reviews for: listing #11541 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii House rental

Air Conditioned, Ocean Views, Steps To White Sandy Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Poipu Beach Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $375 /nt
    $1,225 - $2,625 /wk

sort by:

Best place in Kauai, great for family, we loved it and will be back!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Over the years we've stayed in several of the Hideaway Cove accommodations including the Beachcomber and Dolphin Studios and the Seabreeze Two Bedroom. This year, with our 18-month old son, we decided to stay in the Aloha Two Bedroom and it was more than perfect fit. Although it's downstairs, the Aloha has ten foot ceilings and ocean views, giving this unit a much more spacious feeling. We really enjoyed all the room our son had to play, when you add in the two balconies this place is enormous. In addition, not having to carry his stroller up and down stairs was really a plus for us. Gale is always so helpful and this trip was no exception. She arranged for swimming lessons and the instructor was perfect. Plus her restaurant recommendations are always spot on, so we know we'll have a great meal wherever she suggests we go. We stayed at the Grand Hyatt the first part of our stay, and enjoyed Hideaway Cove leaps and bounds more, for many of the reasons in this review, along with the proximity to perfect kid friendly beaches and best sunset views on the island every night. We'll be back next year if not sooner, and are already looking forward to returning! I cannot say enough about how much we enjoy Hideaway Cove!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in The Dolphin during Christmas this year. Gale and Herb were lovely and helpful and even met us upon arrival and had a snack and delicious fresh juice for us. The location was great - just a few blocks to the beach and driving distance to other great towns and things to do. The kitchen and bathroom were perfect and while the bed was a great King size it was a little too soft for me. The only downside of the place was that the walls seemed really thin. We could hear our neighbors up every morning (very early!) making breakfast, which must have been the wall adjacent to our bed. We remedied this with ear plugs and everything else was just great!

Owners response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your experience. We use a pillow top mattress pad plus a down pillow topper on top of a firm mattress. Most guests enjoy this, however had we known, we would have removed the pillow topper for you. Next time let us know right away.

We have now moved the bed off of the wall shared with the unit next door and have installed cabinet door dampers on the kitchen cabinets that you heard, so that noise has been eliminated.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Aloha,
Herb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

Love love love this rental property and Herb and Gale! My friend and I came to Kauai to celebrate her birthday and we stayed in the Sea Breeze unit at Hideaway Cove. Herb and Gale are so lovely and have thought of everything to make your trip special. Communication was fast, transactions were easy, and directions were clear. When we arrived, we were delighted to find a warm welcome note and fresh squeezed juice in the fridge along with some chilled glasses. The suite actually appeared better than pictured and was clean and spacious. The kitchen was well stocked and everything was in working order. The jacuzzi was amazing! The best part about Hideaway Cove was that it felt like a home away from home. I can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kimberly for your review. Gale and I are always glad to hear that our hard work and effort to provide an excellent guest experience has been well received. We continue to make improvements and recently added a stainless steel refrigerator with water and ice in the door. You're welcome to come back any time and try it out.

Aloha,
Herb

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We always feel like we've come home@ Hideaway Cove

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Gale & Herb,
Thanks for another great stay, had fun and could have stayed longer! So we will just have to come back..soon! We appreciate your hospitality and taste in decor, it was all just over the top.
Maholo,
Tracy, Gordy & Andrew

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

More comfortable than home!

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

All I have to say is that these people on here who say that this has "all the comforts of home" must have very comfortable homes! It was like home, but so much better! With their jacuzzi tubs, luxurious sheets, spacious rooms and living areas, beautiful gardens, and beautiful decorations, I didn't want to leave (and don't get me wrong, I love my home!).

We came here with my husband for a business trip. I had 2 kids under 2 and was on my own most of the time. So this place was perfect. Huge, fully stocked kitchens for cooking. Living areas comfortable to hang out and relax in. Close enough to the beach to head down there anytime. I loved being able to 2 laundry every day for free! And at the end of a long day, the spa quality organic soap, shampoo, lotion and a good soak in the jacuzzi tub was amazing. The sheets super soft, and the beds soo comfy! Friendly owners, accommodating but not overbearing. The rooms are super quiet and well laid out so you don't feel like you're all on top of each other. Cars tell me that other people were staying here, but I don't see or hear them!

