reviews for: listing #11363 - Burnsville, North Carolina House rental

Browns Creekretreat log cabin/ gameroom/internet/
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $895 - $895 /wk
    $2,700 - $3,300 /mth

sort by:

What a wonderful vacation spot!

Review submitted: July 31, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

My family and I wanted to write this review to express what a wonderful time we had at the Burnsville Cabin. Everything exceeded our expectation, as we felt we were staying at a 5 star resort. We had procrastinated a bit, leading up to booking a place and were afraid that we would not secure a suitable place to rent, with such a short notice. When we contacted the owner, she was so pleasant and accommodating right off the bat. They helped us thru all of the details in a very quick and easy way. From fishing in the South Toe River, to hiking up the mountain, to visiting various general stores, we had a fantastic time, and will certainly recommend this home to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation, in a beautiful setting, which is ideal for soaking up nature and spending quality time with family. Thank you for a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, Mountain Paradise

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

I wanted a Hallmark Channel New Years Eve with snow. I got so much more! Walking into the front door of this cabin was breathtaking. My family had not gotten away in too long. THIS cabin was the perfect place to spend time together, and reconnect. Donna has made this feel like a piece of home but added relaxation. She loves this cabin deeply. That love is seen in the care taken within the home to make it like home...just better. It would be impossible to list all of the special touches added for comfort and enjoyment. There are books,televisions,stereos, games upstairs and in the game room downstairs. The beds are comfortable and warm. There is a large stone floor shower in the master bathroom that is amazing after a long day. The couch is divine for naps. There is a stone stacked fireplace that was perfect for anytime of day. But evenings by the fireplace were my favorite. There is no noise. Few cars passed. Mainly the people spraying the roads. More than once! We had a perfect road without needing special tires or 4 wheel drive. The property is great too. Even with the freezing weather we explored the creek area. I can't wait to see it in warmer weather. We will absolutely be going back!! While we had plenty of seclusion, town is not far away. There is a lot to see just in Burnsville alone. Asheville was a short drive away. There are lots of restaurants whether you want local or chain. There's a Walmart close (very important)! The kitchen is well appointed with anything you could possibly want or need for a large meal. We cooked several times. The dishwasher is quiet and works well. There is a washer and dryer available. The house is very clean. Donna has really provided everything to form the backdrop for a wonderful vacation. She is always available, checks in to make sure you arrived and don't need anything. This isn't like a lot of the other cabins where the Owner just wants you to pay and stay. This is like staying in a friend's cabin. I can't wait to get my feet back inside this home away from home! Donna, thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Burnsville Retreat

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We took four of our grandchildren on a mini-spring vacation. The cabin was lovely and very accommodating to our needs- great layout for families- we had our own space on the main level and the grandchildren had the upstairs as their retreat. Everything we could have possibly needed was there, plus many extras. First time for the kids to hike and play in the creek and I'm sure it will be a memorable vacation for them for many years. Owners of the cabin are truly special folks to work with and take great pride in their "special" home. We certainly hope to return to the Browns Creek very soon- fell in love with the quaintness of the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

memphis

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

We spent Thanksgiving week at this gorgeous cabin and none of us wanted to leave. Beautiful home for family gathering - 4 adults and 2 kids - with every accommodation,(including everything you'd need to make Thanksgiving dinner!) beautiful decor, huge fireplace, decks and windows off every room, and the creek right outside the back door. Though we had directions to attractions in the area, we never left the property - you can hike straight up Mt. Mitchell from the back yard and it was awesome! We are already planning when we can return

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Catherine,
I am so pleased you loved Browns Creek. It is a very special place to us also. My kids grew up there so I know yours loved it as much. You are privately in the mountains but there is still so much to do. Thank you again for such a wonderful review. You were wonderful guest. I love hiking in the woods there. Mt. Mitchell has a view from our other land. You can see Grandfather mountain, roan mountains of tennessee and Spruce Pine. Its one mile from our cabin. thanks again for a great review. I want you to always feel special at my cabin Donna Browns Creek

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just wait until you see it in person!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Every time I think about my week in this cabin, I can feel my body relax. The pictures don't come close to capturing the beauty of the cabin and its surroundings. The layout of the house is very nice, everyone having their own space. Being able to look down into the living room from upstairs is very nice. The creek is close, and you can hear it the entire time you are there. The cabin is tucked into a beautiful lush forest, at the back of a road. There was hardly any traffic the entire week. The landscaping in the front is very private, and you feel like you are in a world all your own. The decorations inside are beautiful, and the beds are comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, clean, and beautiful.
I took my parents to Dona’s cabin as a Christmas present. They loved it!!! They said it was the best Christmas present ever, and expect the same gift next year. We loved the cabin so much; we only left to go to the grocery store once. The layout of the house is perfect for music in the living room. My parents play bluegrass, and playing in the living room, filled the whole house with music. It was the perfect week, in a perfect cabin, for a perfect vacation.
Donna is so warm, and easy to work with! I can't think of anyway it could have been better.
If you can see yourself, in a beautiful log cabin, tucked away in the lush NC Mtns, lying in a beautiful bed, listening to a creek babbling you to sleep, this is the place for you.
I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peace of Heaven

