reviews for: listing #11335 - Mount Shasta, California House rental

The Chalet at Mount Shasta
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pony Trail area
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $180 /nt
    $910 - $1,125 /wk

sort by:

Very relaxing!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

My family of four plus extended family of two stayed at the Chalet for 4 days after Christmas. The Chalet was very relaxing with plenty of space for all 6 of us plus 2 dogs. The wood stove made for a cozy setting despite the fact the snow never fell. We brought our quads and had fun exploring the surround the back hills and took a beautiful hike up to Castle Lake.
The Chalet was well equipped for all our cooking needs. Our dogs were so pampered especially with the dog treats! and great fenced yard! Also the interior was spotless!! Bravo to your cleaning lady...she does a great job! We will definitely be back again!
Thanks Again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, The Chalet is very pet-friendly. We travel everywhere with our 2 dogs so we know how important this is. (Well, we did leave our dogs home when we drove to Yellowstone and to Death Valley, not pet-friendly places.) But of course, our human guests are pampered too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is perfect!

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

We had a fabulous time! The house is perfect. What is especially nice are the many thoughtful touches. Extra towels, paper and pens by the phone, instructions for everything, super stocked kitchen with tin foil, Saran Wrap, laundry soap etc. your housekeeper is extraordinary! The house is spotless and there were cookies on the table upon our arrival! Utterly charming. The fireplace was our favorite thing. Thank you so much for offering such a charming house. We had a great time and David did catch fish. Nov. 2013

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful getaway!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at The Chalet.

This was our first time up at Mount Shasta, and we researched several places to stay before we found The Chalet's listing. It seemed perfect - spacious, close enough to the town and hiking that it would be easy to get around, but secluded enough for some real privacy. It's also pet friendly, a hugely important thing for obsessive dog owners such as ourselves.

The Chalet has many great things going for it. As mentioned earlier, it's spacious and private. It is very easy to get to from I-5, and close to downtown (we recommend Berryvale Natural Foods Grocery for lots of organic selections), and hikes nearby. It has a washer and dryer, wi-fi (with a hilarious note from the owners about not using the internet too much!), a full kitchen, and the thing that we loved the most, a wood-burning stove. The house has central heating, but you won't need it. The stove works magically well, enough that we wish we had one of our own. (Note: we stayed in November). The sofa in the living room is a recliner, so we spent most evenings relaxing in front of the stove with some hot tea or hot chocolate. So cozy! Also, the tap is fresh and tasty, so bring your empty bottles to fill up.

If you own a pet, the house is great for them - a nice, fenced in backyard to run around in, and a lovely neighborhood to go for a walk. There was even a jar full of doggie treats. The guest books all had rave reviews, and it's not hard to see why. We took our dog to McCloud River Falls and Crystal Lake/Heart Lake for dog friendly hikes (must be on leash).

Jack was very responsive to emails, and he has a lot of useful information (including directions for go-to spots) for your arrival and stay. There is even a binder full of pamphlets and info on trails around the area which was very helpful. We would highly recommend this place, and would love to come back in the spring or summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It makes us feel so good to receive comments like this and to know how much our guests (including those with 4 legs!) enjoy The Chalet. We try very hard to make The Chalet an integral part of our guests' Mt. Shasta experience and are heartened by our guest comments and many returning guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect !

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

I've been coming to Mt. Shasta-Lake Siskiyou for many years now. After giving up my camper, I had begun to despair of ever finding a rental that would accept my dog & that was also a lovely place to stay -- until I found you & the Chalet this summer. Now I know I never will stay anywhere else & look forward to returning next summer. You have thought of everything to make those who rent the Chalet feel like honored guests in your home. Thanks for having me & my dog.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: The writer of this review booked 2 weeks the following summer the day after she returned from her first stay at The Chalet. It makes us feel so good when we hear how comfortable our guests are at The Chalet, and we are appreciative of the many ‘regular’ guests who return to The Chalet year after year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wow and Wonderful Chalet

