reviews for: listing #11228 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Condo rental

Cayman Reef Resort- # 21-Beachfront Condo-7 Mile Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cayman Reef Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $325 /nt
    $1,050 - $2,275 /wk

sort by:

Paradise with a porch!

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Great property! Cozy and warm. All the amenities you could want. Steps from the beach. Perfect place to unwind and relax. Owners are friendly and kind. Property management is helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Beach Location

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We had a fantastic stay in March 2014. You can roll out of bed and onto the quiet, uncrowded beach in 10 steps. We could not believe how uncrowded our beach was compared to the wall to wall chairs at other places on the beach. Every evening we sat with drinks on the beach to watch the sun set. The condo itself was great. I am a neat freak--I bring cleaning wipes with me which I didn't need to use. The oven was a convection oven and the electric grill on the patio did a great job on our steaks one night. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, utensils, paper towels, new sponge, dish detergent, salt, pepper, some spices etc... A nice surprise since it wasn't listed on the condo description. Don't want to cook? No need for a car here since it is an easy walk to Camana Bay and many other awesome restaurants for breakfast, lunch, dinner, gelato etc... The grocery store is about a mile away but we walk there when we get in since we have been sitting on a plane all day, stop at Ragazzi's on the way back for a drink and bring home pizza for our first night. The liquor store is directly across the street. Our side of the complex is very quiet. We stayed at an equally lovely condo on the other side but it was noisy on Thursday-Saturday nights due to a party bar a few places down the beach. This condo is on the quiet side and we heard nothing. It is really a perfect location being directly on the beach and having easy access to all the fabulous restaurants. I hate to give such a good review because I want to make sure this is open for us if we go back in March!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to Return ! ! !

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

We rented this property in April 2014 and could not have been happier. It was everything we had hoped and more. You just can't get any closer to the shoreline than this. The condo was well stocked with everything you needed including a great blender for making fantastic frozen Daiquiris to sip while watching the beautiful sunsets. The location was perfect and a car was not necessary.We hope to rent this unit again in the near future.Chip contacted us to make sure we had everything we needed which made us feel that he really wanted us to enjoy his property.A nice touch.Thank you Chip for letting us share in your piece of Paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It means a lot. Thank you very much.
Maryke and I are very happy you enjoyed your vacation.
Chip & Maryke Jenkins

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Cayman Vacation 2014

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

The unit was in the perfect location on the property. We were the envy of our group. It is right on the water with a beautiful view. Our condo was the hang out spot. It was really clean; up to date; accomodating and conviently located on the island. Dive shop is across the street. I will most definitedly come back to Cayman and I couldn't think of staying anywhere but this unit. Thanks, Owners for making our vacation the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maryke and I are happy you had a great time and enjoyed our unit
and location. Thanks very much. Harold Jenkins

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

I am hesitant to give this property a five star review as I don't want others to find out about this hidden jewel. Chip was great to work with from start to finish. The condo (compared to others you might see at Cayman Reef) is a bit older but Chip is continually upgrading things to make it nicer. The faucet in the bathroom had some corrosion and the handle broke off on our second day in this unit. Chip responded immediately via email & by phone & it was fixed by the following afternoon. Location is second to none...steps from the beautiful beach. Snorkeling is great along the entire property...saw a few sea turtles a a few hundred yards out as well as flounder, angel fish, lobster, etc.
We rented a car but you definitely would not need one. Two grocery stores within a mile either side of the condo... walk to many restaurants, liquor stores, dive shops, and just 5 minutes from Camana Bay shops & dining! We will be back for certain. Chip was always responsive to emails and answered all questions immediately. Thanks for a great stay at your condo. Looking forward to next year already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Plan on returning again and again

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

Great location and accommodations. We have stayed here 3 times and plan on making it 4 next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

R & R & R...Rest, Relaxation and Restoration...

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

This is our second stay in this unit and we can't say enough about location ,location, location.
The view is phenomenal, the beach is mere steps outside your door and you are in walking distance to stores, restaurants, and an awesome yoga studio. We had a great time enjoying the beach, the water,(temp was a consistent 82-83 degrees) and walking the beach every day. We have met some return guests in other units and everyone is so kind. Speaking of kind Chip is a dream of an owner to deal with through the entire transaction from making the reservation to taking care of any hiccups that may occur along the way. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't beat it!

