reviews for: listing #11172 - Eleuthera, Caribbean Villa rental

"Bahamas Pura Vida", Beachfront Paradise Villa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Double Bay
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $357 - $357 /nt
    $2,500 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Exceptional Rental

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 27, 2008

I have stayed at Pura Vida a couple of times already, and for many reasons. The most obvious is the island of Eleuthera itself. All you have to do is look at pictures of the island to see its natural beauty and appeal. What sets Pura Vida apart is the quality of the home and amenities provided. The house sits overlooking beautiful reefs on the atlantic side of the island. Double Bay is by far my favorite stretch of beach on Eleuthera. Being on the atlantic provides a steady breeze in the summer, while the caribbean side gets much hotter. The small keys a ways out from the beach break water to create one of the few places you can get a nice breeze and calm water rich with coral reefs.

The house itself is unusually well built and maintained for a rental. It was impeccably clean every time I arrived. All of the appliances are top notch, and there's a nice standing BBQ overlooking the beach perfect for grilling the day's catch (there's excellent fishing on the reefs, just check what's in season.) Plus they've got books on local marine life so you know what your catching. There's a nice TV and sound system with lots of channels, although I have a feeling it doesn't get used much in a place with so many better things to do. High-speed internet is a big plus as well. If you get tired of fishing, swimming, kayaking, snorkeling, and laying on the beach you can always tour the island, there's lots of great info and maps they leave for you to help with your exploring. They really make it easy to feel at home and relaxed, the ultimate stress-free vacation.

You can really tell Cindy and Steve love this home, it shows in every aspect. This is not a typical rental house, but I will continue to go back as long as it remains one. Writing this is just making me ache to return! I hope it won't be long.

Clark

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 16

 

Perfect place

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed 1 week in Eleuthera. Pura Vida house is a fantastic place to stay. The pictures are accurate (and in the case of the beach they don't do it justice). The property is beautiful and immaculately kept up with plenty of extra towels and a full collection of beach toys like kayaks and snorkel masks. You can pretty much choose your beach based on the wind. There is an amazing little Caribbean beach about a few seconds south on the main road if the Atlantic side is too choppy for your tastes that day.

We were given very very good directions before arrival with perfect advice on buying groceries and where to get pretty much anything we needed.

There is a master bedroom and one more bedroom. Both have large, comfortable beds. There are two immaculate bathrooms. Each porch and door has a screen so you can avoid mosquitos and still enjoy the sound of the surf.

I can't say too much about attractions around the area other than the beach because I only wanted to play on the beach the whole time I was there. It was a great time.

Owners response: Thanks so much for coming and sharing Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Honeymoon

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

Go to Eleuthera and stay here!! We could not have picked a better place to spend our honeymoon. We stayed at Pura Vida for 10 nights and it was an amazing trip. Everything is as described and so much better in person. The view from the house and on the beach is exquisite. The grounds are even more private than pictured. You cannot be seen from inside the house or in most of the backyard by any neighboring houses or anyone on the beach. We only saw 2 people on the beach the whole time we were there. We loved laying in the hammock or in the loungers and watching the waves or stars. I would definitely recommend renting a jeep. There is so much to explore of the island and the roads are not in the best shape. Have some conch fritters and enjoy 1 of the many beautiful beaches! We found that no matter how many beaches we discovered, none were more beautiful than what we already had in Double Bay. We brought back a large back of pink sand and plenty of amazing memories with us. We are already planning our return trip. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations and we are so glad you had a wonderful Honeymoon at Pura Vida. It certainly is such a beautiful and romantic place to be. All the best to you and we welcome your return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT IN EVERY WAY

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

my husband and daughter and i had the good fortune to spend some time at Pura Vida recently. it was by far the nicest house we've ever rented from VRBO, and we've been using VRBO for years. steve and cindy were lovely to work with, as was the caretaker george. we arrived on a dark and rainy night (after a long delay at the nassau airport) and saw that the house was gorgeous. when we awoke to sunshine, we realized that we were in our own private paradise. the grounds were meticulously kept. the sandy path through the gardens to the ocean had been raked. that is just an example of the extra care and effort that is put forth for the guests. we truly felt like we were at an elegant resort but with the comforts and convenience of home. the bedrooms were beautiful, roomy and comfortable, and the bathrooms modern and high-end. the kitchen was fully equipped with quality appliances that made it fun to cook. following steve and cindy's recommendations, we went to Tippy's Restaurant which was excellent. we also ate at the Beach House, also good, which had a cute boutique attached.
make sure to go to governor's harbour to buy fish and lobster when the fishing boats come in. we also went often to Island Farms for fresh vegetables, homemade bread, and homemade salsa, the best ever. we explored lots of beaches (the island has plenty of public access beaches, often without anyone else there) and there was a bonefish flat about 3 miles from the house that was heaven for my husband. i have already recommended Pura Vida to friends and family and will continue to do so.
our biggest surprise was how much we loved Eleuthera itself. we had no idea what to expect and were delighted with its friendliness, authenticity, and unspoiled beauty.
thank you steve and cindy!
ann