The attention to detail is amazing and just really points to the great pride in ownership that the owners have in their place. Beach chairs and towels and ice chest came in very handy.

We did the resort thing the first business trip with my husband and realized that was a mistake, especially with kids. This was perfect, spacious, and luxurious. I loved it. I miss Poipu (the best part of the island, believe me I've spent a month there this year!) and the Hideaway Cove!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Comfortable condo a short walk to the beach

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Condo was very comfortable with a full kitchen, livingroom, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Ample sheets, bath and beach towels. The condo was very clean and the property amenities were great! An easy walk to the beach and overall great location. I would definitely come back again and recommend to my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Picture Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

Tucked away in a residential area just one block from Poipu Beach is Hideaway Cove Villas, our home for seven virtually perfect days and nights on our first visit to Kauai.

We arrived late at night and found our keys waiting for us along with a letter containing all the information we would need for our stay, and in the refrigerator was exactly what I needed most at that moment--a pitcher full of delicious, cold fruit drink.

The next day we went to Koloa just a short drive away and bought groceries for a week. We sampled the local restaurants but also were able to cook our own meals in our villa, which was a big advantage at times after a long day of sightseeing.

The villa was clean, modern, well equipped and tastefully furnished and was in a perfect location for excursions to Lihue for a helicopter tour, Port Allen for a boat tour of the Na Pali Coast or a day at Poipu Beach, voted sixth best of all the beaches in the Hawaiian Islands by the Travel Channel. It was wonderful lying on the beach and watching the humpback whales just a mile or two offshore.

The grounds were well groomed and beautifully landscaped to showcase Poipu's tropical location. The staff were all great. Diane in the office helped us reserve our villa and was exceptionally helpful making dinner reservations and other arrangements for us during our stay.

Herb Lee, the owner, helped us in ways that no major resort owner would have considered and we're grateful for his advice as well. There's no question in our minds that we'll return to Kauai for another visit, it's just a matter of deciding when's the best time to go, and when we do we wouldn't consider staying anywhere but Hideaway Cove.

Our first visit was our honeymoon but any return trip to Kauai will be special to us because of Herb and Gale and all the others who made the critical difference for us.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hideaway Heaven

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

Hideaway Cove was simply the best part of our vacation to Oahu and Kauai. Hawaii is like a 2nd home to My wife & I because we both lived parts of our lives there and it's where we met. My Grandparents lived right down the road for 25 years and now that they're gone, it's nice to have a new place to stay. We already can't wait to get back to Hideaway Cove. Thanks so much for the terrific accommodations! Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Find in Poipu

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

We've had mixed results shopping online for lodging in Kauai, especially on the south shore and in Poipu. My girlfriend found an ad for Hideway Cove in a local glossy publication and I was quite skeptical, but we took a chance on it. It was just great. First impressions included a NICE bed, very clean environment, A/C and fresh fruit juice awaiting us. We had a pretty small unit (about 400SF) but it was well appointed and well designed and truly welcoming, in particular the kitchen area. Not to be overlooked was a jetted tub, good audio hardware and TV (though we didn't even try the latter) and a very nice selections of extras such as beach chairs, large towels and even some very nice lighting (w/remote control) in the room. At under $200 for the room and about 1/8 mile to the coast, if that, it was an outstanding value. On top of all that, we had an exceptional and reasonably priced Italian/Islands meal at Casa di Amici, crawling distance (did I mention the wine list) away!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great Hawaiian Experience

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 8, 2009

We were looking for a more local low key hawaiian experience, Hideaway Cove was just that. Tucked away into a palm tree setting with privacy and away from the noise,a restfull place. Yet we could walk or drive in minutes to places such as beaches, sunsets, restaurants..... The townhouse was very well equiped and fianally some decent wine glasses too. the lanai in our unit was one of the high points, relaxing,comfortable and private. We will definately be back to Hideaway Cove

