reviews for: listing #115950 - Flagstaff, Arizona Cabin rental

The Ridgecrest Luxury Vacation Chalet
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Continental Country Club
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,499 - $1,699 /wk

sort by:

Simply relaxing

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Nice are, quiet neighborhood. It had everything we needed and the instructions were precise. Everything was labeled for ease of use... which came in handy for the fireplace as I had never used one before. It really felt like home... didn't really want to leave haha

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

The place was cozy and clean. Plenty of room for 6 adults and 4 kids. The hot tub was awesome. During the day, we had the windows open and the cool breeze came through. Plenty of supplies.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

rentor

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Perfect. Chalet well suited for a carefree vacation. All we needed was there or close by.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

Great cabin...awesome kitchen and beds...great deck and hot tub!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice cabin

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

Very nice home that has a great space to hang out in and a great Kitchen!
Bedrooms were very nice too.
Was not a fan of needing to go buy our own firewood..)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week hiking northern Arizona

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

My family of 7 had a great week staying in this very comfortable home. Very clean, just the right amount of space for us (not crowded, but yet not too big). We really enjoyed the hot tub. Great base camp for going to south rim of grand canyon, and beautiful Sadona. Located close to good restaurants in charming downtown Flagstaff as well. Thanks for helping this vacation be very memorable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

There was plenty of space, I liked being able to wash our hot tub towels after using them. The upstairs bedroom was a great room to sleep in. Great ovens to bake quick dinner on the night of the arrival. Played Scene it on the TV one night which was fun.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to relax

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

We recently rented this home for the weekend and had a wonderful time. Although there were a few minor issues, they were resolved without any problem. The home is clean and modern - very comfortable and great location.

We are already booking our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

The house was warm, cozy and beautiful. There was plenty of room for our family to relax and spend quality time together. The location is close to town making our outings convenient and easy. We loved our time at the cabin and would definently come back and stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a blast

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

We enjoyed that there was space for everyone, house is located close to down town Flaggstaff.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Flagstaff Chalet

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

Another weekend in the house and more great memories. The house was perfect once again for our group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter holiday

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

The cabin was what I expected from the picture. It was easy to get to. It was nice clean and very cozy. The beds were well made and that piece of chocolate laid on the bed just made my day.
There were lots of amenities - didn't see anything missing in the kitchen that we need (except for the knife that has a big dent). Cabin is very well furnished and the hot tub is a plus. What a way to relax after snowboarding. The movies and the board games kept us entertained in the evening.
John has been great in being in communication since we made our reservations. Arrival instructions were clear. Didn't have any trouble getting there.
Overall - we are very happy with our choice and we may continue to stay there on our winter holidays.
Thank you

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Christmas

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ridgecrest Chalet. The house was immaculate on our arrival. The decor was tasteful and the finishings high end. In addition, the beds were very comfortable. The home was cozy and inviting. We love to cook and the kitchen had everything we needed. We were very excited to be spending Christmas in such a beautiful setting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter getaway

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We loved the chalet! The accommodations were perfect for the 9 of us! The large dining table was perfect for the 3 huge puzzles we put together, as well as great family meals and game nights! The kitchen was spacious and was perfect for preparing all of our meals. The fireplace accommodated our s'more making every night! The shower water pressure was nice, beds were comfy and living room was homey!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

This is a nice home. We stayed there 3 nights with another couple. It is very close to anything you need in flagstaff.
The kitchen is the best part of this house. Everything you need is there.
The subdivision was very quiet and friendly.
I recommend this place if you are planning on going to the canyon and sedona like we did. We didnt spend much time in home due to all day hiking in the 2 locations.
John was excellent to deal with and the reservation went perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

large open living area and wonderful kitchen for those who like to cook

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this property and was pleased with the following: open living area with A frame design, A kitchen with everything and a nice gas cooktop, very clean and quiet neighborhood near downtown Flag, a very large and beautiful HotTub on the front porch .parking in the driveway close to the home. The house was much too large for just 1 couple ( could comfortably handle 4-6 people) but we like a bigger space and location . The owner prepared the place great and we did not need to contact him for anything. This property has everything you need. More pots/pans than a good size restaurant, towels, cleaning stuff , everything. The master was upstairs with 2 others down.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic stay