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

The stay at the Chalet was fabulous! You and your crew do an amazing job of keeping everything in order and having all of the necessities like kitchen utensils, sheets, blankets, towels. The little niceties also give a special touch, like having the notebook of things to do in the area, games, books, and flowers. Having little notes around as reminders of what to do or where to find things really helped. We met Pam just before leaving, and she is truly a gem! She is sweet, cordial, and does a magnificent job of cleaning the house. She is definitely a keeper. We will surely stay there again when visiting the area. Mt. Shasta is a great mountain with wonderful atmosphere, and your Chalet makes the stay even more enjoyable and comfortable, the cream on the top. Thanks much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AWESOME!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Jack and Terri - We had the MOST AWESOME time! Thank you so much for your hospitality - the Chalet is so warm and comfortable! The weather was perfect and we wore the dogs out hiking - tough to do with my 3 year old hound! You guys did an excellent job of putting together all the information on the area. We spent some time the first night just reading and planning and it really helped us organize. Again, thanks so much for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rent this chalet!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Perfect get-away home. My husband and I (and our dog) had a wonderful time at the chalet. The owners have thought of everything. The home is welcoming, comfortable, clean, and in a great location. The views of Mt. Shasta were breath taking, either from the deck or the house. Easy access to all the outdoor venues the area has to offer. I would go back in a heart beat. Great for a family with kids as well. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As the guest noted, we think of everything... or at least try to! The guest mentioned to me how she especially appreciated our clear instructions for TV / DVD operation. She had stayed at other vacation rentals where it took 'a half hour' to figure it out! We make every effort to anticipate the needs of our guests. Since we stay at The Chalet ourselves 4-5 times per year, we have our own personal experience to help us make The Chalet comfortable and welcoming for our guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay for Pet Owners and Family Get Togethers

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We just enjoyed a love 3 nights at the Chalet and it was one of the most comfortable homes we have ever stayed at. It was a great mid-point for meeting up with family from the Bay Area and Oregon and to be able to bring our pets with us made it all that more special. The dogs loved the fenced yard and the walks around the beautiful tree lined neighborhood. Spectacular views of Mt Shasta from the dining room table and lots of games to play and books to read. We hope to be able to come back again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many guests stay at The Chalet as a 'half-way' point between the Bay Area and Oregon/Washington. We have some families that meet at The Chalet every year or two. And The Chalet is THE most pet friendly vacation rental you will find. This guest stayed with 3 (rescue) dogs and a cat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Little Getaway!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 5-year wedding anniversary, and couldn't have been more pleased. The owner is very responsive and the reservation process was easy. The house had all kinds of nice little touches, including a well-stocked kitchen, a comprehensive notebook of things to do in the area, and a stock of board games. The house was perfectly clean, too. We really felt like it was our own little home, even though we were guests. I also loved that it was so pet-friendly, and that the pet fees were reasonable compared to most other properties - that was one of our deciding factors! We can't wait to come back in the winter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are dog lovers who travel almost everywhere with our dogs so we know the importance of providing lodging for ALL family members. We have MANY repeat/freqeuent canine guests (accompanied by their owners!).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place to Vacation!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

The Chalet is an amazing place to stay in Mt. Shasta. It was the most comfortable and inviting place we have stayed at in all the years we have gone on vacation. It is clean and has all the comforts and essentials to make you feel at home. The owners are very responsive to any questions and give great suggestions on places to go in Mt. Shasta. The Chalet is a true treasure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have many repeat guests, some who change their vacation dates to fit into the Chalet schedule. More than just a 'nice place to stay', we do whatever we can to make your entire stay in Mt. Shasta a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

We loved our stay and the Chalet

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

We have spent one winter vacation and one summer vacation at the Chalet in Mt Shasta and we enjoyed both seasons. The Chalet has everything you need to relax and feel at home. The only thing missing this year was our pet...the Chalet has a perfect yard for the dog.
The Crespan Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have had many canine guests through the years, including a Great Dane, and some of their owners commented on how nice it would be to have the backyard fenced. So we added a fence last year. Our own dogs love it too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Stay