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Condo and Location

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

We stayed for a week in the Royal Palm condo. The condo is located at the back of the property, so it is very private. The condo was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Everything that you need it right there. We love the location because it is close to the beach but away from all the traffic and noise. Also, it is one of only a few condos on the island with AC. The grounds are lovely. The condo has its own walkway. We can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Choice

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

Private, quiet, and close to the beach. Clean, comfortable home away from home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect For Our Family

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

WE LOVED IT!!! The place was immaculate, the design was beautiful and with the close proximity to Poipu Beach, we were simply overwhelmed! We stayed at a resort in Maui, which was nice, but being able to put the baby in another bedroom was just what we needed to get a little more R & R. Above all, we were so excited that our six month old son was able to swim in the calm waters at Poipu Beach. . .his first time actually swimming in the ocean. Absolutely priceless. Food recommendations: The Beach House, Koloa Mixed Plate, Bubba's Burgers! Liked — Room was clean, big and steps to the beach

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Most Excellent Stay"

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the 'Dolphin' studio and we couldn't possibly have been more comfortable. The studio was very large and was equipped with all the necessary amenities which were far more then we found necessary. I've stayed at the Hyatt and I still found the Hideaway more comfortable. There is no charge to use the washer and dryer which came in handy after a day of swimming and wearing the same shirt for a few days.. The place even had an iron and board. I am a 'clean freak' and always bring my own cleaning spray and it took only five minutes to do my extra sanitizing because the studio was already in such a clean state. When we return to the island we most definitely plan to again stay at the Hideaway. I hope everyone reading this will not start booking on my time schedule consequently causing me to look for another place..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Very Worthwhile Week

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

It was late at nite, the plane trip was long, we were all very tired,but we finally arrived. I found the key in the box on the front porch, opened it, headed toward the frig, looking for something cool to drink ,found an orange pitcher of papaya juice. Sat on the couch , breathed a sigh of relief and knew this was going to be one of the better vacations. I was correct, as I placed the key in the box one week later and headed out to the airport. We'll be back...................

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beachcomber Bliss

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

The Hideaway Cove Villas are super great! the prices are, well... perhaps TOO low, but my new wife and I were grateful since we were doing a honeymoon on a shoe-string budget. They're close to the ocean only a block away on the south side of the island. (

The south (Poipu) is perfect for wonderful sunny days, and it makes such a perfect spot for traveling the entire island of Kauai. We spent at least three days traveling to the north and east sides for various activities, one in the west, and three in the south. The drives to any location were fairly short, and even if you hit traffic, I mean... it's Kauai, just enjoy the scenery!

Although we stayed in the Beachcomber (totally sweet, two person studio), we were lucky enough to get to see the Seabreeze, which was just gorgeous. The place has its own outdoor hot tub, beautiful materials (shoji screen doors, granite counter-tops, tile floors), great big couches, a flat screen TV you won't need, and a view of the ocean! We are already making plans to go there for our anniversary with our closest married friends next September.

Ask Gale anything, and she'll have the answer. Food, views, swells, etc., she'll point you in the right direction! I'd give it 6 out of 5 starts if I could just because they throw in fresh made juice that awaits your parched palate upon arrival. Great, great, great.

Tips: go see the lithified cliffs on the south shore, drive all the way to the pu'u o kila lookout (of Kalalau Valley) at the end of the Wiamea Canyon road (for one of the best views in the pacific), and take a Napali Coast Boat trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Most Excellent Stay

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

We stayed in the 'Dolphin' studio and couldn't possibly have been more comfortable. The studio was very large and was equipped with all the necessary amenities which were far more then we found necessary.

I've stayed at the Hyatt and I still found the Hideaway more comfortable.

There is no charge to use the washer and dryer which came in handy after a day of swimming and wearing the same shirt for a few days. The place even had an iron and board.

I am a 'clean freak' and always bring my own cleaning spray and it took only five minutes to do my extra sanitizing because the studio was already in such a clean state.

