reviews for: listing #111892 - Pacific Grove, California Cottage rental

The Traveler's Cottage (once owned by John Steinbeck!!)
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $195 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

Very Comfortable Place to Stay in Pacific Grove

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Traveler's Cottage for a week. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to other couples.
The cottage was well laid out and contained all the kitchen items that you would need to fix your own meals--we did on several occasions. We liked having our own parking spot in the ally near the door to the cottage which made it easy to load and unload groceries or luggage.
We enjoyed watching the squirrels scurrying about looking for acorns from the magnificent oak trees.
The step up to the kitchen/bathroom area might be a problem for disabled folks but we found it to not be a problem for us.
We would definitely consider the Traveler's Cottage as a place to stay on our next trip to PG.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming getaway in a fantastic location

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

I wanted to take my wife to Monterey for her birthday and was looking at lodging in the area. I didn't like the looks or value of any of the hotels and I happened across The Traveler's Cottage on VRBO. The owner and property had great reviews so I went with it. Amy was very responsive from the moment I booked and gave me a ton of helpful information. When we got to the cottage is was better than the pictures. It's a good size (except for the doorways - but that's part of the charm on a 1920's house) and is really well decorated. The bed is ridiculously comfortable and the kitchen is great so you don't have to go out all the time. But if you do (like us) this place is walking distance from almost everything. We walked to Cannery Row (tons of restaurants and shops) and to the Aquarium (the Cottage even comes with 2 aquarium passes - which is $80 saved). The only time we used our car was to drive to the wharf to go whale watching, and even that is less than a mile away. My favorite part was sitting in the private back yard, drinking a glass of wine and reading (I had to read some Steinbeck, it seemed only fitting). All in all a wonderful experience that my wife and I are already trying to plan for next year.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful.

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Great location, great ambiance. Gracious and helpful hosts. Can't say enough.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful restful escape!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The cottage is beautifully decorated and as depicted in the photos. We had a question about the wifi and the owner helped us out right away. If you want to stay in and cook for yourself, the kitchen has what you need and Trader Joes and Safeway or not far away. You can walk to the Aquarium, Cannery Row and Lover's Point.
It's so nice to wake up to the sound of seals barking in the distance. We would definitely return and recommend this to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet & Cozy

Review submitted: November 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

PROS:
friendly & available property owner
comfy furniture - bed is a dream
nice dishes, pots, pans in kitchen
super clean
gorgeous decor
lots of blankets for indoor and outdoor use
the cottage is storybook pretty
neighborhood is lovely and location is great
this cottage comes with its own private parking space so you can leave out the back and not have to walk through the other cottages private spaces to leave
CONS:
there are other cottages on the property so total privacy isn't possible - low picket fence is adorable but does little to create a totally private enclosure.
no reading lamp in the bedroom
wifi worked but the connection was weak at times
Very few cons as you can see and I would stay here again especially if the other cottages weren't booked.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect cottage

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

I wanted a romantic getaway for a few days in Monterey/Pacific Grove, and wasn't all that impressed with the options for hotels (there's not a lot of charm and character in most of them) so I did a quick look to see if there were any house rentals near Cannery Row...and found this absolute gem. Close to attractions, amazingly decorated and cared for, unique and relaxing...it was my pleasure to stay in this historic cottage for a few days, and I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else when visiting the area - and yes, it's THAT GOOD. The proprietor is very responsive and friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed a week in the Traveler's Cottage. This place far exceeds expectations! You will walk into a quaint little yard with cute adirondack chairs circling a nifty firepit, blankets and pillows for comfort ,picnic table to enjoy lunch etc....Then once inside get ready! The bed is so snuggly the natural light from all the windows so refreshing, the living room makes you feel like you are piled up at home!! The kitchen looks like it was pulled straight from a Southern Living magazine along with a cutesy bathroom...we were in California to celebrate our 3rd anniversary and unwind. This place is made form ust that! It is located in walking distance of sooo many things and driving distance to many more! Dont hesitate to book here!! You will be charmed the minute you arrive :)) thanks Amy and Kevin for paying attention to detail and not taking any shortcuts!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for a solo getaway!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

After a recent cross-country move, I wanted a chance to explore the Monterey area.the proximity of this place makes it perfect to "feel more like a local," something I strive for on vacation. I could walk to the grocery store and local bakeries. I took advantage of the cute kitchen both nights of my stay. I hope to return to Pacific Grove and this property annually! Highly recommended for a stress free getaway

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adorable Cottage!!!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

We LOVED this cottage!!! Every little detail was darling and added to the unbelievable charm. It was so cute I couldn't even stand it.

