reviews for: listing #11707 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

Indian Pass Fun, Private & Cozy Beach Cottage--The Barnacle
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Indian Pass
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $200 /nt
    $1,095 - $1,195 /wk
    $1,900 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My sister and I went to Indian Pass looking for rest, quiet and an unspoiled beach. We really found that and more at the Barnacle. Up in the treetops - literally - it seemed like we were way out in the woods! The wildlife came around to visit, which we greatly enjoyed. The home itself is clean and very comfortable. The beach is quiet-if you want crazy party time this is not the place for you! But if you want to walk, rest, enjoy the sand and perhaps watch some fishing, this is the place for you. We will definitely be back. Oh don't miss the great oyster bar at the Indian Pass Trading Post. That was a blast too when we wanted to do something a bit higher key!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Barnacle

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

My family and I made reservations at the Barnacle for a weeks stay. My husband and I wanted a respite from work and to spend some quality time with our daughters before school started. The weather was iffy, cloudy, rainy and a little cooler than average. We didn't mind a bit. We cooked, played cards, watched the Olympics, got up early before the rain and took long walks with our dogs. We enjoyed our stay so much. The house was clean, comfortable and lovely. The beach was a boardwalk away. The scenery was beautiful. Our hosts Janis and Vincent were accomodating and welcomed us on arrival. On the whole we ate too much, slept too much, got a little too much sun and left sadly... a perfect vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesomeness at the Beach

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We just returned from our second vacation at the Barnacle and there is only one word to describe our week…Awesome! White sand, sunny skies and a retreat set in the trees that allows for total enjoyment of nature and a vacation free from the hectic life. Whether your pleasure is splashing in the waves, collecting seashells, boogie boarding, bicycling, canoeing, or fishing in the clear gulf waters; the beaches on Indian Pass offer endless possibilities.

Located on a quant peninsula, the Barnacle is a beautiful vacation home with all the amenities you could want or need. Janis and Victor are gracious hosts who make sure that everything is ready for your arrival. We made our first trip from Pennsylvania a couple years ago and when it was time to plan a long-distance trip again our girls made it known that the Barnacle on Indian Pass was their choice. Beyond the amazing beaches there is the added pleasure of meeting Handsome the resident peacock, and a very friendly crew of squirrels who enjoy any treats houseguests are willing to share. Handsome introduced himself during our first trip to the Barnacle; his picture proudly sits on our mantel. He was no less impressive this trip and stopped in for a visit several times - happily hanging out with us for the afternoon.

For those who like to fish India Pass has plenty of opportunities. My husband and oldest daughter always make a trip on Capt. Joey’s shark fishing expedition, which sets sail just down the beach from the Barnacle. Fishing is also allowed directly from the beach and makes for great people-watching. For the little ones the hermit crabs arrive with the warm afternoon tide and make for a couple of fun hours comparing who can find the coolest shell. For kids it is an endless treasure hunt, and for adults it is complete relaxation.

Our trip from PA is 18 hours but it’s worth every mile. Our oldest who will graduate from high school in two years and has already told us that she wants to make a trip to the Barnacle before heading off to college. Janis and Victor…it looks like we will see you again in 2013!!



Dave, Paula, Sasha & India

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A piece of Paradise!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

If you are looking for a vacation in order to decompress, this is the place to go. You have serenity, beauty, nature, a peacock named "Handsome" that drops by for a visit and your own private beach. Seriously, my husband and I took moonlight walks, fished during the day and there was hardly anybody on the beach and if you want to do more than just kick back there are things to do like kayaking, horseback riding, sightseeing & etc but our choice was to just enjoy the sun, sand, and fishing.
The owners, Janis and Vic are fabulous down to earth people and make you feel right at home. The place has all the comforts of home, well maintained, clean, just a great place to kick back and enjoy! Look, I'm not going to get into every detail but if you need to have a vacation, one that will be relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable. This is definitely the place you need to come too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

This place is beautiful. So relaxing, very clean. Victor & Janice are wonderful people. On the private white sand beach we caught fish during the day and at night the the stars and moon was so bright. If you like wild life and peace and quiet this is the place to go. The house has wonderful accomendations. It has 2 bedrooms and each bedroom has its own bath. Great for 2 couples and families.
Very private. The Indian Pass Raw Bar has great food, we loved the baked oysters, the atmosphere is very different.

