reviews for: listing #111349 - St Martin/Maarten, Caribbean Condo rental

The Queen Penthouse sleep 4 to 10
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Cliff at Cupecoy
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $490 - $2,000 /nt
    $3,430 - $14,000 /wk
    $14,700 - $25,000 /mth

sort by:

Simply Amazing !!! WOW !!

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2014

This property is absolutly magnificent it is everything you can imagine plus more!!! the owner was extremely accommodating made us feel at home. The communication was great all emails where returned promptly and staff was ready waiting for us once we arrived. If you are going to SXM this is a must property to stay in if you want your trip to be memorable. You will not be disappointed!! Thanks again Alan of everything and next time I'm in SXM i will definitely rent from you .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful Experience

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

The Queen Penthouse says it all..it is an absolutely beautiful and spacious condo with amazing views of Maho, Mullet Bay and the Caribbean . The Queen Penthouse and the Cliff property have everything you would expect from a 5 star property. This is a very exclusive and private place to stay on the island! You are minutes away from many good restaurants, casinos and beach's on the island. Alan, Jonathan and Ophelie were a pleasure to work from start to finish. They even coordinate a private chef for us, which we had some amazing meals on the terrace over looking the Caribbean with friends and family. I was traveling with 6 kids from 16 to 21 and was looking fro a place with some security and the Cliff offers just that, never have i felt more safe on a property in my 14 visits to the island then at The Cliff.

We are looking forward to our next stay in the queen Penthouse



The owner Alan is so friendly and easy to work with. He was very helpful and attentive! I have no complaints whatsoever!! I didn't want to leave this beautiful place and I hope we get the opportunity to come back and stay here again someday! We had an incredible vacation staying here! The place was so nice, clean, and spacious! I highly recommend staying here! You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in the sky

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

The penthouse suite is just spectacular in a very central part of St Martin. The views of Mullet Bay are wonderful. The entire Cliffs facility is very modern with indoor/outdoor pools, which the children loved. The restaurant inside was great as well. Jonathan was an extremely gracious host. Overall a wonderful trip.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Condo!

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

This was the perfect place for our family vacation! We stayed here the week before Christmas and had a fantastic time. The condo is extremely nice and spacious - plenty of room to spread out! The views are gorgeous, and we really enjoyed the balcony and roof terrace. We traveled all over the island, and I’m so glad that we chose to stay here! Alan was great – so easy to book and provided everything we needed!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving in Paradise!

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Queen Penthouse over the Thanksgiving Holidays. There were 9 adults and the place is just huge. The views are amazing. It is nicely furnished and had all the amenities we needed. We had a great time and fulfilled our wish to enjoy thanksgiving Dinner with family on the balcony overlooking the beautiful blue Caribbean sea with turkey, stuffing and everything else.... We all miss it and talk about it frequently.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Alice. Glad that you had good time here. We will enhanced more and more the penthouse every year.
Happy new year to all the family.
Hope to see you next time in St-Martin.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation!! Great condo!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

The penthouse condo was great, comfortable and clean with many amenities!! Indoor, outdoor pool, workout facilities, snorkeling, grocery store and many restaurants close by. Easy to set up and reserve thru Alan. Friendly annd helpful asst Joy got us situated.. Beautiful views from balconies.. Great condo. I would highly recommend it!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing place to stay

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

The Queen Penthouse is an absolutely gorgeous, spacious, yet private place to stay! The owner Alan is so friendly and easy to work with. He was very helpful and attentive! I have no complaints whatsoever!! I didn't want to leave this beautiful place and I hope we get the opportunity to come back and stay here again someday! We had an incredible vacation staying here! The place was so nice, clean, and spacious! I highly recommend staying here! You will not be disappointed!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous place!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

We stayed at this penthouse for 8 nights and it was fabulous! Alain (owner) was great...very accommodating and quick to respond to any of our questions. The penthouse is beyond beautiful....the location was perfect. We can't wait to come back and will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Unit, Would Stahy There Again and Likely Will

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

My wife, two year old son and I recently finished up an 8 day stay here, which was the first part of our two week stay in St. Maarten. The second week we stayed in a far inferior "penthouse" at the Oyster Bay Beach Resort which was awful.

The Process--
This was a bit cumbersome because most VRBOs on the island wont take credit cards only wire transfers. This is a bit alarming unless you have trust but this Unit had stellar reviews and after trading emails with Alan the owner I felt safe in doing so. Unfortunately, my bank, Chase, had issues wiring money there, but Alan accepted a Fedex check, which took some time to clear.