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We had a glorious stay in this beautiful mountain retreat. This cabin far exceeded our expectations. The amenities in the house were wonderful.
The creek running through the back of the property was so serene and peaceful.
Lots to do ..hiking, waterfalls, ziplining, and of course just relaxing by the creek or roasting marshmallows at night by the fire. We left refreshed and relaxed. We all agreed that we want to come back and experience different seasons on Bradbury mountain.
The owner is very gracious and easy to work with. Checked on us to be sure we were enjoying ourselves. Very personable and helpful in recommending places to eat and things to check out.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Honeymoon Getaway

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Me and my wife rented this cabin for our honeymoon. Donna was extremely helpful throughout the whole process and very easy to work with. When we arrived at the cabin we were blown away and could not believe it. The pictures do not do the cabin or the property justice. This is something you must see with your own eyes. The cabin is beautiful, the land is amazing, the rushing creek behind the house sets a very calming mood the entire time as you can hear it. The location is just far enough away from the city where you can relax but not to the point its a pain to get too. It was simply just an amazing place to stay. We will be going back and recommend this to everyone looking for a mountain getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't Wait to Go Back!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Great experience from beginning to end. Owner is nice to work with and very helpful about the area. Nearby hiking trails, close to everything, but private in the woods and the creek is to die for! Fell in love with Burnsville. Friendly little town and not too touristy. HIGHLY RECOMMEND RENTING THIS CABIN!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sleep like a baby -

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

I throughly enjoyed my time in this peaceful cabin. The wrap around deck was a perfect spot to enjoy the sound of the water falling over the rocky creek bed. The nights are cool with plenty of open access to the mountain breezes. My favorite is the bedroom that's right above the creek - The first floor cathedral ceiling gives you the feel of an even larger space, while the rustic decor is perfect for that 'cozy mountain' cabin feeling. Well appointed modern kitchen is open to the living area so you can be part of the party, even while preparing meals.
Greatly enjoyed our time in this vacation spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Donna
We had a wonderful vacation in your beautiful cabin. Our home away from home. Celebrated all our anniversaries. All climbed to the top of Mt. Mitchell on a gorgeous fall day. Picniced on the Blue Ridge. Apple Orchard where Kate danced. Burnsville store and princess store and lunch. Gem mine and Little Switzerland- WE did it all!!! And as always we went on a bear hunt around the porch at night. Great to be together, especially in our favorite cabin. Everything was perfect
Thanks again, Kathryin.........this is our eighth year!!!! Granddaughter has been going there since one and now eight. She thinks this is her home. This is her favorite place to come

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Donna
We thank you from the bottom of our for opening your lovely home to our family. We enjoyed walking in the morning to the beautiful rush of water in the backyard and sleeping to the warmth created by the fireplace.. Your cabin was the perfect scenic backdrop to our special thanksgiving, thanks again........Thanksgiving with our family was great......

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Donna and Brad
Love the LARGE windows!! Everyone has a wonderful view. Especially with the snow. We wanted snow and we got it!! Not many attractions opened with the snow. We drove to the ski area which was a fairyland with ice and snow. We made a snow man in front. Dustin adn Tonya rode the tobagan in your yard. Some gem mining in Spruce Pine. Lots of game playing and movies at night. Your home is something out of Southern Living ith plenty of room for our family. QUICK HOT WATER!!!
thanks so much for letting us use your home!! Middleton Va and Titusville Fl

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Donna and Brad
Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us. Thanks for the snow and thanks for providing the perfect place for our scattered family to re-collect and re-connect
Coral Springs, fl
Orlando, Fl.
Columbia SC

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Cabin

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

I have a guest book filled with lovely notes about Browns Creek.
I will have to take it when I go to the cabin and write
down all the entries. We have been given gift. The nicest thing that is said about our cabin is that it is beautiful, clean and does not look like a rental. The reason for that is that we love it and go up there as often as we can when it does not have paying guest.
It is personalized by great paintings, oriental rugs so it does not look like a rental. It is perfect for two or three couples or a small family.
There are so many attractions in the area it would take years to get it all done. Mt. Mitchell golf club six miles away is in the top 100 on the east coast. Call me anytime as I love talking about Browns Creek.Its a great get away

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review