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You have discovered the magic of Eleuthera and Pura Vida. It is a hidden gem. We are glad you came and enjoyed yourselves so much!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise . . .

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

My husband and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary @ Pura Vida. Loved it!! Pura Vida is an exceptional property. Every amenity one needs/wants is provided in this beautiful home. We have stayed @ many vactional rentals via VRBO and this house surpasses them all.
The view was simply amazing and the pink sand beach is all your own!

We snorkled @ Double Bay and Ten Bay.
Day trip to Harbour Island . . . lunched at The Blue Bar . . . snacked @ Sip Sip. Very tasty!!
We dined out each evening. All meals were wonderful. We recommend Tippy's, Unique, Mate and Jenny's, Rainbow Inn (fabulous steaks here).

Pura Vida is in the midst of a lovely tropical garden . . . and various biting, flying pests enjoy it as their home! So fyi . . . be sure to bring insect repellent. :)

This will a vacation memory we will forever cherish . . . Thanks Steve and Cindy for allowing us to enjoy your fabulous home. God Bless.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for coming and we are happy you had a great time. Although mosquitos do not seem to come after me sometimes guests will need to use insect repellent but usually mainly at dusk. I guess it is a small price to pay for the wonderful tropical beauty of Eleuthera and Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Loved Pura Vida and Eleuthera!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful ten day stay at Pura Vida in Eleuthera. We are seasoned travelers who have stayed in numerous accommodations throughout the Caribbean and have to say that Pura Vida was a delight. Steve and Cindy are a pleasure to deal with and answered all of our questions in a timely and friendly manner. The house itself is well maintained and spotless. It contains everything you need, from beach chairs to electronic appliances to kitchenware, that make your stay as comfortable as possible. The beach in front of the house is beautiful and you can walk for miles without encountering a single soul. Our children enjoyed kayaking to the cays, snorkeling, fishing and just playing in the surf. You can imagine their excitement when dolphins swam by while they were playing in the water. The house is ideally located for exploring the many unique beaches and towns throughout the Eleuthera. We are so glad to have chosen Pura Vida and will no doubt be back in the future!

Owners response: We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay at Pura Vida. It is our pleasure to provide a special place to have wondeful island experiences. We are so glad you had a great time. Thanks for sharing and coming to Pura Vida and we welcome your return!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

I spent a long time looking for just the right rental home for our trip to Eleuthera and I feel like I hit the jackpot with Pura Vida! It is obvious that Steve and Cindy built this house, decorated and equipped it with great care and thoughtfulness. Everything from the huge wood sliding doors to the kitchenware, linens, light fixtures, etc. was very high-end; and as other reviewers have noted, it was immaculate. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed tomatoes, green peppers, and papayas from the garden. Murray the groundskeeper brought us coconuts and peeled them for us with a machete, and we made Sky Juice (local cocktail) and drank them straight from the coconuts! The view from the house is stunning. There seems to have been some erosion on the beach and there was lots (LOTS) of seaweed on it when we were there, but no matter...it was beautiful. We snorkeled the reefs in front of the house and on the last day there we had a real treat: two dolphins came around and swam around us and some other people from the neighboring rentals for at least an hour. All in all it was a fabulous trip, and If we are lucky enough to come back to Eleuthera I would definitely stay at Pura Vida again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you came and had a great time at Pura Vida. It does not happen often to have a lot of seaweed but occationally does if it has been windy. The good news is the tides will soon wash it away. Thanks for visiting Pura Vida and we welcome you back again!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Absolutely Outstanding Eleuthera Vacation Property

