reviews for: listing #11160 - San Luis Obispo, California House rental

"Bay Vista"
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $115 - $165 /nt
    $850 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,200 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Nature Lovers have found paradise.

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

I woke each morning before sunrise, took a steaming cup of coffee 30 steps to the Sweet Springs Preserve to watch the sunrise on Morro Rock, then watched the eagles and egrets forage for breakfast as the sun came up. Once things calmed down a bit--I went back for a second cup of coffee in the hot tub, and watched the birds come to the bay by the thousands--from the hot tub. Later in the day we took the kayaks out on the bay, saw great blue herons resting on the shore, and walked the dunes that were untarnished. This part of the central coast is the only truly unspoiled landscape. This is truly a one of a kind place. It is so nice to find such a comfortable nest in the midst of such natural bounty.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

How do I like my coffee? With egrets and eagles, of course. What an incredible find

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

I woke before sunrise every morning, walked out the door, to a menagerie of egrets, waterfowl, even a bald eagle having breakfast over my head. Don't sleep through this magnificant spectacle, just steps from your door. My toes got a bit chilly in December, so I slipped into the hot tub once the morning sunrise dwindeled .to daylight. This place is one of a kind.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Place

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We loved are visit. The home is comfortable and the nearby nature trail and view of the bay was a nice surprise. We hope to return in warmer weather to kayak in the bay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice host, neighborhood another story....

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

The house was great, tons of room and clean. The yard was nice and the view was excellent. Our children thought the "room of many beds" was fun and the yard was great to keeping them contained.
My biggest complaint was the neighborhood. But I can say the Los Osos Police are very nice and were good enough to do some extra patrols one night after we felt threatened by an angry man who came back to the house three separate times after he almost rear-ended us by going way too fast.
Jean was very helpful and nice. Its just too bad the area was a bit run down. Next time, we'll stay in a hotel closer to the better beaches and not in Los Osos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: this 2 bedroom house is located on a cul-de-sac. there are 5 houses on one side of the street, sweet springs Nature Preserve is on the other side of the street which is owned by the Audubon Society. this neighborhood is so quiet that I have seen deer sleeping in the daytime directly behind the house. I have no idea where this one angry bad could have come from. He is the exception not the rule. this is a country like setting. it is a small town not a city. you can walk to the water or the farmers market.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fun and relaxing time!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed for 3 days. We enjoyed the relaxed nature of the house, nothing fussy! Plenty of room, the BEST master bed ever (so comfortable), and a great hot tub that over
looked the bay. The house is in very close proximity to the Elfin Forest, the nature preserve right down the street and the Montana del Oro State Beach just a few miles to the south. A wonderful place for dinner is the 10th Street Grill. Great food and serivce and just about 5 minutes from the house. Thanks, Jean, for sharing your house with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Central Coast Getaway

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

The house was nice and well maintained. the views were spectacular! it was a very nice quiet neighborhood. We loved the gas grill for a cook out in the back yard; the hot tub was great! This is definitely a place i will come back to stay. the house was spacious for the 4 of us, but so many beds in the one bedroom was amusing. The master suite was perfect for us and the dog; with a door to the fenced in back yard. I can't wait to visit again, and i would recommend this place to anyone i know visiting the Moro Bay or San Luis area.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

The owner, Jean Durbano is a personable, kind and responsive owner. This home is older, but, we had our adult children, 11 year old son, and our 2 year old grandson with us. We never had to worry that our very active 2 year old grandson would get in trouble or "escape" through the fenced back yard with a beautiful view of Morro Bay. Very family friendly. The last reviewer commented that Jean had replaced the Master Bedroom Queen Bed with a new King Bed. This new bed was so comfortable that I wish I had read the tag so I could purchase the same for our home. We slept great in this home. The neighborhood was quiet and relaxing. A good base for day trips to San Luis Obispo and Avila Beach. We had great weather. Jean was so kind and listened and responded to everything we had to say. Yes, the glassware needs to be replaced and definitely new kitchen knives are needed. I'm sure as soon as Jean reads this she will replace them. Loved this place. We will be back. Thanks Jean! DJ & Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Three weeks in Bay Vista

