reviews for: listing #11607 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

Lake Leelanau Getaway Cottage, South Lake Leelanau
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

A great place to unwind

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

This cottage was a great place to unwind and relax. The only way that it could have been better was if Mother Nature had cooperated.

When we arrived, the owner walked us through the cottage and explained everything. The owner offered information on the area for sight seeing, entertainment, and dining. He also gave us directions to the local grocery store.

The cottage was clean and neat, and was stocked with everything you could possibly need. It had large windows, with a great view of the lake. We enjoyed sitting on the deck each evening to watch the sunset. We were glad that wi-fi was available for our use when the weather wouldn't hold.

We liked the proximity to Traverse City, and Grand Traverse Bay. It was easy to take daily sight seeing trips, or find a place to dine out.

We hope to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peaceful location

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Our family of 4 plus a dog spent a week at this cottage. We found the location relaxing and enjoyable. As the pictures show, the property is large and lakefront. The water (in August) was warm and fairly shallow for several yards, allowing my children plenty of space to play in the water. The lake was clear and clean. The bottom was a bit rocky, but we wore water shoes and were fine. The boat traffic on the lake was light, allowing us ample opportunity to canoe and to enjoy the peacefulness of the lake. We spent many hours on the deck, enjoying the sunset and the beautiful view. The house is situated far enough from the road that you do not hear or see traffic. The road has fairly light traffic, making it fine for walking and running. My children and I walked the dog every morning and saw only 1 or 2 cars during the entire walk. The house is also 2.0 miles from the TC-Suttons Bay bike trail. We were able to run along the trail, and to bike up to Suttons Bay. The trail is recently paved and very well kept (with a doggie water bowl at mile 10!). The proximity to TC and Suttons Bay is also a bonus, making it easy to drive or bike to either location.

The house itself is simple and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, etc., coffee maker, toaster, microwave, dish and hand soap and plenty of towels. The bathrooms and bedrooms had clean towels, linens, and plenty of extra blankets. The house also had plenty of fans. The owner (Matt) was friendly, and available when we had questions. The only two drawbacks were that the driveway is a bit steep and is rock/dirt, and that made it difficult for a 2 wheel drive SUV. The house also does not have internet. If our summer travels take us back to this part of the state, we would stay here again. We thought the price was very reasonable, and would recommend this place to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place - Paradise Awaits You!!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Great place. Quiet, great beach (usual rock and hard sand, clean, clear see to the buttom) no mucky beach here!!! Nice deck for relaxing day and night. Great location. Nice and clean, cottage feeling that makes you just want to come back again. Cannot beat the area and its amenities. The abundance of fans and windows keep it cool even on hot August days. Well stocked kitchen. Suttons Bay, Traverse, etc., beautiful cities with - tons of wineries, festivals and activities are in abundance in the area, and you are in the middle of it all in a peaceful location. Priced right and great value for the area. I will be back, and will let my family and friends know too!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Return Renter (Six Years)

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

I have been coming back to this cottage for several years. It continues to not only meet my time to get away needs but the improvements and additions have made my stay more comfortable. The location is ideal. Quiet, with nice frontage on one of Michigan's premier lakes. Large lot. Just minutes to other attractions, services, dining, and awesome views around the peninsula. Matt has done a nice job in providing all the comforts and conveniences. The large patio door leading to the spacious deck makes for terrific views and a place to put your feet up. The new kitchen is well stocked with every possible utensil. I have stayed at couple of other nearby rentals but this cottage is the best value in what I seek for a get-away.

I look forward to this retreat each year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return Renter (Six Years)

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

I have been coming back to this cottage for several years. It continues to not only meet my time to get away needs but the improvements and additions have made my stay more comfortable. The location is ideal. Quiet, with nice frontage on one of Michigan's premier lakes. Large lot. Just minutes to other attractions, services, dining, and awesome views around the peninsula. Matt has done a nice job in providing all the comforts and conveniences. The large patio door leading to the spacious deck makes for terrific views and a place to put your feet up. The new kitchen is well stocked with every possible utensil. I have stayed at couple of other nearby rentals but this cottage is the best value in what I seek for a get-away.

I look forward to this retreat each year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful place, well located

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We loved this cottage and area! Cottage has updates including new kitchen and bed/mattress. Right on beautiful lake Leelanau, great for swimming and we saw alot of fishing. Close to numerous wineries (beautiful area in the fall) and short drive to Sutton's Bay, Traverse City and Leland. Surrounding area is full of wineries & good restaurants. Cottage is immaculate, has gas grill, deck on back with small table and chairs. Fire pit. Loved Bella Fortuna restaurant in nearby town of Lake Leelanau.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great getaway

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We spent a week at this little getaway and found that Matt provided an excellent description of his rustic camp. Matt was great to work with and we found the area fantastic! Lots to do and lots to see. The water was wonderful and the fishing wasn't bad either.

Some recent upgrades include a patio door off the front to a nice sitting deck overlooking the lake. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to enjoy the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review