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

Dear Steve & Cindy:
WOW! What a wonderful place in paradise you have created. You could not have chosen a more perfect location for Pura Vida. It is idyllic. The style and design you chose for the Villa fits right in and you have certainly maximized the space you have created. The open floor plan for kitchen, dining, and relaxing areas certainly enhances the fabulous ocean and beach views. We love the numerous cozy outdoor spaces you have created for viewing and relaxing. Your attention to detail and the myriad of personal touches are apparent everywhere. The kitchen design and culinary wares were far more than we had could ever have hoped for. We loved the double chaise in the secluded and cozy screened area just off the master bedroom overlooking the beach and ocean. Casual strolls and the views along the virtually private beach were the best.
My wife and I have been visiting the Bahamas Out Islands for more than 25 years, our fourth visit to Eleuthera, and we have yet to experience a rental villa as nice as Pura Vida. We found everything we need for a most relaxing and enjoyable vacation and you can be sure we will return. We felt very comfortable and right at home. Thanks for sharing your special place in paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A lovely home

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We had a wonderful week at Pura Vida. The home itself is extremely comfortable and the view is spectacular. We're already daydreaming about a return trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Romantic Get Away

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Pura Vida to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. It was the most romantic trip of our marriage. We felt at home as soon as we opened the door. The home and gardens were all that was promised and more.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you had a such a special experience at Pura Vida! It certainly touches our hearts and really is what Pura Vida is all about.

Welcome back again sometime!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great house/Great vacation April 2-9 2011

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Just got back from Eluethera and Pura Vida, it was awesome! House is fantastic, makes you feel very comfortable and at home immediately. Owners gave great guidance and it was as easy and stress free as it gets! A true get away,top notch decore and kitchen, in fact the owers added a huge great new gas BBQ while we where there! Beach was great and most days saw only a couple people and this was spring break Never used A/C as perfect breeze of ocean was fantastic.and when it got breezy on Atlantic we went 1 mile to Ten Bay beach on Carribean side for calm warm waters and great shelling. Starfish, Sand Dollars etc.. Waters are beautiful and setting cant be better. Thanks so much for sharing the beautiful home with us we will dream about it until we return next year! Best of the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for coming to Pura Vida and we do welcome you back again! I think we should put out a "warning" that Pura Vida and Eleuthera are addictive! Whenever we leave we start thinking about when we can return.

All the best!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Top Notch

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Our family of four, two boys aged 8 and 11, had the perfect 10 day January vacation at Pura Vida. The beach and house were better than described. . We had the ocean to ourselves 99% of the time. The villa was beautifully decorated and completely and thoughtfully outfitted. A tropical paradise yet 10 minutes from Island Farms and their great bread and fresh produce and another 5 minutes from Governors Harbour where you can get anything else you could possibly need all without a stop light in sight.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: David

So nice to hear of your great time at Pura Vida and Eleuthera. It is so special that we always can't wait to go back again. We are glad you shared this wonderful laid back island experience together as a family.

All the best!

Steve and Cindy DuBose

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful Carribean with Great Fishing!"

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Pura Vida for our honeymoon in May. Our stay was perfect. Very private, and ultra comfortable house with one of the best views I have ever seen. The house had all the convienences of home, and the kitchen was very well appointed with nothing lacking. The view to the two keys and over the reef was phenomenal. We particuarly enjoyed the kayaks that come with the home. I did some fishing while there and managed to catch hamlet grouper, yellowtail snapper, triggerfish, and barracuda all right off the reef in front of the house from the kayak. We caught bonefish down in Tarpum Bay. Squid and land crabs work well! We enjoyed several meals and meeting with the locals at Tippys's. We had great service and excellent stories from the housekeeper. If you are considering a trip to the Bahamas I can't think of a better place to stay than Pura Vida!

(As submitted by Guest to Tripadvisor")

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Say Enough about Pura Vida, Eleuthera

