reviews for: listing #11635 - Captiva Island, Florida House rental

Chateau Blanc Beautiful Beachfront house
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,000 - $4,300 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Beach Vacation Home

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Chateau Blanc. It is the perfect beach vacation home. It is well maintained inside and out with the most spectacular views of the ocean. The beach and pool are wonderful. The owner is extremely nice and helpful if any problem comes up. The home has anything you need to have to enjoy your vacation. Everything about the house makes for a relaxing vacation. Even the best restaurants are a walk away. Caren Goodman Lake Forest Illinois

Owners response: Glad to see the house has all that is needed since Captiva is so very special .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: November 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

This box can not hold all of the positive comments I would like to leave for Ella and her guest house. It is perfection! Thanks for a lovely two week vacation! Phenomenal!!! xoxoxo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible, absolutely perfect

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Wonderful, lovely house, in a perfect beach setting. Beautiful landscaping and pool. Great sunsets, dolphins, shells, swimming, birds..... an absolute paradise. Ella's home is so pretty and comfortable, and it is equipped with everything one needs for a restful, relaxing vacation.

Owners response: Captiva is lovely to enjoy so I do try to have everything one needs for a relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nature at its best

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Beautiful home in an unbelievably picturesque setting. Panoramic view of the beach and all of its activity. Storms blowing in and leaving, sunsets, dolphins and a variety of birds. The home is clean and tastefully decorated. We found that because of the beautiful view, we preferred to stay in and cook rather than eat out. Baily's grocery store on Sanibel provided all we needed. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The sunsets are always beautiful and it is fun watching the birds and the Dolphin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Gorgeous!!!!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Chateau Blanc exceeded our expectations. The house was lovely, clean, and extremely comfortable. The grounds were immaculate - beautiful, graveled pathways cut into the greenery leading to the pool, drive, and beach, perfectly manicured and all surrounded by tropical flowers in bloom! The screened lenai offers a beautiful view of the gulf front. And the sunsets...long after the sun goes down, the sky remains vibrant with colors of orange, pink, purple and to experience this directly from your porch... you won't be disappointed! Ella, the owner, is the epitome of southern hospitality. She has anticipated your every need and made sure the house is equipped, she is very respectful of her renters' privacy, but always available to offer help and suggestions. We also had the pleasure of meeting her son who offered his local expertise on restaurants - very helpful! There is so much to do in this small area. We enjoyed fishing right off the beach in front of the house (very private beach) spent our days shelling (Ella provides shelling rakes at the house) and our evenings dining and sight seeing. Definitely go parasailing at YOLO if you have the opportunity. I was concerned that my children (both teens) wouldn't have enough to occupy them - not the case. We all loved Chateau Blanc, as did our 9lb Shih Tzu (especially lizard chasing). I'd definitely recommend this lovely paradise to anyone searching for a Captiva house - BUT please save us a week in summer - we can't wait to return!!!

Owners response: I agree, for a small Island there are plenty of activities to keep one busy or else just enjoying the lazy days watching the birds on the beach or the dolphin swimming by.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything was very nice

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The property was well kept and the accommodations were very nice. The only problem we had was the parking, and that was because we had a full size truck, a friends car, and a boat trailer.

Owners response: Sorry about the parking Most renters come with one car . However, I am glad I was able to accommodate you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute Paradise ~ Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Ella's Chateau Blanc is absolute heaven on earth!!! The home has everything you need for the perfect vacation. Situated beach front, the view from the lanai is breathtaking. The private pool is perfect for when your not swimming in the Gulf. Ella is by far the perfect host. I've got to know her and her family a little better this year and I can say, i've never met nicer people. Very helpful to your needs. Chateau Blanc in my Heaven on Earth. I cannot wait to go back next year. Thank you again Ella for sharing your perfect paradise.