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

We had a fantastic time at this lovely property in flagstaff. Upon arrival, there were a few minor glitches that needed fixing, and john efficiently repaired them. The living room/main room is wonderful with a great kitchen and plenty of light coming through. The porch is great for bbq and hanging out. The bedrooms were comfortable. The proximity to hiking and downtown was also a plus. We would return here in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Flagstaff Chalet

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Property was absolultely beautiful and fully furnished. There is plenty of room for groups or large families. Its close to town and other attractions making it a prime location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Happy Traveler

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We spent a week here with extended family and really enjoyed it. Clean, beds very comfortable and a fantastic location for visiting numerous sites in the area including the Grand Canyon. Also loved the hot tub at the end of the day with sore muscles from hiking! I was a little surprised that the deck was facing the street (based on the photo, I thought it would be a little more private) but otherwise perfect.
Would still definitely return to this house and recommend it to others!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation in Flagstaff

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

The home was as expected. The kitchen, dining, great room was awesome! The deck was great for sitting and grilling out. The bedrooms were all very nice and the bathrooms were clean and fairly big. The house was very clean and all linens were in excellent condition. The beds were very comfy and there was plenty of room for everyone! I would recommend for anyone needing a home to stay in for a vacation.

The owner was extremely helpful with any questions we had. the wifi router went out while we were there and he bought and replaced it for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Property, Highly Recommend

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

This property is beautiful and well-maintained. John has thought about every detail and makes the home a comfortable, luxury spot ... right in the middle of a wooded gold retreat. Just amazing. We have a 2-year old and a 3-year old and they loved it. A highly recommend and we plan on returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

The chalet is perfectly set up for a relaxing, comfortable visit. The large windows and sky lights ensured a light, airy feel to the place and the amenities were more than adequate with a kitchen well supplied with everything needed to be able to cook a homemade meal. Comfy beds and an amazing fireplace added to the enjoyment. Will definitely book again..next time when it's snowing which would just add to the experience !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

good location

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

House was pretty well equipped for what our group of 7 needed.
Open concept on main floor to gather. Used the house mainly for sleeping, cooking, and as base for day adventures in surrounding area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

This proved to be the perfect location and property for our recent visit to Northern Arizona. We were looking for something within driving distance of our home in Colorado. We needed the comforts of home as my husband would be doing some remote commuting (high speed internet was essential) and we planned to prepare most of our meals within the home. Additionally, we were wanting something that would allow us to explore the various attractions such as Sedona, and The Grand Canyon as day trips. Finally, we needed something spacious enough to allow for our multi-generational family (ages ranged from 13-80) to all stay together and with a kitchen large enough to allow for us to enjoy our meals at home (vs. eating out). Staying at this lovely home, provided for all our needs at a price that fit our family budget.

Everything in the property is exactly as pictured! John proved to be an extremely responsive owner. Please note that initially I submitted an online request for information through VRBO. When I didn't hear anything back, I called John on the phone number listed. He returned my call within the hour and we discovered the email I initially sent was never received. So, if you don't hear from him in a very quick fashion, please follow through with a phone call or second email attempt as he is indeed a very responsive owner.

My family notes that I can be a harsh critic, but seriously, there was nothing with this transaction to fuss about. The property was perfect, the interactions with the owner were timely and professional and if you are looking for a central location to explore the wonderful things to see in this part of Arizona, you will not be disappointed with your stay at this lovely property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very, very satisfied!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We had a dream-come-true experience going to the Grand Canyon as a family. As opposed to staying in separate little rooms closer to the Grand Canyon, , we choose to rent a home to have more family time. We were blessed with this beautiful home which was clean and welcoming, had an amazing, well-stocked kitchen, and spacious great room. The three bedrooms accommodated our family of six very well. John, the owner, was very kind and easy to communicate with via email and live phone calls. He went out of his way to meet our need for a shower chair for a disabled family member. Two thumbs up on this wonderful home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family fun!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough about this great property and its professional owner. The house was well decorated, clean and perfect for our family (4 adults, 2 children, 1 dog). The remodeled kitchen is beautifully done and the location is convenient to all of Flagstaff's outdoor adventures. Rent this property with confidence. The pictures accurately reflect the reality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Spot!

