reviews for: listing #114910 - Carlsbad, California House rental

3 Minutes to Beach! Legoland Kid-Friendly Private Pool & Spa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Aviara
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $485 /nt
    $2,400 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

Great family vacation spot

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Our family of 10 spent the week of July 4th at this property. It is in a great location and very convenient to all the local attractions, shopping, and beaches. The whole property is very family friendly with pool fencing and baby gates for the stairs - the layout worked well for our two toddler grandsons. We lived out by the pool and patio and really enjoyed sitting around the fire pit each night. The only drawback for our large family (we had to use the room for our toddler)was that the upstairs fourth bedroom is quite small and does not have a window for ventilation. They do have a floor fan you can use, but it still was very warm. The owner was very helpful and responsive when we had a question about the wifi connection.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT HOME FOR MAKING WONDERFUL MEMORIES!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

This was our first time renting a vacation home and could not have asked for a more wonderful experience. Our family of nine (6 adults & 3 children) enjoyed every minute of our stay. The house was absolutely perfect and did not deviate from the pictures we saw on the website. The pool, hot tub, ping pong table, etc. were great fun for all. The house had everything you could imagine to make us feel at home…from the well equipped kitchen to the toys & towels! The house is very centrally located to stores, golf courses, beaches, theme parks & other fun places! The owners were fantastic in making sure everything was in good order and responded to any queries very quickly.

The only problem we had during this week was that we had to leave at the end of it! This is a perfect vacation home for all ages and we would (and have) highly recommended this home to our family & friends. We are all saving our pennies to someday be able to return! Thanks, Destry & William for a wonderful memory-making vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation Home! Kid Perfect! We will be back!!!

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

We have rented many vacation homes, and this one has been the best! From the first encounter to our final departure everything went seamless. This home was absolutely perfect for our kids and family. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. Everything was so clean and comfortable. The furniture, beds, and outdoor furniture were all really nice. We had 2 families with 4 children aged 5-14, and this home was so amazing! The kids loved all of the fun stuff, had a great time in the pool and playing in the game room. It had more than enough room for all of us. The home more than met our expectations. The pool and hot tub were perfect. The location was perfect for our grocery runs, and our outings. The kids really enjoyed having the pool heated! Everything was easy, simple and hassle free, so many nice amenities. Better and more comfortable than a hotel any day. Thank you very much for making our week one we will remember forever. We very enthusiastically recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing place to enjoy your family time. We look forward to coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutelly Perfect

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

What an amazing place to stay for our holiday in California. Our stay here couldn't have been more relaxed or more stress free. There was 9 of us in total, including a 1, 5 and 7 year old and this house was perfect. The owners had everything there to make our stay easy, including toys, baby gates, crib, high chair, etc, etc...the list goes on. Even DVR's so we could record the NHL playoffs while we were out!! The 5 year old watched Tangled on the DVR every single night!! There was plenty of activities for everyone of all ages, making it harder to decide which we all enjoyed more...the theme parks or the pool days!! The owner was always fast with communication if we had any questions. We would love the chance to come back again...thank you for everything Destry.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation home! So inviting for relaxing or hitting all the fun spots near and far!

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

We had 7 adults and a 21 month old here on vacation and we totally enjoyed our stay. This is a wonderful home environment with all the extras you would not expect in a rental property. Toys, pool table, lot's of outdoor gathering spaces with very nice bedrooms where you can still get away to yourself when needed. Extra blankets, pillows, towels, hair dryer, an iron, bagel toaster, special basket with items you may have forgotten ...etc, and I must say the most helpful owners with any issues that might come up or suggestions on the best places to eat! We loved grilling outside and the kitchen had all the utensils, pot holders, pots & pan and serving trays we needed. Very clean property and very nice neighborhood. There were lots of extras and for a family vacation we had the best time going to near by places (LaJolla Beach, the Zoo and SeaWorld) as well as a Dodger game. Hated to leave! Won't forget this vacation anytime soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

The pictures are accurate - this house is as beautiful and as clean as the pictures show!!
The location is perfect - an easy drive to San Diego and just down the road from Legoland and the beach. We spent the days seeing all the area sites and the evenings enjoying this great vacation home.
Our 8 year old boys loved the pool and the adults loved the hot tub. The game room (garage) was excellent too.
This house has everything you could need! It was easy to cook in the well appointed kitchen. Vons (the grocery store) is right down the road (and they deliver!). They also had extra things that were so nice - tons of towels, shampoo/conditioner/body wash, pool toys, beach toys, coolers for our picnics, full size washer/dryer, etc.. Anything we needed, it was there.
Our stay was perfect.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation home!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

We stayed at this family friendly home over our spring break this year - six adults and three children (ages 5, 3, and 10 months) - and it was the perfect base for some memory-making adventures.