Owners response: Captiva is certainly a paradise island with it's gorgeous sunsets and Dolphin swimming by. Nice to know it is so appreciated by my guests and nice to have them return to Chateau Blanc to enjoy all that Captiva has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for beach lovers

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We have been traveling to Captiva for many years and have finally found the perfect spot. Chateau Blanc is a lovely, well designed and perfectly located property. The house is on a quiet stretch of beach where you can walk for miles. There is also a fenced pool for days when the surf is too strong. A large, shaded porch overlooks the beachfront. Wonderful for viewing those magnificent Captiva sunsets! Inside, the house is charming, clean and comfortable. In addition, the owner allows pets. We have stayed here three times and intend to return.

Owners response: Since pets are part of the family how can they be left behind. As long as my house is cared for I do welcome them.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place and location

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful home. It was well taken care of and very clean. It has a king bed and a bedroom with twins. The bed was very comfy. The screened in porch was perfect for watching the sunset on the ocean. The location was perfect for us - just a few houses down from the channel that separates Sanibel from Captiva. We rented bikes and rode down to Mucky Ducks for supper almost every night.
I would highly recommend this house for a couple or small family.

Owners response: I agree the location is perfect as there is much to see on both Islands . Biking to Ding Darling Wildlife Preserve or Crow can be great fun, and it's nice not to have to drive everywhere. So much to enjoy....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful beach front on Captiva!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

Chateau Blanc is a beautiful beachfront home on Captiva! It was all we expected having been to Captiva many times from our home in Orlando. The location is private and the weather was perfect for our entire stay!

My kids and I love to fish and came prepared for it! The fishing from the beach was a little slow the first day but on the second night we landed a 6' 150lb tarpon off the beach...and from there on the jacks and ladyfish were lots of fun for the kids wading right off the beach! We also brought our kayaks and my son and I spent some time fishing the backwaters of the JN Darling National Refuge (just 4 miles from the house). The refuge is a beautiful paddle whether you are fishing or not.

There are plenty of places to eat on Captiva like The Mucky Duck, Bubble Room (best cakes ever!) and Keylime Bistro...and there are great options like The Island Cow back over the bridge on Sanibel . There is an island store and deli just back over the bridge as well that was very convenient.

You can't beat Captiva as a destination and we would certainly recommend Ella's Chateau Blanc. The home was very clean and nicley decorated. I would also add that we had all we needed at our fingertips so we did not need her for anything...but in case you do...she does live in a seperate house on the property.

Ella, thanks again for a great stay!

Rick, Noele, Chandler and Kennedy

Owners response: There is much to enjoy on Captiva and it seems you found all that there is. Happy that you enjoyed all that Captiva has to offer. and also the accommodations..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Beachfront Home

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Château Blanc is on the most beautiful spot on Capitiva Island. We just came back from a very relaxing week there.
The home is very comfortable from the beds to other furnishings. Kitchen is newer with lots of extras. The house is spotless. The view from Chateau Blanc is spectacular, especially at sunset.

We had the most relaxing vacation here. The beach is just a few steps away on a private path and the lovely pool is just on the other side. The biggest decision we made each day was "should we go to the beach or the pool?". We have stayed on Sanibel and Capitiva Islands for many years, since our children were very little. Now they are all grown, but they still like to come to these island with us. We all agreed that Chateau Blanc was probably the best place we have stayed.

We enjoyed meeting Ella, she is just about the nicest woman.

My daughter and her husband rented the apartment with this rental and they said it was very comfortable and nice, too.

We are definitely coming back here. It was very private and just so relaxing. We enjoyed Chateau Blanc very much.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Chateau Blanc

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Fabulous property, the beach access can't be beat. The house is beautiful & the screened in porch is the best for sunset views! We will be repeat visitors this year & can't wait, definitely recommend Cheateu Blanc, especially for those with pets.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I agree the sunsets are fabulous so glad you will be returning. Captiva is indeed beautiful.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peaceful, private, relaxing.

