reviews for: listing #112820vb - Brasilito, Costa Rica rental

Luxury Villa Just Steps to Beautiful Flamingo Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Beautiful home away from home

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We spent a week at the Casa Mimosa (Buena Vista) in March 2014. Our family - 2 adults, 2 teenagers, found Casa Mimosa to be perfect for our needs. Everything was better than advertised. We enjoyed meeting the owners (Dawn and Sid). We explored the Guanacaste region and it was great to come back to the Casa Mimosa after a long day of driving, sightseeing and exploring. The Playa Flamingo area is beautiful and the beach is great - just a three minute walk from the home. The beach is probably about a mile long and there were less than 20 people on it at all times - it felt like a private beach. The pool area at Casa Mimosa is nice and is well maintained (pool is cleaned daily). It was great having daily maid service - something we aren't used to as frequent VRBO users. Lastly, we saw plenty of wildlife throughout our trip - the monkeys were in the trees not far from the house and the birds were plentiful.

We would love to return to Costa Rica and Casa Mimosa is where we would want to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous family vacation in Costa Rica

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

The Buena Vista Villa at Casa Mimosa was an excellent choice for our family of 5, ages 13 to 70, for our winter vacation. We spent two weeks enjoying sunny +30C temperatures at Flamingo Beach during one of Manitoba's coldest winter in over 60 years. The villa is just as Sid has described, 3 bedrooms each with an ensuite and individual air conditioning. Dawn has done a great job of furnishing and decorating and Maritza does a great job keeping the place clean. The kitchen is well appointed and use of the barbecue provided great cooking options. Having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the forest was a wonderful way to start each day. One of the dogs would often join us on the terrace and they were always well behaved. We made use of the complementary beach chairs and boogie boards for our many beach days. The pool in the backyard is clean, refreshing and private. Sid hooked me up with Claudia Hladik at www.infoflamingo.com and she was an excellent resource for airport shuttle, car rental and excursions. The hill down to the beach was a little too steep for Grandma but my wife and I walked it almost every day. It really is quite close to the beach. Flamingo Beach is a beautiful white sand beach, one of the best we have seen, and we have seen many. The Coco Loco restaurant is right on the beach and was great option that is very close to the villa. The Super Massai is a good nearby option for groceries for a day or two but for larger shopping needs the Auto Mercado at Tamarindo is a better choice. Our Hyundai Tucson from Adobe car rental was a good choice. Thanks again to Sid for returning the car keys at the end of our trip. We are not usually the type to return to a place because the world is big and we have not yet seen all of it but this is one place that may get a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Mimosa - don't miss out!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This was the first trip to Costa Rica for my wife and a few friends of mine. Casa Mimosa made this trip unforgettable! Reasonable price, great host, close to the beach. This was an extremely comfortable stay for 6. We each had our own room and were able to cook nearly every meal. Sid was an excellent host, even drove us to the grocery store one day! The maid service was tremendous. An excellent place to stay for families / friends / etc. Shout out to our new Costa Rica friends Sid, Tina, and Scruffy. We hope to see you again!
- Paul & Crew

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A week in heaven...

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

I just spent an entire week at the Casa Mimosa on the 2nd floor and it was amazing! We spent more time in the pool and on our patio than we did at the beach. I've traveled all over Costa Rica (I live here) and this is my favorite swimming beach and I love that you see very few people along the beautiful stretch of white sand. Every evening around 4pm a flock of large birds (Ibis, Cranes, Herons, ...) would make their way across the tree tops...it was like they were flying to get their view of the sunset! When we were in the pool we'd watch the butterflies, dragonflies and even some iguanas casually go by. We cooked dinner at the house most nights and the kitchen has everything you need. We also took a snorkeling & sunset tour with Lazy Lizard that was fantastic and it was only a 5 minute drive as they picked us up on the beach just around the corner. We also saw & heard the howler monkeys, saw several birds when we'd go out walking (mot-mot, trogon, jays, etc). This was a fantastic place to unwind, relax and have quality time with my friends. It's perfect for friends, family or just a romantic getaway. One thing I think is very important to mention is that I felt 100% safe at this house because of the gated entrance, staff always on site and the fact that it is not beach front. Most beach front places I've stayed at I've been told not to leave your laptop on your patio table even for 1 minute so they kind of "scared me" to rent beach front rentals anymore. Not here...I am going back as soon as I can. :-) Thank you to the entire staff & owners: Dawn, Maritza and Anan. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Beautiful!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