When we return to the island we most definitely plan to again stay at the Hideaway. I hope everyone reading this will not start booking on my time schedule consequently causing me to look for another place :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfect for our Family"

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

We loved it!!! The place was immaculate, the design was beautiful and with the close proximity to Poipu Beach, we were simply overwhelmed! We stayed at a resort in Maui, which was nice, but being able to put the baby in another bedroom was just what we needed to get a little more R & R.

Above all, we were so excited that our six month old son was able to swim in the calm waters at Poipu Beach. . .his first time actually swimming in the ocean. Absolutely priceless.

Food recommendations: The Beach House, Koloa Mixed Plate, Bubba's Burgers!

Liked — Room was clean, big and steps to the beach

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Condo & Location"

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

We stayed for a week in the Royal Palm condo. The condo is located at the back of the property, so it is very private. The condo was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Everything that you need is right there.

We loved the location because it is close to the beach but away from all the traffic and noise. Also, it is one of only a few condos on the island with AC. The grounds are lovely. The condo has its own walkway. We can't wait to return!

Bill & Michelle (MA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Find in Poipu

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

We've had mixed results shopping online for lodging in Kauai, especially on the south shore and in Poipu. My girlfriend found an ad for Hideway Cove in a local glossy publication and I was quite skeptical, but we took a chance on it. It was just great.

First impressions included a NICE bed, very clean environment, A/C and fresh fruit juice awaiting us. We had a pretty small unit (about 400SF) but it was well appointed and well designed and truly welcoming, in particular the kitchen area.

Not to be overlooked was a jetted tub, good audio hardware and TV (though we didn't even try the latter) and a very nice selections of extras such as beach chairs, large towels and even some very nice lighting (w/remote control) in the room.

At under $200 for the room and about 1/8 mile to the coast, if that, it was an outstanding value. On top of all that, we had an exceptional and reasonably priced Italian/Islands meal at Casa di Amici, crawling distance (did I mention the wine list) away!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hideaway Cove Heaven

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

Hideaway Cove was simply the best part of our vacation to Oahu and Kauai. Hawaii is like a 2nd home to My wife & I because we both lived parts of our lives there and it's where we met.

My Grandparents lived right down the road for 25 years and now that they're gone, it's nice to have a new place to stay there in Koloa. We already can't wait to get back to Hideaway Cove.

Thanks so much for the terrific accommodations!

Mahalo,
Rob and Angel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax and Unwind in a Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 17, 2007

If you would like to relax and unwind in a great place to stay, then the Hideaway Cove Villas in Poipu is the place for you. No expense was spared in making sure their guests have a first class tropical getaway. The lush grounds are well groomed and beautifully landscaped. I loved listening to the doves cooing in the backyard while enjoying the rain shower in the luxurious bathroom.
The setting for the villas is ideal as they are located in a lovely, quiet, peaceful neighborhood with only a short walk to the white sands of Poipu Beach and great restaurants.
The air conditioned villas are modern and immaculate with great atttention to every beautiful detail. The amenities are top of the line, and the feeling is extremely welcoming and homey. As a guest ,you
feel your every comfort was given great consideration and care. Having beach chairs, towels, a cooler, and juice in the refrigerator waiting for your arrival are just a few of the nice personal touches.
Gale and Herb are as kind, friendly, helpful and accomodating as can be. What adds to the ultimate in personal service is their office on site, where Gale, who has 20 years in the activity business on Kauai, is available to assist you with your activity planning.
Hideaway Cove Villas is a perfect spot in paradise, and we are really looking forward to our second visit there soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 20, 2006   Date of arrival: November 20, 2006

How delighted we were with the Royal Palm Villa! The luxurious appointments of this villa made our stay so very comfortable. The AC was a must with us; the Roman tub was so romantic, and the kitchen was a dream! We had a lot of FUN on the island--our first time to any part of Hawaii--and technically our 2nd honeymoon. Our neice was married in Poipu; we were able to include that joyous event with our visit (Sept. 2, 2006). We are not resort people, therefore the privacy and seclusion were very much appreciated. The gardens on the property were gorgeous! The value (cost) of this property was extremely reasonable and it was close to everything. If we wanted to visit a resort for dinner, drinks and entertainment, we could without 'living' in that "crush". We came for R&R and that is what we got. We have to mention the staff: if anything happened out of the ordinary (one of my earrings fell down the drain) or we just had any questions ( my husband likes to know about everything) the staff was SO NICE and just next door or a phone call away! We had a WONDERFUL time. We would definately stay at the Hideaway Cove Royal Palm Villa again. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2006   Date of arrival: October 29, 2006