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Beautiful location and home to spend a week at the beach. Exactly what we were looking for. Peaceful, private surroundings provided the perfect place to relax and recharge. Definitely the most relaxing vacation we have had in years. House has everything one could wish for, beach is just a few steps away, private pool to cool off in, lovely sunsets from the screened porch, and all provided by a lovely, gracious owner. Being able to take our Italian Greyhound along means we will be back often. Thank you Ella for sharing your home with us. See you soon!

Owners response: Captiva is peaceful and lovely ,I agree. I am happy that the house meets with all that one wishes for and I do welcome pets with owners who are responsible and take such good care of the house .

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Second Home

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This is our fifth year staying at Chateau Blanc. We have never returned to any other vacation rental. The house is spotless and well maintained with a screened porch to watch the perfect sunsets. This place feels like home to us as it holds wonderful family memories. There is something about Chateau Blanc that transcends its perfect location and ample beauty. It involves the unobtrusive hospitality of Ella and her ability to provide attention and privacy at the same time. Every year we go through the same wonderful transformation and are so thankful for the opportunity. There is plenty to do nearby but the best for us is having the perfect place to be quiet and reconnect. We highly recommend Chateau Blanc.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

Ella,
This was the best vacation my wife and I have ever had. We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect! The sunsets were absolutely beautiful. We rented a kayak, on the cove-side of the island and saw dolphins, schools of fish, and found shells on the bottom of the cove (2-3 ft deep). The heated pool was our retreat after a day on the beach or long walk. The house was "second to none". We swam with schools of "mallets" and dolphins on the ocean-side of the island, just a few yards from the house. Amazing! You wanted for nothing in Ella's sanctuary. Our 28 year old son, recently went through a divorce and needed some peace, quiet and much time to search himself. He continually thanked us all week long for bringing him along on our vacation.
The best surprise of Captiva Island was Ella Hall. A woman full of grace and beauty. She is kind-hearted, humble and a most gifted piano player. Her property, the beauty of the island and Ella herself can not be match by any. If you do not choose Chateau Blanc as your choice of a great vacation, you are missing out on a great experience.!
Brad, Sherry & Brock Dodrill
Toledo, OH

Owners response: I am so happy you were able to enjoy your week here at Chateau Blanc with your son. It was my pleasure having you and I agree ,Captiva is a great place for awareness of beauty and reflection.

Ella

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, tranquil, beautiful

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Having visited Captiva for more than 15 years, staying at this beautiful oceanfront property was the best vacation yet. Ella's home and grounds are delightful. It was wonderful to watch the ocean from the screened porch, take the private path to the beach every day, enjoy the lovely gulf and of course, search for shells. Ella was there to accommodate our needs, but left us to enjoy our vacation, and feel as if it was our own paradise for a time. We discover new and wonderful things each time we come, but manatee sightings from her beach were just spectacular!
We have stayed at several properties throughout the years, but I would highly recommend Chateau Blanc for a truly magical experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the reasons in renting a home is having the privacy but also feeling secure in knowing if something is needed it will be provided. Glad you enjoyed Chateau Blanc.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We just returned from Chateau Blanc after a great week with our two teenage boys. The house is extremely nice - open, airy and a great view of the beach. The combination of the house, beach access and pool access was perfect. The boys fished off the beach most days, swam in the gulf, hung out in the pool, and did some more fishing with a local guide. The fact that we could walk to the little general store and near by live bait shop meant that we did not have to get in our car for any trips aside from dinner out or yet another trip to the big grocery store on Sanibel. We would highly recommend this house and would definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for th lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed the house and pool. I agree the beach is great and the view perfect. Hope you will return Thanks again
Ella

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Finn's First Florida Funventure

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

This review is long overdue but we've thought of returning to Chateau Blanc quite often in the 7 months since we were there.

My wife and I stayed at Chateau Blanc with our 7 month old son Finn in May 2010. It was our first family vacation and Chateau Blanc was perfect!

