reviews for: listing #11958 - St Martin/Maarten, Caribbean House rental

Spectacular Dawn's Beach Ocean villa
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dawns Beach estates
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,900 - $4,700 /wk

sort by:

great villa for beautiful vacations

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

This is the 4th villa that I have rented from the owner, and as always, no surprises. Just abeautiful home with fantastic views and great security. All you have to do is walk down the hill and you are in the spectacul ocean, with luxury resorts very close with gambling and fabulous restaurants. As with all the properties I have rented with Our Rental Paradise there is never a problem of cleanliness/maintenance or wonderful locations. The owner has been very responsive to any of my concerns and whether you are staying in a fabulous ski chalet in New Hampshire or Vermont or on St. John in the Virgin Islands you are in good hands with these owners. They sure know what vacationers are looking for. I would and have recommended our rental paradise to all my friends knowing that they will be treated well and find a fabulous villa awaiting them when they arrive. A true first class experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to see West coast customers come to the Caribbean instead of Hawaii.

This customer has been a repeat guest for several years now, which is what we like to see. john, owner.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Thanksgiving at St. Marteen

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

The veiw from the house is breath taking and the pool is very nice. Owners should not advertise that it sleeps 12 to 14 unless the clean up and care for the the place. The Basement entrance to the separated two bedroom addition that could be rented separately is a musty enclosed area with very poor air conditioning. House was very liveable but poor maintenace is showing. Main living area upstairs air conditioning never worked and caretaker said it was upto the owners for approval. Matteress's in master bedroom are terrible. TV was unusable and caretaker was to take care of and never did. Quality of home did not live up to what we paid for.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really nice stay

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Hi Carrie,

You asked us about our enjoyment of our trip to st. Martin and it was a perfect ten !

The house has amazing views. It really is wonderful to wake up and see the panorama of the beach and the islands of St. Bart and Anguilla in the distance.

Weather was gorgeous so we were in the ocean several times a day and hit many different beaches on both sides of the island. But your beach, Dawns may be the very best. Pretty good snorkelling there also but you had to swim out aways to get to the coral.

We had a problem with the refrigerator but your house keeper came over and re-started it so it was then fine. Just letting you know.

We did have a few power outages but I guess that's island living.

We would like to return to St. Martin in the winter months so we'll be in touch.

Sincerely, Helen B.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing View, but needs work.

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

The view from this house in Dawn Beach Estates is amazing, and the house is very large and in good condition, however it needs some attention. We found the property to be less than accurate in the listing description. The house seems to have been abandoned by the owner. The yard is completely over grown and the outside of the house is in dire need of cleaning/painting. .
The decor is a hodge podge of colors and very used furniture with mismatched drapes.The mattresses in the master bedroom are completely worn out. We slept in a downstairs bedroom. The linens were clean, but have seen better days. The den furniture had slip covers that were ripped and had an odor. The only TV in the house gets 6 cable channels. Five of the channels are gospel stations, and the other channel is the guide. We explained to the caretaker that the satellite wasn't working and he contacted the owner, but the satellite was never turned on. As far as the free long distance to the Sates, the house does have a computer, but they subscribed to a trail period for magic jac that ran out by Wednesday and we had just arrived on the Sunday prior. As far as towels in the house, there were plenty, but after searching through the entire house I was only able to find 2 washcloths for two people for eight days.
The infinity pool was wonderful and the pool guy did come to clean the pool. The view from the pool could be like the picture, but the palm trees and various plants are overgrown and obstruct your view.
The caretaker of the property is very nice and responded quickly to our request to repair a sliding glass door that was broken. He was very kind and helpful. The issues that need to be address are the result of the owner not the caretaker. The property is up for sale and that my explain its condition.
This property just needs some TLC and it would be paradise.

Owners response: Due to the drought all landscaping had to be negated as no watering was allowed for 6 weeks. But the landscapers did trim back the trees to improve the view. Cable company came and fixed the box so it gets about 50 stations now. The Magic jack needs to be recharged annually but unless someone tells the care-taker, he doesn't think to check it. On our website are more recent reviews of people who had a fantastic time, and very reasonable rental rates. Custom made cushions have recently been done over for the indoor and outdoor furniture also.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2011

Third year in a row we've stayed at this beautiful home on the best island in the Caribbean, we feel.

John, I did fix the ice maker in the freezer however as the arm keeps getting stuck so we did have plenty of cocktail ice, fortunately.

Beautiful views, comfortable house, very clean and contemporary so you could not ask for a nicer, more relaxing vacation.

Next year will be 4 in a row. btw, love those low fall rates and cheap airfare as well.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent vacation

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

In the words of my kids, this house rocks!

Love the island, beaches and this beautiful big villa.

We are planning on staying here again in the fall for the discounted rates

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

What a great vacation. Thanks so much Carrie for your guidance and sending us the sheet with all the nice things to do on that beautiful island of St. Martin.

The house was terrific but the views I can't even describe. We parked our butts on the patios after exploring the town and other beaches so cocktails at 4pm were the norm. sunsets were glorious. Your caretaker and his wife were very nice as we had a few questions about the house. Very helpful people.