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

This was one of the best vacations I've had and I've been everywhere in the Caribbean. What makes this place stand out is location, location, location... I can't say it enough. It's right on the beach in a quiet setting but only a few minutes' walk to everything you need - restaurants, bars, nightlife, diving needs, hotels, etc.

Chip was great too and the condo was equipped with everything you need to feel at home. Don't hesitate on this - book now!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: My Wife and I are very happy that you enjoyed and had a great time.
Thanks very much. Chip

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location on 7MB, Very Outdated Condo...

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

The Positive: Great location directly on 7Mile Beach, Available for New Year's on short notice

The Negatives:
• Very small and dark one bedroom condo
• Futon’s are hard and uncomfortable to sit/sleep on
• Louvered bedroom and bathroom doors do not provide any privacy to the small kitchen/living room areas
• Noisy neighbors above morning and night, can hear walking and activity above due to thin ceilings
• Very noisy washer
• Dryer needs to be run multiple times on high to dry
• Light outside condo was inoperable, advised they were being replaced
• Smoke detector goes off from the heat when opening the oven (no smoke)
• Condo parking spot is next to what appears to be an old inoperable clunker
• Very limited additional parking for guests

I’ve traveled to GCM nine times in just the past two years and have stayed in a many different condos and hotels. Visited GCM over 60 times the past 28 years. All of the other condos had renovated/updated their interiors since Hurricane Ivan in 2004 and replaced the furnishings. Not sure how this did not appear to be the case, especially being so close to the water. They also provided maid service at least twice a week with the rental.

Sorry Harold(Chip) that I am being brutally honest here. This is a seriously outdated condo, in need of a complete renovation and replacement of all the furnishings. Time to invest and post new photos when done. Please note, this is the first negative review I’ve ever provided and felt compelled after multiple emails to review and feeling I was misled by all the previous positive reviews…

Good Luck and Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Cayman Beachfront

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

This cozy condo is amazingly close to the water. Literally just a few yards away. Large semi-private patio area outside the back door offers a great place to sit and watch the beach activities. We found the condo was neat and clean with linen and towels provided. We stocked up on food at Kirk's and made a lot of our own meals. Located in a good spot within walking distance to large hotels and beachfront water sport rentals. Dive shop located across the street. Chip called on our first day to check in with us to make sure we were doing okay. Accommodations were perfect for us and we hope to be staying there again on the next trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great value, great location.

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location, just steps from the beach with our little patio table right by the sea wall to enjoy breakfast was great. The rental price is relatively low for Grand Cayman. I think this reflects that the unit has basic kitchen and bath decor, basic furnishings, and does not provide toiletries. The unit is very clean and comfortable. The complex is well run, clean and has security, so you feel very safe. There were lots of families with lots of kids, probably more than average due to the holiday week. Demand for this unit is high, but we would definitely return if available. Chip called us to make sure we had settled in and that was much appreciated. Charlene in the office made taxi reservations for us for our return and was very helpful in general. I think this place is a gem for anyone looking for a value price in an otherwise uber expensive area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Clean, comfortable, and great location. Right on Seven Mile Beach...steps away. Owners answered so many questions for us prior to our visit and called us at the condo to be sure everything was ok. Condo has all the amenities you can ask for. Office staff was very nice, too. Snorkeling was excellent, right in front of the condo. Warm, beautiful blue water. If you arrive on a Saturday, be sure to get groceries that day/night as the grocery store is closed on Sunday. A nice, relaxing location to enjoy.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Maryke and I are very happy that you relax and enjoy the condo. Thanks very much for your comments. Chip

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location and Amenities

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

The property is in a wonderful location. You've got a view of the ocean right from your living room or patio. You can walk right out the back door and be in the water in about 40 seconds. We parked right outside the condo in our own space. As far as the condo goes, there is ample room for everything you bring, not that you need to bring much since there is a washer, dryer, fridge and full kitchen. We walked to dinner 7 of 8 nights and didn't go to the same restaurant twice. The liquor store is right across the street. Thanks to the owner for calling us early in our stay to see how we were doing and giving good advice on restaurants and things to do. A mall is also within walking distance.