It has everything you could ever need on a vacation. We could cook in the functional kitchen, the towels were super soft, the bed is extremely comfortable (some sort of memory foam), and there is a lovely yard to relax or let the kids roam.

My husband and I went with our 3yr old daughter and our baby boy and the location was perfect. The aquarium, lovers beach, cannery row, and lots of restaurants were all in walking distance. It was great to be able to use the Aquarium passes! We would play all day and have a wonderful place to come back to and relax. When the baby went to bed we were able to sit out by the fire pit and make s'mores (which our daughter loved)!

We can't wait to come back and want to make it a family tradition.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect vacation in Pacific Grove

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

We were so happy with every little detail in this Pacific Grove cottage. It is clear that Amy paid attention to everything from the color scheme to the full ice cube tray to the basket of "Did you Forget Something?" toiletries. The location made walking down to Cannery Row or into downtown Pacific Grove close and easy. You have your own parking spot and big private patio (it is about the size of the cottage!). We took advantage of sitting outside whenever the sun peaked out!

Overall, I can't think of anything negative to say about our stay. The price was right and the amenities were perfect.

Thank you again for all the thought you put into your rental. I would recommend this location to any couple looking for a romantic little getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous & Quaint Pacific Grove Rental

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

Wonderful - simply put, this was one of the best rentals we've rented through VRBO all over the US. The owners were easy to work with and so gracious. The location ideal. The theme and decor just lovely. The attention to detail was amazing. It was a perfect size for our family of 4. Our kids were 11 & 13 and very easy and great travelers, so we were fine; however, I would not suggest this rental for families with older kids. It is perfect for a couple and a couple with 2 young kids or 1 teen. It is more of a studio - but it was just what we were looking for. We used the adorable patio and we enjoyed returning to our Steinbeck cottage in the evenings. I grew up in Northern CA and we adore this area of CA. We'll surely rent again on a future visit. We loved the history of the place, especially as avid readers. Thank you Amy & family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Made with love!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We absolutely adored this cottage, it was the perfect weekend escape! Nearby down towns & beaches, cute restaurants, the (very nearby) aquarium, and the beautiful wine tasting rooms made every moment a joy. We highly recommend for anyone looking to get away for a romantic weekend, as there is no shortage of places to explore and things to do in Pacific Grove.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Experience!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

We had an amazing time during our stay at the Travelers cottage. I can't say enough about it! It was even better than I expected and the photos didn't do it justice! Amy took care of every detail to make this stay feel like a home away from home. when we got there I felt like I had just walked into my dream house! So cozy and adorable, expertly decorated, smelled fresh and was impeccably clean.

It was just a short walk to the aquarium, shops, restaurants and the beautiful coast. Amy provided a book for past guests to share reviews of local places so that we could get ideas of where to go- so helpful!Our last morning we jogged along the beach walk/bike trail to Lover's Point and it was beautiful! Plus we saw some sunbathing seals right off the beach.

Such a memorable, relaxing and fun trip! Highly recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Already miss it....

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

What a gem!! We just got back from our weekend getaway and of the oh so many vacation rentals we have booked over the years, this one is far and away the most unique, inviting, charming, <insert your favorite adjective> home we have ever stayed in.

I doubt anyone would regret taking the time and spending the money to experience staying here-- it is very peaceful and quiet and definitely well-appointed and clean. This all from a family with two toddlers staying for two nights. Thank you to the owners for creating this space for others to enjoy-- I'm not a huge bookworm but a few nights after staying here, I'm so much more interested to re-read Steinbecks books that I haven't touched since middle school! They have a love for this author and the era that he lived which they captured in the charm of a cottage within the quaintness of a oceanside town you just won't find anywhere else. I am so glad that one day my family can look back on these memories as such a special time spent together.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I WISH I WAS STILL THERE!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay in the Traveler's Cottage for our 5th anniversary and I wish we could have stayed a week! This was the perfect place to stay in Pacific Grove/ Monterey! The cottage was spotless and was decorated so beautifully! So much thought was put into every nook and cranny of this little cottage - words can't do it justice. Just look at the pictures! And you just can't beat the location. It's a short walk to the aquarium and Cannery Row. You also can't beat the price! You'd pay more to stay in a mediocre hotel in Pacific Grove not to mention the free aquarium passes! What a deal! Amy was very great to work with - quick communication. We had planned on staying in the smaller cottage but they were still putting a few finishing touches on it so Amy allowed us to stay in the larger cottage. A++ customer service. After seeing my pictures, a few of my friends already want to come and stay! I hope we get to return to this cottage some day! THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sarah,
Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so glad you enjoyed your 5th Anniversary at the cottage. I really hope we run into each other someday at World Market ;) Until then, all the best to you and your sweetie. Come back and visit again soon!
~Amy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Adorable Cottage!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

