reviews for: listing #11156 - Robbinsville, North Carolina Cabin rental

Secluded, Cute, and Wow! What a View!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $150 /nt
    $600 - $750 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots to Do and Great Start Off Point

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

This place was clean, clean, clean! There was everything we needed and tons of things to do. My son did not even play his video games...Hurrah!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Ladies from Florida

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

First of all, we have stayed in a few different cabins over the years. Some very nice cabins but without the view and some great views but not the nicest of cabins. Well, this one had both. WOW! That's all we could say to each other when we first arrived. The location was perfect also. We had a wonderful time, hiking and exploring the area. Joyce Kilmer Park is an easy hike, our 74 year old mama had no problem. Beautiful.
Melanie has a wonderful, and comical review list of area attractions and eateries. We found this to be very helpful. Melanie and Bill, y'all can go ahead and pencil us in for the same time next year. (If not before) Loved it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful, Beautiful and Worry-free

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay for a vacation!
The view is gorgeous, whether you're inside or out...
The cabin was very comfortable and had everything one could want or need for a week's getaway. It was neat, clean, and nicely furnished, with lots of personal touches everywhere.
The owners are very friendly and were helpful from the day I first inquired about the cabin. Melanie has personalized everything with her wonderful sense of humor!
I really enjoyed being close to so many hiking trails (there is an access point to the Appalachian trail less than 10 minutes' drive away).
This truly was a pleasure!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your terrific review. I love the Smokies and want everyone else to experience the awesome Appalachians; they are spectacular. I try to make my cabin feel like a place people will be very comfortable in and remember. If you walk in the door and say, "YES!" then I know you'll have a happy vacation. Again, I appreciate your wonderful review.
Melanie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mountain Vista View

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Vista means view, and that's the truth. Every minute the view changed...Smokies are aptly named and gorgeous beyond belief. Yes, the cabin was great, there were amply things to do, the price was right...BUT the view was priceless.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEAUTIFUL

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

WE WERE LOOKING FOR A QUIET ,OUT OF THE WAY PLACE THAT WE COULD GO ON VACATION WITH OUR DAUGHTER AND HER FAMILY.
WE FOUND THE PERFECT SPOT.
CLEAN
QUIET
GREAT VIEWS (BREATH TAKING)
TROUT FISHING
TUBING
OUTDOOR CAMPFIRE S
WASHER AND DRYER (LIFE SAVER)
IT WAS FAR ENOUGH AWAY BUT CLOSE TO EVERYTHING. WE PLAN ON COMING BACK AGAIN.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Truly wonderful.....

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Where do I even start? We have just returned to what feels like the flatest part on earth - from this lovely cabin with a view you just cannot beat. From our very first contact with the owners (Melanie and Bill) to the moment we locked the door behind us -- it was truly a pleasurable experience. Melanie and Bill answered every question I had; and the suggestions they sent and detailed book they had handy, left no question unanswered. The cabin is perfect - absolutely beautiful setting overlooking this stretch of mountains (what you see, is what you get!); peaceful, serene - awaking to the mist clearing in the morning, coffee in hand on the lovely porch. Inside, everything we could think of, we had. Loved the gas stove! Made many nice meals, enjoying the charcoal bbq while watching the sun set. The area for us, was perfect - extremely close to Tsali and Nantahala for biking; Bryson City and the Road to Nowhere was a good ride as well. Great base site for any avid cyclists! Tried some restaurants recommended - also proved right on the recommendation! The cabin is very comfortable; shower pressure's fabulous; bed very comfy; and kitchen was great to cook in - with an amazing view, to boot! Every morning, we'd set our day's plans and go from there. Secluded, yet close to what you need. I would recommend this (and already have) to anyone looking for a great cycling adventure; or just time away in a beautiful place, where you can relax and get away from it all. We'd come again, for sure!