The owners have beach towels, a screened in patio, scrabble, phone (comes in handy)cable TV, music and a zillion books. Hey, you can spend double the money for a fancy hotel and NOT have a kitchen or fridge. The bottom line to all of this is that we can't wait to do it again and would love to stay in the same place!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing property! One in a million!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

I can not say enough good things about this property. Clean, well maintained with everything you could need in a fantastic location. The bathroom is the furthest you can get from the ocean and with the sliders open even there I could hear the waves when I got ready in the morning. We got a car but if you weren't going to have one this would be where you wanted to be. We actually had issues with our dates due to my husband's job and Chip was fantastic, prompt and generously willing to work with us so we could still enjoy his wonderful property. My husband loves to snorkel and there are great spots, walk out your door and into the water and swim 10 ft out and there you are. We actually had an issue with the toilet while we were there, random part broke and the management office had it fixed while we went out to lunch and Chip called to make sure everything was taken care of properly. My husband who loves to travel but hates staying anywhere other than our home said to me 3 hours after arriving, "I like this place, I can relax here. It feels like home, like I live here and I'm just about to do what I want." This is big coming from him and I knew we were in for a great time! We loved the island, definitely expensive but that was expected. The condo's kitchen had everything you needed to eat in if you prefer and we chose to do most breakfasts and lunches in to save some money. You can't get a better view on the island anyway than from your own porch. We went in Aug so the complex was quiet, most times we had the private beach to ourselves or sharing with 1-3 other people and always chairs and umbrellas for use. A two minute walk north on the beach leads you to a beach side restaurant/bar and a two minute walk south to jet ski rentals, pick-ups for snorkeling ect. Amazing trip in an amazing condo! Chip if you ever want to sell it we will take it! and we will most certainly be staying here whenever we come back!

Owners response: Thank you very much. We are happy you enjoyed.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best honey moon anyone could hope for. I loved staying here.

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Wow, I don't usually leave reviews, but this was a great stay. First of all I initially booked at Chips place because of their good reviews and location. The location was AMAZING! I mean right on the best part of the beach. There is a busy stretch of the beach with condos and hotels, all private beaches next to one another. Well this location is on the more relaxed end, but close enough to walk a minute or two to a couple of beach restaurants and bars. We went Para sailing right in front of the beach. I mean this is the best part of seven mile beach in my opinion. Every morning we ran 4 miles on the beach, so we covered the entire area. The water was just indescribably beautiful. Snorkelling just out of the condo was fun too. Chip and his wife were actually in another condo while we were there. They were such nice people, I felt so comfortable around them, almost like they were our family. They told us about a lot of things to do on the island. This was great since it was our first visit here, hopefully not our last. We visited Stingray City, Dolphin Cove, and the Turtle Farm. They were all a blast. We also went to several restaurants, and though some are very expensive... they were all good. I think my favorite one was a place called XQ's just down the road. Chip kept telling us it was good, and it sure was. Price was better than others too. Over all this was by far the best get away I have ever been on. One of the best experiences in my life. I seriously want to buy some property down in Grand Cayman. You can't go wrong here. Great location, great condo, great owners. Hope this helps someone decide. Ty

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Chip and Mary's Condo on 7 mile beach, Cayman Islands

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

Incredible location; clean and well stocked condo; very friendly and accommodating owners; staff on location excellent. We've been to this condo twice, and plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Chip, just got home from an amazing holiday in your condo Cayman Reef Resort # 21. had an absolutely fantastic time on the island. The condo was more than we hoped for. The staff at the complex could not be more helpful. Only problem we have is that our grandson wants to move there. Thanks for all your assistance in making it a dream holiday for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenience at it's finest.

