reviews for: listing #11465 - South Padre Island, Texas House rental

Beach Walk - Heated Pool w/ Spa & Waterfall
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $169 - $799 /nt
    $1,295 - $4,595 /wk

sort by:

Very Nice Property

Review submitted: May 20, 2008   Date of arrival: May 8, 2008

This is a great property with plenty of space. The house is in walking distance to the beach & has a nice pool in the back yard.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Beach Walk. The short walk to the beach can't be beat and the back yard pool is also nice, our kids loved it! We appreciated the added security of gates at the top of the stairs so the kids couldn't get to the pool or street area without an adult letting them through the gate. The beach house was perfect for our families which included older folks as well as small children. There was plenty of room for the kids to play in the living room and the older folks enjoyed breakfast on the front balcony. The kitchen was perfect for making meals and we found everything we needed was provided. The extra shower in the garage was great for rinsing off after the beach. We used the outdoor grill a couple times and really enjoyed cooking poolside. We appreciated the washer/dryer and all the other amenities as well as the great service from the property management. All in all this was a very enjoyable and memorable vacation for our large family! I would recommend Beach Walk to anyone!

Owners response: We do our best to make this a great location for your vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

Was a wonderful trip! Have nothing negative to say! The house was great with plenty of room to spread out and relax. Very clean and inviting with privacy and quiet. Great decorations and furniture. Close to the beach and we could come and go as we liked. The pool in the backyard was great and provided extra fun for my kids. The owners/management company were very nice and accomodating and prompt when we arrived to check in and out. Must see's are the turtle rescue and the jetty within the campground. If you love seashells, this is your lottery! Didn't do much eating out, as we enjoyed making our own meals at the rental. Saves money and kept us within our budget. We went in late October and it was marvelous! Very few people and temps in the 80's, PERFECT! We went there to relax and spend quality time as a family and that's what we got! Hated to have to leave and go home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed cooking at the house. The kitchen was just completely remodeled Oct 2013.
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We just wanted to thank you and let you know how much we enjoyed our stay in your Beach Walk home. We liked the fact that Deanna met us at the house rather than in an office and we can't praise Will enough. He was so helpful and readily available when we needed assistance or just some information.
Your home is very comfortable and well stocked and we already have frineds asking us about renting it for themselves and visiting family next winter. We are highly recommending your property to them. The back yard in the Beach Walk is a paradise with beautiful landscaping and pool furniture. We had our children and grandchildren with us over Christmas and staying in your home has left us with some very special memories.
Thank you again Mr. Turk
Anonymous


Homeowner Response:

We just started using a new management company a few months ago & they offer a higher level of customer service.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanksgiving Stay

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

This was a family vacation with grandchidlren in their teens and their parents. The grandchildren were very impressed with the separate stairways to their rooms and the backyard heated pool. They suggested that if a new house was in the future they would like one with some of the same features in the beach walk house. There was plenty to keep them busy and they loved the proximity to the beach. This vacation house exceeded all expectations. We will definitely book this house in the future. Thanksgiving dinner from Padre Rita's was the unexpected surprise and delight of the stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed Beach Walk & hope you become a regular guest.
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Graduation Vacation

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

The house was perfect for our family of six. The kids loved the spiral staircase up to their bedroom with the bunk beds. It was a VERY short walk to the beach which was amazing. Even during the winter, we were able to play in the sand and dip our toes in the surf. The lock on the gate was perfect for keeping our young children from sneaking down to the pool without us. We thought the heated pool would be a little warmer, but it was quite cold during our visit. The hot tub was perfect though!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have the pool heater set at 84 Degrees.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Pleasant Stay

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay. The service was top notch. They also went the extra mile to retrieve and mail us an item we had left behind in the house.

Pros:
- Great location
- Pool is nice and clean
- Good shaded porch
- Bonus to have washer/dryer
- Plenty of space
- Huge benefit to have wireless internet access

Cons:
- We thought beds were very uncomfortable
- Relative to size and cost of rental, kitchen is undersized and not very well appointed
- Loved that the pool was heated, but maybe a bit too warm
- I supposed a gas grill would be a safety/liability concern, but a charcoal grill is a hassle.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The King bed & 1 Queen bed are both Select Comfort Type beds that can be adjusted firmer or softer. The downside is that you do have to take a few minutes to adjust them to your desired comfort level.
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Decent property in a good location

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

This property was very clean. In a nice location on main Padre Island Blvd--only a few minute walk to the beach so this was great. Nice large driveway. Has washer & dryer in garage so this is a plus. Private pool is a bit small but having the pool and hot tub is great! Downside--the 2 spiral staircases are not ideal if you have small children. Nor are the stairs out front--railing is not adequete. Found many waterbugs & ants in the house! This was a bit unnerving as I HATE bugs! Property could also use a few more sheets/bedding & towels. This house has a fully stocked kitchen, and they do provide minimal paper products (a few rolls of toilet paper, 1 roll paper towels, 1 trash bag) so we did have to buy cleaning supplies, paper goods, all condiments, etc. Some private homes that we have rented do provide some essentials for cooking (like oil, salt, pepper) but this place was very minimal other than cooking untensils & dishes. It would have been nice if they at least provided dish soap and a sponge.. They do provide travel size bar soap & shampoo in the bathrooms and that is the extent of it. Nice front patio with a table & chairs. No back porch however, nor a nice grill. Not the best house if you are entertaining & plan on cooking out. Overall it was a decent stay but I would not go back due to having 2 small kiddos & due to having to buy every little thing. If you don't mind having to do so then it's a great fit. My older child appreciated the Playstation 2 upstairs (you must bring your own games though as none as provided).. And I would advise that the property management provide more instructions on TV/Pool/Spa, location of washer & dryer, etc--they have a nice binder with some info but it is all very vague.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We don't provide cooking oil, salt & pepper because we feel it's not sanitary

to provide those type of items. If there is ever a bug problem and the

rental office is notified it will be taken care of immediately.