The Unit --
We did the 1 BR lockout, which gives full access to the Unit, other than the other bedrooms, of which I believe there are four total. So we got the Master, with huge en suite bath, the living room style area just outside the Master, the second floor sun deck, and the entire main floor and kitchen and patio area, which is enormous.

The views are amazing, of Saba and Mullet Bay Beach and the beautiful Caribbean. 11-12 floors below you see the pool and the small part of Cupecoy Beach that the Cliff controls. The time of year we were there, June, the beach area was covered due to high tides. i understand it is habitable in the high season. On thew main floor patio, there is a huge eating area and another coffee area as well as room for sunbathing. On the second floor sun deck there is an interior sitting area and ample sunning area, all furnished. Most days we didnt even leave the Unit because you didnt have to in order to get sun. You could also see the planes landing at SXM (far enough as to not be noisy).

The furnishings are quality, the kitchen is modern. the floors are marble. everything is great.

The Building--
This is probably the best building on the island. You have 24 hour guard, gated entrance, free parking, indoor and outdoor pool, Christian Dior Spa and a Cafe (closed in off season). Across the street is a casino and great restaurants. The building is not far from both the french and (heart of) dutch side.

Cupecoy -- If I return to SXM, I would stay here. It offers relaxing access to both the french and heart of dutch side and the roads (outside the golf course) are much better. After this we stayed in Oyster Pond and the roads are horrible as is the access. You have the French lowlands near the unit with great beaches.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Place to Stay on the Island

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

First if your dates are available stop reading this review and BOOK this place now. This is hands down the nicest place to stay on the entire island. It’s convenient location to all attractions and the amenities are second to none. Alan is very easy to deal with and is a man of his word. This place is a palace with breathtaking views. You are located right next to one of the best beached on the island and only a car drive away from any location on the island. The “Queen Penthouse” is an understatement, royalty could stay here and they would be very pleased. The pictures do not do justice on how large this place is, there is enough room for 10+ too stay comfortably, although I think Alan has a limit do avoid any damage to this GEM. The entire front side is breathtaking views of the entire ocean. There is a Dior Spa and indoor swimming pool a café located on site, easy parking with no fee 24 hour security which is not needed because this place is super safe. You’re located right across from a casino with great places to eat. We drove the entire Island and looked at the other places we thought of renting and we so glad we picked this place. We felt like we were royalty living in complete paradise. It was very hard to come back to reality even though we live in lovely Marina Del Rey California. You can’t go wrong booking this place keep in mind it’s nearly 6000sft of luxurious living space with 2 full decks that span the entire front of the condo. Please take my word for it, treat yourself to this place. You can feel 100% confident and trust Alan with your booking. We can't wait to return. I'm a very picky traveler so if you want the best than this is IT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Epic Vacation

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

My eldest had often been chided by his girlfriend that he overused the word "Epic" to describe anything that was considered superior; That is before we all shared a stay at the Queen Penthouse the week before that same son was to begin med school on the island of St Maarten.We arrived very late and were concerned about gaining access to the Cliff and our reserved Penthouse condo. We were allowed passage through the security gate after appropriately identifying ourselves only to find Alan's associate,Rikki, standing at the entrance with a smile for our arrival.He cordially and professionally escorted us to the 11th floor and access to our accomodations at the Queen Pentouse...Although travel weary,we were instantly invigorated after our initial viewing of this most superior property! Enormous,spacious living/dining area w/ modern kitchen, huge bedrooms and cavernous walk-in closets, only seen in the most upscale US properties,greeted us. Very impressive!...but what took our breath away were the amazing multi-level balconies and decks with amazing views of the water below..and all around...as depicted in the photos with 100% accuracy. This reinforced that Alan and VRBO are completely now trusted by me to be as they represent themselves with acccuracy and, dare I say, with integrity.Only Alan knows of my reticence at first, but his professional and ethical conduct as an owner/property manager is par excellence!
Needless to say with this gorgeous property, we had a wonderful home base to fully and completely take in all that St Maarten/St Martin has to offer. I dare say, if this property is not the ultimate St Maarten/Martin property, it must be in the top 3. Our best vacation...truly in the 'Epic' category

