reviews for: listing #116705 - Long Beach, California House rental

New Oceanfront Dreamhouse - Better then Malibu!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $16,000 - $25,000 /mth

sort by:

Lovely home but...

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

We stayed in this lovely house from June 18th - July 12. We paid for one month and were immediately sorry. The house is as lovely as the pictures show but infested with ants. The manager was very responsive about getting a professional service in to kill the ants but it was impossible. They came out twice and the ants would pour out of the walls right after they left spraying the house. The service was useless. We had ants crawling on us day and night. Horrible experience. We could not cook and only used the grill twice! Shame. As soon as you were done with breakfast, the ants would cover the floors over crumbs. We had to sweep and mop after every meal.

The window coverings are not enough panels to cover each window. It seems that they put up just a few panels to stretch out to barely cover the size of the windows. If you need a dark room to sleep, you will not find it here.

There isn't air conditioning in this property, so you have to leave the windows and sliding glass doors open when you sleep. We had to buy 4 fans for the house since they did not supply us with any. During the day is hot but cool at night. So don't be fool that you don't need air at all. Bugs and lots of sand fly in. Very uncomfortable to sleep with bugs flying since there aren't screens on most windows and doors.

Front door bell does not work if you are waiting for someone, you have to be on that floor or you will not ever hear them. Once, the neighbor waived from his balcony to let us know that we had a person at the door.

Parking is a bit tight. Keep in mind that if you have a large SUV, you will need help getting in and out of your driveway. Very tight between two houses.

Besides all this, the house is very pretty and the electronics are amazing. Wifi works well in most rooms.

I wish that VRBO had a house checking service. VRBO should charge a fee to get a house certification. This was a terrible experience and one that I will not forget for quite some time. This was my third rented VRBO vacation house. The other homes also had some quality issues. Most people do not take the time to write to make sure the issues are resolved, so the property never gets better.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

We had a mini family reunion here. The house is large and very modern. It seemed we were always finding some new feature or area. It sits right on Mothers' Beach which is calm and safe with small children. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated.
The managers were just a phone call away and friendly and helpful. The ground zero floor has a huge tv and is an entertainment room and there is a small wine storage room. The next level has a billiard room, 2 bedrooms one of which is part of "mother in law suite complete w full kitchen couch and table. The 3rd level has the living room w beautiful view of ocean, kitchen, dining room and a reading room w fireplace and bathroom tucked in there.
The fourth floor has the Master bedroom w fireplace tub, shower and private toilet and walk in closet. There is another bedroom on this floor and a sleeping alcove with a queen size bed. There is an elevator, but the stairs are designed that they are easy to go up and down. We loved our stay here and would highly recommend it. There are 3 separate single car garages. They have a small portable bbq but the kitchen is very modern. I hope this helps. Again, we loved it and the location is convenient.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Stunning

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Just wanted to start by saying how professional Bret & Co. were to deal with. Every step of the process felt effortless and transactions were seamless.

What can say that doesn't sound over exaggerated...it's really hard when it comes to the house. We were a group of 5 young professionals who decided on an extended weekend retreat and it was nothing short of amazing. All the rooms were equipped with equal amenities (flat screens, cable, bathrooms) besides master bed (jacuzzi and steam shower) for obvious reasons it was the master indeed.

Every floor featured front and back outdoor patios/balconies with great views from all sides it really made the house feel even bigger. Not to mention all the common ground areas which had huge flat screens throughout and the pool table which set if off for us.

Couldn't have asked for a better place or nicer people. Everyone from our party was satisfied thoroughly and we already have plans on using Bret for future accommodations. Thanks again for the re-energizing weekend

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Beautiful!

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

This amazing house is located right on the beach. My family and I had a great time here. All floors have an excellent view of the ocean. We enjoyed cooking in the fabulous kitchen with all of the latest appliances. The pool table was also a source of great fun and game. Also, there are smart tv's all over the house! I will definitely be going back soon :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Beachfront Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Great location and beautiful views. Before we arrived we had plans to spend more time out of the house doing the tourist thing. This all changed once we arrived. We wanted to spend as much time there enjoying everything this property had to offer. We had a great stay kayaking, paddle boarding, collecting shells on the beach, kids playing in the waves, playing pool in the game room, and watching amazing sunsets.

We loved hanging out in the living room in front of the fireplace while enjoying the sounds of the waves breaking in the background. We have many great family memories with hundreds of amazing photos to prove it.

The owners were very professional and it was a pleasurable experience doing business with them.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Whole family thoroughly enjoyed it!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door it had major wow-factor!! As was waking up to the Pacific ocean each morning.

My wife and I loved the massive bath in the master bedroom. And the kids all enjoyed their own bedrooms and bathrooms.

The house is incredibly spacious and finished to a high-standard. Theres plenty to do in and around the area and the house is easy to find with excellent parking, and 3 garages.

There are massive plasma screens all over the house and wifi to keep the young ones entertained, and the Pool table was put to good use.

The local people in uptown Long Beach are all very friendly and we are delighted to have come home with the best memories of our stay in America.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone fortunate enough to be going on holiday to the area, and Bret is very nice to deal with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, Great location, Beautiful Sunsets!

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

The location cannot be beat if you want to be on the beach and still close to Long Beach! Stores, restaurants, bars, coffee shops are all within a mile. Great beach and awesome sunset views from the balconies!

The house is spacious, with big rooms, 5 bedrooms, 3 upstairs, 2 on the 2nd floor and a 2nd kitchen/apartment room. Beds are comfortable with good quality bedding and towels provided. The Master Bedroom is on the top floor and has it's own balcony with great views of Catalina Island! There are 5 bedrooms and 5 baths, the Master bath has a steam option in the shower, which was nice to have. The kitchen is large and well equipped.

There's large TVs in all the rooms and a pool table on the 2nd level.

This really is a great house and will sleep 4-5 couples comfortably. The house and furnishings all look new and modern. The house was very clean and the owners were great!

Overall, We enjoyed the house, and loved the location. I would recommend this house to all my friends and hope to stay there again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review