reviews for: listing #11265 - Lake George, New York Chalet rental

Northwoods Mountain Chalet
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Northwoods
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,900 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful get-a-way

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

What a great house with a superb view!

For years, we have been wanting to escape the FL heat to go to the Adirondacks. This vacation was everything we had hoped for and more. The house was spacious and comfortable and the owners had thought of every detail to make the stay more enjoyable. They even called to make sure we didn’t need anything! Our party ranged from ages 4 to 86 and everyone enjoyed it. The deck and the view was our favorite part. Every meal at the house was eaten out there. The mountain view was perfect with the flowers framing it like a post card. In fact, it will be the backdrop for our Christmas card this year. The fire pit and beautiful landscaped yard was much enjoyed. We spent two evening making smores and telling ghost stories while actually wearing a sweater in late July!

There is also so much to do there. We enjoyed our morning runs around the two closest lakes. The use of the boats were a very nice added benefit. We hiked the nearby trails, and the children loved the frogs, inch bugs, and wild raspberries! We enjoyed the rodeo, tubing on the Hudson, horseback riding, and the village of Lake George (miniature golf, riverboat ride, Ft Henry, music in the park, etc). We also went to Bolton’s Landing and absolutely loved the Adirondack X-treme Adventure Course.

We plan to make this an annual trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Impeccable Everything!

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We've been fortunate enough to rent many homes. This one exceeded our expectations - which were high. The home is immaculate. I did laundry in the basement and there was not one cob web! I want to clone their housekeeper! The home is gorgeous, spacious, and layed out perfectly for both gatherings and privacy - not an easy feat. The chef of our house found the kitchen easy to work in and every available utensil or appliance was there. There is a huge screen TV with many movies. There's a closet full of games and books along with many brochures and a guest log with suggestions of things to do in the area.

The deck is what I'd coin a "deckasaurus". It was great to be out there throughout the day; but the sunsets are spiritual. There are beautiful, easy-to-walk-through woods. The overall area is very very quiet and sits atop the mountain. There's a large fire pit and lots of seasoned wood that could've been cherry, it smelled so good. The landscaping is very pretty. Beautiful flowers lined the deck... I miss being there!

The area is incredibly beutiful! And there's so much history there. The shopping is great. We shopped in Bolton Landing and Saratoga. We ate at the Sagamore and The Prime at Saratoga. These restaurants were outstanding! We found the people in the towns to be very nice and helpful. We also went to the rodeo which is just down the hillside from the home. It was wild to watch these cowboys do what they do! Definintely a family- fun event. You really have to see the Adirondacks from Lake George while on a boat. Our friends rented a pontoon! Swimming and fishing were great, as the water was so clear it reminded me of the Caribbean. There were lots of little islands to explore. We also visited Fort William Henry, tubed on the Hudson, canoed on Forest Lake. I'm returning in a few weeks for the Painted Pony Actors Retreat play in Glen Falls. I can't wait to revisit the area!! I wish I were returning to this vacation home. But will visit the owners, as they were very kind.

They even called to make sure we'd arrived there and to our home safely and asked if we needed anything. Our deposit was returned very promptly. It was a joy to be in a home that had a history and a future of creating many happy memories for visitors and owners alike. We highly recommend it. You can't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

The only complaint about our vacation is that it had to end and we didn't want it to. You get the best of both worlds with this chalet. Its close enough to everything for adventure, we went tubing twice because it was just amazing, went canoeing & row boating at the private community lake (which is very private and not crowded it was great and in close proximity), went in to Lake George Village at night, mini golfing etc. Yet, if you are in the mood to sit on a gigantic deck in some Adirondack chairs with some drinks, friends, and good conversation well then you get that too. It was so serene up there. Very private.

When we signed our contract we knew about the sheets and towels so that was not an issue for us, in fact the contract is very detailed. When we got to the house we took an inventory of what we would need aside from food and made a run to the supermarket. The kitchen is STOCKED with anything you need to cook and bake. The house was very clean. There were 8 of us and everything was very comfortable for us. The only rainy day we had was fine because there was a closet full of games to play.