My new husband and I loved our honeymoon at this sweet cottage! The owner has a knack for decorating and creating a welcoming feel. It feels immaculately clean, but personal and cozy.

The listing is accurate, down to the minor details in the photos!

We recommend staying at this cottage whether it is your first time in Pacific Grove/Monterey or your 100th time. It is very close to both downtown areas and a short drive to Carmel and 17 mile drive. It's the perfect location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Erin,
We are so honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon at the cottage! You were our very first honeymooners, and that means a lot to us. Congratulations to you both, and we hope you will come back and someday celebrate your 50th anniversary there as well!!
~Amy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rest and relaxation.

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Very cute and comfortable. Nice patio, excellent place to read and be entertained. Sofa bed could have been more comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Refreshing in every way

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

My husband and I were in the process of deciding where to go for our annual anniversary getaway weekend when I saw this post on Amy's fb, that their dream-come-true cottage by the sea was finally ready for rent. I thought I would just quickly peruse the photos, but I was immediately enrapt by the beautiful interior and close location to the ocean (two things important to me). It was appealing to us that there was a fully functioning kitchen so we could also make some casual meals instead of eating out 3x/day. While staying there, we were blessed by the incredible sense of peace and relaxation. In fact, we stayed in more than we explored the outdoors--something unusual for us. There were countless thoughtful touches: flowers for our anniversary, extra toiletries (very helpful when our electric toothbrush died), board games and blankets and throws to stay cozy.

Gorgeous, comfortable, and well-priced. Superb location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. Nancy, for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your anniversary at the cottage. I love that you said you stayed in more than you went out! We really wanted to create an environment that people were able to relax, dwell in, and that would truly refresh their souls. Please come back and see us soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pacific Grove Cottage

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Beautiful Cottage. Wonderful colors and so much attention to detail. The Cottage was stocked with every thing one could need. Fully stocked kitchen, lots of fun games, and very cozy. We cannot wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Our stay at The Traveler's Cottage was truly surreal. The cottage is breathtaking! You can really see the thought that was put into making it the adorable and peaceful little retreat that it is. It was the perfect place to get away from the daily grind...much better than staying at a hotel. It provided us with the privacy and tranquility we were hoping for. The location is also really convenient. There's a Nob Hill, the aquarium, beach and Cannery Row, all about a 15-20 minute walk away. We made breakfast at the cottage and ate at El Torito. It was Taco Tuesday when we went and their tacos are delicious! As well as their appetizers, chips and salsa. Definitely take a bike or rent one at Bay Bikes on Cannery Row, ride on the trails and take in the beautiful views :) My boyfriend and I fell in absolute love with the cottage and had an amazing stay :D We highly recommend staying at The Traveler's Cottage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Traveler's Cottage!
It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope you will come visit us again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

My 11 year old son and I stayed here recently for a fun mother and son getaway. It was perfect!! I loved how cheery and bright it is. Waking up to the sunshine coming in through the windows and enjoying a delicious cup of coffee (there is a french press!) in the same peaceful garden that John Steinbeck once sipped his coffee in was delightful! The owner obviously took great care to provide all the comforts possible. My son raved about the memory foam sofa bed mattress! (Definitely not like the usual springy ones hotels have.)The towels and bed linens were super soft. The electric fireplace really kept it cozy and I LOVED the little wall heater in the bathroom! The kitchen was darling and had everything we needed. There were even thoughtful touches like games to play, super soft throw blankets, and a very interesting collection of books to browse through. It was great to have cable so my son could watch his favorite shows while I used the Wi-Fi to check emails. It really is super close to the aquarium- a MUST SEE if you haven't been there, and to the beach. We loved our lunch at the Red House Cafe in downtown Pacific Grove. Its very quaint with lots of cute shops. I highly recommend staying at the Traveler's Cottage. It was everything I had hoped for and more!! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review