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

House was clean and as described. Beautiful house with great amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family fun!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

Cabin slept all of us nicely - 13 yr old to 83 yr old and a dog! Nice to have guest bedrooms downstairs for older folks. Kitchen beautiful and well set up. Candles for use was a nice touch. Beds are firm, but we like that. Played games at the very large dining table and were able to extend it out for everyone to fit. Beautiful neighborhood to walk the dog. We loved having the ski slope and old town Flagstaff so close by. Worked out great! Would stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy in the Mountains

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

After not being in Flagstaff for some years, since we attended NAU, we decided to spend a long weekend in Flagstaff at the chalet. Although we were disappointed that all the snow had melted the day before we arrived we were pleased with the house. We loved the fireplace! Even thought there wasn't any snow it was chilly and the fireplace helped keep us warm downstairs. We were also thrilled that we could bring our dogs along with us. It is really hard to plan a family vacation when you have 3 (well behaved) dogs especially when it comes to finding a pet sitter. The amenities were great and so was the location. Very close to downtown, making it easy to run into town for a day of shopping or eating at the great restaurants. Our only complaint was that the upstairs bed was too firm for us but this might be a plus for other travelers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantasitc Stay, absolutely STUNNING home!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

The house exceeded expectations and the host John was pleasant, helpful, and made our stay fantastic! We loved all of the beautiful woodwork, and the mountain views from the front deck. The layout of the cabin was perfect for our family - thanks a HUGE greatroom and open kitchen, it was easy to cook and visit with everyone all at the same time, yet it was just as easy for the kids to get away into their room and play video games while the adults shared some wine! We will be back again next summer!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would Definitely Return

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

Our stay was everything we expected! The home was clean & comfortable, close to anything you might need, as well as safe and quiet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

This Chalet was just wonderful for our Anniversary celebration! Very clean with everything that you need and more. John was fantastic to work with, extremely accommodating with my plethora of questions. Our family wanted a warm and spacious kitchen and family room for lots of cooking, card games and family time. The Chalet was just perfect for that! The beds and bedrooms were very comfortable and the the place was spotless. We had a lovely time celebrating my parents 50th and sisters 25th wedding anniversary weekend! Thanks John, for everything!!!
Ps-sorry for the very late review. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend visitor

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Location was great! Rental was clean and owner was easy to deal with.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Family Time

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

The lovely chalet was just the right size for three couples and 2 young grand kids. We loved how the windows brought the beautiful winter wonderland into the house. The fireplace made us feel so cozy while the snow flew and blew! The kitchen was a dream for making family meals together. We enjoyed the quiet street and friendly neighbors. The chalet has an enormous amount of storage space which we minimally needed for the long weekend, but would love for a week's stay. It was helpful to have the owner on call esp. for snow questions (like ice removal from the TV dish) :) The beds were most comfortable. Sharing the grand boys first snow experience was a remarkable memory tied with heart strings.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great getaway!

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

This Chalet was a great place to have a holiday get together with my family. The kitchen was big enough to prepare a feast. Nice and cozy for each adult to have there own room. Our kids loved the loft and there own area to play. Had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rustic, spacious, great kitchen!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