The sparkling clean pool was a big hit, especially with the 5 and 3 years olds - we opted to have it heated and it was just perfect. The hot tub was also a favorite for all of us.

The modern kitchen is very well appointed - we ate in every night, and found it very easy to make some wonderful meals. Plenty of pots and pans, dishes and glasses, and even baby dishes and cups ... along with just about every spice you can imagine. Be sure to see what's already there before heading out to buy groceries.

I also really liked the fact that there were plenty of pool towels, as well as lots of wonderfully fluffy towels for indoor bath use - we have stayed at other vacation homes and this was the first time we had such nice towels. There is also a great washer and dryer for laundry.

This is the perfect vacation home for anyone with young children - it's clean, safe, and there is a huge array of toys and games to keep the children occupied should you be able to tear them away from the fun of being in the pool. Location can't be beat - close to Lego Land and beaches. We also drove into San Diego to visit Old Town and Balboa Park - so much to do in the area around this home.

The owner is very proactive in making sure everything is in good order, and although we never needed to contact her about any problems, it was very clear that she would have dealt with anything that might have come up.

The only drawback for us was having to leave at the end of the week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation home

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

This place was perfect for 2 families of 5 with kids ranging in age from 2 to 16! We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and beach toys! House was clean and had everything we needed including things in the kitchen to make all our meals and grill a couple of times! Room for everyone to relax and be together! This house is in a great neighborhood, very quiet and safe and easy to get on and off major highways to see the sights! Loved the beaches within 5 minutes from the house! If we are ever in the area again we will definitely come back here! So glad we were able to rent this home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Winter Get-Away (from Northern MN)

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We came here with our family and extended family for a winter getaway. (4 adults and 6 kids) This had plenty of room and was perfect. They had everything you could possibly need for kids and adults alike. Lots of extra bedding, lots of towels, comfy beds, crib for my little one, toys for baby and up, board games, cooler to bring to the beach, and so much more! There is a blow up mattress if needed for extra sleeping that we did not use. We just made a bed on the floor for our 4 year old. It is close to the ocean and we loved the beach that the owners recommended! They have boogie boards for the kids to use and sand toys in the garage as well. I feel like this was such a great house for us and it was so convenient with only being a 1/2 hour from San Diego and an hour from Disney. I would definitely come back! The neighborhood is so nice and feels very safe and secure. We all enjoyed the hot tub and swimming pool as well. It was really nice to have our own pool area. It was worth it to pay extra for the heated pool as well. I can't say enough good things about this house. They really have thought of everything!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW!!! GREAT HOUSE! STOP LOOKING AND RENT THIS PLACE

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

We have stayed at many homes using VRBO and this house could not have been better for our family, it was perfect. The owners are great and were available at all times if we needed anything. The pictures are exactly what you get. Our kids loved the pool, games, and learning how to play pingpong/foosball. The house and yards are beautiful, and the house is well kept!!! Great neighborhood and location was great. Beautiful beaches nearby, Legoland a few minutes away. There is a shopping center a couple of minutes away called the Forum Shops and my wife loved all of the stores! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this great home. Very comfortable home and layout was great for our family. Would definitely rent it again. Thanks for everything. George and Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

