reviews for: listing #11993 - Isle of Palms, South Carolina Condo rental

222 Sea Cabin - Oceanfront - Pool /Pier -Short Stay SPECIALS
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $143 - $255 /nt
    $715 - $1,275 /wk

sort by:

GA girls weekend!

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

Acquired this listing at the last minute and was very impressed with not only the location but the cleanliness and accessibility to restaurants, etc.--plus Charleston was only a short distance away and we enjoyed that!! The owners were very responsive to my e-mails and I would definitely come back again to this unit!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Seniors

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay the unit was very clean with great views. I just wish the bedroom was a little larger so you could get out on
both sides of the bed it was not ideal to craw to the end of the bed to get up.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our first trip to Sea Cabins

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The owner provided good customer service. The unit was very nice and very functional for our family. The only downside was the laundry. This was the first time staying in a unit and had no idea that getting clean bath towels and washclothes would be so difficult. We called to see about getting our dirty ones exchanged but much to our surprise the manager told us to do so it would cost around $20 to do so or wash them ourselves. Well naturally I prompted to wash them, but much to our surprise the little laundry area did not have a change machine. After much hassle over finding enough change, the dryers did not dry in one cycle, therefore, creating more headache for me more than once during our stay. Other than the whole laundry catastrophe.... it was a pleasant visit and would recommend again. Thank you.

Owners response: Sorry for the delay responding to this comment; we have been working the association board to install new equipment in the laundry room
The laundry facilities have been upgraded in the pool house. You will find brand new front load washers and dryers....the place looks great.

We have worked with our cleaning company to provide additional towels in the condo. We do also offer a towel exchange at a charge of $25; this is included in the confirmation letter with every booking.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Overall the stay was nice. The condo is located within a few minutes walk time to numerous shops and restaurants. The beach and pool are a short walk across the parking lot. The condo is a bit small but we did not spend much time there accept to sleep and shower. They only allow for 1 towel per person for a 7 day stay which can get a little gross after spending all day in the sand. There are laundry facilities, however they take FOREVER. I spent 3 1/2 hours doing a load of towels one afternoon because the dryers would not dry. This is a property issue and not an owner issue, other than more towels would have eliminated having to do laundry. Also, if you have small children and are planning to use the bunk beds, be aware that they are very narrow (not a true twin bed) and the top bunk is high with no railing. We had issues with the TV while we were there and they were attended to quickly.

Owners response: Please note the laundry facility has been updated with new front load washers and dryers. We also offer a mid week [or any time] towel exchang for a fee.

If you think you are going to need more towels....let us know and we can make those arrangements for you.

Relax & Enjoy - we want everyone to have a great and enjoyable stay at IOP.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good overall; clean but small

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

PROS: 1) The property was as advertised: very clean (I'm very picky too), well-appointed, well-stocked with items, comfortable bed, nice TV, plenty of beach stuff (chairs, umbrella, toys, floats). 2) Good for the price! 3) Owners are very easy to deal with and helpful. 4) Plenty of towels for 2 people. 5) Pool is decent size. 6) Private pier is nice. 7) Beach area is good in low tide. 8) Saw dolphins by pier!
CONS: 1) As stated in another review, the biggest issue was with the tub draining. It didn't. You would easily be up to your shins by the time you finished your shower. Wouldn't take a bath because of residue that remained in the tub. Nasty, really. This was addressed as an issue in March and it's still a BIG problem. 2) the view of the ocean is obstructed by the palm trees. A pretty view, and you can see parts of the ocean, but the trees get in the way. Not their fault - trees grow! 3) Pool was having problems while we were there - didn't get it really fixed till the last day. 4) Not a problem for us, but there is no elevator in the place and the common laundry room is across the parking lot. Recommend only 2 adults stay there; more than 2 adults, 2 small kids would be very tight. 5) Sandwiched right between 2 public beach areas, so weekends are VERY crowded on the beach. High tide doesn't give you much room with crowds of public there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Please folks, if we are fortunate enough to earn your stay, please let us know if you are experiencing an issue. We will address it straight-away!
Under no circumstances should you not fully enjoy your holiday. We live on the island, employ a local manager, and have an entire team of professionals focused on keeping this condo and our other properties in top shape.

It is not fair to assume we allowed a drain to remain clogged. Sand and hair can quickly clog a drain, but a drain can be unclogged even quicker (less than 5 minutes). As stated in this review and others, we take great pride in providing a comfortable, clean, well equipped places to Relax & Enjoy!

Regarding the Palm Trees: Our main photo of our web site is taken from the balcony of this condo in May of 2012. This is the "Isle of Palms" and we believe this is a great view of the ocean, beach, and yes a few Palm trees.

This is a walk-up condo and we advertise a maximum of 4 people.
We are allowed to have 6 people stay, but you must ask permission and we make it very clear the size of the condo. If you want a more space, we do have a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo or a 3 bedroom 2 bath cottage.