Book us in same week next year

my best to you and John. Henry.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Amazing Vacation!

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

I took my family to this vacation home on Dawn's Beach, hoping that it would live up to our expectations. Well, it didn't live up to our expectations...it exceeded them by a million! This is, hands down, the best vacation villa we've ever stayed in. We vacation A LOT and are pretty discriminating about our accommodations, but this was so much better than we could have imagined. The villa has amazing views down to the beach, a gorgeous pool, brightly painted room, amazing snorkeling and swimming and is located in a gated community. There is incredible local dining, the people are friendly, and the living is easy! We never wanted to leave, and will be booking our next vacation with ourrentalparadise, for sure!
Thanks for the vacation of a lifetime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unbelievable views and location!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

I spent a week in St. Maarten at this amazing home and I have never had a better vacation in my life! The views are amazing, the location is to die for and the attention to detail in unparalleled! It was literally steps to the beach, the nearby restaurants were incredible and when we were done for the day, there was no better way to end it that to sit on the balcony overlooking the ocean and sip a cocktail (or two!) The property description was accurate, the layout of the home was perfect for our two groups and the caribbean-themed colors were excellent! I absolutely cannot wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

St. Maarten is beautiful

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Hi John,

This is the 3rd time we've stayed at your Dawns beach house and we had another great trip.

St. Martin is our favorite Caribbean island, very international and being gourmets we always have dinner once or twice on the French side in Grand Case or Marigot towns. It never disappoints though 3 hours of fine dining can make you sleepy.

The house was comfortable with awesome views set up high above one of the best beaches we've ever visited.

The kids were in the ocean 3-4 times a day and me too.

Ms. Busby's beach bar, per your recommendation had $ 1 beers at 4pm happy hour so we often were there and met a bunch of nice tourists and locals.

you built a beautiful house and the views reall make it.

my best, Joanne N

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Best vacation of our lives. We think St. Martin is the nicest place in the Caribbean we've ever visited though there's a few we have not yet tried.

We don't care for St. Bart's but this house looks right over to that island.

House is big and beautiful and must be worth a few million dollars with the views and sleeping of 14 people which we take advantage of.

Internet was out the week we were there, but we didn't care much. Watched a little CNN to see what was going on the world but most of our time was spent in the pool, on the patio and balcony and exploring the beautiful island. Lots to do on St. Martin, both Dutch and French side

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

This is our third stay at this villa and we'll be back again since the first was our honeymoon trip.

To say the views are outstanding is an understatement. You're up high above the beach and when I tell you beaches don't get better than Dawn beach, you'd better believe it. there's also a new Westin hotel on the beach which oddly is never too crowded though it has a nice pool.

House is real nice with a huge eat in kitchen, but we're always outside eating or drinking or just staring at the views. The rates are very reasonable for such a big house so we usually have 8-10 of us sharing the cost.

Winter is best time to go of course. Nice shopping in downtown Phillipsburg also just a 15 minute car ride. We definitely prefer the fine French restaurants but Captain Olivers is right at the end of Dawn beach and is actually on the french side so it's a 5 minute ride. Philippe is the GM and he's very accomodating and you dine right on the water watching the boats come in and out.

The owner has another house on the ocean but that's a little pricey for our budget. Maybe some day.

Cheers, Peter and Sally A./New Brunswick

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed our trip to St. Martin

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Carrie, we wanted to let you know how much fun we had at your St. Martin house (or is it spelled St. Maarten?).

As you said, the views were gorgeous and just sitting out in the morning with my coffee looking at that ocean view and St. Barth's island in the distance was as good as it gets.

We had some problems with the satellite tv during the rainstorm one day but it was fine after that though it really rains down there when it decides to.

we took your advice and did a snorkelling trip on a party boat and met some fellow New Yorkers and the free cocktails made the boat ride back quite a trip.

Your house was lovely and we'll book again for this fall we hope.

regards, Samantha

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What you see isn't what you get

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

"My wife and I and 3 other middle aged couples stayed at this villa for 2 weeks(25 Feb/10 to 11 Mar/10.We have stayed at Homeaway properties on 2 other islands,and were more than pleased with properties and the way they were represented in descriptions.The property info is incomplete and inaccurate.The pictures provided are at least 5 years old,and believe me things have changed.The property requires some serious attention,with no attention given to basic maintenance.Patio doors/windows don't work,toilets are blocked,furniture is broken,dated,dirty and there isn't an intact screen in any window.Entrance doors don't lock,garage doors openers don't work,security gates are broken.Two of the bedrooms are outside the main villa,and require a walk outside the main building.(Something that isn't mentioned in the property description)The condition of this ensuite is worse than the main building.The cell phone provided wasn't loaded with minutes ,as promised,and the barbecue didn't have propane(only 2 of 4 burners worked.Kitchen range ran out of propane.Views pictured from the pool area are dated,as trees and vegetation has grown to completely obstruct beach views from pool.The pool jets were not working 6 of 14 days we were there.We had to reset timers,and clean pool.Local contact provided is unavailable,and non responsive to any concerns, and repeated correspondence with owner resolved nothing.The villa's cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Mould is in every shower,windows are filthy,some bedding hadn't been changed from previous guests,and there is an ant infestation. The walk to the beach is very difficult,especially going back,all uphill.Saying this,the views of the beach and ocean from the upper level are outstanding.The island people are wonderful,and there is lots to do.Great beaches,terrific restaurants and great shopping.