We stayed in the Beachcomber Villa recently and were so pleased! It was our home away from home and had everything that we needed during our stay. We'll definitely recommend Hideaway Cove to anyone traveling to Kauai. Having the Kauai Vacation Helpers on the property was also an added plus - we were able to book our excusions so easily. Thanks Herb & Gale! We had a wonderful time! We hope to stay with you again on our next trip to Kauai!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2006   Date of arrival: October 26, 2006

My parents, my in-laws and my wife and I enjoyed the 7 nights at Hideaway Cove Villas. The staff is very flexible and willing to work with us, and the thing that really impressed us is the attention to detail. Very nice Ocean View Villa. Like I said to the office staff, the pictures don't do the place justice. Its even nicer seeing the place in person.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 11, 2006   Date of arrival: June 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed in the Royal Palm Villa on part of our honeymoon in June/July 2005. We absolutely loved our stay in Poipu and thought the Villa was fabulous. Every ammenity that we needed was right at our fingertips! We had a wonderful time and truly hope to visit again on our 10 year anniversary!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2006   Date of arrival: March 28, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Dolphin Villa on our honeymoon to Kauai in December. We absolutely loved our stay there! Kauai is a great island for a true "organic" Hawaii experience, and Hideaway Coves was a great place to stay! It only added to our great honeymoon...we hope to come back and visit soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 5, 2006   Date of arrival: March 5, 2006

We have stayed at HC twice now in the past three years and love it love it love it. We stayed in two different villas and they both were more than adequate. If you want a high-end place without the high-end price, please give HC a try. We will continue to go back there indefinately. We see no other reason to stay anywhere else. Things we like (and we're very well-traveled and quite picky) nice laundry room, well-stocked kitchens, comfortable beds, home-like feel {which I think is the future of travel, ironically}, good location. Please enjoy this wonderful spot! Feel free to email Deb with questions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2006   Date of arrival: March 2, 2006

There's not much we can add to the many glowing comments
posted here - except to confirm they're all still true. We just
returned from a stay in the Seabreeze unit and the Hideaway Cove property met
every expectation and exceeded a few. Thoughtfully appointed and
meticulously kept, the pride of ownership and the desire to provide a great experience to visitors are evident throughout. Thanks, Herb - we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 29, 2006   Date of arrival: January 29, 2006

We were lucky enough to discover Hideaway Cove Villas through positive comments on Trip Advisor. Our stay at the Coral Villa in January was fantastic. It was a pure joy to arrive to a villa that was ready for us, with great music, soft lights and fresh juice to perk us up. The setting is beautiful and the unit spotless. Thank you for a perfect experience. As most of our time in Kauai was for business - I'm anxious to plan our next visit for just fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 8, 2005   Date of arrival: December 8, 2005

I came out to visit your Villas as a travel agent, I fell in Love with your place and will come back and send many of my customers over to your Villas and everyone has loved it.
can I link you to my sit
myherotravel dot com
looking forward to my next visit
keep up the great work

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2005   Date of arrival: July 28, 2005

My wife and I stayed at Hideaway Cove for
our honeymoon last summer. Since then we
have been dreaming about coming back.
Our stay was wonderful. The rooms were
clean, stylish and had everything we
needed for a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 19, 2005   Date of arrival: April 19, 2005

We would like to thank Herb and Barb for a wonderful stay. The last time we were in Hawaii was 10 years ago and we wondered if everything would be very different. It wasn't. What a wonderful Island. The people we met on our travels around the Island made our trip all the more enjoyable and memorable. The appartment was well appointed with everything that we needed. I think the BBQ was the best --sitting on the lanai -- cooking our supper -- watching and listening to the birds. Fantastic. The location was perfect -- not far from the beach but enough to have a feeling of intimate privacy. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 30, 2004   Date of arrival: November 30, 2004