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We stayed three weeks in Jean's Bay Vista house, July 1 - July 22, 2012, with our dog. First, I must say that Jean is a most responsive landlady. When she saw that the two gas barbecues did not work well, she brought in a new one. When I told her that the Queen mattress was too soft, she replaced it with a firmer King. And, when she saw my reaction to the broiler part of the stove (it's at floor level!), she brought in a new toaster oven.
The location of the house is great as it is between SLO and Cambria and within just a few miles of fantastic Montaña de Oro State Park, Elfin Forest, adjacent to the Sweet Springs Preserve, and a short walk to the Baywood Business District (market and several restaurants). It was very peaceful and the view of Morro Rock from the backyard was most pleasant.
The living room was very comfortable, with two big couches, and the two bedrooms are quite large. There are three TVs, each with DVD player; a radio/CD player in the living room brochures, games, etc.
Our children and young grandchildrens visited us and parents and their two children were quite comfortable in their bedroom with a choice of a Queen and four single beds. They also enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi several times.
Each of the two bathrooms has a bath and was well stocked with towels. There's great lighting in the living room and bedrooms for reading. The two-car garage was great for storing our supplies and the large washing machine and dryer were very handy. Detergent and cleaning supplies were provided. The kitchen was very functional. There was every electric appliance you would need, even a coffee grinder.
An unexpected amenity the house provided was a landline phone with free, unlimited long distance and international calling.
Some aspects of the house may be considered negatives: stairs to go into the house, from garage or from outside; it's an old house so don't expect it to be like a hotel; the screen door from the kitchen area to the backyard sticks and was a pain; and the dishes/glasses in the kitchen are mishmashy.
I highly recommend Bay Vista for couples, couples with children and pet owners!
BTW, Jean has three other, larger, rentals in Morro Bay.
Thank you, Jean, for being the remarkable woman you are.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A nature wonderland

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

This is the kind of property we would love to go to again and again. First of all, the setting is lovely with bay views all around the neighborhood. It's right by the Audubon nature preserve, which is great for quick walks. We loved riding our bikes around the area, and the yard was just wonderful with plenty of sunshine, butterflies and hummingbirds during our stay. Sitting out there with a cup of coffee or glass of wine looking at the tidelines and gorgeous sunsets was a highlight of our stay. The house is clean, comfortable, and real-home-like, though nothing fancy, and we liked it that way for a beachy vacation with our dog. The rooms are much bigger than they look in the pictures, the garage with washer and dryer was very handy, and the fenced yard was wonderful for our pet. We really appreciated the way Jean, the owner was very helpful and pleasant to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Base of Operations for Exploration of the Central Coast. Love this place, we'll be back!!

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

We just got home from a wonderful week at this cozy little spot. Where do I start? We arrived at night and were so happy to wake up the next morning to walk out on the deck from the master bedroom with a cup of coffee to behold the glory of The Rock! The home had all that we needed. It was a great base of operations for various trips; The Hearst Castle, Paso Robles Wineries, San Luis Obispo (the Farmer's Market and the Mission), Cambria, Harmony, Cayucos, a beach on CA 1 that allows dogs, etc, etc!! Short drive to Montana de Oro State Park and Morro Bay Park with lots of great hiking trails.

It was clean and comfortable and we felt at home here. Saw some deer wandering through the green space while we were sitting on the deck having cocktails. This house backs up to a bird estuary that has walking trails, too. The skies were clear and we saw lots of stars while we sat in the hot tub on a couple nights.

We cooked a lot and the kitchen had all that we needed. There were also lots of options within a short drive to great restaurants in the various towns nearby of which we also availed ourselves.

Jean, the owner, was very responsive to our needs for information and provided prompt assistance whenever necessary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Cozy and Warm

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Just finished another great getaway to this warm and cozy place tucked away near the Elfin Forest and a short walk to the south edge of Morro Bay. If you like the rural country feeling of Los Osos but still within easy reach of the towns of Morro Bay, and San Luis Obispo then you have to check out this place. My family have been coming here for several years and this is our favorite spot. The house literally wraps you up in its old world warmth and charm. The owner is very friendly and accommodating and a creative thinker should any special needs arise. I especially like the area for the hiking trails in Montana de Oro and the remote beaches. There is also a lot of biking, both road and mountain. Also visit Baywood and Avila Beach, there is so much to do here any time of year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, Comfortable Favorite of Ours in Quiet Nature Reserve and near spectacular Montana del Oro

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

The Broderson House (as we like to refer to it) has been a haven for us and our family over the years, and the owner, Jean, could not be more accommodating. It is a very relaxing, comfortable, and welcoming house - like a wonderful, favorite friend. Broderson House is an inviting, unassuming, very well equipped house located in Los Osos - which is a unique laid back community (somewhat of a throwback to the 60's like Bolinas or Bodega near Point Reyes) located along the southern tidal estuary of Morro Bay. Coming into the "funky" town of Los Osos you pass two big bear statues (just 10 minutes from upscale San Luis Obispo) and driving there one sees beautiful farms and ranches in glorious countryside. This is a special place within easy reach of all of the sights - yet sequestered in serene, down-home privacy for total relaxation. I suspect the former reviewers were looking for something more "touristy" or "glitzy" perhaps in the town of San Luis Obispo or Cambria. Too bad they did not give Broderson a chance as they may then have discovered its many charms. It has certainly become my very favorite place to unwind and kick back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

convenient and roomy

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

My wife, I, and our 2 "cattle dogs" stayed here for 8 nites recently. The house is cozy and roomy with a fenced yard that was perfect for the dogs. The location is extremely quiet, adjacent to a preserve, near a couple state parks with great hiking. The garage was a great place to store my road bike and our outdoor stuff. The location in Los Osos was perfect for out forays into SLO and up and down the coast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am greatfull for this review. I am a senior citizen who has owned this property since 1989. I have newer clean carpet 3 satellite tv's, wireless internet, unlimited long distance phone calling, hot tub, 2 BBQ's, trash compactor, 4 recliners in 2 lazy boy sofas, (two reclinere vibrate,) a side by side refrigerator that now offers a working icemaker. I have addeded a skylight a few years ago to bring more light to the living room. There is a gas fireplace in the living room to make it cozy.
I have upgrades on my wish list. Help me attain them. When you leave the premises turn off the lights. When you are not in the hot tub close the cover.
I now have 2 BBQ's because one guest repaired one after I had replaced it and had not removed the one with a problem.
I am so grateful for the guests who leave this vacation rental better than they found it. I offer so much for so little.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Worse than Poor