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

The beach is 20 steps from the condo door, restaurants and yoga studio are a short walk and the airport is only 15 minutes away.
There are other condo's more plushly decorated but the convenience of the beach being right outside your door is unbeatable.
Chip is readily available to answer questions and lend advice on local attractions and he makes the rental process extremely easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Grand Cayman - Reef Resort

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

The condo was very nice, clean. Unfortunately, the noise from the people up above us was often disturbing. We said something to them the first night, but subsequent nights didn't seem to get much better. There is a sign in the condo which states there is to be no noise to disturb other visitors, but this group apparently hadn't gotten that memo. I didn't want to create a problem, (not knowing the visitors) and the stay was so lovely, we overlooked the frustration.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cayman Upstate New Yorkers

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

We arrived in Grand Cayman just after dark. The condo was easy to find and ready to go for us. First and last impressions of the property were Grade A. The surf literally rolls or pounds just 30 feet (if that) from the condo. The view and beach are incredible however we must caution that beach shoes are a near requirement. Georgetown is just minutes away or in fact you can walk if you're game. A couple of doors down there is a public beach where cruise ship folks gather that has all the trappings, food, huge bar, jet skiis, etc. We did not rent a car and really did not miss it. We ate breakfast and lunch at the Condo and enjoyed fine dining by evening. Casanova's in Georgetown is a must. We'll be back. We don't know when, but we simply loved the entire experience and incredible value compared to other resorts which were available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very enjoyable vacation

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this unit. It had virtually everything we could ever want. The view from the unit was great. You could sit on the couch and see the water from the living room and just head right out of the back door and to the water.

As a whole, the condo complex is well-located and was relatively quiet (with the exception of some minor construction going on while we were there but that's to be expected in low season).

The beach in front of the complex is small (especially when the tide is in) but very nice. The entry into the water has some small rocks and shells that roll in with the tide but it's not a big deal. The pool was very warm and very clean, we enjoyed a few swims in some fresh water after long days in salt water.

The location of the condo is great, within walking distance of a few restaurants but I would highly recommend renting a car to explore the island and all it has to offer.

The owner of the condo, Chip, was always quick to respond to emails when we had questions and everything was very easy.

If you'd like to see some of my pictures from the unit, check out my review of the Cayman Reef Resort on TripAdvisor.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Condo !!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This condo has everything you need for a great Grand Cayman vacation! The kitchen had every dish, pan & utensil you needed to cook - we ate breakfast in most mornings and some dinners too. The electric grill on the patio is great! The condo was the perfect size for my husband and I. I could see it being good with small children but teenages might want/need more room.

The condo is steps away from the beach and great place to watch the amazing sunsets. There are no words to decribe the view - simply breathtaking. The location is close to everything in the Seven Mile Beach area. We did get a car but we like to travel all around the island & aren't big fans of walking. Be sure to check out Camana Bay across the steet!

Chip (the owner) was a dream to deal with during the rental process. And when I emailed him a question about the WiFi password while we were there he called me right away on the landline at the condo to help me.

Nearby suggestions: Breakfast - Cimboco, Lunch - Guy Harvey's Grille, Casual Dinner - Sushine Grill, Nice Dinner - Solana @ the Marriott, Sushi - Karma. Water Sports - Red Sail Sports @ the Westin.


Needless to say, I would give this rental a 10 star rating if I could & fully intend on staying again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much. My Wife Maryke and I are very happy that you had a great time.When on vacation- that is what you like- a great time. Chip

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Long Dive Weekend

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this property for a long dive weekend. It was our first time on Grand Cayman. I thought the rate was reasonable given the beach access and how well the unit was equipped and maintained. The complex itself is nice also. Our only complaint is the upstairs neighbors like to make some noise late at night. But it was a minimal intrusion for us.

We walked to Comfort Suites to dive with Ambassador Divers. It was convenient and they are nice folks.