The condo is in the heart of the action, which means you can walk to everything and you do have the park right next door for the kids to play. We also equip the condos with back-pack beach chairs so if you want to take a short walk you can find a quitter part of the beach, you can do so with ease. There are miles of pristine beach in both directions.

By the way, all beaches are public in South Carolina. And yes we can have large tidal swings. It also means you can have a 50 to 100 yards or more of beach with cool tidal pools. It also reflects the fact this is a fairly shallow beach area and many of us enjoy being able to can walk out into the ocean.

Come Relax & Enjoy...

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great condo

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We loved the condo! It was the best vacation! Loved the space, kitchen and living area were a nice size. The beach chairs and toys were a nice touch.
We will absolutely stay again. Recommend for families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful Retreat!

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Our experience at the Sea Cabins on Isle of Palms was made perfect by the care and attention given to us by the property owners. We will definitely rent this place again when we return to the Charleston area. The location and amenities lack nothing! Clean, easy to walk to restaurants and shops, comfortable. We can't say enough good about this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great (but small) beach getaway rental

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Three girl friends and I met up for a reunion of sorts in March. We had great weather and enjoyed the beach access and pool (although we had hoped the pool area would have a hot tub/jacuzzi - satellite images were misleading, the smaller pool is a baby pool). We also liked that it was in walking distance to some restaurants and bars in Isle of Palms - we had a fun night out at the Windjammer. Plus, Charleston was also pretty convenient by car.

The place itself did feel a little small for 4 adults - although there were plenty of beds and the sofa bed was fine to sleep on, there is hardly any room to put suitcases. We definitely managed, but we all agreed 6 adults would be pretty impossible.

Arrival/check-in, parking, check-out, etc were all easy and well organized. The place was nicely clean when we arrived. And compared to other rentals in the area or the hotels down the road, we were very happy with the price.

The only actual complaint we have was that the shower did not drain well at all - By the time each person would finish showering, the tub was quite full and took a very long time to drain for the next person. But once they fix the drain, I would definitely recommend the place for any family or group of friends looking for a laid-back beach vacation!

Owners response: This is not a huge condo. We advertise a maximum of 4 people.
And for a family of four this can be an inexpensive way to be oceanfront.

Shower drains on the beach can be flowing fine but sand and hair can make quick work to clog, but don't let this be an issue. Each guest has our phone numbers and our local manager's cell. One call and we'll have it sorted out straight-away.

You are always welcome to call so please Relax & Enjoy...

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Lovely Beachfront Condo!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

This condo was a perfect choice for our honeymoon! The full kitchen gave us the ability to cook if we desired, but the location is close enough to many places to eat that you don't have to!

The description was very accurate, and the condo is well appointed, and well maintained.

The owner was very friendly and accommodating. I would love to rent from them again!

I would highly recommend this property to a friend or family member!

The property is located very close to many restaurants and activities - there is a private (fishing) pier, private access to the beach, as well as a strip of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Isle of Palms is also very close to Mt. Pleasant and Charleston - we spent much time in Downtown/Historic Charleston enjoying the wonderful restaurants (Halls Chophouse is a MUST!), the beautiful sights (I would recommend a carriage tour - we got a Groupon for ours and it made it very reasonable), as well as the shopping (King Street has a ton of shops - and if you are a culinary person - East Bay features a wonderful shop that also offers cooking demonstrations!) Mount Pleasant also has many great shopping, with a ton of consignment shops, as well as restaurants, and activities such as a pirate themed Amusement Place called BlackBeard's Cove! They have go karts, a rock climbing wall, miniature golf (two courses) and an arcade and climbing area for kids indoors. (We had a yuupon for this place, which made it a great deal!) We really enjoyed the close proximity to everything, and the freedom to do whatever we chose, whether it was relax, or go out and do things.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

My family had a wonderful time in August. It is a perfect location.Very relaxing.Can't wait to return. Very clean and cozy condo. Thanks for the treats and koozies..thoughtful touch!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Location!

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Four girlfriends stayed at this property for a Girls Weekend Getaway. The condo was exactly as described, and was well-stocked in the kitchen. The location is unbeatable - oceanfront and with restaurants & activities within close walking distance.

Additionally, the owners were very responsive and helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

My sons and I stayed at this condo and it was exactly as described. The property was very clean and well kept. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or family member. We were within walking distance to some great restaurants. The only "con" is that you have to carry the laundry up and down the stairs to the laundry room which was not air conditioned and extremely hot inside. Not everyone came back to pick up their laundry when it was done so often times you are stuck there waiting for them to show up BUT this is not the owners responsibitity.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Enjoy this get away!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

I was very pleased with this newly renovated Sea Cabin rental. The kitchen was awesome w/ granite countertops and new stove/oven. The decor was color with nice flat screen TV! Kae had a little basket of snack goodies and treats waiting for us when we arrived. Very clean, wonderful view and easy access to everything. Thank you for the wonderful week that will be always remembered as a very special time!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Awesome

Review submitted: September 5, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

It was great -- beautiful room, location and room

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review