reviews for: listing #1158 - Duck, North Carolina House rental

Sound Front w/ Ocean Views!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Soundfront
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Great family vacation!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic time - Joy and Reed were very responsive to our questions and the house was in great condition. Excellent location!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recomend it !

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Our first visit to the outer banks - and we had a great time. The house was perfect for us , there were 6 of us, so there was plenty of room. You could easily accomodate 10 -12 people. The house and the pool area were very clean - and the views were as advertised - from the sun room or the deck (s) the sunsets were beautiful. Also, pretty amazing views from the dock as the sun sets. There was a TV in every bed room , a big screen tv in the living room - with quite an assortment of movies to pick through . We took advantage of the beach for a couple of days , just relaxed by the pool on a couple of others - and if you golf (3 of us are avid golfers) - there are several beautiful public courses within 1/2 hour - and we had no problem getting next day tee times. My wife and daughters made several shopping trips into Duck and the surrounding areas , and had a great time shopping the waterfront stores. I think we ate out 5 of the 7 nights we were there , there are tons of restaurant options. On the last day , we booked a tour to see the wild horses of Corolla ... amazing and extremely interesting history there . So, we had a great time and hope to go back . The owner , Reed Cook , was very nice and easy to work with throughout the whole process and I would have no problem recomending this house to anyone considering a vacation on the outer banks.

Dermott Larkin
Attleboro Massachusetts.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This home is very relaxing. Have been here every year for the last 8 years and every time I enjoy myself. Beach is close and not crowded. Town of Duck is friendly and great for shopping and souvenirs. New park is fun for the kids. I especially like the pool - spend hours swimming and catching up on my reading. Every night is Sunset night with the spectacular views.
Thanks for the memories!
Sally Ann, Richmond, VA

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

wonderful vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We had a great time at Lifes a Joy. The view were outstanding. The beach is a very short distance away and you can also walk to it. This town of Duck is very nice. We had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

A Great Week

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This is a great home. It was clean and met all our needs. Great views and decks. We were three 50+ couples that enjoy cooking and the kitchen had everything we needed. The community was wonderful with short drives to supermarket( that was spotless as well). We are all from the South Shore of Long Island so we are spoiled by our beaches but were very pleased to visit the ocean. The week we were there the temperatures were in the upper nineties so we made good use of the pool. It was clean and well maintained.
Highly recommend it

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Fabulous property

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Right from the beginning the owners of the property were very accommodating answering my numerous questions. This set my mind at ease renting from folks that I didn't know and a property that I haven't personally seen. The house sits between the sound and the ocean and both are easily within walking distance. You have a great view of both from the deck. We went crabbing a few times while we were there which was a blast. The pier is only about 1/4 mile from the home if that. The house itself is wonderful. It is beautiful and very well maintained. I went with my family but it easily could accommodate more then 4 individuals. We were also very appreciative that we could bring our dogs, Willow and Jasmine. They thoroughly enjoyed the vacation with their family. For vactioners who don't have pets, you would never know pets stayed at the house. The cleaning service does a fantastic job. The home is spotless. The kitchen is fully equipped and I can't think of a thing you would need to bring. The owners have a large TV in the living room and TV's in all of the bedrooms. They also have a large selection of movies and board games. Plenty of things to do in the evening or if you get a rainy day. The pool is a wonderful addition and it is also very clean and well maintained. All in all it was a great property and a good value. I would highly recommend this property for your vacation. It has everything you could possibly want or need.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Pet Friendly and quiet

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Thisis a beautiful house with a terrifc pool. It is very clean and includes everything you will need for anenjoyable vacation, It is set in a quiet cul-se-sac on the soundside. The walkway to the sound pier is only about 200 feet away. It is centrally located and the pet-firendly Duck beaches are a 2 minute drive across the road. My family and I had a great time, and our dog enjoyed himself fully. You won't find many, in any, beaches around the country that allow dogs to walk unleashed ( but supervised) on the beach. We chose Duck for this reason, and we chose this house for the pet-friendly designation. Neither disappointed. We highly recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Breathtaking water views

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We have stayed at many places on the Outer Banks and this by far has been the best. The house was clean and relaxing. A real beach cottage!! The sunroom was just a great place to view the beautiful sound and relax with the family. We had one rainy day and were entertained watching the storm roll in from the sound. We all had turns napping on the deck hammock. The close proximity to the dock was a favorite as we love to crab and fish....and an easy walk or ride to the beach or into town. The pool was clean and refreshing as it was a hot week!
The house was equipped with everything we need and we really appreciated being able to bring our dogs.....they had a vacation with the family too.
What a beautiful home! Thanks for sharing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank-you!

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Wonderful experience staying here! Home is immaculate & clean, nicely furnished, and has amazing water views. Sunroom is breath taking! Nice floor plan with the living area on the upper level with expansive decks and great views in every direction. Loved the private pool which was crystal clear and well maintained. Our kids used the bikes daily and also had scooters which we didn't even know about. House is very private yet close to the ocean and town of Duck. We'll be back! Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review