reviews for: listing #11614 - Barbados, Caribbean Cottage rental

"Out Of The Blue" Cottage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $60 - $115 /nt
    $420 - $805 /wk
    $1,680 - $3,220 /mth

sort by:

Excellent Value

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

Leaving a rainy and dull March in the UK and arriving in the perfect climate of Barbados was a delight. Barbados is not the cheapest of the Caribbean Islands and staying in a traditional Bajan chattel house is the perfect solution for those who would rather spend their money on good food and rum cocktails. Out of the Blue is a charming place with a large veranda in a very pretty garden with distant sea views , perfect for relaxing in the evenings. The house is situated within a fifteen minute walk of one of the best unnspoilt beaches on the island. The local bus service is excellent (and an exciting experience) with the flat fare of 2 Bajan dollars per ride taking you anywhere on the island. The location is safe and an excellent base to visit the whole island.
The owner Sue lives next door and is the perfect host looking after our every need. She can suggest places to visit and eat and even arranged for us to be collected from and returned to the airport which is about 30 minutes away by car. It is the perfect Bajan experience and excellent value for money. We hope to return. Many thanks Sue . See you again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Caribbean Vacation

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

We had a great time at "Out of the Blue"! The house is absolutely perfect and looks even better in reality than in the pictures. There was everything we could wish for in it. My personal favourite was a white linen hammock on the verandah, spent a lot of time in it (sigh).
The neighborhood was very friendly and safe. A fantastic beach is five minutes walk away, is absolutely gourgeous and is one of the best on the island. The bus stop is also just down the road and the bus connection is really good. There's also a fish market just down the road where we could always buy fresh fish for dinner.
Sue was the friendliest and the most accomodating host on the planet. She graciously offered to give us the tour of the island and was always ready to give us a lift or advice on where to go and how to get there. Not to mention the Mudslides that we'll never forget ;-)
There are two moments that might make some people feel a little uncomfortable. There're two dogs on the premises, they're lovely and very friendly dogs, and were no problems for us at all but for some people it could still be an issue. The other thing that the house is standing on top of the road going uphill which might be a problem for those who are not used to excercise. I personally think that a little excercise never hurt anyone:) And I could walk up the slope even with my sprained ankle (that happened back home).
Anyway we'll definitely recommend the accomodation to all of our friends. And looking forward to coming back some day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Month in Paradise

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We have just spent a glorious month at "Out of the Blue" Cottage and were very satisfied with the accommodations. You get a comfortable, welcoming feeling as you go through the cottage, which the pictures depict very accurately.
The beach was within walking distance (a bit more coming back due to the hill) and the water wonderful for cooling off. Although we did not have a car, we were able to take the buses (which were close by) to where we wanted to go. It is a short ride to either Speightstown or Holetown and the rates are not expensive. Although the sun set around 6:30, we never had occasion to worry about walking around. Through Sue, we also visited parts of the island not conveniently reachable by bus and have made some amazing memories and friends. Sue was able to suggest activities like a Catamaran cruise, places to go at night and places to eat, of which we enjoyed them all. We would not hesitate to recommend staying here for a memorable Barbadian experience!


Sue, thank you again for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

We have just returned from 5 wonderful days at this traditional wooden chattel house.The description and pictures on this site are completely accurate and when you arrive it is exactly like you are expecting it to be...only better!
Sue( the owner) loving looks after the house and the most beautiful surrounding garden and the amenities and thoughtful touches around the house make you feel really at home.Having Sue next door is like having a really nice neighbour!
The outside verandah space is the icing on the cake complete with ample seating,tables, hammock and fairy lights!
The beach is at the bottom of the hill ( walkable but we had a car anyway, which if you want to get around would probably be a good idea, although there is a good bus service) and is beautiful - quiet with warm turquoise water and trees to provide shade in the heat!
If hotels and resorts aren't for you, give this a try.You will start to feel like a local and really experience what a wonderful country this is...the people, culture, food and lifestyle.
Should we ever be fortunate to visit again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here or recommend it to anyone else.
Thanks Sue for sharing your lovely place and making visits for ordinary people possible!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Had best time in this wonderful accommodation..