There's no way to put into words the amazing view that you have from the lanai. Finn would enjoy his breakfast in the fresh air with one of us while the other one would get some extra sleep. Finn also liked to see if he could make enough noise so that Ella and friends could hear him - hopefully he wasn't too successful ;)

Another huge plus for us was that the pool was within baby monitor range of the house. My wife and I got to spend some quality time together while our little guy napped.

The location of the house is great. The little general store is just a walk away or really short drive (it is vacation) ;)

We will always have great memories of our first family trip at Chateau Blanc and hopefully we'll be making some more soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Never heard a peep and I would love to have you back.
Thanks for the lovely review

Ella

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Summer at Chateau Blanc...

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Chateau Blanc was our "hub" during our one-week stay in the Sanibel / Captiva / Ft Myers area last August. We took this vacation with our 3 teenagers (14 thru 18) and we all loved it! The house is really well maintained, close to bars, restaurants and water activities (anything from boat rentals, jet skiing, parasails,...). Having your own private pool and yet being able to jump into the Ocean, both in less than a few hundred meters was fabulous!
As already mentioned by others, the real magic of this place is at sunset. Everyday we all went to the beach enjoying the incredible light, colors and dolphin "salute"...

A final word for Ella that was so helpful to solve the tiny and day-to-day questions that always arise when on a trip 5,000 miles away from home...

I would definitely recommend a stay at enchanting Chateau Blanc

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for this lovely review of Chateau Blanc. I am always happy to know the vacation was truly enjoyed and appreciated. I do hope someday you will be able to return .

Ella

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A PERFECT VACATION GETAWAY!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

We recently stayed at Chateau Blanc for our wedding anniversary, and absolutely loved it! Not only was the property appointed with everything we would need, it was lovely as well. Having our own pool, and being just steps from the beach, provided for the perfect private venue for our annual trek. The most outstanding feature, however, was the spectacular sunsets! We would highly recommend this rental property -- Thank you, Ella, for a very special vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We took this vacation with my 22 month old, in-laws, and our English Bulldog. Perfect for all. Very private and could also be romantic, so my husband and I are thinking just the two of us next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enchanting

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Chateau Blanc is a beautiful 2 ample bedroom guest house on the western coast of Captiva island. Set in gorgeous native landscaping that has artistically been allowed to mature, it has a fantastic private large salt water pool, heated by the sun with surrounds of tall palmetto and palm, bougainvillea and hibiscus. The star of this place , besides the incredibly nearby ocean lapping less than 2 driveway lengths from the house down a smooth sandy path, Is the screened in veranda that spans that length of Chateau Blanc, revealing a panoramic yet very private view of the ocean: for sunrise breakfasts, dramatic yet brief afternoon showers and mesmerizing sunsets. Dolphin swim surprisingly close to shore almost every afternoon , leaping and cavorting . A large array of fantastic shore birds are a constant presence. It is difficult to to call the quiet elegant aura of peace about this place anything other than ENCHANTING !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return once again to this" enchanting" Island.
Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chateau Blanc Captiva

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

Dear Ella
Thank you so much for providing such a beautiful place for us to spend our family vacation. We had a wonderful time and hope to have many returns.
Thanks again

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

My Home Away From Home

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

I have been staying at beautiful Chateau Blanc for the past 13 years. This is truly a tropical paradise, with great sunsets. Just steps to the beach where you can go for a walk, go shelling, sunbath, watch for the dolphins to swim by, and, if you are very lucky, they will entertain you with their frolicking. If you are looking for privacy this is it. Private swimming pool to cool off in on a warm day or just enjoy in the evening looking up at the stars. The best part is the owner. Ella is such a lovely lady with a wonderfull family. Ella has made us feel like her extended family. Just don't tell everyone because I still want my time, I know very selfish of me. You won't be dissapointed. It is a great place to vacation anytime of the year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review