reviews for: listing #11699 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

Historic Oceanfront Estate, Stunning Ocean Views, In Acadia
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Eagle Cliff

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Our week at Eagle Cliff went by WAY too fast. The house was charming, spacious, fantastically equipped, cozy and very comfortable. The views from almost every window were breathtaking. Enjoying that first cup of coffee on the deck each morning, watching the lobster boats going about their business and listening to the birds call was a slice of heaven and the perfect start to every day. We were enchanted with the wildlife that browsed right outside the kitchen windows. As a family, we enjoyed working on the many jigsaw puzzles that were provided for rainy evenings. A thouroughly delightful week and one we will long remember and cherish. Deb & Ron

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: DebRon,
And thank YOU for bringing the sun with you! I am so glad to hear that your family had such a great time at Eagle Cliff. It sounds like we were successful at meeting our goals of providing a top quality vacation home from which to base your adventures in Acadia National Park. From the sounds of it the highlight of your trip happened right from the comfort of the deck overlooking Frenchman Bay! We look forward to seeing you all again. Jen Wales, MtnSea Properties.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Location, Location, Location!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

13 of us rented both properties "blindly" from VRBO; may we be that lucky in all our endeavors. The older estates really do have the best locations!!!!! The house had incredible charm, was very clean and well provisioned--nothing was lacking. The view from the dining area and deck was absolutely breathtaking. Many days were spent watching the lobster boats, cruise ships and yachts floating by and many nights were spent star-gazing off the deck.

The location of the property to both Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park was an added bonus. You were close enough to walk to the "chaos" of Bar Harbor and experience all it has to offer while living on a quiet, private road just down the street--it was wonderful!!! The Park Loop Road was also just "around the corner" and made the ANP that much more accessible. You could be anywhere in the park within minutes and home in time for lunch or dinner. Compass Cove beach, just a short walk from the property, was gorgeous.

Jen answered all questions promptly and left a wealth of information at the property for the renter on everything the area has to offer.

It was a most enjoyable vacation. Did I mention the location, location, location!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Susan, you hit the nail on the head! Quite and secluded yet right close to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Location, Location, Location and this house has the best. Delighted to hear that everyone had a good time both at Eagle Cliff and around the park and the island. Looking forward to serving your family again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely perfect location

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We had 4 couples at Eagle Cliff and a family of 5 at the Guest House. The location of these properties is stunning and just perfect. We could walk to Bar Harbor, we biked home from Cadillac Mountain, there are several access roads to the Park Look Road closeby. Schooner Head Overlook is one of our favorite places and we could bike there or drive there in just a minute or two. Yet we had privacy and felt like we were in our own little paradise.

We did a lot of cooking as each couple/family took one night to cook for all 13 of us and the house has plenty of supplies and equipment to create a great meal. The view overlooking the water just cannot be beat. My teenage kids loved exploring and climbing the cliffs and caves down at the water.

We took the "Missing Mansion" ranger-led tour which is on the ANP parcel next to the property and it was fun to just walk to it and walk home again.

Jen was a joy to interact and deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Eagle Cliff is extraordinary. You will not find a more lovely, comfortable, perfectly located rental home in Bar Harbor. Our family has stayed there every year for a decade, and we will continue to do so as long as we can!

Owners response: MM,
Thank you for the kind words. Your family has stayed every year, sometimes even twice during the same year for 12 or 13 years now. It's clear that the magic of this property and it's view has taken hold of your family and we will continue to welcome you back as family for "as long as we can!".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommend this house, simply perfect!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Eagle Cliff is the perfect house to rent on your visit to Bar Harbor and
Acadia. The house is comfortable in a lived-in way with ample character but
clean, interesting and with all the amenities. The view from the porch is
incredible, whether the sunrise or fog rolling in, and we ate every
breakfast and many lunches there watching the lobster boats come and go.

It’s a perfect distance from town - we biked or drove to dinner, which was
incredibly convenient. And the proximity to Acadia could not be better.

Our kids favorite part of the trip, amongst the great hikes, bikes and
climbs, was the 5-10 min walk to the "beach" near the house, whose dramatic
tidal changes made for hours of endless fun and exploration.

I recommend this house without reservation, it was simply perfect! And Jen
was very easy to work with and welcoming.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Views are incredible!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Thanks for sharing this wonderful home. We arrived late Saturday to a foggy harbor, full of anticipation of what the dawn would uncover for us. We were not disappointed. The views are incredible -- during the day of the ocean and islands and at night the stars -- we even saw lots of shooting stars! The beaches below the house revealed themselves to be gems - easy exploring for the kids, nearby sounds of surf for the adults, and a feeling of a private sanctuary.

