reviews for: listing #11895 - Cortona, Italy Townhome rental

The Small Castle
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cortona, Italy
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (EUR) €80 - €120 /nt
    €480 - €580 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Casa Celeste has been our home away from home for 3 weeks. It is spacious, comfortable, well decorated, and has made our time in Cortona the perfect holiday. For those who wish to cook, the kitchen is well equipped. There is a washing machine for your laundry needs, and a television. The location is close to an entrance to the wall that surrounds the city and parking if you rent a car. Cortona is relatively small, but the Little Castle is close to the main piazza, Della Repubblica, stores, and restaurants.
If two couples are traveling together the layout would provide privacy as the bedrooms are on separate floors and each have a full bathroom. There are also two sitting areas.
The landlords could not be more welcoming and helpful. They provided us with information about the town and surrounding area, where to eat, shop, took us to a local vineyard for wine, olive oil and vinegar, and brought fresh linens as we needed them.
Casa Celeste in a 5 star accommodation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

At Home in Cortona

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Everything about this place exceeded our expectations. The property, the interior, and the furnishing are beautiful, comfortable, and immaculately maintained. I love to cook, and the kitchen was perfect for testing my skills on more than a few Tuscan dishes. But if you don't want to cook while on vacation, you'll find so many wonderful restaurants within a short walk from the castle's front door. Five of us stayed for 12 days and never felt crowded. The two-and-a-half bathrooms have every modern convenience.
Best of all were our gracious hosts...the owners, Fernanda and Carlo. Their recommendations for dining and local sightseeing were perfect.
While I travel to Italy almost every year, and have stayed in some luxury hotels, Cortona and this property made this my best trip ever; AND the rates are an incredible value.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A dream come true!

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

This is a perfect little place for so many reasons. Upon arrival we thought this place is even nicer than in the pictures! We fell in love with "casa celeste"(that is its name) and were sad this would be home for only a week.
Within walking distance one can find all one needs or wants : Baker for breads and pastries, butcher for fresh ham. Fresh pasta shop with homemade sauces and antipasti: all at very reasonable prices. Of course wine shops, restaurants, shopping and even a Museum. This was important to us since we did not want to rent a car.

We made a day trip to Montepulciano! Yes it can be done: bus to Camucia at 8:40 or 9:10(might say Arezzo but ask) Train to Chiusi at 9:33 or 10:33 Then bus to Montepulciano. Make sure you start heading home around 3h30 as the bus ride back will take around an hour. Buy your bus tickets in advance at a Tabachi. On the return train ride make sure you are on the right train! Two trains come at the same time but one does not stop in Camucia. you need the regionale.
We were a bit worried about extra heating costs, but we found it very fair and reasonable.
The house comes prepared for all your needs. Not a thing is missing. Free internet came in handy in the middle of the night when we suffered from jet lag. The two beddrooms are set in such a way that privacy is assured if you are considering travelling with another couple. There is also an extra bathroom (toilet and sink)downstairs for added comfort.
Last but not least, our gracious hosts were very kind and helpful.
This place is a winner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A perfect week

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

My family of 3 boys and my wife enjoyed a magical week in Cortona this month and Casa Celeste was central to our stay. Lorenzo, Fernanda and Carlo were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed bumping into them throughout town during our stay. The "castle" feels exactly like that with it's own well indoors, thick stone walls, and some etruscan ruins in the alley next door if you are lucky enough to get a tour. The location was perfect...quiet yet close to everything including parking just outside of "the wall". Both this rental and the town of Cortona are optimal to take advantage of everything Tuscan or Umbrian as we took many day trips to surrounding towns, vineyards and attractions, comfortably getting back "home" for a great dinner, gelato, and nighttime fun in the piazza. Could not recommend this location enough and look forward to future visits. Thank you Lorenzo, Fernanda & Carlo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect location and beautiful home!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

We arrived in Cortona the 1st week of October hoping to avoid the tourist season. Doug turned to me and said "this is the most beautiful place we've ever been!". After Lorenzo met us and drove us to Casa Celeste, we were simply awestruck. This wonderful townhome is perfectly situated in Cortona proper so we could walk to the Piazza, local restaurants and shops in a matter of minutes. The owners came to greet us that evening and they were so kind and truly devoted to making sure their accommodation was to our satisfaction. It felt like you stepped back in time 500 yrs. yet, every modern convenience was provided. We had trouble with our rental car and Carlo went out of his way to make calls on our behalf. The sounds of gentle church bells rang each morning and the sunrise called us to walk to overlook the gorgeous Tuscan valley. We could have gone sightseeing from Florence to many other places, but we just stayed right there all week. The Saturday market brought great deals on everything Italian made. If you choose to stay in Casa Celeste. While other tourists have to drive down the winding roads from Cortona, you'll be relaxing in your well appointed home enjoying a glass or two of the "vino de locale". Don't forget to sign the guest book, we gave it to them, so wrote the first review. Take a walk back in time and breathe in the glorious Tuscan landscapes at Casa Celeste! 5 *'s!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Small Castle in Cortona, Italy

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

We arrived at the small Castle in Cortona after getting directions and getting helplessly lost. Our guide found us outside the gates of the city and guided us to it. When we walked through the doors, we were very excited. The place is beautiful and comfortable. The kitchen is servicable and unique. There is a washer and dishwasher as well. Being inside the city was quite helpful as you can walk anywhere in Cortona from the small Castle. I thoroughly recommednd this place to anyone who wishes to visit Cortona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

A Little bit of Paradise

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

I, like so many others, fell in love with Cortona after seeing the film, "Under the Tuscan Sun". I wanted to get away, if only for a short time, and feel what it must be like to "stop the bus", and live a new lifestyle. Casa Celeste was perfect, in every way. Even the photographs on the website cannot capture how beautiful the little castle is. It is in the ideal location, quiet, yet just moments from the Piazza. Every detail in the home has been designed with style, and I couldn't have asked for a more ideal place to spend my Cortona vacation, whether the sun was out or not.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review