reviews for: listing #11766 - Petoskey, Michigan Cottage rental

"Stones Throw" - Little Traverse Bay-front Cottage
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $275 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Overlooking Little Traverse Bay

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at 'Stones Throw'. The home has personality and was ideal for our visit. We were in town for a wedding and the house served our purpose well, as we had quite a few family members and wedding guests in various hotels and another rental house. The view is outstanding and the home is clean and well equipped. I would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Labor Day 2013

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

Owner Jeff helpful and responsive. Home clean and well kept, Location next to bike path, swimming couple 100 yards away, nice view of Bay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is a great place to stay

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We spent the first week of Aug 4 adults 5 kids. Easily could have had another family lots of rooms, 3 queens 4 bunks and a king. Property is in great location right on bay, ridiculous sunsets every night with fire and smores. What more can you ask for. 1 minute from bike path that takes you to fantastic Petoskey lake front park attractions and pedestrian access gas Light District. probably a 5 minute bike ride. location is also central to other UP locations, really idea place to set up base. We had a trip trip plan to return.

House was immaculate tons of room all updated ammenties decorated with charm and care. Only 4 or 5 houses on street total privacy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Value, Very Comfortable

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

Thanks Jeff. Every single person that stayed thoroughly enjoyed themselves. You were right, the cottage has undergone some serious improvements since our last stay and was very comfortable. We have a king here at home and yours was just like being in our own :) we will without a doubt book with you in the future and recommend you to others. Your establishment is a great value and I deeply appreciate and respect that you keep the cost at a reasonable rate. I give it 5 stars!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect All Year Round

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

The location is great. Situated on a dead end street overlooking the lake and downtown Petoskey is a 2 min drive. If you're skiing, it's 15 to 20 mins from 3 great ski resorts and round the corner from a ski rental shop. The house is spacious, warm and clean. There is more than enough room for the adults to be separate from the kids. Internet was installed just before we arrived which was a great addition - especially for the kids. We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house for large group w kids

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

This is a great house for a large group with kids. The owner is super helpful. Neighbors were lovely. Amazing view of Little Traverse Bay (a little disappointing there is really no beach to relax on, a climb over the rocks gets you to a rocky shore of the lake). But the view is great, and a front porch would be a welcome add on! Wonderful location -- quick walk to Bayview and The Bob In! Only recommendation would be to provide Wifi access. Great place to spend a vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I’m glad you enjoyed your stay Lynn, and thanks for the suggestions.

We rely on guest input to identify areas for improvements . . . high on our list for next year is Wifi and a front porch or patio. Hope you come back to check it out.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful view, great walking tails very close

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This was our first time renting the home and we had a great time. The house is very clean. Noticed a few things that needed fixing but all in all it worked out great. The view each morning and evening was wonderful! The street is quiet and the neighbors were great. It was very close to the walking/bike trail which we took advantage of each day. It would be perfect if we had a front porch to sit on!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Annie, for the wonderful review and reservation for next summer, the location really can’t be beat.

Our favorite guest is a repeat guest, that's why we take special care in cleaning and make fixes and upgrades every year. Hopefully we'll be able to replace the front sitting area with a porch soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Spectacular Views

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

My wife and I were excited to take our 3 grown daughters, son-in-law and grandson to Petoskey for our nephews wedding the first weekend in October. "Stones Throw" was the perfect cottage for our stay. This wonderful older home offers 5 very large bedrooms, a large dining room with a large table that accommodated our entire family for meals and nightly card games, a very nice size kitchen and wonderful deck with table and chairs. The views of the Bay, from the expansive living room window, provided beautiful sunsets. The cottage is located on a small dead-end street which is very close to downtown Petoskey. If you are planning a trip to that area, this is the place to stay! I had the pleasure of dealing with the owner of the property a couple of times prior to our stay. He wanted to insure that we enjoyed our stay and was helpful in giving us suggestions on various activities that were availabale in the area that our 2 year old grandson would enjoy. He promptly responded to my emails and gave me his contact information in case we needed to get in touch with him during our stay. We didn't need to, the cottage was very clean and organized upon our arrival. We felt like we were walking into our own house. The day we returned home, the owner of the property had sent me an email to insure that we enjoyed our stay. He is very focused on providing the best experience he can for his guests. This was the first time my family stayed at "Stones Throw" - it won't be the last!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunsets, Views and Family