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

My husband and I and our three dogs loved it here. It was just as described - peaceful, quiet, the home is beautifully maintained, and the fenced yard secure for our dogs. It is close to town for convenience, yet far enough out that you feel "in the woods". The owner is very attentive to ensuring your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Our only complaint was that our stay ended and we had to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the many things our guests love about The Chalet is its location, in the midst of pine trees with a view of the mountain, yet only a few minutes to town. Close to Black Butte and ½ block from Shasta Abbey. Take the back roads to Lake Siskiyou. Easy to get to Bunny Flat without going back into town. We also provide treats for 4-legged family members.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great winter vacation with family!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this warm and comfy, fully-equipped house. There were toys for children, accomodations for the dog, two comfortable queen beds, many books and cd's. The living room was comfortable for 4 of us plus one child and one dog. Neighbors cleared the snow from the driveway every day and we got out for sledding, snow-shoeing and downhill skiing. We found everything we needed in the modern kitchen. TV reception was good, the Wi-Fi worked well. I can't think of anything else we might have wanted. This place was perfect! Oh, yes. It took some looking to find a map of the area (finally found one in the phone book) to locate the back road into town so we didn't have to use the freeway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Holiday and Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We three loved our time at the Chalet. It made for a perfect holiday and birthday celebration. How sweet that you helped celebrate Jessica's birthday with the banner! Because your kitchen provided all the pots, pans, bowls, and appliances we needed, we ate out only once. And that was our first meal, dinner the night we arrived. We loved being out of town and so close to town. Also, we were delighted to discover that Shasta Abbey was around the corner, allowing us to walk over for a tour of the monastery. We loved seeing the mountain out the Chalet windows, and the fire through the stove's glass door. All in all, perfection. Many thanks for sharing your bounty with us. Happy Holidays.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Honeymooners

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at The Chalet! It’s so comfortable –like home. Thank you for sharing a piece of your world with us. We are already planning our 1 year anniversary in Shasta! We will be back with the pups – so much left to explore and great memories of The Chalet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Place!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

What a nice place you have there! We rekindled our appreciation for the Shasta area. You'll definitely see us again. Hopefully next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

Clear communication throughout, all via e-mail, to which Jack is quite attentive. Chalet is lovingly cared for by owners and their property manager, who was a gem; called one time to check in and left us alone. Chalet is lovingly stocked with (more than) basic essentials. I hesitate to give a “perfect” review as I want it all to myself! But it’s pretty close. Communicate with the owner (Jack) and you’ll have no problems and a Mt. Shasta getaway to write home about!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Little Get Away

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Perfect vacation house for small family, group, or 2 couples. Owners are extremely conscientious & provide extensive information on local activities. Local property manager is available & responsive even for small issues. Home is well maintained & very pet friendly. We had a lovely vacation & completely enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Relaxing!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We love staying at the Chalet, it is so relaxing! And we enjoyed the new flat screen TV!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed Our Stay at The Chalet

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

I just wanted you to know how appreciative we are for all the effort you put into the chalet. The attention to detail has added to the ease and enjoyment of our stay here. You have done a great job of anticipating your guests’ needs. Thank you. Aug. 2011

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time! It was the perfect week with a lot of snow and sunshine. My husband and I are quite sun burnt. We couldn't put on enough sunblock.
As you heard from the kids, they loved the chalet. We had to end the monopoly game before anyone won...as you know, sometimes there aren't enough hours to complete the game.

Everything in the chalet worked great. I loved all the helpful hints on the walls.

I hope you enjoy your week at Shasta just as much as we did ours! Thank you for sharing your vacation home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Thanks for letting us stay at The Chalet which was perfect for relaxing and spending time with our family. Your vacation home is very comfy and we would love to stay again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We were just at this home this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The home's owners were great communicators from the time we made the reservation, up until the day we arrived and had a personalized note about our stay. Everything was well laid out in the home with great descriptions on how to use all amenities. Their description of the home and surrounding area is very accurate and helpful. The Chalet was very clean and comfortable! If we're in the area again and need a place to stay, we will check the availability of The Chalet first!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt Like Home

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

[From guests visting from Japan]
This place have been so great, felt like a home.
This place made a big difference staying in Shasta.

I am sure to come back Chalet next time we come to Shasta.
I also recommend my friends in Japan to stay here!
Again thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Vacation!

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

We had a beautiful stay at the chalet and needless to say, our vacation was fabulous. The chalet was utterly comfortable. Your wife and you have done an exceptional job of making it spacious yet warm and welcoming!! Anything we might have needed was right there...... and in perfect working order! We are as a family are totally bent on going back to the chalet next year. I have passed the word around as well.
Thank you so very much for everything. Dealing with you has been a pleasure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Wonderful Stay At The Chalet

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

After another wonderful stay at The Chalet, it truely feels like our home-away-from-home. We have stayed in this cozy cabin four times, and it has never disappointed us.
It is very clean and furnished with everything to make our stay enjoyable. The Chalet is well equiped, from the kitchen, living room, and laundry facilities to the assortment of games and books.
The location of The Chalet is also good, with its feeling of being secluded, but it's close to town and the snow and ski areas, and has good , quiet streets for walking.
We always seem to have the perfect mix of activities and quiet times, and we come away fom our vacation with renewed energy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous view, everything supplied, wondeful view, and helpful owners!