Our cyclists immediately took to the park loop, finding it, on early mornings, empty, fast and quiet with good climbs and speedy descents. All tackled the uphill challenge of the ‘Caddy,’ even our 14 year old daughter triumphed. Our 12 year old is determined to own Caddy next year. We tramped and tramped; Mt. Gorham, the Bubbles and Conners Nubble, Great Head trail, Norumbega, and the Cadillac summit. We rode the carriage trails around Eagle Lake and Jordan Pond, and had a sunny lunch at Jordan House - yes, the popovers are very good! We spent a tranquil day sunning ourselves on Sand Beach, and had a brisk and refreshing swim. Beal’s in SouthEast Harbor was fantastic - a great place to dive into one of those lobsters likely caught in the many traps one can see off the coast below.

At the Oceanarium we learned more about lobsters than we thought possible, even saw a blue one. The visit was a great rainy day distraction, and boy did it rain. We must have gotten 10 inches of rain, awakened at 2AM by rolling thunder and a pounding downpour. The shops in Bar Harbor were well visited, too, finding clothing, jewelry, books, and our favorite purchase, a handmade lamp that we will treasure for the years to come.

As we were leaving our youngest said, ‘do we have to leave?’ He captured what we were all feeling. We will certainly return. Thanks Jen!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding home with outstanding views

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We just spent a week at Eagle Cliff with four generations of our family including our 90 year old great-grandmother. The house was lovingly appointed and maintained; it was more like visiting a nice relative than staying in a rental house. The welcome note from Mtn Sea, directed at great grandma, was a brilliant touch. We had views from our windows of the sunrise, the Porcupine Islands, and visiting cruise ships (which we could not hear). We were near everything and yet we felt secluded. We cannot say enough about the house or the people who rented it to us. A really classy place, maintained by people who are a real class act.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gosh James, your making me blush! Thanks so much for your kind words. We strive to not only provide excellent properties but excellent service as well. Family time is so important and it give me great joy to know that I'm doing my best helping other families enjoy themselves in the beauty of Acadia National Park. So glad great-gram liked her card! I'm sure she deserves a little extra-

Jen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Views

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

A beautiful, well maintained, classic home aptly named “Eagle Cliff”. It sits on top of a high cliff overlooking the three porcupine islands out in the bay and is just a couple of miles south of Bar Harbor. The house has views from almost every window. We saw several bald eagles and even a juvenile golden eagle while sitting on the lovely stone patio enjoying our morning coffee. Did I mention deer? They were numerous and close by every day munching on the vegetation. We enjoyed setting up a badminton court for our kids to use (many other games are available) and the deer seemed to like it too. One of our videos shows 5 on the lawn there at one time!

We rented Eagle Cliff for a week together with the Guest House which is only a few feet away down the driveway. That enabled us to have a total of 10 comfortably, parents, children and grandchildren. It was a wonderful week that will provide memories for years to come.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to decompress!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The views from this house are spectacular, the website does not do it justice. Compass Cove is really, really nice at low tide; there is plenty of sand and not crowded. The property is beautiful and very quite and secluded. The house is well appointed and the pine/spruce scented air is wonderful. The reference/information folders were a major plus. This house has a close proximity to Bar Harbor and yet private. MtnSea Properties was helpful, courteous and had excellent information about local points of interest. We had a terrific time and it was a great place to decompress.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Compass Cove truly is a hidden treasure! Although it's located within Acadia National Park, there is no advertising of this spot and so its really a "locals only" location. We are often the only ones on the wonderful sand beach when we go there. Thanks again for sharing the beautiful pictures you took of both the view from the house and Compass Cove. Also good to hear that our information binder with menus, fliers, maps, etc was helpful to you. All the best to your family- Jen, MtnSea Properties

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The views from every room are spectacular!

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We could not have hoped for a more perfect place for a special family vacation. The views from the patio, the dining room, the living room and basically every room in the house are spectacular! We chose this house (with the guest house too) because we needed plenty of room for a family reunion. Everyone from the youngest (age 9) to the oldest (age 70) loved the house. The common areas are very comfortable and well furnished. The kitchen was roomy and very well stocked with cookware, dishes, spices, etc. The dining room fit 11 people easily. The living room area was spacious and decorated with beautiful and interesting pieces (which I assume the owners collected over the years). The patio was a real delight, and we particularly appreciated the very thoughtful inclusion of an extra propane tank for the grill. Also, the grounds were quite nice and the proximity to hiking trials and the two nearby beaches was a big hit with everyone. The photos don’t do justice to the house, the grounds, or the view! The distance from the house to Bar Harbor is fine for a bike ride or a serious runner but not quite close enough for a stroll. The rental agents (MtnSea) were very helpful both in planning the trip and activities and in responding to questions and requests when we were there. All in all, it was a great experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The views (and the house) are spectacular!