This chalet was just what we were looking for and reflects the beautiful surroundings in Flagstaff. It's located conveniently near the town of Flagstaff (and it's shopping) in a golf course community, with grocery stores nearby. The kitchen was beautiful and well-stocked with utensils and other necessities like spices. If you're renting this for a family reunion (or a wedding-related family gathering like we were) it's an excellent place for all to congregate and relax, and maybe have a cookout on the grill. The adjacent great room and dining area has plenty of space, not to mention the seating at the kitchen island. There are 2 bedrooms downstairs which was convenient for my parents, with the master br and loft upstairs. If there were any negatives, it was that the master bedroom tv didn't work unless you were viewing movies on a dvd player, and the carpeting needs replacing (although a lot of the flooring is hardwood). However, the owner quickly addressed plans to correct both issues as soon as possible. Because of the property's other redeeming qualities, these things didn't affect our enjoyment of the property to a large extent. I would recommend this chalet for those who want to experience that rustic 'mountain feel', and we would visit here again if the opportunity arose.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was so great having your family come stay at the Chalet, I'm glad you had a wonderful time and that the wedding was picture perfect! Thanks for the glowing review, it's great to hear about the things people love about my house :) As for the carpeting, as promised, it has now ALL been replaced with beautiful hardwood flooring throughout the house and looks incredible! I can't wait until next year at the anniversary/reunion for you to see it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything you need

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

We found everything we hoped to do in Flagstaff, facilitated by the great house we stayed in. The gourmet cook among us enjoyed the beautiful kitchen, the golfers loved how great the Continental Golf Course was, and the hikers found all the trails they could want. Cool at night, we didn't need heat, just wide open windows and doors! Wonderful family neighborhood, quiet and well kept. We ate outdoors often, grilling some nights. The expectations of 6 people from Scottsdale were exceeded.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Time, Wonderful Chalet

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

This chalet is everything that the owner says it is and then some. We arrived for a family weekend and the chalet was impeccably clean and ready for our stay. The kitchen is amazing---everything you need is there from small appliances, to spices, and cookware/dinnerware. Bedrooms are quaint and comfortable. The chalet is ready for you and your luggage...nothing else is needed for a great stay. We even built a small fire in the fireplace in August just to be able to have the ambiance. John is quite personable and attentive to your needs. We had questions before our stay and he was great with getting back to my sister in a timely fashion. My husband and I are consulting our calendars and vacation time to plan a winter trip back to the chalet to experience winter in Flagstaff...hoping for snow. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It lived up to our expectations and more. Thanks for a great weekend with my mom and sisters.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Flagstaff and this was the perfect place for our family of 9. Thank you, John, for such a well stocked kitchen because we did lots of cooking. The area was so peaceful and we slept with windows open every night. John directed us to the bike trails and we visited the Grand Canyon, Sunset Crater, Indian ruins and Sedona. We also, went to Macy's several mornings!!! My boys say it is the best coffee in the world and they have both traveled all over. We hope to return and see Flagstaff in the snow and we would definitely come back to your place. Thank you, thank you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cool and Comfortable

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our family of five (+one old much loved pug) recently stayed in the retreat for a week away. The chalet is in the beautiful Continental Country club neighborhood with a view of Mount Elden. It's a great location for day trips and easy access to Flag. Enjoyed day hikes to Walnut Canyon, the Grand Canyon, Mt Elden, the Lava Tube Cave and the Red Mountain trail. The retreat's kitchen had everything we needed to cook and bake during the week. The beds were comfortable and we were all well-rested and left feeling recharged. Thanks John!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Service!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

My wife and I had planned to stay at the Flagstaff Chalet this summer, but unfortunately family plans forced us to change our own vacation plans. John was very understanding, helpful and polite throughout the entire cancellation process. He bent over backwards (figuratively) to accomodate us even though he was not at all obligated to. Will definitely be reaching out to John for our next visit!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Flagstaff stay

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our host joining us for dinner and talking with us personally.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review of home

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

My family had a great experience at the home we stayed in in early May. We thought that the lay out was perfect for us and our purpose of having the home. We also liked how the inside was laid out with an open kitchen, bedrooms on the lower level and upper level and also the floor to celling windows truly made for some amazing views that people from out of town really appreciated.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Two week stay in Paradise!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

The two weeks at the retreat was nothing short of amazing! First of all the location was perfect, just far enough away from city lights to take in the breath taking sky yet close enough for a dinner night out. The Kitchen as well as the rest of the house came fully stocked with everything that we needed so their was little need to go out. Instead we could spend lots of time relaxing next to a fire with the good book and plenty of room for holding small dinners and get together with loved ones. The owner was very hospitable, making sure we had everything we needed while respecting the time. The experience was a bit of Paradise and I look forward to the next time we are able to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The perfect stay!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