The kitchen is fully equipped so we bought fish at Kirk Supermarket for one dinner. Recommend Coconut Joe's for breakfast and Chicken! Chicken! for carryout dinner. Plenty of good restaurants close. Also the bus service is great. We did not need to rent a car. Great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Very Much.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ocean front condo at Cayman Reef Resort, Grand Cayman

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Having spent two glorious weeks in this oceanfront unit I would definitely recommend staying here if you love to hear the sound of the ocean, feel soft, smooth sand, and enjoy a crystal blue sea in which to swim your heart out! Cayman Reef Resorts is a 62 unit condo complex close to Georgetown, supermarkets, shopping, fine dining, and the best sunsets ever! Camana Bay is an upscale commercial/residential area less than a ten minute walk away with a brand new organic supermarket! The other two supermarkets are less than a 20 minute walk away and offer a huge selection of items. Unit 21 is a perfect choice for a couple with or without children. There's a king bed with plenty of storage for clothes (and plenty of hangers in the closet), a good size kitchen with just about any cooking utensil you can think of with plenty of dishes and glasses, a washer and dryer in the bathroom with plenty of towels for the beach and bath, and the piece of resistance-a screened in patio with breath-taking water views!!!! There are a number of supermarket canvas bags to use as the supermarkets charge for giving out bags with your purchases so remember to bring them with you when you go food shopping. Everything is so close it you really don't need a car. There are plenty of "sea adventures" to go on if you don't want to stay all day on the beautiful beach. Umbrellas are put out early in the day and there are plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and at the pool. The pictures of this rental are very accurate and the most important thing is location, location, and location. This place has it!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Condo on 7 mile Beach

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Great Condo on the ocean. Excellent location on a great beach. Unit was clean with everything required for house keeping. Very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this unit

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

I just recently returned from spending a blissful week @Harold/Maryke's place ON 7-mile beach. I have to say that this was one of my best, most relaxing vacations I have ever taken! The condo was perfectly located on the most beautiful stretch of the beach 5.5 mile beach. Which, by the way, was only 10 steps away from our screened in porch! The view from the unit was fantastic and I enjoyed 7 nights of gorgeous sunsets from the convenience of the sea wall right outside our door. The unit itself was extremely clean & well kept. It was fully stocked with supplies & amenities; you can tell that the owners take pride in maintaining their property. The owners were very caring, and truly went out of their way to make for a special vacation. I would, without hesitation, recommend this unit to anyone looking to enjoy the Caribbean through the convenience of a condo. I'm already booked for next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cayman Reef

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

This was our fourth time staying here. All I can say is that it's perfect for us! Our 8 year old loves the fact that we get to snorkel right from our beach and honestly we do too! Perfect location on seven mile beach, we do rent a car but not really needed since most shopping & dining are walking distance. The condo has all the amenities that the three of us need! We always look forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful 7 Mile Beach

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

The condo itself was fine, a bit dated but served the purpose. The location was excellent, walking distance to many great restaurants, groceries, liquor, etc. Our only complaint was that there were people with small children staying in the suite above us and every morning at 7 a.m. we were awoken by the sound of foot steps and chairs scraping against the floor above us. This was very annoying, would have expected the place to be a bit more sound proof.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

As close as I will get to paradise.

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

I am hestitant to say how much I liked staying at this condo, because selfishly I want to be sure it will be available next time we can get back to Grand Cayman. The picture showing how close you are to the water is not deceptive, you are right on the water!!! We kept the door cracked open at night to listen to the waves lapping the shoreline. We played tennis every morning on the tennis court that was in really good shape, a few small cracks, but nothing that effected play. Great restaurants are in easy walking distance (Copper Falls, Aqua and Deckers), the Royal Palms is two properies away (GREAT pizza and cold beer). The buses come by in front of the Cayman Reef Resort that make it easy to get anywhere. Staff and neighbors were all very nice. Not a question of if we go back, but how soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This condo is right on the water and has everything you need. You can see the cruise ships fade in the distance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, on the beach

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

My third stay in this condo complex and you can't beat this location. Walk out your patio door and the beach is maybe 10 steps away. Also, this is a great beach - sandy with coral a bit offshore for snorkeling. Resorts further south have small beaches and/or lots of rocks.

Condo is clean and well laid out. Lots of cooking gear if you're looking to eat some meals in. Ceiling fans in every room - including the screen porch. Satellite TV and wifi were nice. A TV in the bedroom would have been useful.