Casa Mimosa was incredible! We were lucky enough to stay for 3 nights, & we wished we could have stated longer. We were on the second floor. It's very spacious, spotlessly clean, & well worth the price as it's a short walk to the beach. We also enjoyed daily dips in the pool, where we were dazzled by the many species of birds, plants, & even very small fruit bats in the early evening. Don't worry, the bats are only interested in flying insects, not humans! I'm very picky about cleanliness, & Casa Mimosa delivers! With on-sight staff for daily house keeping, & maintenance. I recommend Casa Mimosa to families, groups, or couples who want a romantic retreat. It's a grand home right on the cost of Playa Flamingo. The pictures don't do it justice. Thanks to our Host Alba who provided great recommendations, & sparkling conversation. We will definitely book Casa Mimosa in the future! Jessy & Robert

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

We arrived at the villa at midnight and Sid gave us a warm greeting and helped us with our bags. We stayed on the 2nd level. Gorgeous and huge! The photos do not do it justice. Before the trip I was concerned with the place being clean because we were taking our almost 2 year old daughter. It was exactly what I was hoping for. The rooms are very large and each room has its own private bathroom and air conditioning. The living area had a beautiful view of the mountains and the sun coming through the glass doors in the morning. Our place along with the pool was cleaned everyday.

The villa is an easy, shaded, 2 minute walk to Flamingo Beach. The beach was beautiful white sand that was flat ground and a great beach for jogging or walking. The shore line is a little under a mile long. I loved it for my young daughter because she could play in the sand and have very shallow water to play in. The beach is much more low key than others around the area. Across the road is Coco Loco which is a great place to watch the sunset on the beach. There are also beach towels, chairs, and boogie boards available for you to use at the villa.

The town is another walk from the villa. We walked one morning to get breakfast at Marie's. 15-20 minute walk. Another place to eat with an amazing view is Sol y Mar. White table cloth but not stuffy. You have a great view of the beach and water on the 2nd level. Go at sunset.

All in all, we had a wonderful experience in Costa Rica. I would highly recommend renting this villa and having a great holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous Villa in Stunning location

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

We have just returned from Casa Mimosa and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay.
Sid and Dawn are wonderful hosts, the pool and gardens are spectacular, the villa is equally gorgeous.
Villa Mimosa is located in the perfect spot, a very short walk to Playa Flamingo beach which is uncrowded and has beautiful white sand, lovely restaurants and a great laid back vibe.
I highly recommend staying at this spectacular property, you will not be disappointed!
Thank you so much Sid and Dawn for a wonderful stay and to Maritza for cooking an amazing meal for us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful way to experience Flamingo Beach!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

We just spent 2 weeks at Casa Mimosa in the second floor villa. It was a great trip. The beds are comfortable,and there is plenty of room. The property is beautiful, and Sid and Dawn are a great help with ideas for local restaurants, etc. The housekeeper, Maritsa, is awesome too. She is a great cook also, and cooked some meals for us so we could eat in. It is all very reasonably priced. Our one comment is that we found the sofas to be uncomfortable, perhaps this was just us though. We also missed being able to have a view of the ocean from our villa, but we knew that when we made arrangements to rent it. They provided beach chairs and towels, which was so helpful for our trips to the beach. I would recommend Casa Mimosa to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Family Stay In The Buena Vista Villa at Casa Mimosa (Playa Flamingo)

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

After a long search for just the right villa for our family vacation (6 people ranging in age from 33 to 63), we were very, very pleased with our choice of the Buena Vista villa at Casa Mimosa. As you can see in the photos, Casa Minosa is a 3 story building consisting of 3 villas, two of which are avaiable to rent. We choose the middle one. Each couple had a bedroom with an insuite bathroom and shower. Each room has an A/C unit which was definately necessary due to the fabulous weather we experienced during our 10 day stay. Having a maid for support was a first for us and something that was a nice treat. We also enjoyed the onsite dogs as most of our group was missing thier own dogs. The villa is off of the beach on a cul-de-sac with a couple other homes so it is very quiet and peacefull. Not the place to stay if you are looking for a party town. The town of Flamingo is a 10 to 15 minute walk along the beach and has several restauants, etc.

The beautiful Playa Flamingo white sand beach can be reached by taking a short 5 minute walk downhill. There are beach chairs and boogie boards available to take with you. We pretty much started each day with some water activities on the beach. A car rental is necessary to visit some of the other beaches and towns in the area.

We have completed several of these family vacations (Turks & Caicos and Puerto Rico) but Costa Rica, and this location at Playa Flamingo, is totally the best villa and the best location that we have experienced to date.

