reviews for: listing #11989 - Montauk, New York House rental

Home with Incredible 180 degree Views
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper Sheppards Neck
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,200 /nt
    $5,000 - $8,000 /wk
    $20,000 - $32,000 /mth

sort by:

Tremendous!

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

My family and I had never been to Montauk before so we did not know what to expect. Starting from the rental process all the way through the end of our vacation we could not have been more pleased. The house is amazing with plenty of room. We had six adults and seven children and there was room to spare. The owners and the cleaning staff have done a great job making sure that your every need is covered. The pool was awesome and having the heater certainly helped on those days when the temp didnt rise above 70. Where the house is situated in relation to town was great as well. Overall just a great experience and highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: This is the response we strive for!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful home!!!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

I am so happy we stumbled across this rental home online. I can't rave enough about it!! My daughter invited 8 of her friends for a "Sweet 16 Weekend" and the home was plenty big enough to accommodate everyone, with room to spare. The house was immaculate, new...on a scale of 1-10 I give it a 10.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Another successful memory We love it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

First visit to Montauk

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

Dianne - Missouri
This was the first time I rented a home and first time to go to Montauk. Both did not dissapoint me or the rest of the family. The location is great with easy access to town, beaches, etc. Home was immaculate and contemporary. It's obvious the owners take good care of their property.The large kitchen and dinning area were ideal with so many cooks in the kitchen.
I think everyone would like to return in future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We love to hear about the pleasure our home provides to others. We look forward to repeat visits.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Mom's surprise 60th!!

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to this rental. Once again, it was a great vacation. This house is amazing and it is always sad to leave. I surprised my mom for her 60th birthday with a weekend getaway with family. Everyone loved the house and were talking about when we can do it again. Carol and Bill (the owners) are always helpful and on point. Never a problem. I would 100% recommend renting this property. I have now been there twice for bachelorette parties and once with family (all ages from 10 months to old farts and everyone enjoyed it the same!

Owners response: We love to help our guest build memories for every generation. Although this home is great for large groups it is in a lovely residential neighborhood and does have outside quiet hours after 10pm out of respect for your year round neighbors.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway!!!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

This house was a perfect fit for our family vacation in Montauk. My husband and I have been going out to Montauk for a decade so we are very familiar with the rentals there. We now need bigger houses because we have two young boys, grandparents and nannies who also accompany us on our vacations. This house is spacious, clean, close to town with gorgeous views of the water on all sides. The neighborhood is great for walking or bike riding and is close to a bunch of great restaurants and bars.

The kitchen is wide open with two sinks and two dishwashers. There are three large tables for entertaining--one in the kitchen, one on the front porch (beside the grill) and one on the side of the house in a screened in area. The playroom downstairs kept my boys busy with ping pong and air hockey. The upstairs bedrooms all had balconies with beautiful water views.

The pool is a walk down to the bottom of the driveway, but having two young boys it worked as an extra safety precaution. The area by the pool stays sunny until evening.

I would highly recommend this house for a Montauk vacation!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so happy when guests enjoy everything the house has to offer. We look forward to providing this opportunity to anyone interested.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We had a lovely time at your home. Everything we needed,except for the Air Hockey puck, was provided. The views were incredibleand the location of the pool is particularly nice. We felt like we were at a private resort. I have been to Montauk many times but this is by far our favorite rental house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled that the overall experience was positive but hate that even one item was not perfect. We strive to meet all your needs during a stay, alas the disappearing puck could not be replaced before the rental ended!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect vacation rental

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

This is a great house for a family vacation. The house and property are well kept and the layout is user friendly. We especially enjoyed the kitchen, the dining area and great room. The house is centrally located - close to the beaches and the town while away from the noise and congestion of the town.
There are many places to eat and enjoy evening activities.
Our family enjoyed biking, hiking, sun bathing and just having fun being together.
I would definitely recommend the property to a friend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We love to be part of making memories and giving guests the opportunity to reconnect and spend fun time together. Try it and we think you will agree.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Having never rented a home via an online service before, I was skeptical that the photos and property description would not match the actual home. Upon our first entry into this home, we had only seen the foyer and kitchen area when my wife excitedly remarked, " Do you think we can rent here next year!" After seeing the entire property, we could not have been happier with this home. The spacious common areas were perfect for our group of fourteen, and allowed quality family time in the dining room and den with room to spare. The game room was a perfect get-a-away for the kids, and the pool was an attraction for all of us. The quality and cleanliness of the furniture, appliances and decor were beyond our expectations. The beaches, town and attractions were minutes away, and therefore very accessable to our group. I can easily recommend this property to a prospective renter, as I cannot think of a single negative comment to share regarding this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive to make our home feel like your home for each and every guest. We know we are doing something right every time we get to hear about a guests enjoyable stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Trip

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

This house was perfect for our family trip with 10 people. The house is spacious and nicer even than the pictures. Great views, great location, big kitchen with everything you need, plenty of dining space. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. The younger family members really enjoyed the game room. The pool area was very nice and sheltered on windy days. Plenty of parking space. No one wanted to leave. The owners were great to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelorette Weekend

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We went with 9 girls for a bachelorette weekend and it was perfect! The house was beautiful and clean-great kitchen for all of us to cook in and so quiet and beautiful by the pool. We all really enjoyed our stay and would love to return again. We loved how close it was to everything-. Easy for us to take cabs to dinner. Carol was great to work with -she was super responsive to any questions we had prior to the trip.
Thanks for such a great and memorable stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased when the house is enjoyed by others as much as we enjoy it. Providing an opportunity to be together and build memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