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We return to Michigan each Labor Day to visit with family and friends as well as enjoy the "Big Water". We found the Stones Throw last year and fell in love with it. The view out the big picture window is amazing, even on a rainy cold, blustery day, we enjoyed watching the waves roll in and crash on the shore. Of course, the sunsets are glorious. The back deck with its table and chairs is a great addition. We also love the large table for family dining and card playing. The kitchen is spacious enough for more than one cook to be at work. I personally love historic old houses with character, so this regal lady touches my heart. Her history whispers to me each time I walk thru her doors. The shops downtown and the Casino are great nearby amenities. You can even walk up the street and rent kayaks and bikes. And the Bridge, UP and Mackinaw City are only about a 1/2 drive. This location really can't be beat. Can't wait for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Find!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Spacious bedrooms and comfortable beds made for a relaxing stay. The large kitchen and deck, with grill, made dining in a great option. The large dining room table was great for nightly card and board games. It was too warm for a fire, but the beautiful large stone fireplace would be great on a winter weekend! Can't beat the view, the sunsets and the location! Plenty of shopping and dining options nearby! We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunsets galore!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

I have rented in Bay View for years and love the area but the cottages have all acquired a musty, mildewy scent -- until we found Boulder Lane where the owners have been allowed to winterize their houses. This has made for a much tighter seal on rainy days, so much so that we took a chance on a winter visit and were delighted by how cozy the place became.



Of course, as the pictures show, you can't beat the location, with its endless sunsets. And the new deck in back made it easy for the cook to be outside, enjoying the long summer days. Considering the four bedrooms upstairs and one down, this place works for a couple or for a crowd.



We heartily recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beutiful

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

What a nice spot for me and my family, beautiful sunsets, quiet location. Can't wait for the ski season. Perfect for a getaway between Boyne Mountain and the Highlands. Location is fantastic. And well maintained.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, let me know when you have a ski date, we're taking reservations now for the 2011 ski season. It's a great place to enjoy a warm fire after a day of skiing at Boyne or sledding/skating at Petoskey Winter Park. Thanks for staying with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not as clean as I hoped

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

The location is great and the sunsets are fantastic. Upon arrival, we found the place to be very dirty. We spent the first 24 hrs scrubbing the refirgerator, insidae and out. Washing kitchen appliances, floors, bathrooms, etc. I was very disappointed in the lack of cleanliness. The housekeeper is doing a poor job between renters. There were several torn window screens and the exterior is in serious need of work. Our other concern was the musty odor. It has a true Michigan basement with no vapor barrier. In the mornings, the marine layer comes in and the place is covered in a cloud of humidity until the sun gets warm enough to burn it off. I would not recommend this house for a family rental. For some teenagers or college students its probably okay because their expectations prbably wouldnt be as high as mine.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback Lois, I wish you had called me at the time, I would have had the cleaner back immediately to address the issues to make your stay more enjoyable. I understand renters trust me with their vacation time and the first priority is a clean environment, setting the tone for the whole stay. I'm sorry for your disappointment.

Since I was unaware of the issue until now, I spoke with my cleaner to address future concerns. She pointed out that with back to back renters during the summer she has limited time to clean. When renters do not check out on time or leave it excessively dirty it cuts down on the time she has to do a thorough job.

To address this she has agreed to stay until it's thoroughly clean even after arrival of the next renters. I'm also implementing other actions to ensure a clean welcoming environment including scheduling periodic "Spring cleanings" to refresh the cottage during the busy season and follow up emails to each renter. I'm renting the family vacation house, it's not my profession, and I have much to learn.

About half of my renters are repeat including one that rents multiple times per year. To keep their business we keep making improvements including new mattresses, paint inside and out, new and refinished floors, new windows and storms downstairs, new ceiling fans, new back deck, new frig, and more . . . with more to come.

I appreciate your input and will focus more on cleaning. Since you've made it clear you are not interested in a resolution I will consider the matter closed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review