This is a delightful house, beautifully situated, and the perfect size. This is our second stay at the chalet - we stayed with one other couple and there was plenty of room for all of us, including two children. We spent much of our time on the deck, enjoying the spectacular views and grilling. The room with the twin beds was perfect for our children and they loved that the room contained a video game console! We found the home owner, John, to be most helpful as he recommended places to dine downtown, gave us directions, etc. This is a great house. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Lovely quiet retreat close to town

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

We were a group of women training together who also loved to cook, so the ONLY things we wished for were in the category one or two more kitchen tools. EVERYTHING else was lovely - from the location to the cleanliness of the home to the attentiveness of the manager. We were treated beautifully and all our needs were met in a timely and respectful way. Thank you so much for enhancing a beautiful week of experience. We will certainly come to you first when next in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Incredible house in a beautiful neighborhood!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful stay at this cabin! This house is located in a very nice, quiet neighborhood which was exactly what we wanted for my three boys and our dogs. The kitchen is gorgeous and had all the amenities we needed, we LOVED being able to cook in each night rather than having to spend a fortune feeding the five of us at a restaurant. The hard wood floors and huge windows in the front room overlooking the mountains made us feel like we were in a far away land, yet we had all the conveniences of being right in town. I'm impressed with John, the owner, as he was very attentive and returned all my calls in a timely manner (I ask a lot of questions!). John met us at the house when we arrived to show us the house and gave us several suggestions on places to visit while we were here. He even was kind enough to call us after the first night of our stay to make sure we had had a good night's sleep and didn't need anything more - wow! We will be renting again and can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Apathetic owner...

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

It is hot, 80's indoors and outdoors here at this rental. The downstairs queen bedroom has a slider, but no screen door and no windows to open. The downstairs kids' room has one window that opens, one that is broken and a slider with a screen door that won't lock. That won't do for my autistic son. Of the 3 tvs on site, only one gets channels. The one upstairs has only a DVD player attached, no channels and the kids' room has only a monitor of sorts...no channels. So you have only 1 TV here, no air, and marginal air circulation. We bought our own fans at the local store to make it bearable. Though this might fly in the winter, it stinks in the summer. The interior features are fine, but I'd trade it all in for a hotel with air and cable on every TV. We asked if we could terminate our stay early, but no dice. The owner was contacted during our visit about these issues and we were told to keep the slider open at night (despite no screen on the ground level) and that security issues weren't his concern. In a lovely golf course community, this is the worst house on the block. If it were covered in snow and you never needed to open a window, you might be fine. The exterior is deteriorating and is in desperate need of a makeover. The neighborhood HOA is working to abolish VRBO in this neighborhood so it won't be around much longer. So be careful on this one...If the owner posts a reply that he tried to help us, that is a lie. It is day 3, we talked to him today and he said there is nothing he will do for us. Pick a different rental....if you have standards!

Helpful votes: 2 / 8

 

Flagstaff get-away

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time on vacation in Arizonia with our family. We went to Sedona and the Grand Canyon both two times. John's vacation property is perfect. It was comfortable and convenient for all of our day trips. The kitchen is beautiful. We also did a float trip in Page that was amazing. John was very helpful. He recommended The Barking Frog restaurant in Sedona that was a winner. I would highly recommend this property for anyone visiting the area. It was a great location situated between Sedona and the Grand Canyon. Our kids hiked Humphrey's Trail in Flagstaff and said it was awesome. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Mountain retreat

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which encompassed the weekend of NAU commencement ceremonies and Mother's Day. The indoor-outdoor spaces made this the perfect house for a reception following graduation. We had everything we needed for a great long weekend with family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A must stay place

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

John was very friendly and nice. We asked a lot of questions over the emails, phone, and texts and he responded very quickly so it was very easy to make a decision.