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

My elderly mother and I just spent the last week at The Chalet. The accomodations were perfect. There was only one step to get inside for my mother and she had the very nice bedroom on the ground floor with the bathroom across the hallway. Easy access! The views from almost everywhere in the Chalet (living room, kitchen/dining area, loft, deck) are stunning and alone are "worth the price of admission." Everything is supplied, clean, and in great condition. The owners and the property manager are available for any questions and there is a wealth of information about nearby activities and dining. Even though my mother does not walk very well any more, we found lots of nice drives and nearby activities that were low key, thanks to the information Jack provided. I recommend the lavender farm for its stunning views. Our dog also had a wonderful time hanging out with us and the information about dog-friendly beaches etc. was also very helpful. I was especially happy there was air conditioning and a fan as this week the temperatures were mostly in the 90s. The a/c worked well and if I kept the thermostat at 80 with the ceiling fan on when we were at the chalet it was quite comfortable (and I don't tolerate heat well).
In summary, if you want to go to Mt. Shasta, this is the place to stay. I have never stayed in a nicer vacation home. And if you love the mountains, or just want a peaceful getaway, check it out! You won't be sorry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's in the details

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

We recently asked our 4 year old to rank her favorite vacation this year and even with the drive from the Bay Area - she sighed, "Shasta, I loved Shasta". Much of what made this vacation a hit was staying at the Chalet. The view from the rocking chair outside the master bedroom of the mountain, the top quality linens, beds, towels and incredibly well stocked kitchen; the dog towels under the utility sink and suggestions of things to do - all very accessible as the home is incredibly peaceful and all of 3 minutes from the freeway. Oh, and my daughter reminded me of the box of Leggo and puzzles just outside the kitchen. We've been going to Shasta for years and visited two places we’d never been before. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to stay - we are sure to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Location, Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Chalet for 2 nights in early May as a birthday getaway for her, and wish we had booked in a much longer visit. The Chalet itself is comfortable, well-appointed and ideally located just north of the city of Mt. Shasta with a view of Shastina peak from the property. Traveling north to Weed or south to Dunsmuir is quick and easy. Don't miss a drive on the Everitt Memorial Hwy up the side of Mt. Shasta itself for fantastic views; if you like Thai food, Sengthong's in Dunsmuir is fabulous! And don't forget to schedule a massage by Melody, a fantastic experience (so my wife tells me). The Chalet is both a perfect base for exploring the beauty of the area and a destination unto itself -- you can simply relax by the wood stove, read a book and listen to the breezes in the pines. A terrific value and memorable experience -- and the owners are wonderful folks to deal with. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I'll definitely return!

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

Great location. The kitchen has everything you need. The living room is cozy with wood burning stove and loft. Most of all the owners went above and beyond in recommending activities for the area. I'll definitely return. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

chalet at mount shasta

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Great location. The kitchen has everything you need. The living room is cozy with wood burning stove and loft. Most of all the owners went above and beyond in recommending activities for the area. I'll definitely return. Thanks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guests from Holland

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

We flew all the way from Holland to be here to find a most charming and cozy
chalet in a beautiful surrounding. We really enjoyed our stay, feeling at home
and not looking forward to leave in a couple of days. The view of the mountain
is really spectacular especially at night with the cloudless skies and thousands of
stars. Thanks for the suggestions for the nice and wonderful hikes and lakes. It
was a blessing to be here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVED your house!

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

We just got back- and we LOVED your house and the easy location !! You guys
are great. Better then ANY concierge I had in all those years in hotels.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to come 'home' again

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

Thank you for our stay here at The Chalet, a wonderful place “to come home to’
after exploring this beautiful area. Our only complaint is that we had to leave.
We hiked all over the place, then we’d come back tired, but happy to the quiet
and comfort of your home, and lay around in the state of bliss. Thanks for all of
your advice as to what to do and where to eat. Thanks again. We hope to come
back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

Once again The Chalet has exceeded my expectations. I was able to attend the
do sled races. Thanks I really do love this place. Hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Annual Winter Visit