Owners response: Thanks so much. It makes me really happy when folks have a good time at one of my cabins. I try to have everything there that I would want if I was the renter. I guess I've done it! There's nothing better than to go on vacation in the Smokies. It's so beautiful and absolutely God's country. It was great meeting you. Again, thanks for your kind words. Hope all goes well for your family, and come back again!
Warmest regards,
Melanie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT mountain vacation

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

Loved this property and our time in the mountains. The owners went above and beyond to insure that our trip was perfect. The cabin was VERY clean and nicely decorated. Mealnie prepared details books at the cabin with pictures, directions and things to do in the area that were MOST helpful in our daily adventure planning. We have teenagers and the great things to do not far from the cabin included, white water rafting, wafter fall swimming and jumping off rocks, LOTS of hiking, boating, tubing and fishing on beautiful lakes, zipline adventures, smoky mountain park and cherokee village and play. WE made wonderful memories for years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Back for a second stay!

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

We love this cabin so much we came back for a 2nd stay! This time the view with the leaves down was spectacular!! We arrived Christmas Day in the middle of a snow storm, found the cabin ready for us and hunkered down. We were snowed in for 2 days. We had a great time watching movies, playing in the snow and just sitting and watching the fire in the fireplace. The cabin was warm, and cozy and I really hope you give this little cabin a try!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We are totally attracted to this cabin!!!

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Our first stay in Mountain Vista was July 2010. We LOVED every minute of our 2 week stay!!! The cabin was clean, stocked, and you could tell that a lot of love had gone into the decorating. The cabin was located close to Tsali biking trails which we used daily. Also in the Stecoha community, there is a community building with free wireless internet, chairs, an umbrella to sit under and a pooch to pet! The road into the cabin is well maintained(not a goat trail) and when you get to the cabin their is room to park, turn around, sit down, play horseshoes etc.... Inside the cabin is an array of books, movies,puzzles and games, to keep anyone busy. The tv has ALOT of satelite channels. The kitchen is well stocked and there is a waffle maker, coffee pot, and plenty of towels, washclothes for everyone. We like to go to Bryson City to eat at Jimmy Macs, and the Mexican Resturant by Radio Shack. We also love the Nantahalia Inn for the Sunday buffet and Tuesday specials(in season). If you go to Cherokee try out the Paula Deen Resturant at the casino hotel. We also like to look at the flea markets up and down the Smokey Mtn Expressway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A very romantic mountain veiw !

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

My husband and I rented this cabin, back in June 2010, we had never been anywhere in the four years we have been together. This was the best three days that I have ever had. The cabin and the veiw are awsome. Other than your personal belongings, you really do not need to take anything with you. We were honered to also rent from their daughter this past December 2010 and had a wonderful white Christmas with our children and got to meet Mr and Mrs Woods. If you have the chance take advantage of this experiance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So Tranquil and Beautiful!

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

This was the most peaceful, relaxing vacation I have ever taken. The cabin is clean, homey, very well furnished and comfortable. I was here the week of Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The fireplace was wonderful for the cold mountain evenings. The view is gorgeous and is different every single day - the best part was waking up in the master bedroom and looking out into the mountains and the clouds! Just like heaven. They provide plenty to do at the cabin in the event you just want to stay in and relax or need something to do on a rainy day (books, lots of movies, puzzles, games). Melanie was very helpful and had a lot of recommendations for things to see and do while there. Close to lakes, rivers, forests, outdoor activities, Smoky Mt Railroad, and quaint small towns. The ride up the mountain was quite an adventure for a girl from the flat land of Florida - it is not for the faint of heart, but when you reach the destination at the cabin it is well worth it!! I highly recommend staying here. I did not want to leave and will be back again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I do appreciate your kind words. I love the cabin, too. I used to teach school and would sometimes arrive in the mountains like a "basket case," with lots of tension and stress. A few days in this part of the Smokies, and I become a new and refreshed soul. Thanks so much for sharing.
Melanie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lake Santeetlah

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

We enjoyed renting a pontoon on Lake Santeetlah. We also liked having your book of places to go and directions for getting there. It made our vacation easy. The cabin was sparkling clean. The location was perfect for us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow! What a view!

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

We loved it! Everything was as described...beautiful, clean, well decorated, inviting...perfect. We were close to all the things we wanted to do, too. This area is tops for natural beauty and mountain activities. We whitewater rafted, fished, hit the railroad, saw the Biltmore House and knew we'd return to our own breathtaking spot in the Smokies. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review