We can't wait to get back to Kauai and stay at the
Hideaway again. It's been 2 years and we still can't
stop talking about how great the accommodations
were and how relaxed we were during our stay on
Kauai. Our only complaint is we never win the $300
credit towards a future stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2004   Date of arrival: September 15, 2004

My husband Jeff & I stayed here during our first-ever trip to Hawaii, a multi-island 2 week vacation. Kauai won hands down as our favorite, and we thoroughly enjoyed Hideaway Cove. In fact each month in Herb's newsletter I eagerly look to see if we are the winners as we want to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2004   Date of arrival: August 19, 2004

I stayed at Hideaway Cove in October 2002 with my friend Kathy. We had a gorgeous villa and it was comfortable and well-appointed.

We loved the fresh island juice awaiting us in the fridge and the Kauai coffee for the maker. Herb even opened up a coconut from the grounds for us!!!

The plumeria was gorgeous and our vacation was so relaxing. I would absolutely recommend Hideaway Cove to anyone going to Kauai.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2004   Date of arrival: August 3, 2004

We love Hideaway Cove! Our villa was
spacious, comfortable, attractively furnished,
and outfitted with everything we needed. A
storm kept us inside for a few days, but it
didn't ruin our vacation because the condo
was such a pleasant place to hang out,
playing games, bbq-ing on the covered
porch, watching movies... Can't wait to come
back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2004   Date of arrival: July 29, 2004

What a wonderful experience. This was our first (of hopefully, many) trip to Hawaii...and the island of Kauai is absolutely breath taking...thanks to the accomodations of Hideaway Cove. We stayed at the Royal Palm and it made you feel just like you were a King and Queen... more than we ever expected. Thanks Herb and Gale for making us feel like we were just close friends coming to stay with your welcome letter, soothing music when we entered and the chilled glasses with a "awesome" Guava Juice...you made our visit very special and very memorable one. Your the best!!

Thanks and hope to see you real soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 28, 2004   Date of arrival: July 28, 2004

It's very hard to put in words how much we love Hideawaycove Villas! Two years in the row we have been coming to visit kauai and stay with Herb and Gale. It seems that owners have thought about EVERY LITTLE detail to make their guests feel at home. From chopsticks to Big Pots and pans, that place had EVERYTHING we needed to make breakfast, lunch or a nice romantic dinner. Besides cable with many channels, there were plenty of VHS tapes that we could watch. Books, CDs, Games .. all these little things make your stay unforgettable. I felt sorry for people who stay in hotels when they go to kauai. I wish they all knew what they are losing by not staying at Hideaway Cove Villas.
Thank you Herb. Hopefully we'll be able to come visit you next year

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2004   Date of arrival: July 21, 2004

What a great place to stay! Everything was sparkling clean, beautifully decorated, and close to the beach. These guys thought of everything, from the beach chairs to the perfect music. What a bargain! We shall return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 20, 2004   Date of arrival: July 20, 2004

We absolutely relished every moment we spent at the Coral Villa. Our quiet little west facing villa was the perfect home base for our travels around Kauai. It was so nice to come home after a day at the beach or from a road trip and have a little cocktail on the deck while we grilled the local catch. The bikes were great for tooling around Poipu and out to the Blow Hole. We would recommend this pleasant tropical getaway to anyone of any age group. We will certainly return. Thanks, Herb and family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 20, 2004   Date of arrival: July 20, 2004

We stayed in the Oceanview Villa in March with all of our adult children and two grandchildren, and couldn't have had a better time. The villa was clean, well appointed, had wonderful views, and was a short walk to the best beach possible for small children. We didn't do much cooking, but had everything we needed to do so. Herb and Gail were extremely accomodating to the special needs for our family, and we enjoyed the best family vacation we'd ever had!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2004   Date of arrival: July 17, 2004