It was upsetting not to wake up in the beautiful home this morning! This house is absolutely amazing and was the most perfect way to start our Summer.
It is spacious, clean, and in a great location. Great kitchen for cooking & lovely pool for relaxation. Balconies outside of each bedroom made for cozy sunset views.
I'd recommend this house to anyone looking for a luxurious weekend escape in the best beach town around. I know we will be heading back as soon as possible :)

Owners response: The house is perfect for weekends, so why not consider for a full week! Just one note, although the balconies have great views at sunset, they are not actually sunset views.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach Wedding

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We had a great stay….wonderful house, wonderful location, wonderful weather all added up to a memorable stay highlighted by the wedding on the beach!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great family reunion house

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

This house surpassed our expectations. The photos do not do it justice. The house is spotless.
The large kitchen allowed our three gourmet cooks to create meals together. We served dinner for our entire family plus visiting friends ( 15 people) very comfortably. There are a lot of steps but after all that food they were a plus.
The views - especially from the upper decks- are spectacular. Having 4 1/2 bathrooms for 11 people made
life very easy. The game room entertained the younger set on the one day of rain. We spent much of the time
at the beach but the pool was always used at the end of each day. Some of us walked to the town beach and some of us drove to Hither Hills Park beach which has all the facilities. ( $10 per day to park).

The fishermen ( and boy) among us chartered a boat and caught 26 fish!!
We ate our traditional lobster birthday dinner at Duryea's dock - the quintessential lobster"shack" on the bay.

We are a far flung family but had spent many long ago summers in Montauk. This time no one wanted to leave.
It was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Always glad to hear about the wonderful times and memories created in our Montauk home. This is one of the reasons we decided to share it when we were not enjoying it ourselves.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay with family!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

A wonderful Montauk home! Spacious enough for my whole extended family. We enjoyed the fantastic views and private pool very much. The kitchen was perfect and had everything we needed. This vacation was a family get away and it was truly one of the best we've had. I highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive to make sure the house has plenty of space for easy together time and for some time alone or with a smaller group.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

We had a great time in Montauk! You house is beautiful and my guests and I enjoyed our time there. Despite the weather, we spent a lot of time out of the house - fishing, golfing, etc. ...I made sure your house was treated with respect in hopes of a future stay there. Thanks again! Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A spectacular home

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

The house was just as beautiful as the pictures were and moreso. The location is near enough to town, yet you feel as though you are far away in a very peaceful setting. The layout is perfect - with plenty of room for everyone to have "their space" when needed yet with plenty of room for togetherness. The house is certainly well-maintained, planned and with all the amenities you could want. We would certainly highly recommend it to any of our friends.

The beaches are all beautiful - you can park free on most streets leading to the beach and walk the very short block. The lighthouse and Gosmaan's dock with its several restaurants and shops, are both a must as well as the little shops in town. The Harvest is another must for dinner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We strive to provide a peaceful setting but want you close to everything you want to do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing once again!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

This was my second visit to this house. I can honestly say, every single one of us were sad to leave on sunday. I know for sure this will not be our last time. The house is beautiful. There is so much room, I love that the kitchen can sit everyone. We spent most of our time out on the balcony. The weather was crappy otherwise we would of been at the pool! The house is so clean and spacious. It really had everything that we needed and more. The fact that 13 woman can all get ready at once says it all!!! :) Csn't wait to come back! Maybe this time well let the guys come.. MAYBE!

Owners response: Since we do not have control over the weather, we try to plan for those inevitable bad weather days. We have a great recreation room with a pool/air hockey table, table tennis and plenty of board games. You also have access to a DVD player and on demand movies.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful home!!

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

This is our third summer staying at this beautiful home in Montauk and once again we had an amazing time! The home is clean and well-stocked with all the amenities you need for happy adults and children! It is perfectly located to both beach and town and easily walkable if you need. The owners were very thorough and responsive to any need or concern we had. I would highly recommend this home to a friend, I just hope I can get to it first!! LOL!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We strive to make this the home you want to keep returning to and it is always a pleasure when someone does.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer in Montauk

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Good flexible house. Would have been helpful to have a floor plan to understand locations and adjacencies of rooms...Good customer service...Would recommend to a friend. Extras like the pool, game room, open and screened outside eating areas were a huge plus. And wonderful to have a washing machine and dryer. Weof course had to drive to the beaches, so parking was a challenge. Enjoyed the lighthouse, shopping and Gosman's Restaurant. Food shopping is expensive! The fact the pool was so securely fenced and not right by the house, assured my son and his toddlers that safety was not a concern.

I wish it was not so expensive to rent.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation in Montauk

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

We really enjoyed the house and the pool is great. Lots of deck area for entertaining, really good sound system, kitchen very spacious and modern. Overall, really nice place and excellent location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Rental for 4th of July Weekend

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

I would highly recommend this house for your stay in Montauk. The house is so nicely appointment and has everything you could want... including two dishwashers for easy cleanup!

We had an amazing weekend at this house in Montauk and can't wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We love when guests want to return; it means we are doing something right.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

End of school getaway

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

I wanted to write and thank you for renting us your house last week. The house is absolutely beautiful! Very comfortable, plenty of room for all, unbelievable views. The weather was perfect for the week to boot! Unfortunately we never found the turtle despite much searching by the kids. But we did get to see some deer and bunnies in the early morning. All in all it was a wonderful family trip that my kids will be talking about for a long time. Thank you for helping us make great memories!

Thank you again,

Jodie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review