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2009

An annual treat! We have stayed at The Chalet every winter for about 5 years.
It has always been a wonderful experience! The house is always clean,
welcoming and had those "extra things" that are so wonderful when you are
traveling. The kitchen is well-stocked with cooking utensils and basics, there
is always plenty of fire wood and towels, and even games (indoor and
outdoor) for the kids. The washer/dryer is also so great after a day in the
snow. It is ideal for one or two families, with enough privacy and shared
living space that we never feel cramped. The Chalet is situated enough away
from major roads/downtown that we always feel like we are "on vacation" with
Mt Shasta and Black Butte right over us but . . . access to the ski slopes,
sledding hills and grocery/retail stores is simple. I have recommended The
Chalet to many friends and we will continue to use it as often as possible. We
also really appreciate how welcoming and accommodating Jack and Terri are
each time we visit. Thank you Jack and Terri for sharing such a beautiful
annual escape for my family and our dear friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best!

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2008

Your information is so complete, you are to be commended. We have stayed in
many other homes, and believe me, yours is the BEST.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for 2 families

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Everything was great! Really appreciated that the driveway was plowed.
Everything was very comfortable, cozy, and convenient. Great wood supply,
cozy flannel sheets, handy snow shovels. Very nice to have toboggans
available. The layout was very comfortable for 2 families. Wood stove kept the
Chalet toasty warm. The outdoor back area was very fun for snow play for
kids. It was very friendly and kind of 'the owners' to email and make such a
personal effort to share information about activities, links, etc. -- that made
a huge difference!!! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like the reading loft!

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2007

You do a great job at making the chalet comfortable and user friendly. the area upstairs with the chair for reading is wonderful. Everything is clearly marked. The layout of the chalet is great, we loved that we could cook and clean up the
kitchen area while still enjoying the living room and the fire. It was also nice to have laundry there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 4th guests

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2005

The Chalet was by far the best (cleanest and most comfortable) place we have
stayed in Mt. Shasta. We have come on the 4th of July for 10 or more years
and have stayed in various places. The Chalet is well designed and well
maintained. The location was exceptional, as we like to be close but not right
in town. We would like to come back for a winter vacation and will definitely
return for the 4th probably next year. Jack, your e-mails were all helpful and
prompt. Thank you for a great stay. Our little dog loved her home for a few
days too!
P.S. If you ever want to sell the Chalet, let us know!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stanford students - Jan. 2010

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

We had a wonderful time at The Chalet. It was beautifully furnished and perfect for our group. We left wishing that we could stay one more night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family of 4 - Feb. 2010

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

I brought ought my husband, 2 kids, and my dog to the Chalet - it was beautifully set up and we did not really need a thing other than a few groceries. The beds were very comfortable, it was great to be able to have clean laundry, the wood stove made the house very warm - overall very cozy and user friendly and close to everything! Best of all, the owners provided all types of information, pictures, stories about the area, etc. and were available very promptly to answer any questions. We had a wonderful time and would definitely go back - in fact, we are considering looking for a place like the Chalet for ourselves. Stay there, you won't be disappointed unless you like hotels - this place is like being at home

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

I brought my husband, 2 kids, and my
dog to the Chalet - it was beautifully
set up and we did not really need a
thing other than a few groceries. The
beds were very comfortable, it was
great to be able to have clean laundry,
the wood stove made the house very
warm - overall very cozy and user
friendly and close to everything! Best of
all, the owners provided all types of
information, pictures, stories about the
area, etc. and were available very
promptly to answer any questions. We
had a wonderful time and would
definitely go back - in fact, we are
considering looking for a place like the
Chalet for ourselves. Stay there, you
won't be disappointed unless you like
hotels - this place is like being at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

We had a wonderful time at The Chalet. It was beautifully furnished and perfect
for our group. We left wishing that we could stay one more night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2009   Date of arrival: November 30, 2009

Your place is a slice of heaven. We had a great time!
You did a fabulous job of preparing us and making our stay completely
comfortable. [Thanksgiving guests]

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

Great vacation. We have stayed at the Chalet many times. It is one of the places
that we really enjoy returning to. We can always count on the fact that Jack and
Terri care about their vacation home and it is well cared for. You have all that
you could possibly need to have a get away to recharge your spirit. Jack and
Terri provide plenty of information about the area so you can tailor your
activities to what you are interested in. The Chalet is comfortable and the
kitchen has everything you need to make the stay your own.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