My family was lucky enough to spend the BEST part of our first trip to the Islands at Hideaway Cove.
Our April stay in the Aloha was wonderful. The Lee's have thought of everything needed to make your stay, PERFECT!
When I first began to plan our trip I was overwhelmed by the thought of booking online sight unseen so to say. Hideaway Cove was even better in person! The gardens are beautiful and it's really close to a wonderful beach. Having breakfast on the lanai was a treat and being able to grill our dinner out there with the sun setting in the background was remarkable.
When we visit Kauai again, we will definitely stay at Hideaway Cove again. I just hope they don't become so popular that we'll miss our chance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2004   Date of arrival: July 16, 2004

Wow, what a fantastic experience we had staying at Hideaway Cove in the Oceanview Villa!!! Herb was a fabulous host and we were so pleasantly shocked at the thoughtfulness of the ice cold guava juice waiting for us upon arrival! This was a very long needed family reunion and my dad is quite the "jaded" traveler, having been in the travel industry all his life. Needless to say, (being a native Manhattanite to boot), this was truly one of the most memorable places he has ever stayed in...that should tell you a lot!!! We adored the fresh flowers every day and the chess table and games supplied, as well as the snorkeling equipment and bikes!!! Herb has thought of everything!! Very clean and loved the restaurant next door! We will surely be back in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2004   Date of arrival: July 16, 2004

What a wonderful place to stay! My
wife and I are frequent visitors to the
Poipu are and own a time share in
the area. We like to extend our stay
and have found the Hideaway Cove
Villas to be a perfect place to do that.
The location and accomodations are
spectacular. It is a wonderful place
to share with family and friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2004   Date of arrival: July 16, 2004

My husband and I stayed in the Beachcomber Studio for a week in February. The unit is beautifully decorated and well appointed. We were greeted with Hawaiian music and fresh squeezed juice- a fabulous suprise after a long day of travel. This was our 4th trip to the islands and the Beachcomber was the nicest place we've stayed in. I recommend that they put up a shelf above the toilet for guests to use for toiletries. Thanks for a fabulous place to stay! Clean and lovely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2004   Date of arrival: July 16, 2004

We've just got back from kauai and we love the place we stayed. We had a great time. My sister and my nephew came from Brazil to visit us and we stayed a couple of days at Hideway Cove Villas. I could not choose it better! You fell like you are at home, the place is clean, great furniture and in a great neighborhood. What else could we ask for? For sure we will be back next year.

MAHALO!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 14, 2004   Date of arrival: March 14, 2004

The Hideaway Cove Villas are superb! The villas are beautiful, clean and full of anything you could possibly need. The location is ideal as well. For those who are concerned about booking on-line, DON'T BE! You will not be disappointed! Herb & Gale are not only gracious hosts, but have thought of everything. My family & I love it there and we will be going back again for our 3rd visit this August! Thanks Herb & Gale!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2004   Date of arrival: March 11, 2004

Herb and Gail's villas offer the same luxury as a resort, privacy of your own home, and a location that allows perfect nightly sunsets, romantic strolls, and ono food close by. Two years in a row my husband and I stayed at the villas, first the Coral then the Royal Palm. The Hideaway Cove Villas leave you wanting for nothing and will become your reason for an annual return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2004   Date of arrival: March 11, 2004

Dear Herb,
What a lovely experience! From the early emails planning our Honeymoon stay, the cold guava juice you left us to quench our thirst after our long day of travling, and the cozy Dolphin (our home for nine days), you and your staff were nothing less then a pleasure to work with. There was so much to see and do, and the snorkel gear that you loaned us came in handy every single day. My husband and I had a delightful time and now in these cold winter months often think fondly of our time there in Kauai. Thank you so much for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2004   Date of arrival: January 27, 2004

Dear Herb,

Eden and I couldn't be happier with our decision to stay at Hideaway Cove for our wedding trip to Kauai.

We got married on 12/21 and had been so spoiled by the Aloha Villa that we were rather disappointed with our room at the Hyatt for our wedding night. Twice the price, a quarter the space, and barely any charm.