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2010

Can't say enough about Pura Vida, Eleuthera!"
Pura Vida was everything we could have hoped for in a rental property on Eleuthera. The villa was spectacular, a real paradise on Earth. Everything was in perfect working order, it was very clean, and the grounds were absolutely stunning. The local property manager was very friendly and fun to talk to (he has a contagious laugh)! We shared the property with my husband's family and cooked the best fresh grouper we've ever had (bought from the fishermen at Tarpum Bay) in the beautiful Pura Vida kitchen. One of our top criteria in choosing a rental property was the beach. I truly think we couldn't have selected a better location. We snorkeled right off the secluded beach (only saw a handful of people the entire trip) outside the property nearly every day (lot's of coral heads right there!). We saw so much spectacular wildlife: countless fish including lionfish, stingrays, a sea turtle, barracuda and even a couple sharks (only harmless nurse sharks!)! If you have an underwater video camera, bring it. Then, just across the island, about 5 minutes away, is Ten Bay beach. It's one of those bathtub beaches that are so incredibly still and beautiful it's surreal. It's shallow for quite a ways out, so it's great for complete relaxation and for small children trying out their snorkel gear. There are some great rock walls along the far edges that provide excellent snorkeling as well. These are just a few of the wonderful memories we have from our trip to Pura Vida. The only complaint, or course, is there was not enough time! It's obvious that the place is superbly managed by both the property owners and the local management team. When we return to Eleuthera, we will absolutely be staying at Pura Vida, so long as the owners see fit to continue sharing their little piece of paradise with people fortunate enough to visit the island. I feel that we were very lucky to discover this wonderful gem and would recommend it to anyone thinking about a trip to the Out Islands.

(As submitted by guest to Tripadvisor)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pura Vida

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

Steve and Cindy: We have a group that loves to travel and stay in nice homes. Your home is one of the best rental properties, and you can immediately tell its a well appointed home not a rental house. The property was immaculate, the kitchen had everything one could need and the Master Suite was exceptional.Your pictures of the ocean views do not do it justice. The island has an endless choice of beaches, the people are friendly, and it felt very safe. Right off your back porch are two beautiful beaches, the pinkest sand, great snorkling and shelling. We will be back! Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Timothy:

Thanks so much for coming to Pura Vida! We have taken great care to provide a special experience in such an amazing tropical location and continue to plan and work to make it even better. We are not your typical rental, we want our guests to enjoy a first quality vacation in paradise!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My Fantasy

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

If you have not been, Eleuthera is the ultimate island paradise: beautiful beaches and friendly people not on a time clock. If you have been, you should know that Pura Vida is one of the loveliest properties on the island; you feel secluded but not remote. I have stayed at Pura Vida on two occasions, and hope to relax on the double chaise overlooking the Atlantic many more times. After an afternoon on the chaise, it is a five minute ride to see the sunset on the Caribbean side. A couple of the best restaurants I have ever been to are close by, but the gourmet kitchen at Pura Vida makes it easy and tempting to just dine in on the fresh fish and lobster that can be obtained right off the boat at Governors Harbor. The house is immacculate and has all the amenities one could desire. The fact the owner is a contractor shows through in the construction and craftsmanship. The gardens are lovely, private and brimming with flowers and fresh herbs. If you wish to stay wired to the "real" world it can be done here, but why? If you want to engage in outdoor activities, there is plenty to occupy. But, you may find yourself just wanting to pretend you are a permanent resident of this lovely island and welcoming home. I could not be more pleased with the island, the location, the house or the service of the owners and people who care for the property.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No Place like Home

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

I have been to Pura Vida three times. The first time I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the wide, pinkish white, long and totally private beach, the finely crafted and constructed house, which is also well appointed, and the beautifully groomed grounds, which only a proprietor of a thoughtful, peaceful type could have designed. It was a great exploration trip of the whole island from that point on with peaceful Pura Vida at its base. It felt good to come back after a long day of curiosity seeking travels. The second time the exploration was limited to areas near Pura Vida, an intensified search for the feel of our neighborhood. Notice I am using the word “our”. The third time was pure Pura Vida. I did not want to stray far from the house or our beach. Pura Vida had become our home away from home. First class accommodations, and after exploring the whole island...finally simply saying “there is no place like home”.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropica Island Get-away

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

We planned this childless get-away with our good friends, hoping for a true relaxing vacation. Our goal was a comfortable place, good food, and beautiful scenery. As we arrived we noticed that the website pictures didn't do justice to this wonderful home. Not only was the lay-out perfect for 2 couples, its decorations and appointments were wonderful. From the cookware to the linens, Cindy and Steve obviously prepared it for themselves. We felt right at home immediately.

We came to love the caretaker, George. He was extremely friendly, helpful and always busy around the house. He even showed us how to clean bone fish that we caught with nearby villagers. He couldn’t have been more polite and respectful.

The view from the house and the bright blue-green water was simply picturesque. We couldn't imagine a nicer place to sit for hours reading and listening to the sounds of the ocean. We took full advantage of it!