The Barnacle will be at the top of our list of places to vacation.
We didn't want to leave and have decided the next time we go it will be for at least a week.

The Bond's (007)
Jacksonville, Florida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We loved our stay at The Barnacle! The owners Victor and Janis thought of everything in setting this little house up for guests! We had everything we needed and more! It is a cozy wonderful little treehouse with a wonderful porch to sit on and watch the wildlife! Just a short walk to the beach....we were able to find tons of beautiful shells, see dolphins playing just off shore and walk for miles on a beautiful beach! Just the two of us most of the time, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come back again next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always so happy when our guests have such a good time at the Barnacle. Everyone seems to love the wildlife in our area, and that the view, of St. Vincent's Wildlife Refuge, from the beach is constantly changing and mesmerizing. Dolphins can always be seen swimming through the Pass, but it's so exciting when you can actually watch them feeding and just jumping for joy! Maybe they like the view, too?

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

LIttle Round House

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

This review is made to replace the one I had written before. Apparently there was a misunderstanding with what I had written. WHen I wrote about the wonderful fishing and what all we had caught from the beach, some people may have taken it to mean that we caught HUGE sharks and the beach and the water was unsafe. This is far from reality. Yes, we had a great time fishing and yes, we did catch a plethora of ocean life among them small sharks. We also swam in the water, took moonlit walks along the surf and morning walks in the surf while drinking our morning cup o' joe. Our stay was a very memorable one that I would hate to have tainted with misunderstandings.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Little Round House

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Our stay at the Barnacle was one of the best times we have ever had on vacation. No noisy, touristy type of vacation. We had the beach to ourselves most of the time. We sat on the beach before dark in the evenings catching shark, sailcat, stingray, and other fish. We came back to our little bungalow to the peacock named Handsome waiting for his nightly snack of peanuts. Our family had a great time and I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a beach vacation full of wildlife and time for family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just right for us

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

This is a wonderful vacation home for those seeking tranquility and gentle, comfy surroundings in a natural setting. This very special round home is built on stilts and nestled in the arms of a beautiful Live Oak tree, much like a Swiss Family Robinson setting. Privacy abounds. A porch wraps all the way around the house, providing a wonderful platform for feeding and viewing a variety of birds. There also is an elevated boardwalk leading through the foliage, and exiting directly onto the beautiful, white sand beach.

We rented for the month of January, 2010, expecting the weather to be cooler than most New Englanders would like their Florida trip to be, and it was. The coldest January on record actually.... We loved it though, and thoroughly enjoyed our solitary walks on the talcum powder sand beach, watching the dolphins, mere feet away, inside the barrier sand bar, cavorting at the surf line. One playfully surfaced directly under our Golden Retriever, Annie, as she was enjoying her morning swim. No harm to either, but Annie was certainly startled, and the dolphin appeared to be grinning.

The wildlife refuge on unpopulated St Vincent Island is 1/2 mile away, just across Indian Pass, with it's 600 lb. Sambar Deer, Red Wolves, Eagles, and an amazing assortment of wildlife. A 6 person ferry will take you over and drop you to hike the many miles of available trails and deserted beach. (no vehicles allowed)

The house itself is fully equipped and tastefully decorated with soft pastel colors, art work, ship models, book cases, and comfy furniture, and is conveniently located at the end of Indian Pass Rd., half way between Port St. Joe, and Apalachicola. Both towns offer a variety of excellent restaurants, galleries, shops, nature boat tours, etc., all in a low key atmosphere.

If we could choose our neighbors, they would be Victor & Janice, the owners of this lovely home. We'd go back in a minute, and recommend it to others who will appreciate what this location offers. If you're seeking glitz, consider Miami, otherwise, this is a rare jewel of a hideaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review