The house was very warm and nice. All furniture was well-maintained and everything was clean when we arrived. The good surprise we had was that there was a super nintendo as well!

The location was superb, not very far from downtown and the neighbor was really nice and friendly. What else can you ask for?

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Love this Cabin!!!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

This is a beautiful cabin in a beautiful town! My husband and I absolutely LOVED staying here, it was exactly what we were looking for. Coming from the beltway in D.C. we wanted to get out of the city life and relax while we were on vacation. The location of this home was perfect, very peaceful and removed from traffic, but only minutes from downtown. The house was gorgeous, we were blown away when we first stepped inside! The kitchen was incredible, and was huge! We spent our nights with the fire crackling and listening to music while we planned the next day's adventures. What an amazing and comfortable home. We look forward to coming back again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Annie and Steve - thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! It was so wonderful to be able to help you two get away from it all for a few days! I'm excited to see you both again in September!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful Cabin!!!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

My family and I wanted to spend a few nights away from the desert and up in the mountains and were lucky to find this fantastic cabin. It was our first visit to Flagstaff in many years (since before our children were born!) and John was very helpful answering all of our emails quickly and giving us his advice on where to sight see and what to do. I was impressed that he took the time to help us unload the car and make sure we were settled in and comfortable in our new home. The kids loved playing and sledding in the snow, and were having a blast with the Super Nintendo in their room. My wife and I loved the large kitchen and were very happy to stay in by the fire and cook, rather than cart everyone out for each meal. I would highly recommend this cabin and we will be back in the Spring to do some hiking!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Sunnyone

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Chalet was okay. The owner needs to pay some attention to details. There were not enough bowls for the 6 of us, The VCR was broken and we were not told of that in advance of our arrival. The chalet is in need of repair especially on the porch and because there are no window coverings in the common areat it was difficult to prepare dinner due to the glare. The owner was nice enough to allow us to arrive 1 hour earlier than 4 pm and leave at 11 am.

Owners response: Hi Trudee - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so deeply sorry that you didn't have a spectacular time, I really wish I had had the opportunity to correct these issues for you during your stay. I do my best to provide personal service to all of my guests and let them know that I'm available at all times throughout their stay for anything from finding a grocery store to finding a light switch. My hope is that by greeting my guests in person when they arrive, and inviting them to call, text, or email with anything they need, they will feel comfortable getting a hold of me should there be any issues. Clearly in this case I was unsuccessful, and I'm so sorry about that.

Although I make a point to look for ways to improve the house every time I am there, I am not always aware of problems unless a guest lets me know that there is something that needs attention. I know it's a bit late now, but I did immediately correct all of the issues you brought up (provided additional dishes, completed painting the deck, purchased an additional DVD player and fixed the VCR, and installed new blinds for the windows) as soon as I read your review. I honestly appreciate your feedback, as it helps ensure that none of my future guests have the same issues that you had. If there is anything else that you think I could do better, please let me know and I will take care of it.

If you are interested in giving me and my house another try, I would love to have you back and will do everything I can to make your experience a great one. I will email you with a copy of this response as well.

Thanks so much for your stay, and as always, let me know if I can help you with anything else!

-John

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

The chalet is a wonderful retreat for a nice getaway! John was very friendly and greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel very comfortable with the house. We had 7 adults and several dogs (our family) and enjoyed a great stay for Christmas Eve and Christmas. The kitchen was by far the highlight of the house and we loved making meals and enjoying the large counterspace to accomodate everyone. Sleeping arrangements were great as well and we were able to use all the rooms and loft it provided. John made sure to check in with us on our stay and make sure everything was fine and answer any questions. The chalet really is his pride and joy and he said it is still a work in progress as he continues to make it better and better for future guests. Our only recommendation for the chalet would be the entry doors that were very heavy and hard to close since we were constantly in and out with the dogs. Overall though I would definately recommend the retreat to anyone wanting to enjoy a nice week or weekend in the pines and our family would definately return in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review of Flagstaff Cabin Property 372887

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

The Cabin was delightful and in perfect condition for our family to enjoy the Christmas Holidays. The owner John was just a phone call away and perfectly accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect weekend getaway in the winter—Close to downtown Flagstaff, awesome kitchen, well appointed

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

John's Flagstaff vacation home is perfect for a winter getaway with family or friends! The country club neighborhood is beautiful, the home is well appointed, and the location is ideal. The home boasts a great floor plan for groups or families alike, with high ceilings, a very nice kitchen, and open living/dining area. It's clear that the owner cares about the renters' experience and pays attention to feedback.