I do not believe the pictures were excessive, and anything that had personal belongings in it was "roped off" and we were still given ample amount of closet space. I personally stayed in the master bedroom and had no problem with the lights or fan. In fact it was the best room in the house with the sky lights!

The day we arrived I received a phone call from the owner to be sure everything was ok and then I was able to speak to him the day we left-- there were no other issues that needed contact with the owner, however there are various numbers you can reach them at and they are all posted on the refrigerator.

All in all this was a great vacation and we look forward to going back again!!! Next year there will be 6 of us getting married and this will be a great way to escape all of that and create more memories. Thank you so much for letting us use your beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Northwoods Paradise

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Our two families consisting of four adults and four children had a vacation that exceeded any expectations we may have had. The owners were so organized and had everything in place upon our arrival!!
The chalet is beautifully decorated and had a real cozy and warm feel throughout each and every room.
The house is furnished beautifully, tastefully and comfortably with a magnificent stone fireplace at the heart of it all. The views from the rear deck were breath taking! The sunsets were often a highlight of the day for all of us to enjoy together.
The kitchen is large enough and designed so that several persons can work side by side preparing meals and yes, the dining room does seat ten for meals with room to spare.
The house was spotless and every bedroom had more than adequate closet space which we appreciated immensely.
The antler chandelier was the perfect touch to this Adirondack treasure!
Thank you also for providing so many board games for us to enjoy. We so loved the horseshoe pit and the fire pit. Lots of roasted marshmellows were savored while we sat outside each evening.
Many restaurants are available close by ranging from fine dining to establishments that cater to children. Lots of children's activities but we especially enjoyed "Pirate's Cove" mini golf.

The shopping that is available was a pleasant surprise and don't miss a shopping spree at Sutton's Dept. store, there's someting for everyone!!!
There are many cruises offered on Lake George but our favorite was The Minne-Ha-Ha, an authentic Paddlewheeler.
We would recommend this hidden treasure to any and all who want privacy, comfort, seclusion yet the nearby attractions are too vast to list!
We hope to return in 2011!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location for Lake George area

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Great location (6 mi from Lake George, all the fun without the crowds).

Was very surprised to arrive and find no towels, no sheets (and half a role of toilet paper). Not informed of this on the web nor in subsequent emails. Would have brought these things if had been told they were not included.
Also it felt a little odd having about 20 or 30 family photo's throughout the rental.
Although there was ample dresser drawers, many still had the owners personal effects, socks etc

I thought the lake would be closer (it is about a 5-10 minute walk from the house).

Could never figure out how to turn on the master bedroom light.

Although it was not advertised as having wireless internet we brought our laptops. On the fridge were instructions on how to connect to the wireless. Unfortunately they have a wep security key on it. Took a while to connect with owners and then they did not know they had the security key (nor how to disable). We were able to hardwire one laptop (at their suggestion).

They forgot to send us directions and the key, but not a big deal (were able to connect and get directions).

We had hoped to canoe on the lake during the week. Were able to go out one day, then a neighbor chained their boat to our boat (with a lock). Took a while to get call back from owners. Never was able to go out on the boat again (due to this)

Having said all that, the positives:
Fantastic home (beautiful details, nice furnishings, comfortable feel, excellent secluded surroundings), have your own woods to hike in, have view of woods.
Excellent private lake (for the home assoc) for swimming/fishing.
Close to everything (town, horses, restaurants, parks,etc).
Owners were very quick to return the security deposit.
There is cable tv, fully equipped kitchen, great firepit/wood/lawn chairs.
They share their lifejackets, boats, beach chairs.
Would definitely come here again, (but not exclusively here)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: As owners, we appreciate all the positive comments in this review. We do have many family photos in our house because this is our year round home. We will remove most of them, as well as our personal items for future renters. As for us not supplying the linens, it is stated (and highlighted) in the contract that we send to all our renters that the tenant will supply all bath towels and bed linens for his designated week (sizes are included). The renter then sends it back to us signed. As far as I know, most all rentals do not supply the paper goods (ie. paper towels, napkins, toilet paper, soap etc.) We will have a list of all the necessary items the renter should bring attached to the contract in the future. We do have wireless internet accessible to all our renters and will include this in our listing.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review