Thanks very much Sid and Dawn for your hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Stay for 8 days!!!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

ok...... so the photos just dont do justice to the home, views, proximity to the beach, the pool, the privacy or any of the other wonderful things this property offers. Its far better than it appears!! The road to get there is rough, especially the driveway but most of C.R> is underdeveloped anyway so get over it!
The home has it all and Maritza, the tic a that takes care of everything --every minute is awesome. she will cook, clean, wash etc just provide here with some gratuity and show your appreciation. she is awesome!!!!
The pool, the monkeys, the service, the privacy and the views are all great. We had the 3 bedroom 3 bath floor and we had the times of our lives....... Enjoy. Cant wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay at Casa Mimosa

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

I went with my inlaws to Flamingo Beach and stayed at Casa Mimosa, great place, very friendly people, (very) close to the beach and a more then reasonable price. I can recommend everybody to visit Playa Flamingo and stay at Casa Mimosa.
Greetings from Holland!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Vacation with Teens

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family of 5 (2 adults and three teenage sons) together with my cousin's family of 4(2 adults and two teenage daughters) rented both floors of the home. This was a great arrangement. My only real complaint was the a/c, located on the main floor was not working well. A New Yorker, NOT used to the very very hot weather, did not like that. The a/c in the bedrooms worked well. I also recommend renting a car, that is really the best way to find the nooks & crannies that this beach area has to offer. I highly recommend starting your vacation off with a tour- Panache Sailing was terrific. It's an afternoon of sailing, snorkeling, eating, relaxing, and watching a beautiful sunset. Staff was EXCELLENT. I also recommend renting kayaks at Playa Potrero- right next to Las Brisas (where you can get an amazing lunch and the BEST margarita). Another great day way renting ATV's and going up to the Congo Trail- a lot of fun. Beaches not to be missed include- Playa Concheta (at low tide) and Playa Penka (not sure of spelling??). If you can, bring a beach chair- I really MISSED mine. Some restaurants to patronize- Coconuts for dinner and their cerviche is amazing!!! Lastly, Maritzzia (sp?) Casa Mimosa's housekeeper's meals are the BEST! Start your week off with her Arroz con Pollo and you won't be disppointed. Oh, and I also loved Playa Brassilita's people- Angelo's a great tour guide!!! Have fun, relax and enjoy a fantastic home with a great view and pool!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Feb 2011

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

It really is just a very short walk to the beach and the villa was amazing. We rented the entire villa for our daughter's wedding and it was fabulous. Well kept home and bathrooms for each bedroom make it such a great space for adults and kids too of course. The pool was clean and refreshing. Housekeeper was great. You almost need to have a car to get groceries but if you have one then the whole experience is fabulous.The dirt road getting to the house is rough but not by Costa Rican standards. I would highly recommend this place to all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nature Lovers Dream

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We stayed in the second unit overlooking the estuary...what a view! Couldn't help but get up every morning to watch the sun rise over the mountains, and listen to the sound of the forest come alive. The howler monkeys would make frequent visits on the property and there were many species of birds to watch. This property is perfectly located, just a few steps to the beach and a 15 min beach road walk into the town. The property staff look after you very well, Mariska makes great dinners at a very reasonable price. Dawn and Sid couldn't have been more helpful in making our family vacation perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven on Earth !!!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

Twelve of us rented both villas for 10 days in February. We were treated like royalty, and spoiled as such as well !! The villas are fantastic, roomy, modern and very clean. The on-site staff are fabulous, we fell in love with all of them, including the 4-legged ones !! What a treat to have the pool and ocean; beautiful scenery with lovely landscaping and wildlife all in one place. Though there were 12 of us, we never felt crowded, the villas, verandas and living spaces are perfect for as much privacy or togetherness as one would like. You will want to spend alot of time with Bilo, he's a perfect tour guide and bends over backward to help you find everything you want to try out. Marisia, Anan and Janett were wonderful attendants. Sid and Dawn are warm and welcoming and offered a welcome amount of additional information to our visit. They were so helpful with helping us plan for weeks prior to our arrival and assured a perfect arrival and departure. I can't say enough about how super the accommodations are.....modern, clean, safe and secure.....beautiful and inviting. Walking to the beach is easy, getting back up the hill keeps you in shape. Walk to town for great food. Let Bilo show you local eateries and beaches. Gracias! Gracias! Gracias!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful trip

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

We stayed at Casa Mimosa from 2/7/11 to 2/17/11. I am like other reviewers and I really hate to let out the info on this villa. It was an AWESOME place to stay. Clean and well-maintained. Sid and Dawn were wonderful and very, very helpful. Bilo was fantastic as well as Marisia (probably killed the spelling). Having our laundry done by Marisia was a great feature. The trip to the beach is downhill and coming up isn't that bad at all. We ate at Marie's for breakfast a couple of times. Omelets are great! We did cook in the villa some and had everything that we needed. We had a great time going to the beach and boogie boarding. Loved the pool. Bilo drove us on a beach tour, to the grocery store whenever we needed to go, to ziplining and hot baths tour, and he was pretty much there whenever we needed to go somewhere. It was FANTASTIC!!!! We had a wonderful time. And I have to mention the dogs especially Scruffy and Lucas. It was wonderful to have them around. It helped the loneliness of missing our own dogs at home. We had monkey's come by the house twice. The flowers and landscaping are beautiful! Friendly iguana that sat in the garage window every morning. Thank you so much to our new Costa Rica friends. We'll be back!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Oh so perfect!