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

"Out of the blue" was a fantastic accommodation. the house is equipped en for all with a beautiful garden and the house is decorated very nicely. sue the owner was very friendly and helpful. she has given us many tips for trips. And showed us this beautiful island. she is always there for you. a beautiful beach is only 5 minutes away on foot, where you can snorkel great. a bus stop is 7 minutes away from the house. you can reach every place of the island by bus. We will definitely come back again. we are looking forward already to the mudslides :-). it was a very nice holiday. thank you Sue, Antje, Lucy, Gypsies and Brandy ... we meet again!Nice greetings from Denis and Jenny from Germany (Berlin)

out of the blue war eine fantastische unterkunft. das haus ist für alles ausgstattet mit einem wunderschönen garten und das haus ist sehr schön dekoriert. sue die besitzerin war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. sie hat uns viele tips für ausflüge gegeben. Und zeigte uns diese schöne insel. sie ist immer für einen da. ein schöner strand ist nur 5 minuten zu fuß entfernt , an dem man super schnorcheln kann. eine bushaltestelle ist 7 minuten entfernt vom haus. man erreicht jeden ort der insel mit dem bus. wir werden auf jeden wieder kommen. wir freunen uns schon auf den mudslides :-).es war ein sehr schöner urlaub. danke Sue,Antje,Lucy,Gypsi und Brandy...wir sehen uns wieder!!Schöne grüße von Denis und Jenny aus Deutschland (Berlin)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We had a fantastic time in Barbados this month and could not have been more pleased with "Out of the Blue" cottage. Sue was a gracious host and always willing to give us advice on things to do and places to go. We chose to stay at a cottage home instead of a resort so we could really get a feel for the island and its culture. Staying at "Out of the Blue" will definitely give you more opportunity to meet locals and experience the real Barbados than any resort will ever do. We would also highly recommend "Ramshackle" bar, great food, great people, close to the cottage and right on the beach - it's a must go!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks for the kind words Laura . Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future .

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delightful Cottage!

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

We rented this cottage for our spring break. This easily accommodated 5 girls with LOTS of luggage. It was a short little walk down the hill to the bus stop and the beach. Sue was a WONDERFUL host who arranged us pick from the airport, our plane landed at 11:30pm! Along with wonderful mudslides on our last day. Any questions about the island she was there to answer. The cottage was decorated with a perfect beach/island feel. We definitely want to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Honeymoon in Barbados

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This was the perfect honeymoon for us. Secluded away from other busy hotels with lots of guests. Romantic with an ocean view from the deck, with beautiful sunsets at night. Sue was fantastic and helped with anything we needed, always ready to lend a hand and give advice when needed. If you have any doubts about staying here forget them, its a wonderful care free stay and you will love it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Out Of The Blue' Cottage

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

'Out Of The Blue' Cottage

more than matched our expectations. We were very impresssed with the
lovingly furnished house and the beautiful gardens. The house is six and a
half minutes from a wonderful beach. Sue, our very friendly house owner
showed us around her island and was always there with help and tips. She
ensured that we got to know every corner of the island and we loved it so
much that we will definitely be back again.
Mathias & Irene

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd Time

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

3rd time here and already looking forward to the next. Thanks Sue for your wonderful hospitality. Next time the Mudslides are on us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Caribbean Feel .

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

From the 1st moment we arrived until our departure our family was enchanted by the original Caribbean feel of this house. Thanks for everything Sue & co.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Out of the blue

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

This beautiful cottage in St James is exactly as set out in the description and much more. Sue was a fantastic welcoming host, with lots of knowledge thats help you find your way around the tourist and non tourist areas of the island. The cottage is clean, homeley with more than enought room for 6 with excellent veranda and hammock, perfect for sitting out in the evenings.

The cottage is exactly what you want when visiting the stunning area of St James with St albans beach (only a stone thow away) in our opinion being the best on the island. Holetown is only 3 miles away with a bus that goes every few minutes from the bottom of the road.

We cannot wait to go back and will always stay at "Out of the Blue" in future. Thank you Sue for such a fantastic time.

Julia/Tim and crew

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review