February Escape

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We escaped from snow, snow, snow to this Oasis! What a great time to tour San Diego area and what a perfect house to do it from. We loved the heated pool and whirlpool. Heat pool is definitely needed in winter for pure enjoyment. We never turned the heat on inside- but loved the electric fire place. Our kids (3,5,9,12,15) enjoyed the pool everyday- even when it was 55 degrees out. My kids sleep with fans as white noise and the owner went to trouble to find us one for each bedroom! Thanks so much for letting us enjoy your winter escape. Grocery store, Starbucks, Brueggers, Broken Yolk within 5 minutes of house. Great area to jog, explore, and hike! We fell in love with In and Out Burger also about 9 minutes from the house. 30 minutes to Torrey Pines, Airport and Zoo, but only 9 minutes with traffic lights to LEGOLAND. We also visited LA for the day - that took us about 1:45 minutes with traffic there and 2 hours home at rush hour. Truly memorable vacation. The 9 of us each had 2 internet devices each (excessive I know- kindles, iphones, computers, etc.). The wireless internet was not strong enough for each of us to stream shows/movies at night- not a complaint of the house or from the parents- but from the children/teens within the home! There was satellite TV in every room with plenty of channels and DVDs- but my kids are used to Netflix, Prime, and all the Streaming movies they can get their hands on! They will live- ha! I love VRBO. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing experience!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

We could not have asking for anything more! We had 2 families, 4 adults and 5 kids and we never ran out of room in our 10 day stay. The location was perfect, the amenities were beyond my expectations! I would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The absolute best experience!

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

The property and the people you deal with are all above and beyond! Perfect for a large family gathering and has everything you could possibly need! We traveled from Minnesota with our family, my parents, brother and his family which included kids to see my son graduate as a new US Marine. Instead of paying for four hotel rooms, found this home rental and it was more than I had hoped for. Great for adults and kids because so many things to do like ping pong, swimming, movies, music, video games and baby items if needed. The kitchen is loaded and wonderful to have salt, pepper, coffee maker, dishwasher, and even a cool popcorn maker. The kids loved that! Great to also have access to a cooler, pool towels, lawnchairs and pool toys. The yard and flowers are just beautiful and you feel right at home. The owners go out of there way to make sure your experience is great and are there for any questions or needs. This is the only way I'll travel from now on. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Toddler Heaven

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

My husband, 20 month old and I stayed here with another couple and their 2.5 year old and we couldnt have asked for a better experience. We use Vrbo everywhere we travel and this is the first place that was fully stocked with everything you can imagine for your little one and tons of games, fun entertainment for the parents when the kiddos are in bed by 730pm! The owners even had a bottle of wine and Martinellis waiting for us upon check in. The furniture and cookware and appliances were all top quality and very homey. The hot tub was amazing during the chilly evenings! I cant say enough great things about the place! We will definetly be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved the house!!!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

We absolutely loved the house/yard/pool/hot tub. The pictures were right on & we all enjoyed it sooooo much!! If we are back in that area we would definitely rent it again. Thanks for your Promptness.

Thanks again, Shelley, Gary & family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Fun House!!! Perfect in every way! Golf so Close!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Our family of 10 could not have picked a better home. This is truly a family friendly fun house!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the location was perfect. Destry was so courteous and her customer service was outstanding! The pool and spa were lovely and our kids really had fun. The yards are beautiful as well as the interior of the home. We felt very much at home and the beds were very comfortable with quality linens! Kitchen stocked so well with everything! If you love to golf this is such a great location, we loved the Golf courses she recommended and so close! The home is very well kept and very clean. We highly recommend this home if you have kids and even seniors in your group. The weather was so beautiful and we loved watching all of the little birds visit in the yard. Thanks again for letting us stay in your lovely home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Home!

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

This house worked out perfectly for our 8 person family vacation. The house was clean and well stocked with basics, pool, and beach gear when we arrived. The pool, hot tub, fire pit area, Foosball table, and Ping Pong table were enjoyed by everyone! Beautiful beaches are close to this home. There is a grocery store within walking distance, and the neighborhood was very nice. The sleeping arrangements were very accommodating and the house was very comfortable & child friendly. The owner was easy to work with and was extremely responsive to any questions I had. It was a great vacation and this house was exactly what we were looking for. We recommend staying here for a perfect family getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful vacation at La Costa Paradiso. This was the first ever vacation we have taken with all six of our children (and two son-in-laws and two grandchildren) and it was perfect. The home was very clean and cozy. The pool and hot-tub was enjoyed by one and all. We especially appreciated all the kid items that were available for our 7 month old twin granddaughters.

