, so I'd definitely recommend it for groups. Thanks to the owners for a wonderful home and a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your terrific review and for staying with us for a few months this spring. Now you can understand where the Seaworld dolphin show gets their ideas. They just have the dolphins do what they do everyday out in front of the house. We are convinced the first surfers got the idea for surfing from watching dolphins ride the waves. And last week, we actually had a seal come up into the back yard and spend the night! Thank you once again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation house

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

I recently stayed here with my family and i have nothing but good things to say about it. The Landlord was an excellent host, she was always checking up on us to make sure everything was ok. It is A beautiful house with a gorgeous view.Everything inside was in prestine order and sparkling clean. I would recomend this beach house to everyone. It is beautiful and everyone had a great time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beach Vacation

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

This was the best family vacation ever. It was our first time selecting a home from Home Away and were wondering what it was going to be like. We felt like we had the most beautiful and private home on the entire beach. We will be coming back next year and have already made our reservation!. The location was just amazing The home really was right on the beach just like the description said. It also was the only home that did not have the rock seawall to climb over to get to the water. Our back yard was the Pacific Ocean. We thought we would take our kids to all the local amusements parks like Seaworld and Disneyland but we had so much fun on the beach we decided just to stay there. Every day we had fires in the fire ring. So much fun. The house was super clean and super cute. There is a great welcome book in the house we used to give us tips on all the local restaurants and activities. We saw dolphins every morning and it was spectacular. We did walk along the beach and saw some of the other homes we were thinking about renting. As it turns out they were condos and very noisy. This was a single family home and it was in a block of multimillion dollar beach homes. We had the beach, the views, our privacy, a great little beach house. The home had a huge private beach for our kids to play on safely. We even had our six year olds birthday party here. Its so easy to keep kids happy on the beach. Our son wants to have every birthday party here and we think we just might. This really was the best place for our family to relax and get away from it all

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words but more importantly thank you for selecting one of our properties for your family vacation. We understand and appreciate the fact that times are hard and you have a choice of many properties to spend your hard earned dollars. It is important to us that every family and guest enjoy their vacation and time on the beach, so we try very hard to make sure the home and property are just what you expected and even more. We just love it when we hear back from from our guests and you can tell your six year old he can have every birthday party here as long as he wears his pirate costume!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you from the Nelsons

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

This house is perfect and we want to come back. We just love the settign and love how the house is decorated and maintained. It is just beautiful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Memorial Day in Oceanside

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Beautiful ocean front property! Very reasonable rates and accurate description. The owner was very nice and the house was clean. Private beach was wonderful for the entire family. Lots of fun for the kids. Beautiful sunsets and the fire pit was a great way to end the evening.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

A little slice of paradise

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

We had such an amazing family vacation at this beach house! The house is perfect -- spacious, beautifully decorated and right on the beach! No road to cross which is very important with our young kids. The beach itself is very private and big. We enjoyed many walks down the beach to the pier and there is a great play structure on the beach easily walkable from the house. Watching the sun set on the back deck is heavenly! No need for a car. Downtown Oceanside is walkable from the house. But, we did rent a car and went to Legoland with the kids and that is close by too. I would highly recommend this beach house to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Stay at Beach Cottage

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

We are a 50-something retired couple from the Arizona desert and this was our 4th or 5th stay at this cottage in the past 8 years or so. Where we live, we get lots of beach, but no ocean, so we like to come here just to relax, smell the ocean and maybe do some sightseeing and visit with our CA relatives. We usually stay for a full week, but our last visit was just for three days in May. (We have also stayed in one the owner’s other cottages). The location of this property, like all of the cottages, is ideal. It is close enough to walk to the pier, restaurants, shops and even the train station if anyone uses that for transportation. The cottage is well-maintained, spotless and cute as a bug. We appreciate the free internet access to check our emails and the big book of sightseeing ideas, as well as a fireplace for snuggling on cooler nights.
This time we were lucky and were able to snag the cottage at the last minute for just a couple of days, so we stayed put and decided to just visit the beach. We walked to the movie theater one night, and then strolled about the area people-watching, but mostly we ate in and enjoyed the sunsets from the beach chairs with a cocktail and a light meal. We also got a big kick out of watching the early morning surfers from the upstairs picture windows, which we always enjoy. Our time was over far too quickly, but we will return again and again.
Something I personally appreciate is that this is a true classic California beach cottage, not some modern cookie cutter condo or McMansion built where a cottage used to be. I grew up in Southern California and remember those cute little beach houses used to be everywhere on Balboa and Newport, but they have all been destroyed and overbuilt now. It is really hard to find one of the original beach cottages any more. This one has obviously been maintained and restored with love and care for its history and I felt all nostalgic for the summer days spent at the Fun Zone or hours spent building drip castles when I was a child. Thank You Kim, for a most wonderful stay, as always.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Best Beach Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

This beach house was amazing - right on the beach with the ocean as your backyard. We've stayed in many beach rentals, but this is one we will definitely come back to. The house was beautifully decorated and was very clean. The property has a great fire pit and the town of Oceanside is the perfect beach town - walking distace or short drive to resturants and a movie theatre. We enjoyed many beautiful sunsets and the kids loved the world's largest sandbox - the backyard!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for selecting one of our beachfront homes for your family vacation at the beach!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Wedding

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Thank you so much for letting use your home for our wedding. It was everything we dreamed of. Thanks for working so hard to make our day so special. Perhaps the next time we stay with you we will be bringing children. We cant thank you enough.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Wonderful vacation home!

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

This house is wonderful, very charming and full of character. Comfortable and clean, everything you need is right there. The house also had an awesome book full of directions to everything you could need from grocery stores to amusement parks. We had a great week. The beach access is wonderful, the kids spent hours running in tidal pools and looking for shells and making sand castles. Very easy to get to both LA and San Diego, really the perfect location! We had 4 adults and 4 children in the house with plenty of room for everyone. The fire pit was also nice, we had fired and smores a couple nights. All in all it was a wonderful stay, we enjoyed every minute!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

What a view!

Review submitted: February 28, 2009   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

This place is exceptional for many reasons. First and foremost, the view you have from every window is breathtaking, even get free surfing shows! We enjoyed the firepit one evening, under the stars and listening to the crashing waves. Lovely! Close to shopping and some great restaurants. The trip to downtown San Diego isn't too far, we traveled there quite a bit. Nice to have two kitchens and some privacy for two couples. We would recommend this place to anyone and we have!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review