I would certainly stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A too short stay in paradise

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

Our stay in Grand Cayman was perfect and the location could not be better - a few short steps from the pristine sands of 7 Mile Beach. No crowds, vendors, or any of the more common annoyances at a typical popular beach. This property is clean and quiet and mostly inhabited by residents who are either living full time or part time on the island. Everyone we met was polite and welcoming. We were even invited to a Thanksgiving feast that is hosted annually on the beach by Larry - one of the full-time residents... What an unexpected delight!
We were contacted by the owner of the property shortly after arriving so that he could make sure we were happy and had everything we needed. We did. This is the perfect choice for those that like the look and feel of a resort, but want the freedom of being a little more independent. There are plenty of locations nearby to shop for groceries and other essentials, or for whatever recreational needs you may have. Many restaurants are also close by and are typically good.
In short, we will have a hard time trying to match our experience in Grand Cayman. We are already considering reserving this rental for next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a little piece of heaven

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We recently stayed for 8 nights at this condo and were quite pleased by our choice. The owner provided us via email with the door entry code to his condo, which worked flawlessly. We entered to find a very clean, well-kept unit, comfortably appointed. It has a very roomy feel, and we believe that a family with young children would likewise be comfortable here, acknowledging that teenagers may want their own space.
We immediately pulled back the curtains, looking beyond our lanai to find the ocean right there as promised! Oh that Caribbean blue!!
We spent that first evening into the wee hours the way we spent the following 7 nights, after returning "home"...sitting ON the beach with our feet in the sand! We always felt VERY SAFE here, and on Grand Cayman in general, something that we do not always feel on our many trips to other Caribbean islands. In fact, it is quite unusual that we felt safe on a beach in the Caribbean at night at all. We would see many people walking by into those wee hours...sometimes in pairs...sometimes in clusters...and sometimes alone. That says something!!
We then went to bed on a very comfortable king size bed...and I am not always comfortable on a mattress other than my own.
We would then awake and make some coffee and face that grueling commute to the beach...all 20 steps! Having a unit so close meant that we could come in to grab a drink or perhaps a bite to eat. We tended to eat breakfast and lunch in our condo and then step out for dinner. We met various people around the pool and at sunset watch nightly, all very friendly and welcoming.
The owner called us on our first full day to see how we were making out. He introduced himself, asked how we were making out, and commented that the surf was a bit rougher than normal. I questioned how he knew this and he told me that he starts each day by viewing the web cam from the Grill next door. By the end of our conversation, I could tell that he is not just sharing his condo, but a piece of his heart, because it was quite obvious how much he LOVES Grand Cayman...and I can see why!!!
I am running out of space for this review but not thoughts and memories. Do your homework...visit travel websites and explore.
I will tell you that we would not hesitate to visit Grand Cayman again, and I know that this owner will get a call when I do. I would encourage anyone to rent this unit and the only thing further I will tell you is....DON'T THINK YOU'RE GETTING "MY" WEEK!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer 2011 Visit

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

There are things to like and dislike about this condo. First the positive: it's a wonderful location and literally right on the beach. The condo is fairly priced. It is fully furnished and has just about everything you need for your stay. The condo is clean and I always felt safe. There is cable TV with plenty of channels and wireless internet. The internet did go out for a day during our stay however the owner was very helpful and concerned about the inconvenience. It did take a little effort on my part to get the service back up and running again.

The negatives: The bathroom towels smelled of mildew. In fact they smelled so bad that I washed a load the day we arrived. But I believe I found the problem...the dryer does not dry well and I think the towels had been previously washed and put away wet. We stayed a week and I washed towels on several occasions. When drying it took about 4-5 dry cycles to completely dry the towels.

After a day there, I had to go to the office to ask where to put the trash and for additional trash bags as there were none in the condo. While on the island I had to buy extra toilet paper and paper towels since there were not enough for a week's stay. There is no maid service in the condo. The futons in the living room are outdated and uncomfortable. The neighbors upstairs were a little noisy and several nights we could hear the music coming from the Royal Palms until late at night. Windows were being replaced in several condos around #21 and each morning the table saws were running at 8:00 AM (I realize these issues were out of the owner's control!)

Despite these annoyances, we did have a good time and enjoyed our stay. The office staff was very kind and helpful. The owner was kind enough to allow me to pay the balance of the rental fee in 3 payments, which I really appreciated.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Condo on the Beach

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

My family (including 3 teenagers) stayed in the condo for a week at the end of June. Simply fantastic! We travel to a different island each year (resorts and/or condos) and the entire family agreed this was the best place we have stayed.