Thank you so much for your lovely accomodations. We are already planning a return trip to Kauai and we would definitely look to stay at your place before any others.

I attached a picture I took of the building that you could post to the website if you want.

Thanks again for making our wedding trip even more memorable than it would have been anyway!!

Take care,
Scott and Eden Fogleman
Burbank, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 6, 2003   Date of arrival: September 6, 2003

This was our 5th time back to Kauai and without a doubt we were most impressed with our accommodation. We stayed in the Coral Villa what a TREAT! Well equipped and very comfortable some days it was hard just to leave. It is on a very quiet road and a short walk to the beach. Herb and Gale have thought of every possible convenience that you require. My favorite was getting back from the beach and just jumping into that waterfall of a shower. My husband loved sitting on the lanai sharing his breakfast with the birds. We both highly recommend that you stay at any one of the Villas. We will be back next year with our little addition Baby Jack. Tks Herb and Gale for making our trip so special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2003   Date of arrival: August 11, 2003

Our stay at Hideaway Cove was very fine. The Lees anticipated every need from beach chairs and towels to ironing board. We enjoyed serene moments on the lanai listening to the birds and glimpsing a peak at the ocean. The Dolphin villa showed great care in interior design and was spotless. We especially appreciated the restaurant guide. Thank you. We hope to return and visit more of your recommended sites on Kauai.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 8, 2003   Date of arrival: March 8, 2003

My wife and I have been to Kauai four times in the past five years. We have stayed at various places and Herb and Gale have without question the best accommodations on the isle. Sure you can spend hundred's of dollars more, as we did on our last day at the Hyatt. We found ourselves wishing we were back at our Hideaway! The decor is remarkable. How many times can you go on vacation and have accommodations as nice as your own home. They have everything you need right there, cooler, chairs and even beach towels. Two doors down is an incredible restaurant Cafe Di Amici, it is a must try! We are already looking at coming back with the whole family later this year! We definitely give Herb and Gale 5 big stars! See you soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 19, 2003   Date of arrival: February 19, 2003

Herb: We really enjoyed our stay at your Villas It was exactly what we were looking for - very nice, well equipped, and convenient. I particularly liked the large shower, while my wife enjoyed the great kitchen. Plus the price beats the heck out of the Hyatt and all of those other high-priced hotels. Thanks again for an unforgettable time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 2, 2002   Date of arrival: October 2, 2002

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful days and nights on Kauai staying at the Dolphin Villa. We are also Innkeepers and are very fussy guests. We found the Hideaway Cove to be the perfect location and accommodations. The Lee's are great hosts and have thought of everything. We would not think of staying anywhere else on our next trip to Kauai. We give Hideaway Cove a 5 star rating!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2002   Date of arrival: June 16, 2002

Dear Herb, We have enjoyed ourselves tremendously at Hideaway Cove Everything was perfect including the wonderful evenings on your quiet lanai. We visited three islands with three different accommodations and Hideaway Cove is the only one that we would re-visit as soon as we have an opportunity to come to Hawaii again. We enjoyed talking to you as well as the welcoming Hawaiian drink (forgot the name of it). It was wonderful! We would recommend the Villas to anybody that is looking for a beautifully decorated, very well equipped and quiet accommodation. Herb and Gale thank you for making our stay in Poipu an unforgettable one. We hope to see you again sometime in the future, hopefully sooner then later. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 24, 2002   Date of arrival: January 24, 2002

We had a fantastic vacation on Kauai including our stay at Herb and Gale's Villa. They are beautifully decorated and have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. What a wonderful, relaxing place to come back to after running around the island all day. We will highly recommend this place to all our friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 21, 2001   Date of arrival: November 21, 2001

We totally enjoyed our stay at Hideaway Cove. Our hosts, Herb and Gale Lee and staff made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. The Villas are very new, clean, airy and pleasantly surrounded by gorgeous vegetation. They are in a great location near beaches, golf and the sweet little village of Koloa. The Poipu area was always sunny even when it was raining on other parts of Kauai. We highly recommend Hideaway Cove Villas for a vacation you'll always fondly remember.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review