And someone can be sent out if a renter ever has trouble operating

the TV/Pool/Spa and they notify the rental office.

There is a brick BBQ by the pool.

We strive to make sure every guest has an enjoyable trouble free stay.

Thanks,

Bill

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

My wife and I, 2 children with spouses, and 4 grandchildren (5, 3, almost 3, and 8 months) stayed a week. Each family had their own bedroom and we grandparents enjoyed the loft. The master bathroom was big enough for a crib (provided). Wifi connections and cable TV were very good, seating was comfortable, the bedrooms and baths very nice, and the balcony perfect for morning coffee and simply being outside. We liked the cathedral ceiling, and the living spaces worked well for everyone. Most meals were prepared and eaten at the house. One evening we grilled by the pool and had a "picnic". Our kids brought pool toys, life jackets for their kids, and nets to catch beach treasures. Every day we played in the heated pool/spa and once a day or more we walked to the beach - very nice. Coming from snow country we appreciated the trees and grassy area around the pool. The waterfall adds a nice touch. The 3rd bath on the garage level is convenient and the washer and dryer worked well. Everything about this house, yard, and location contributed to a fun family vacation. Excursions included Sea Turtle Inc, The Birding Center, the Brownsville Zoo, a Dolphin Watch boat trip - all recommended. This house is also convenient for kite boarding and wind surfing enthusiasts :-). Terrific!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We do our best to keep things nice so guests will return year after year!
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

Mr. Turk,We had one of the most perfect getaways at the Beach Walk at SPI,TX.We have visited many times over the years and this has been, by far, the best. We brought our kids with us for Spring Break and the accomodations could not have been more perfect. The pool/hot tub and coffee on the porch in the morning was fab!! We look forward to bringing the whole family next time and hope to stay with you again. Thanks so much...

Owners response: We hope you do stay with us again!
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

My wife and I made the best decision last year (September-2009) to rent the Cognito house on SPI. This house was extremely comfortable and cozy and lack nothing, we felt right at home. It was such a pleasure to go to the beach and come home to a lovely, clean pool. We were fortunate to meet Bill and Micheal (owners), they are great, they take good care of their properties and provide excellent service to their customers. My family and I had such a wonderful time that we're going back this September. We highly recommend this property. Thanks Bill and Micheal! Trevor & Carmela

Owners response: Thanks Trevor & Carmela.... We look forward to having you stay again!
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We stay here every year

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We stay here every year for SPI bike fest, got to meet the owners this year; great people. Great place to stay, beautiful inside and out, all the comforts of home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Priceless stay in Beach Walk

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

I and my family am thanked for your attention and immediate response for the disposition of this house. It`s a pleasure rest here, may be we not use all (a lot)amenities offered because not needed, but sincerely priceless stay in Beach Walk.
LBY Sincerely
Giga

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

Mr.Turk
I and my family am thanked for your attention and immediate response for the disposition of this house. It`s a pleasure rest here, may be we not use all (a lot)amenities offered because not needed, but sincerely priceless stay in Beach Walk.
LBY Sincerely
Giga

Owners response: Thnaks, We hope you come again!
Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

Mr. Turk,
I just wanted to take a minute and tell you how much me and my family enjoyed staying at your beach house (Beachwalk) on South Padre Island. We all throughly loved our stay on the island. The house is beautiful and comfortable. The guys on the trip including my husband all wet fishing on the beach and were thankful for the fishing rod holders found in the garage. The porch was so nice to go out on and soak in the sunshine. The pool and hot tub was our favorite hang out. My four year old was swiming at the end of our stay. Since we use the hot tub every night, our family is thinking about getting one for our chilly nights here in Durango,CO. We will definetly be coming back to South Padre next year. May you have a great year. Thank you for your time.
Sincerly,
Carla

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We stay here every year for SPI bike fest, got to meet the owners this year; great people. Great place to stay, beautiful inside and out, all the comforts of home.

Owners response: Thanks Barbara! It was great to meet you. Thanks for taking such great care of our house! We hope you come back every year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 28, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We make our annual trip down to South Padre every summer, and have tried many properties over the years. This has been the best, by far! Our "criteria" has gotten more specific over time and I must say that the house exceeded our expectations! Having the private pool, washer/dryer and even the small things like quality pans make all the difference when making a beach house home for the week! We'll certainly be back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 29, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Me and six of my friends stayed here for our senior year spring break trip in 2007. The house was amazing. Everything was clean, and the backyard was incredible. We are definitely coming back and the place just has everything you need. All kinds of surf shops, convienence stores, restaurants, all are right down the street. The beach is also just a short walk down the road. The place couldnt have been more perfect.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

The house was OFF THE HOOK!! The first time you walk in the house you can sense the freedom and you feel relaxed. We were there in 2006 after graduation and it was the most awsome time of my life!!! All of our friends were there and we enjoyed ourselves to the fullest!! LOVED IT and absolutely recommend it to all the party people!! You even have a gas station very close just in case you're missing a couple of beers or ice!! 110% SATISFIED!!!!!

SPI here we go again this year!! Whoooo!!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 7, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

I rented this house for my boyfriend's birthday in 2005 and it was beyond perfect! All our friends were invited and they could not believe how amazing it was inside. It was comfortable and fun all in one. He was absolutely floored when we walked in, utterly shocked! This is the perfect beach house to stay at South Padre and the front patio on the 2nd floor was perfect for sitting outside and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

My friends and I stayed here after graduation last summer and it was amazing!! The house was absolutely what we expected and we had everything we needed!! The beach walk is definately an awesome house in south padre!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review