The condo is as-advertised. One bedroom, one bath, a living room with two futons and a kitchen. (Since we had five people, my son slept on a lounge chair and was perfectly fine) It also has a screened in porch (but who needs that when your patio is right on the ocean!!). The condo was clean and included everything we need for our week; linens, towels, beach chairs, floating rafts, a kitchen full of dishes and all of the standard appliances.

We ate breakfast and lunch at the condo and went out each night for dinner.

During our week, there were very few other people staying in the complex. So, we had the beach almost to ourselves. Down the beach in one direction is the Marriott; we went there to snorkel their man made reef and to eat once. The other direction is most of 7MB. Two complexes down is the Royal Palms Beach Club with the Reef Grill right on the beach. They had live reggae three nights. Had a great time dancing on the sand. We also walked the beach to the public beach each morning. One afternoon we went and used the floating tables at the Ritz.

We rented two stand-up paddleboards for the entire week. The Kitehouse delivered them our first morning and picked them up our last morning. 7MP is perfect to SUP; calm waters with almost no waves.

This condo has a great location and has easy access to all of the 7MB amenities. We would highly recommend this has a place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and view

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this condo for a week in July, just returned. I do not know how can you be closer to the beach than this:) The ocean view from the Condo livingroom was beautiful, the sunset in front of the condo was awesome. Condo complex has a private beach with best sand and sea shore compared to couple other beaches we visited on the island, with some beach chairs that was for our use. I do not know if it is always like this but, when we were there, there were not many people at the Condo complex (being July - slow months) and at the beach. So the beach was like our private beach. The Marriot is at walking distance, so we ended up walking there and rented a sailboat. There is also an other bar/restaurant at very close walking distance at the beach where we got some lunch and drinks. The location was close to everything on Seven Mile Beach, we used the public transportation (Minivans "Bus") passed in front of the condo complex. Condo was clean and equipped well, looks like the owners also use the condo sometime. The owner "Harold' called us the first day we arrived and checked on us to see if made it okay and if everything met to our expectations. We had a great time in Cayman and staying in the Condo, would definitely like to go back to Cayman and stay in the same place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Relaxing, quiet condo right on the beach

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We had a great time at this condo. It's quiet, located right on the beach and at ground level, so the ocean was only a few steps away. The condo was clean and well furnished (King size bed, two futons, flat screen TV) with wireless internet (would be nice if it had a password, though!) The complex has a pool, though we never used it (why, when the ocean is closer!). We snorkeled quite a bit, there are some good spots almost directly out from the condo and especially as you head south towards the Mariott. There was almost nothing north of us though, so I wouldn't recommend snorkeling in that direction unless you enjoy looking at sand for hours.

We really liked the location of the condo. We went scuba diving with Ambassador Divers, who are only about 4-5 condos down the beach at the Comfort Suites (there's another building between them and the beach, so you have to go around) but they were an excellent outfit and only a 5 minute walk away. You can also get to the Camana Bay complex with a short walk, which has stores, restaurants (Michael's was great, lots of fresh produce), and a movie theater. I did end up walking to the grocery store one day and taking the bus back, but it was a decent walk in the heat.

Our only complaints were the grill hadn't been cleaned in a while, and on our very last night there was a party/rave about two condos north of us that went on from about 11am to 1am. That was really the only noise we heard though, most of the time the condo was quiet and peaceful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The sunsets are spectacular!!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