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing stay in luxurious penthouse atop St Maarten's upscale "Cliff" at Cupecoy!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from an amazing one week stay at this luxurious penthouse located at the upscale "Cliff" at Cupecoy Beach. Our party consisted of 9 people including grandparents and 5 children ages 16 to 3. I cannot say enough about this penthouse unit or the owner Mr. Alan! The pictures are right on target! The penthouse is beautifully decorated, modern amenities, lots of closet space, and a well appointed kitchen. There is a lot of space, which is great when traveling with a large group. We never once felt crowded! Mr Alan was wonderful to work with. His response time to all emails is practically immediate, and he is very accommodating! He even had a brand new crib delivered and put together before we arrived! I want to mention Ms. Mala, the lovely lady housekeeper! She did an amazing job with housekeeping and even washed and folded laundry for us!!! The Cliff has all that one needs for a luxurious St Maarten vacation. The Christian Dior Spa, the gym, the beach are all top notch. Security for the building is second to none!!!! Also, parking was never a problem. Close proximity to airport, restaurants, casinos, nightlife. We have been visiting St Maarten/St Martin for over 20 years, this penthouse and building is the best the island has to offer. This is not a time share building!!! The views are amazing and the sunsets from the penthouse are beautiful and enjoyable from two terraces! Once again, this penthouse is perfect for large family or couples looking for a chic, spacious, well appointed penthouse condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Zoe and happy you enjoyed your stay.
Alan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exactly as it seems on the Site

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We rented as two couples celebrating our wedding anniversaries. The Queen Penthouse was lovely, luxurious and exactly as promoted on the website with respect to amenities etc. It's location is ideal with excellent restaurants within walking distance and short rides to all other locations. We have been to St. Maartin before and stayed at other VRBO sites in the area, however, this was OVER THE TOP in terms of satisfying our expectations! Alan, was ideal in getting us arranged pre trip and Dagi was an excellent resource when we arrived. We arrived offseason, so the captive restaurant was closed, but I look forward to coming back to enjoy what appears to be an excellent menu offering. As it was offseason, we basically had use of all the pools, indoor and outdoor, to ourselves. Overall, the experience was exactly as planned and desired for a long weekend in paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Rob, I am happy that you had a good time. I hope you will come back.
Alan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Cliff Royal Penthouse

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

This is the most perfect place to have a holiday. The penthouse is beautifully designed, incredibly light and spacious, with stunning views over the ocean. The bedrooms are all very private and extremely comfortable, with great bathrooms and dressing areas. The living areas are equally comfortable and there are many large balconies with sofas and sun loungers, places to eat outside and private spaces if you wish to get away from it all. The public areas of the building are also to be recommended, starting with the restaurant/cafe which serves very good food, great cappuccino's, is friendly and always open. The beauty salon/spa is luxurious and right next to all the sports amenities, indoor pool, gymnasium, and the outdoor pool, all of which I found to be top quality. The outdoor pool has great sunbathing space and is never crowded, and it leads down to the beach which is stunning - white sand and turquoise sea, gentle waves - what more could you want.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A week in paradise

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We spent our february winter break at the Penthouse and it could not have been better. The property is magnificent and all the people were very friendly. This was our first trip to St Maarteen but we would love to come back. My wife still talks about ti everyday!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Cliff Queen Penthouse

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Absolutely stunning ocean views and luxurious, spacious accommodations are what makes staying at this condo so inviting. Every room is extraordinarily large; all the bedrooms are master suites with very comfortable beds and big walk in closets. The living/dining/kitchen areas are open providing lots of space for everyone to feel very comfortable. The whole front of the condo looks out to the ocean with breath taking views of Mullet Bay and the dutch side to the left. The deck has plenty of outdoor furniture for relaxing in the sun and two sets of tables and chairs for enjoying eating outdoors. Upstairs is another TV/lounge area which makes it great for groups to watch TV, read or just relax. The upper deck is very private and has a sleeping/lounging bed. Our daughter found this space to be great for taking a nap and she loved sleeping on the outdoor bed a few nights listening to the ocean and enjoying the cool night breezes. Very magical at night.
The facilities at this condo building are hard to beat anywhere. There's a great outdoor pool, a good sized weight/exercise room with some up to date equipment, and a wonderful indoor lap pool. Our son worked out every morning, so having this facility was perfect. The Cliff even has it's own beach and we found the snorkeling right out front pretty good.
The Cliff Cafe in the condo lobby is worth visiting. We enjoyed some delicious lunches there comparable to some of the finer restaurants on the island.
The location of the condo is very central in Cupecoy so getting to the french or dutch side is very convenient. We really liked the 24hr. security of the building with gated entry.
Our family loved this outstanding condo with all the great amenities which added a lot to making our vacation a wonderful experience.
The owner was very accommodating, meeting us at the airport and waiting while we picked up our rental car. We followed him to the condo only 5 minutes away where he pointed out areas of interest, restaurants, etc. We found him to be a wealth of information and simply delightful to
talk with.
This condo has it all. The floor plan of the unit allows for complete privacy from every bedroom, the common areas allows everyone to spread out and relax! We can't wait to return to this very special place. I would recommend this property to vacationers with families, several couples, or anyone wanting luxury,romance and pampering at a very affordable price.