Owners response: the house is in very clean condition as the owner was just there 6 weeks ago.

The propane did run out but was promptly re-filled.

We buy high quality linens and replace them each year with two sets for each bed.

A pool service cleans the pool twice a week, often when the guests are out during the day.

We keep several cell phones but a previous guest took one home by accident and it is now returned.

a free computer telephone is provided called magic jack

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

our St. Maarten vacation

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Hi Susan and John,

I don't know if we ever told you how great our week was in St. Maarten.

We swam, drank, played in the waves, drank and ate all week until we couldn't do it anymore.

We've told so many people about your great house. I was just emailing a friend of mine who takes a family vacation with her giant family. She wanted your info.

The house was very clean and I loved the tropical colors you selected. Love that Santo Domingo coffee in the can also and very reasonably priced at the big supermarket.

Hopefully we can do business with you all again soon. regards, Kecia.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This house is incredible !

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

(emailed from the st. Maarten house to John) Just a real short note... will follow up with more detail later... I am writing this from #78's computer in paradise... I just had to... we arrived last saturday (April 25ish... time loses significance down here)... arrived wondering if this place could live up to expectations... It has FAR EXCEEDED those expectations... John if you are visiting your web site... thank you man... this place is incredible... anyone wondering if it lives up to the pics on the website... have no doubts... it is... that word again.. incredible...

I'll add another note when we return home... i need to go out on the balcony and enjoy those views john describes as "to die for"... have I said it's incredible yet????

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back next year to St. Martin

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

Another wonderful year here! a few rainy shower days than normal but we made the best of it at Ms Busbys on the beach (bar).

We love what you did with the house. so clean and inviting.

Again snorkeling was excellent at the association beach and the friendly turtles. Great memories for these New Jersey natives.

Just sitting around the pool with that big view of all the nearby islands with a cocktail makes it worthwhile.

Loved grilling fish after cocktails each night with the local veggies and a nice french wine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See you next year in St. Maarten (again)

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

We just returned from your beautiful home (St. Maarten)and wanted to thank you for allowing us to use your wonderful villa.

We had a great vacation and enjoyed the island very much.

The people there are very friendly and the beach was gorgeous. (stayed May 2009)

we'll be back next year hopefully in the winter months.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ready to go back to St. Maarten again next year.

Review submitted: February 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

thank you so much for our stay at your house 78 Dawn beach estates (St. Maarten).

The house was great and we had a super time. can't wait to go back.

The housekeepers who let us in were wonderful and the house was perfect. We also meet Kyle and Steve your workers and they were awesome as well. we had a lot of fun. regards, Chris M. (4th visit)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

just found your guest book/wonderful vacation in SXM

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Just found this guest book! We stayed in Dawn's beach (house # 78) this past summer - fabulous! The view was breathtaking and the home incredible! My kids talk about how they want to go back anytime a vacation is mentioned. My husband and I couldn't agree more. Your staff was very courteous and accommodating to our needs. we would definitely consider another trip
to one of your villas!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time in Caribbean, now we're considering your ski houses

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2008

Hi John, A few years ago, I along with some friends rented your Dawns beach property and it was the best vacation we ever had together, and we've done quite a few.

I appreciate getting your emails and alerting me to what is happening and specials.

This year we're interested in renting one of your Stowe VT homes for 3 nights so we'll contact you about that.

happy new year, Gail C.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My family's Great trip to ST Maarten

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

Great views/ Amazing waking up over looking St Barts Wow.

The house is perfect for a big family. You have a huge open kitchen and living room for everyone to be in which was great from my family.

The new security alarm system was a great new security for are family we had stayed last year on the French side and felt people were watching us which scared my family.
The security system gave us all secuirty.

The gated driveway and the nice garage was great for the family car stays safe and cool all day long another great benifit to the home.

Great Sleeping accomidations as well were nice.

Nice pool for the whole family to use daily.

Loved having Internet so i could check my work whiile on vacation. Plus being out of the US you usually do not have DSL internet great benifit to the home.

We had a catered meal on the big patio with the family great fun.


Tons of stuff to do on st Maarten, Beachs wind surfing site seeing was great. Trips to ST barts and Saba great time

Can’t believe how nice dawns beach is for swimming and snorkeling and only down the hill was great.

Having the westin walking distance is nice. Are family loves to Gamble so we could only have to drive down the hill and be at a 5 star resort and feel safe unlike the casinos in Philpsburg.

I’ve also stayed at this owner’s ski house in Sunday river.
What a great place.

I loved staying at Dawns beach this was are family's second time at the house in 3 years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review