We flew all the way from Holland to be here to find a most charming and cozy
chalet in a beautiful surrounding. We really enjoyed our stay, feeling at home
and not looking forward to leave in a couple of days. The view of the mountain
is really spectacular especially at night with the cloudless skies and thousands of
stars. Thanks for the suggestions for the nice and wonderful hikes and lakes. It
was a blessing to be here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

Thank you for our stay here at The Chalet, a wonderful place “to come home to’ after exploring this beautiful area. Our only complaint is that we had to leave. We hiked all over the place, then we’d come back tired, but happy to the quiet and comfort of your home, and lay around in the state of bliss. Thanks for all of your advice as to what to do and where to eat. Thanks again. We hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

Once again The Chalet has exceeded my expectations. I was able to attend the
do sled races. Thanks I really do love this place. Hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 23, 2009   Date of arrival: January 23, 2009

An annual treat! We have stayed at The Chalet every winter for about 5 years.
It has always been a wonderful experience! The house is always clean,
welcoming and had those "extra things" that are so wonderful when you are
traveling. The kitchen is well-stocked with cooking utensils and basics, there
is always plenty of fire wood and towels, and even games (indoor and
outdoor) for the kids. The washer/dryer is also so great after a day in the
snow. It is ideal for one or two families, with enough privacy and shared
living space that we never feel cramped. The Chalet is situated enough away
from major roads/downtown that we always feel like we are "on vacation" with
Mt Shasta and Black Butte right over us but . . . access to the ski slopes,
sledding hills and grocery/retail stores is simple. I have recommended The
Chalet to many friends and we will continue to use it as often as possible. We
also really appreciate how welcoming and accommodating Jack and Terri are
each time we visit. Thank you Jack and Terri for sharing such a beautiful
annual escape for my family and our dear friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 28, 2008   Date of arrival: September 28, 2008

We just got back- and we LOVED your house and the easy location !! You guys
are great. Better then ANY concierge I had in all those years in hotels.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

Your information is so complete, you are to be commended. We have stayed in
many other homes, and believe me, yours is the BEST.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 30, 2008   Date of arrival: January 30, 2008

We stayed at another vacation rental since The Chalet was booked. It was fine
and served the purpose. We must say that we still like the Chalet better. Your
place is better maintained. We were more inclined to get out and about from the
other house. At the Chalet we found that we had to force ourselves to get out
because we were so comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 16, 2007   Date of arrival: March 16, 2007

Everything was great! Really appreciated that the driveway was plowed.
Everything was very comfortable, cozy, and convenient. Great wood supply,
cozy flannel sheets, handy snow shovels. Very nice to have toboggans
available. The layout was very comfortable for 2 families. Wood stove kept the
Chalet toasty warm. The outdoor back area was very fun for snow play for
kids. It was very friendly and kind of 'the owners' to email and make such a
personal effort to share information about activities, links, etc. -- that made
a huge difference!!! Thank you!
-----------------

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 21, 2007   Date of arrival: January 21, 2007

You do a great job at making the chalet comfortable and user friendly. the area
upstairs with the chair for reading is wonderful. Everything is clearly marked.
The layout of the chalet is great, we loved that we could cook and clean up the
kitchen area while still enjoying the living room and the fire. It was also nice to
have laundry there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 10, 2006   Date of arrival: September 10, 2006

You are truly very lucky people to own such an amazing chalet. I will admit that I
spent the majority of Friday sitting in the little loft area watching the clouds
sweep through the mountain. It was a site to behold. Also, I cannot remember
the last time I had such fresh water. I was impressed with the chalet and the
breathtaking view. You never know if people are exaggerating or not in the
descriptions of places - you were not! It was amazing. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2005   Date of arrival: July 10, 2005

The Chalet was by far the best (cleanest and most comfortable) place we have
stayed in Mt. Shasta. We have come on the 4th of July for 10 or more years
and have stayed in various places. The Chalet is well designed and well
maintained. The location was exceptional, as we like to be close but not right
in town. We would like to come back for a winter vacation and will definitely
return for the 4th probably next year. Jack, your e-mails were all helpful and
prompt. Thank you for a great stay. Our little dog loved her home for a few
days too!
P.S. If you ever want to sell the Chalet, let us know!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2004   Date of arrival: October 5, 2004

It was like arriving at a friend's house when we were expected and welcome. It
had everything we needed. Comfortable, good kitchen, good flow through the
house. The location with such a fabulous view of Mt. Shasta and Black Butte was
hard to improve upon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review