Destry and William were very responsive to any questions or issues that came up. We contacted them about the heater not working in the hot-tub and they had a technician there within several hours to get it back up and running. This meant a lot to us because it happened on our last day and we were still able to enjoy soaking in the hot tub that evening.

I highly recommend this property and would definitely go back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We thought the house was set up well to hold a big family, and it was clean and neat, which was good for us. The gates were very helpful for our kids, and having tvs and video games was something they enjoyed. Having foosball and pingpong was a bonus, too. The location was great for Legoland as well as the beach. I know I also appreciated how accessible you have been through the process. Thanks again. We enjoyed our trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Best Vacation! Loved This Property!!!!!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Oh My! Such an amazing place! Where do we start?...Our group of 10 had the best vacation ever at this awesome fun home, very comfortable environment and the landscaping was so serene and tropical! The house was so clean and well stocked we couldn't believe it. The furniture was very nice and comfortable, and having your own private television in the rooms were great. There was plenty of room for all of us and having two living rooms was perfect, especially for the kids. The pool and spa a hit of course, the kids did not want to leave!! We had several pingpong matches and the foosball table was fun also. The house has a great set up for little ones, lots of baby equipment provided including stair safety gates,pack and play's and lots of baby toys, she even provided a baby wipe warmer :) I wish we lived there! We loved sitting by the fire pit with the kids while barbecuing. The weather was absolutely beautiful and the Beaches recommended were perfect for our group. Destry the owner was so hospitable and so easy to work with throughout the entire process. Destry even had a little surprise for us when we arrived, Thank You! We will definitely be back! Already planning our next visit:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Aug 2013 Stay

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Our extended family stayed in the home for a week - property was as described; nice home in a quiet neighborhood, but close to beaches, stores and I-5. Owner was quick to respond to all questions we had; gave great beach and restaurant recommendations tailored to our group. A great home to stay in with kids - lots of kid gear available if needed. Pool was great! Game room a plus for older kids (and adults).

The house has everything you might need: plenty of beach and pool towels, extra linens, kitchen utensils. Easy to check in/out; information @ house includes when lawn & pool service occurs, so no surprises! It is an older home, but has been nicely upgraded throughout most of the home. Prompt return of security deposit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We had such a great time!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

The house was great and totally met our needs. The layout was perfect for our family and the house was thoughtfully stocked. The kids loved the loft and the game room and, of course, the pool. We would definitely stay there again and would happily recommend the house to our friends. Thanks again! Liz

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a marvelous time.

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Thanks Destry. We had a marvelous time. We appreciate your hospitality. The pool, the baby gear, the toys…all a major hit for our four. Much appreciated!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with the property. We had a party of 10 (myself wife 3 daughters son in law and 4 grandchildren) The house has a fantastic pool and hot tub, a fire pit (gas) and all the conveniences (TVs abound, pool toys, many kitchen devices, condiments and spices) Basically you have to provide the groceries. We had breakfast in, packed lunchs and ate dinners out. We found that a great buy was the combo ticket to Sea World, San Diego Zoo and the Safari Park (unlimited access for 7 days) was great By the way, she even has an abundance of towels.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

If you have children this is a vacation home that you'll want to strongly consider. There were six adults and three children(ages 5,8,and 11) in our family and we had a great time. With TV's in nearly every room no arguments over who got to watch what.
We brought pool toys for the kids but never took them out of the SUV. That's just one example of how well equipped the house is. The pool and spa were very nice and we used them daily. The fire pit and grill were nice amenities as well. Inside the home there was plenty of room for everybody to have their own space.
The beach, LEGOLAND and good eating were all very handy.
We definitely will be checking the availability on this home the next time we do our family vacation in the San Diego area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are so glad to hear your family had a great vacation. We strive to make our home as comfortable for our guests as possible. It is very well equipped for families with babies, toddlers and children of all ages, even teenagers. The layout of the home is great, kids can have their own area and the adults too. We have thought of everything that we like to have at our home to use so our guest's will be just as pleased as we are. It is nice to come home after a day out exploring or the beach and jump in the pool and spa, then relax and have a nice barbecue. We too love the fire pit. We are happy our guest's are enjoying all the great things our home has to offer and it's great location. Looking forward to having our guest's return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review