My husband and I were fortunate enough to rent this condo for 7 nights, May 21 - May 28, 2011. There was nothing like waking up every morning and opening the drapes to a beautiful view of the ocean, just feet away! We would eat breakfast out in the little screened in area and enjoy the view and sounds of the surf!
Every day (but one overcast one) we would lay out under the umbrella from the condo and soak up the rays. There is even a small cooler to put water or whatever you might want into. There were ample lounge chairs and little tables too! I think at most there were maybe 6 or 7 other people on our share of the beach, most times we were pretty much alone. The water was wonderful--warm, clear and smooth as glass!
Just a couple places down the beach is Royal Palms Beach Club where you can grab a bite or a drink or both. Close enough to bring right back to our beach!
It was nice being able to prepare our own meals, although we only did breakfast and most lunches. Ate out for dinner-- Coconut Joes, Red Parrot at the Marriott, Carlos and Martins, Fidel Murphy's, Ortanique in Camana Bay (a must see at night) which are all within walking distance! We also walked over to the cinema in Camana Bay one rainy day and saw the latest "Pirates of the Caribbean'.
Our first day we walked to Fosters Food Market and picked up quite a few things (too much actually, we had to leave some behind; hope the next guests could use some of it as most was unopened). We took a taxi back (Ace Friendly Taxi and they were just as nice as the name implies). There is a liquor store just across the street from the resort for wine, liquor and beer (not cheap).
Our favorite part of our entire stay were the sunsets every evening. Front row seat! We set up a couple chairs on the patio, had a bottle of wine and marveled at the most beautiful sunsets we had ever seen. Even the one night that it was stormy and the sun didn't show, just the clouds were amazing. We took soooo many pictures. And we always had the resident little lizard there with us lol!
We would recommend this condo to anyone who wants privacy, the conveniences of home and most of all the best location you could imagine. The beach really is just steps away! We hope to return next year at about the same time!! The low season is the best. Why anyone wouldn't want to come then is a mystery to us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Week at the Cayman Reef Resort

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Cayman Reef Resort. The location was perfect for our family – lots of places to go within easy walking distance, lovely stretch of beach, and great amenities. As a family, we tend toward stocking the refrigerator for some meals and visiting casual dining spots for others. Some of our favorites places to eat, all within easy walking distance, are Chicken Chicken (also a smoothie place right next door that we loved), A La Kebab, and the Reef Grill. The beach was lovely, had plenty of chairs, and the water gentle enough even for the youngest swimmer. Snorkeling was good right off the shore and excellent off the Marriott’s beach, reached with an easy 5 minute stroll. The unit itself was so close to the water – we could sit on the indoor patio and see the beach – and outfitted with everything we could possibly need. Can’t wait to get back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Condo /Great Location

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We very much enjoyed our vacation in this lovely 1st floor condo. Being on the first floor was so convenient to the beach - no stairs or elevators. The condo is well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The large white sand beach is steps from the front door and the water is the bluest, cleanest we've ever seen. There were always plenty of beach chairs and the sunsets are amazing. Grand Cayman has very little crime and we felt perfectly safe being on the 1st floor. The Cayman Reef Resort is centrally located and if you want to use the buses they go by very frequently. We hope to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful beach

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

The location was perfect, right on the beach with just the right amount of privacy and a great ocean view. Just steps to the sand, we could sit on the sea wall and have coffee in the morning while watching people stroll leisurely on the beach. The condo was perfectly appointed, having everything necessary to prepare any or all of our meals. It was also a nice plus to have a washer and dryer. There were many restaurants within walking distance and it was very safe to walk at night. The owners of the unit were very helpful and made it easy to arrange the trip. The complex was small enough to be fun, everyone came out onto the beach for happy hour and to watch the beautiful sunsets.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A relaxing paradise

Review submitted: March 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

The condo is literally steps from the gorgeous seven mile beach. The condo had everything we needed and it is a well run complex. The location is ideal with only a short ride to Georgetown and many wonderful restaurants. The weather was perfect for the beach lover and the water temperature was ideal for swimming. We look forward to returning to this lovely paradise and would not think of choosing a different condo to stay in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Seventh Heaven on Seven Mile Beach

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

"There isn't a better location on Seven Mile Beach! This property is within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, and even Georgetown. We particularly enjoyed this unit as it is right on the beach as well as being an end unit that is quiet and private. The condo is very well equipped and clean. The king bed, large flat screen tv, and washer and dryer are nice amenities. The owner was very easy to work with and even called during our stay to make sure everything was as expected. We also enjoyed the option of the swimming pool on the property. This property is appropriate for families as well as couples. This condo is perfect for two people with only one bedroom, but there are two foutons in the living room that could accomodate additional guests. "

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review