We all hated to leave at the end of the week. But our goals for the trip were all exceeded in every way. We already have recommended not only Eleuthera to our friends, but Pura Vida specifically. What a place to recharge!

Thanks to Cindy and Steve for sharing their wonderful home with others. It was Heaven on Earth, albeit just for a week.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon at Bahamas Pura Vida

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

My husband and me spend our honeymoon in "Pura Vida" from 26.02.09 til 06.03.09. It was really wonderful, great, sunny, clean.... everything we looked for. The reservation was easy to handle and very satisfying. Steve answered every Email as quick as possible. George, the housekeeper, and Murray, the gardener, were very nice. The house has everything you need. A great equipped kitchen, very clean rooms and furniture, and a wooooooooooonderful master-bedroom with exclusive oceanview (oceanview also from the kitchen and the livingroom!)...so.. the villa is directly on the beach :) But the first morning we woke up..... we were kissed by the sunbeams of an ultimative sunrise.. a little bit early *g* but...... it was so wonderful.... i cant explain :) It was our honeymoon there, and i can say that it was the honeymoon i ever dreamed of. Perfect location, perfect house, perfect handling.... just everything perfect. If you ever think about visiting Eleuthera we can unhasitating recommend this villa!! Steve and Cindy,... thank you for sharing your paradise with us! Sabine and Mirco Sch. Dortmund / Germany

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

We have stayed at Pura Vida a few times already and every time has been the perfect holiday. The house is beautifully maintained and equipped with all the supplies and comforts you need for a relaxing trip. Its location and view of the beach is truly idyllic and while you have a very private setting local amenities remain within easy driving distance. For a peaceful holiday and beautiful surroundings we highly recommend Pura Vida. We'll be back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Great Escape

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

We planned this childless get-away with our good friends, hoping for a true relaxing vacation. Our goal was a comfortable place, good food, and beautiful scenery. As we arrived we noticed that the website pictures didn't do justice to this wonderful home. Not only was the lay-out perfect for 2 couples, its decorations and appointments were wonderful. From the cookware to the linens, Cindy and Mike obviously prepared it for themselves. We felt right at home immediately.

We came to love the caretaker, George. He was extremely friendly, helpful and always busy around the house. He even showed us how to clean bone fish that we caught with nearby villagers. He couldn’t have been more polite and respectful.

The view from the house and the bright blue-green water was simply picturesque. We couldn't imagine a nicer place to sit for hours reading and listening to the sounds of the ocean. We took full advantage of it!

We all hated to leave at the end of the week. But our goals for the trip were all exceeded in every way. We already have recommended not only Eleuthera to our friends, but Pura Vida specifically. What a place to recharge!

Thanks to Cindy and Steve for sharing their wonderful home with others. It was Heaven on Earth, albeit just for a week.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Melinda, Ed, Susan and john:

We are so happy to receive your email and hear what a great time you had at Bahamas Pura Vida! It is such a special place and we miss it every day we are away. Please come again and all the best!


Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

We've been vacationing in Eleuthera for over 20 years as we honeymooned there. Of all the places we've stayed on the island, Pura Vida stands head and shoulders above the rest.
When you enter Pura Vida you are surrounded by a tropical paradise.. coconut, papaya, orange, lime, mango, palm, and passion fruit trees! The fruit was delicious.
Upon entering Steve and Cindy's home, it feels like yours! You notice the great layout and decor, the excellent workmanship, the kitchen where everything you need is only fingertips away, the internet, the beach view/access and the cleanliness throughout. The home if very well equipped indoors and out (kayaks, snorkeling gear, central AC, internet access)

Equally impressive is the way the owners give you information (if you have not been there before) to make you feel at home and enjoy what Eleuthera has to offer.
George Petty (builder and caretaker) and Murray (gardener) were excellent in offering advice and assisting during our stay.
The only thing you need when you stay there is more time! Cindy/Steve, thanks for allowing us to share your home.
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 19, 2009