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

Do not rent this derelict property on the edge of a swampy, dying grove. The house needs serious work inside and out, and is surrounded by equally junky property. We arrived, took one look and left after just one of us verified that house had not been cleaned, laundry was strewn in one bedroom, back yard was an untended mess with filthy grill. The photos do not represent the current reality, in and out. We lost our deposit but left without paying the balance. Without questioning motive, we have no idea how the owner continues to get away with renting this sad place.

Owners response: My husband and I were not able to give the vacation rental the ususl attention due to a late check out and major probleme with our R,V The guest arrived minutes before us but left before we met him. He left a message saying that he was not staying and that we had the deposit ant that that should be the end of it. He did now answer my emails or phone calls. The laundry strewn in one bedroom consisted of a clean pile out of the dryer. The unattended mess in the back yard consisted of trimed hedges where there was a view of mature trees and deer habitat bay and Morro Rock and sand dunes.Part of the hedge has been delibertly left unattended to accommodate Monarc butterflies and humming birds. This guest was a city dweller who may have mistaken low tide to be a swamp. Low tides is a feeding time for pelicans, egrets, ducks, geese,great blue herons and many migrating birds. The Audobon society owned bird refuge is far from dying. They have added 8 acres to the existing 24. I would hardly call a spring feed pond a swamp. As for my 4 neighbors one is a college professor, another a local merchant. Call me for more information.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Cozy Getaway

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

We had the most relaxing time there, very cozy home, reminding me of my grandmother's. Loved the Jacuzzi and the view of the Morro Bay "Rock". There is a beautiful nature walk right outside the front door. Very peaceful "wetlands" with many plants and birds. It was so wonderful to not hear any cars or trains. I will definitely come back again.

Kristin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: The nature walk is Sweet Springs nature reserve. owned by the Audobon Society soon the 24 acres will be expanded to 32. It is so quiet that I have seen a deer asleep behind the house in the daytime.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Tired old property

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This is the most disappointing VRBO property we have rented. It is old and tired and in desperate need of maintenance. The ice maker in the fridge does not work and shelves are missing. The disposal is not capable of disposing of egg shells! The wi fi never worked. And the much touted view is only visible from a corner of the back yard. Too bad, because this is a really interesting area to visit. Next time, another house for us.

Owners response: I met this guest on arrival as I always do with rare exceptions. When there was difficulty getting on to the wireless enternet due to pass word issues I let him use my wireless computer which he used to pick up his messages and then tried unsuccessfuly to reset the password.
I showed him how to use the dsl which he was content to use. I left him to his privacy.
A few days later he called to tell me that the garbage disposal quit I came 15 minutes later to remove eggshells and was not able to reset the button. When the handy man arrived 1/2 hour later he removed a bone and restarted the garbage disposal. The house has a side by side refrigerator that has more room than the average refrigerator. I will try to find another shelf. I have handy men who respond quickly to any mantenance problems. I will continue to meet guest on arrival to deal with any
issues and respond quickly to repairs. I want to continue to be worthy of your trust when you plan your vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Great Location for walks, nice view of Morro rock, Comfy family house

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

We have stayed at this home twice within the last 4 years. If you are looking for a pristine, newer home look elsewhere, however if you like a well lived in cozy home like Grandma's house, this is the place for you.
We have always enjoyed our time there and are well rewarded by the location and the warm comfy feel of the house. it is very child friendly and there is always plenty of bedding, towels, pots and pans, etc.
The house is located right by a wonderful nature reserve with trails and great nature photo areas, plenty of shorebirds, hummingbirds, and butterflies.
There is a nice farmers market in Los Osos (baywood area) that is within walking distance (1/4-1/2 mile away)
We will keep returning as long as Jean has this available

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Very Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

I have stayed at this wonderful vacation home several times. The house has a down home feel, is at the edge of the bay preserve and very comfortable and relaxing. The master bedroom has a private doorway to the back deck and hot tub from which there is a beautiful view of the bay and Morro rock. Kayaking the bay is a must and kayaks are provided. The owner is very friendly and accommodating and the fully equipped kitchen and gas BBQ make meals a real treat. This area is a bicycling paradise (try Montana de Oro) and abounds with sights activities and restaurants. For a treat don't forget to visit the little adjacent area of Baywood where there is a nice little sandwich shop right next to the bay. Also for a killer burger try Sylvester's on Santa Ynez and 11th in Los Osos. Highly recommended for for a peaceful relaxing stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review