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Of course writing a review depends on what your experiences were and what you were looking for. So for me, Casa Mimosa has it all. If your idea of a great vacation is getting up in the early morning to absolute peace and tranquility and beautiful weather, making breakfast in a very clean and comfortable condo, taking a quick morning swim in a crystal clear and refreshing pool, getting the kids together with all your beach supplies, taking a 90 second walk to the beach, building sand castles and watching your children play in the surf, riding perfect waves on a safe and calm beach, returning to your condo for lunch and a short nap and then back to the beach for the afternoon and a picture perfect sunset every day, then Casa Mimosa is oh so perfect! That is what we did for seven straight days all the while enjoying the friendly hospitality of Dawn and Sid and their efficient and warm staff who kept our condo and the property in absolute perfect shape. Casa Mimosa in Playa Flamingo is the most beautiful gem planted right in the middle of a pile of jewels. My family and I are fortunate that we live in Costa Rica and so we get to see many beautiful places that the country has to offer. However, there are not many places like Casa Mimosa. I would not miss it. We do not plan on missing it as we are already making our plans to go back next January. Thank you Dawn and Sid! We enjoyed our stay this year so much and look forward to many more enjoyable stays in the future. See you in 2012.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best kept secret.

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Ok, I really hate to give this review! I mean some secrets you really want to keep for yourself, but that wouldn't be fair to other travelers or to Dawn and Sid. I want to tell you it was horrible, don't go, but the truth is, this place was simply lovely! Not only was it a nice clean place to stay, but the view was amazing and you really feel spoiled by the sweet service. The price is a steal for what you get. Its a very short walk down to the beach and yet you feel like you deserve the extra cerveza because you burned a few extra calories on the short hike back up. ;-) I miss our little Costa Rican home and are ready to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best place to stay in Flamingo Bay, CR

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

January 8th - 19th, 2011. Thank you Dawn and Sid. You have a wonderful place with beautiful surroundings and you are great hostess and host. We highly recommend your place to stay. We could not have had a more perfect vacation. Thanks so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to be!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

We stayed with Dawn and Sid for a fantastic 10 days in Jan 2011. I told them I was going to keep this great spot a secret so it wouldn't become so popular that we have a hard time leasing another stay, but I just can't keep a secret! This turned out to be the best vacation experience ever! The house is everything it looks like in the pics and more. NO disappointments!! It is new, clean, handy to the beach, and has great house help. We could have gotten by with one change of outfits. The lovely houskeeper, Marissa, (spell? ) kept our laundry done daily without being asked, was a great cook, and just pleasent to have around. What a gal!!

Dawn and Sid are on site and wonderful hosts. Everything was right because they see to it! We had many great visits during our stay.

We had a view across the estuary that was the best offered in the area. We watched birds, monkeys, and all types of native wildlife traveling in the tops of the trees from our balcony. We likely observed more wildlife daily then most visiters to Costa Rica have opportunity to see!

Ask for Bilo to pick you up at the airport and get to know him! We did all of our tours through him and had him drive us around. He was our personal driver and tour guide. He went on all the tours with us and explaind much. It may have been a little cheaper to have rented a car, altho I really don't think so. What we had was the best tour prices, and saw the real country through the eyes of a native. If we had rented a car we would have been lost a lot and stressed out! Bilo became a very good friend and made for a carefree trip.

If you want a carefree beach vacation, or are intrested in the native wildlife, you will not do better then a stay at Casa Mimosa. What a wonderful memorable place! We WILL be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very Nice!

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

Great place! Really a wonderful location- literally steps to the beach but located right next to the estuary which attracted many birds and other wildlife. Monkeys were treating us to visits almost daily! Pretty cool! I would definitely go back. The home was very spacious and kept neat and clean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly!

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Thanks to Sid and Dawn for letting us enjoy this beautiful villa. We will certainly come again. The view, the beach, the gorgeous villa. Everything was perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

We stayed in the "garden villa" and were surprised how spacious it was.
Everything is brand new and it is decorated beautifully. Having a pool was a definite plus, but being so close to the beach was just what we wanted. For the amount of space and amenities, this is a bargain!
Here are a couple of videos showing both the garden villa and 2nd story villa.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koRh4V8oBBA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOBID_vdCf4

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review