/

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much bev for your so nice appreciation. Kind regards to all the family.
A.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Cliff Royal Penthouse

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

Truly paradise! We had an amazing time in Sint Maarten and it was mostly due to the paradise-like penthouse we stayed in. The place is magnificent, overlooking the gorgeous blue ocean, the owner is as friendly as ever and the surrounding areas are the safest/ most entertaining/ casinos, golf, shopping, upscale restaurants, nightclubs. If your going to stay in Sint Maarten, do it right. This is THE place to stay on Sint Maarten.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Misty !!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Royal Penthouse, a nice place to stay in St-Martin

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

This is the place to stay in St. Maarten! We went with 3 couples for our yearly trip and had a wonderful time. Its conveniently located to everything- the airport, Mullet Bay is across the street (famous beach), casino’s, great restaurants, shopping, everything!!! The complex is just stunning with gorgeous landscaping, security guard on duty 24/7, tennis courts, awesome workout faculties that over look the ocean, indoor and outdoor pools, steps away from the beach, etc. Words cannot describe how remarkable this penthouse is! It is fully equipped with everything you need- we found ourselves not wanting to leave often- we would make appetizers in the awesome kitchen and relax on the beautiful terrace to watch the sunsets. I strongly suggest you give the Royal Penthouse a shot, you can’t beat it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Myself and a friend had the pleasure of staying in the Queen's penthouse for a week this January. The unit is amazing, as is the property and staff. The owner was very accommodating as well. I would highly recommend either the Royal or Queen's unit for any visit to the island for those with discriminating tastes!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

The Royal Penthouse at The Cliff at Cupecoy is the best place to stay on the island. Before we even arrived to the Penthouse, the owner met us at our car rental place to follow him to The Cliff (less than 5 minute drive). Along the way he showed us the grocery store, great places to eat, and fun nightlife. The Cliff has an electric security gate, underground-secured parking, security cameras, and a security guard 24/7 so you always felt safe.

The Penthouse is huge! The bedrooms are spacious, all with bathrooms. The kitchen is top notch with all the amenities you would need to prepare a feast. The terrace is the place to be as it sits on the corner with views of Mullet Bay beach and the beautiful sunsets.

If you go to St Maarten, without question stay at the Royal Penthouse at the Cliff. Truly amazing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

This is the place to stay in St. Maarten! We went with 3 couples for our yearly trip and had a wonderful time. Its conveniently located to everything- the airport, Mullet Bay is across the street (famous beach), casino’s, great restaurants, shopping, everything!!! The complex is just stunning with gorgeous landscaping, security guard on duty 24/7, tennis courts, awesome workout faculties that over look the ocean, indoor and outdoor pools, steps away from the beach, etc. Words cannot describe how remarkable this penthouse is! It is fully equipped with everything you need- we found ourselves not wanting to leave often- we would make appetizers in the awesome kitchen and relax on the beautiful terrace to watch the sunsets. I strongly suggest you give the Royal Penthouse a shot, you can’t beat it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

I'm so glad that Mexico had the swine flu or else we would have missed a trip to paradise! We had 3 couples that stayed in the penthouse and had the best time. The weather was unbelievable and all of the locals were more than nice! I would definitely go back and stay at the Cliffs in St. Maarten, it is a great experience - Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

Truly paradise! We had an amazing time in Sint
Maarten and it was mostly due to the paradise-like
penthouse we stayed in. The place is magnificent,
overlooking the gorgeous blue ocean, the owner is
as friendly as ever and the surrounding areas are
the safest/ most entertaining/ casinos, golf,
shopping, upscale restaurants, nightclubs. If your
going to stay in Sint Maarten, do it right.

This is THE place to stay on Sint Maarten.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

Wonderfull stay in this majestic Penthouse on the top of The Cliff, the most luxury vacation complex of st-martin, no equivallent in all caribbean. We will come back soon...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review