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Thank you for letting us stay in this wonderful house. We chose this house (with the guest house too) because we needed plenty of room for our family reunion/vacation, and we could not have hoped for a more perfect place for a special family vacation. The views from the patio, the dining room, the living room and basically every room in the house are spectacular! The common areas are superb! The kitchen is spacious and very well furnished with cookware, dishes, spices, etc. The dining room fit the 11 of us easily. The living room area is spacious and decorated with beautiful and interesting pieces, which I assume the owners collected over the years. The patio is a real delight, and the views are spectacular! (The extra propane tank for the grill was a particularly thoughtful touch.) The park-like grounds are quite nice, and the proximity to hiking trials and the two nearby beaches were a big hit with everyone in our party. I don’t think we could have found a nicer accommodation for this reunion. This trip was a present for my parents' 70th birthday and they both had a wonderful time in large part because the house and guest quarters allowed us all to relax and spend some great time together. The photos don’t do justice to either the house, the grounds, or the view!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A very special place we will always remember

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

The location was perfect for us- close enough to bike easily to town but so incredibly peaceful and away from the bustle of town. Amazing views. Felt like home when we stayed- elegant and yet unpretentious- with all the convenience and none of the worry. Spectacular view. Comfortable. Had everything we needed for cooking, cleaning, staying in touch, coordinating. Rental process was so simple. So peaceful, we were sad to leave. A very special place- we will always remember Eagle Cliff. Jen was so helpful, easy and relaxed. She provided lots of advice to make our visit perfect. Excellent confirmation policy.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Eagle Cliff is simply charming

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Our week at Eagle Cliff went by WAY too fast. The house was charming, spacious, fantastically equipped, cozy and very comfortable. The views from almost every window were breathtaking. Enjoying that first cup of coffee on the deck each morning, watching the lobster boats going about their business and listening to the birds call was a slice of heaven and the perfect start to every day. We were enchanted with the wildlife that browsed right outside the kitchen windows. As a family, we enjoyed working on the many jigsaw puzzles that were provided for rainy evenings. A thouroughly delightful week and one we will long remember and cherish

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The most delightful place we have stayed

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

How fun was this? Among other activities, we took a nature tour by boat and spotted Eagle Cliff from the bay, looking even more impressive from that vantage point. A deer peering in our kitchen window was icing on the cake. Eagle Cliff was the most delightful place we could possibly have stayed for our first visit to Maine. We felt just like we were staying at the home of a friend with every need anticipated. Thank you so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Looking forward to the day we can return

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

The plane from India, then 9 hour drive from Halifax, and we do not regret it now that we are here. Spectacular and magnificent house is what describes it the most. We are truly blessed and privileged to have spent our time here. Beside the awesome views the house commands, the place itself is so tastefully decorated with each and every convenience thoughtfully planned and placed. I am sure we’ll come here again with our entire family. Looking forward to that day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The view is breathtaking!

Review submitted: November 5, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

The number of bedrooms, the outdoor space for kids to play and the location near to downtown Bar Harbor helped us choose this house. We loved the fact that all the linens, kitchen items, etc. where supplied. It made it so much easier to travel from a distance. The location was gorgeous- the view is just breathtaking and the easy access to activities was great. Working with MtnSea Properties was very positive. It was easy to reach Jen and have questions answered. Very thorough info came in the mail. GREAT customer service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything was just great!

Review submitted: August 28, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

A wonderful house, beautiful setting and views, well-equipped kitchen. Close to Bar Harbor but away from the crowds. The size was great for 2 couples and 4 teens. The location was wonderful. We wanted a place where we could have our brothers and their families over for dinner and games- this was ideal! MtnSea Properties was very friendly, great service. Everything was just great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location was great for us

Review submitted: July 31, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

We loved the secluded yet close-in location was great and easy access to Bar Harbor and Acadia. We felt like we has a private beach and forest being adjasent to the Park. The house was very comfortable and the view was unforgettable. The photos don't do the view justice.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review