I have been to Pura Vida three times. The first time I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the wide, pinkish white, long and totally private beach, the finely crafted and constructed house, which is also well appointed, and the beautifully groomed grounds, which only a proprietor of a thoughtful, peaceful type could have designed. It was a great exploration trip of the whole island from that point on with peaceful Pura Vida at its base. It felt good to come back after a long day of curiosity seeking travels. The second time the exploration was limited to areas near Pura Vida, an intensified search for the feel of our neighborhood. Notice I am using the word “our”. The third time was pure Pura Vida. I did not want to stray far from the house or our beach. Pura Vida had become our home away from home. First class accommodations, and after exploring the whole island...finally simply saying “there is no place like this home”.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My husband and me spend our honeymoon in "Pura Vida" from 26.02.09 til 06.03.09. It was really wonderful, great, sunny, clean.... everything we looked for. The reservation was easy to handle and very satisfying. Steve answered every Email as quick as possible. George, the housekeeper, and Murray, the gardener, were very nice. The house has everything you need. A great equipped kitchen, very clean rooms and furniture, and a wooooooooooonderful master-bedroom with exclusive oceanview (oceanview also from the kitchen and the livingroom!)...so.. the villa is directly on the beach :) But the first morning we woke up..... we were kissed by the sunbeams of an ultimative sunrise.. a little bit early *g* but...... it was so wonderful.... i cant explain :) It was our honeymoon there, and i can say that it was the honeymoon i ever dreamed of. Perfect location, perfect house, perfect handling.... just everything perfect. If you ever think about visiting Eleuthera we can unhasitating recommend this villa!! Steve and Cindy,... thank you for sharing your paradise with us! Sabine and Mirco Sch. Dortmund / Germany

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Place Like This Home

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

I have been to Pura Vida three times. The first time I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the wide, pinkish white, long and totally private beach, the finely crafted and constructed house, which is also well appointed, and the beautifully groomed grounds, which only a proprietor of a thoughtful, peaceful type could have designed. It was a great exploration trip of the whole island from that point on with peaceful Pura Vida at its base. It felt good to come back after a long day of curiosity seeking travels. The second time the exploration was limited to areas near Pura Vida, an intensified search for the feel of our neighborhood. Notice I am using the word “our”. The third time was pure Pura Vida. I did not want to stray far from the house or our beach. Pura Vida had become our home away from home. First class accommodations, and after exploring the whole island...finally simply saying “there is no place like home”.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Honeymoon - like i ever dreamed of

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

My husband and me spend our honeymoon in "Pura Vida" from 26.02.09 til 06.03.09.

It was really wonderful, great, sunny, clean.... everything we looked for.

The reservation was easy to handle and very satisfying.
Steve answered every Email as quick as possible.
George, the housekeeper, and Murray, the gardener, were very nice.

The house has everything you need.
A great equipped kitchen, very clean rooms and furniture, and a wooooooooooonderful master-bedroom with exclusive oceanview (oceanview also from the kitchen and the livingroom!)...so.. the villa is directly on the beach :)

But the first morning we woke up..... we were kissed by the sunbeams of an ultimative sunrise.. a little bit early *g* but...... it was so wonderful.... i cant explain :)

It was our honeymoon there, and i can say that it was the honeymoon i ever dreamed of. Perfect location, perfect house, perfect handling.... just everything perfect.

If you ever think about visiting Eleuthera we can unhasitating recommend this villa!!

Steve and Cindy,... thank you for sharing your paradise with us!

Sabine and Mirco Sch.
Dortmund / Germany

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sabine and Mirco:

We are so happy you enjoyed your honeymoon at Bahamas Pura Vida! All the best to you both in your life together and we hope you will back again.

Thanks!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

My Fantasy

Review submitted: October 12, 2008   Date of arrival: January 10, 2008

If you have not been, Eleuthera is the ultimate island paradise: beautiful beaches and friendly people not on a time clock. If you have been, you should know that Pura Vida is one of the loveliest properties on the island; you feel secluded but not remote. I have stayed at Pura Vida on two occasions, and hope to relax on the double chaise overlooking the Atlantic many more times. After an afternoon on the chaise, it is a five minute ride to see the sunset on the Caribbean side. A couple of the best restaurants I have ever been to are close by, but the gourmet kitchen at Pura Vida makes it easy and tempting to just dine in on the fresh fish and lobster that can be obtained right off the boat at Governors Harbor. The house is immacculate and has all the amenities one could desire. The fact the owner is a contractor shows through in the construction and craftsmanship. The gardens are lovely, private and brimming with flowers and fresh herbs. If you wish to stay wired to the "real" world it can be done here, but why? If you want to engage in outdoor activities, there is plenty to occupy. But, you may find yourself just wanting to pretend you are a permanent resident of this lovely island and welcoming home. I could not be more pleased with the island, the location, the house or the service of the owners and people who care for the property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pura Vida - Excellent!