I rented this chalet for my group of seven (three couples and one single) around the holidays. The bedroom and bathroom arrangement works well for groups. We put two couples in the king and queen rooms, and we pushed the twin beds together for the third couple. Our seventh stayed in the loft, which was semi-private (i.e. you don't see him, but you can hear him). I think this layout would work well for families too. Every room is thoughtfully appointed and maintained and well stocked. We easily parked three cars in the driveway.

The kitchen is fantastic! Read the owner's list of kitchen gear and appliances carefully, and you will realize this is a great home for cooking. The double dishwasher, huge island and counter tops, full-sized fridge, and supply of spices were all appreciated by our group of food enthusiasts! We also enjoyed our time playing games, sitting by the fire, and taking advantage of the Netflix and Pandora hookup. One poor soul had to work a couple hours while on vacation, but fortunately the house provides fast Wi-Fi. The house is located in a beautiful quiet neighborhood, perfect for pleasant walks with your friends or your dog. It's also very convenient to downtown Flagstaff and close to a national monument we hiked. John also kindly let us use his sleds. We didn't ski, but I believe such activities are near too.

Flagstaff is an eco-friendly town, and this home is no exception. John's home makes it easy to recycle and conserve energy. Our only minor fuss was that there were no facial tissues/Kleenex in the home, which we assumed was a green policy. It was no problem; we just used toilet paper to blow our noses.

John was very helpful with booking our stay, and he was super easy to contact by phone, text, and email. He answered all of our questions thoughtfully. I would highly recommend this home to all of my friends and family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend get away, things could have turned out horrible after breaking down and having to be towed the rest of the way into Flag. but John was fantastic and one hell of a host. He did everything he could to ensure we were able to salvage our weekend. It turned out great and we are looking forward to returning with friends for a long weekend, the property is awesome and just minutes from old town!! Highly recommended...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shawn, thanks for much for the review! It was great having you stay, I'm so glad you two had such a wonderful time. Having car trouble is no way to start a vacation, I was happy to pick you up and make sure you were able to relax and de-stress while you were here! Thanks also for the kind note you left for me upon your departure as well, things like that make my day!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great fall weekend!

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

Six of us stayed in this house last weekend and had a great time! It was my boyfriend's birthday so we invited a few friends and drove up from Phoenix to get out of the heat do some hiking in the beautiful golden Aspen trees. I was really happy with the house, the location, and all of the help John gave us in telling us where to hike and sightsee. We all can't wait for snowboard season so we have another excuse to come back =)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: It was my pleasure to have you and your friends, Jo. You were great guests and so respectful of the house. I am so glad that the "Birthday Bash for Bob" was such a success! With the perfect weather we had during your stay Bob must have loved all of the outdoor adventures you had planned for him. Thanks so much and I look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fantastic weekend getaway!

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

We loved this house! Stunning woodwork in the kitchen and greatroom made it feel luxurious. There were 6 of us - four adults and two children - and found the accomodations to be perfect. The kids loved having their own room with a TV and DVD player to watch, and we loved the spaciousness of the enourmous kitchen! Being able to cook meals in the open air kitchen while catching up was a huge perk for us, and a great money saver! We love coming to Flagstaff and will definitely be back :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beautiful Home, great location

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Flagstaff! Our family of four stayed for a week (5/14-5/21) and it was sunny and beautiful every day! The local scenery is spectacular, and the house is in a great setting - quiet and peaceful with wonderful views of the mountain! John was waiting for us when we arrived and was very helpful getting us oriented to the house and the town. We are hoping to make this an annual family trip and will certainly be staying here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review