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

We've been vacationing in Eleuthera for over 20 years as we honeymooned there. Of all the places we've stayed on the island, Pura Vida stands head and shoulders above the rest.
When you enter Pura Vida you are surrounded by a tropical paradise.. coconut, papaya, orange, lime, mango, palm, and passion fruit trees! The fruit was delicious.
Upon entering Steve and Cindy's home, it feels like yours! You notice the great layout and decor, the excellent workmanship, the kitchen where everything you need is only fingertips away, the internet, the beach view/access and the cleanliness throughout. The home if very well equipped indoors and out (kayaks, snorkeling gear, central AC, internet access)

Equally impressive is the way the owners give you information (if you have not been there before) to make you feel at home and enjoy what Eleuthera has to offer.
George Petty (builder and caretaker) and Murray (gardener) were excellent in offering advice and assisting during our stay.
The only thing you need when you stay there is more time! Cindy/Steve, thanks for allowing us to share your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Randy and Judy:

It was great speaking with you by phone as you planned your vacation. Of course, we are elated at how you enjoyed your stay at Pura Vida. We have enjoyed creating a special place we can love to come to and then share with others!

All the best!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pura vida is for you!

Review submitted: May 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 26, 2008

We could not wish a better place where to stay. The villa is very, very full equipped and it's so charming! You'll feel at home, waking up in the morning just with the sound of the sea and the view of the sun rising. We were a bit unlucky with the weather (it was quite windy during our journey), but I would sincerely recommend this place which is so full of love...and vegetables! Yes, you'll find tomatoes, carrots, bananas and more in the garden that is full of thousands of beautiful flowers too. And the owner Cindy is so sweet: she managed to take care of us without being there, because she left in the villa so many maps, books and piece of advise about the island!
The villa is on Double Bay, which is in the central part of the island so that it's possible to reach by car all the beaches of the island, up to the north and down to the south: beautiful Ten Bay is just a few minutes away on the caribbean side. We visited a different one every day during our journey. I would recommend a car anyway!
So, don't think too much abou it: you found the right place in Eleuthera!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Annalis:

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Bahamas Pura Vida! Eleuthera is a beautiful and magical place. Sometimes it is windy but usually if it is windy on one side of the island you just go to the beach on the other side. The island is 110 miles long and about an average of 2 1/2 miles wide so from Pura Vida which is on the beautiful Double Bay beach it is only 5 minutes to Ten Bay beach on the other side of the island.

Thanks fo comingall the way from Italy to Pura Vida. Again, we are glad you a had an enjoyable vacation and welcome you back at another time!

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent rental!

Review submitted: April 2, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

The photos of Pura Vida simply do not do this exquisite beach home justice. The house is beautiful, well decorated and comfortable. The kitchen is a gourmet cook's delight. When we arrived, the house was immaculate, there was a bowl of freshly picked vegetables on the kitchen counter, and fresh flowers throughout the home. The beach is lovely and our daughters (9 and 11) loved playing in the surf. The water is clear and shallow, with virtually no current. Snorkeling in from of the home was very good. The location of the home, in the center of the island, is a wonderful spot from which to explore both the north and south ends of Eleuthera and the proximity to Governor's Harbor is very convenient. Don't miss Island Farms for fresh produce and home-baked bread. I have already recommended this property to a friend and her family and will do so again!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lezlie:

We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed your stay at Pura Vida. We had so much fun creating this tropical caribbean retreat and spending time there. It is wonderful to hear how it has brought happiness to others as well. We look forward to having you come back again and of course welcome your friends also.

Thanks

Steve and Cindy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This was the fourth year we've stayed at Double Bay. It is a great location on Eleuthera, centrally located on the island. We've alway stayed at a different house each year but this year we found the perfect house. Pura Vida is far and away the nicest house we've stayed at or seen. Everything from the layout to construction to the furnishings is first rate. The kitchen is cook's fantasy equipped with the finest of everything. Snorkeling is great right out front of the house and of course Double Bay beach is the best. George the caretaker and Murray the gardener are great, both very consciencous. Definately the most relaxing vacation ever. Thanks Steve and Cindy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy your experience at Bahamas Pura Vida was so rewarding. Our desire is to create a true tropical island retreat to fully enjoy and experience the beauty and tranquilty of this Carribean paradise. We welcome you back again in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review