reviews for: listing #12026 - Xcalak, Yucatan Hotel rental

Sin Duda Villas: Imaginative, intimate beachside "inn"
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  Hotel
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $75 - $216 /nt
    $350 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Horseshoes too

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2008

"We enjoyed returning to the daily cycle of the sun since time became irrelevant. Sin Duda provided a wonderful place to relax and recharge. It was great to see Robert and Margo again after so many years. Also .... don't forget --I'm leaving as the current 'Shoe Champ'.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Skane, Sweden

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

"A starry night on the Laguna Room balcony with a sky bursting with stars was the back-drop of Dan's proposal! Such a very romantic setting--sand, sea, sun and friends. It was the PERFECT day! Thank you Sin Duda for everything, (Love, Jessa) / After months of search, we found the perfect place: Sin Duda. The starry night (under the sign of the Scorpion) marked our first happy step toward the future. The atmosphere, the beach--everything made us feel welcome and at home. We will definitely be back. Thanks for everything! (Dan)"

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One thing more

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2008

"It's such a big world, and I spend so much time looking for special places to visit--some for natural beauty, for history, culture, company, comfort, atmosphere-- some just for fun. No matter how much research you do, when a little hotel is this remote, you just get a feeling and trust your instincts. I am so happy we did! Sin Duda Villas has all the things on my list above, plus Margo and Robert, whom I could easily mistake for my siblings (if they'd claim me!); plus Jennifer and Jamison, who are so lovely. The setting and every design detail are amazing, but as always, it's the people who give Sin Duda such loving care--making it so interesting and even more fun!! (Diane). "What a beautiful place! Despite the barracuda, who doubtless still wish they'd gotten a hold on me, I felt at home, calm and more relaxed here than I can remember having been before. Plus the laser pointer was terrific! (Elena). "I second Elena on how beautiful and relaxing it is here! (despite the stress of helping Elena through her emotional struggle of seeing a barracuda!) Life is so wonderful with the snorkeling, the remote atmosphere, the cute dogs, the lunar eclipse (did you plan that?) and most of all the laser pointer. I'm so sad to leave, but don't worry, I'll definitely be back (Katy)." "Okay, I know I already had my own comment box, plus some others, but I felt that my comment was missing an important point: I forgot to mention that above everything else--including the laser pointer, the most incredible part of Sin Duda Villas is you two, Margo & Robert. So great to meet you all. Okay, I'm done. Promise. (Katy)"

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Far from Halifax

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2008

"This place is heaven!! Such an amazing setting: blue skies and even blu-er water. Although the corals have taken a beating from [Hurricane Dean 2007] they are recovering nicely. Lots of fish and coral variety. We loved it so much we snorkeled at least 3 times/day. Saving the best for last-- the service is incredible. Robert & Margo are stars!! They took us in and accommodated us, which was no small feat because there were 6 of us-- after our reservation at another place nearby fell through. After such a stressful event (we drove 5 hours from Cancun to have no place to stay), we were welcomed with 'Margoritas' and smiles. We were shown to our beautifully decorated rooms. The Mexicano in the group commented on the authenticity of the decor. We spent such a wonderful time with gracious hosts doing everything in their power to make us comfortable--we'll definitely be back. Thank you for all you did. Warm wishes, Ali & Diego."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

"Quiet!!! What a wonderful relaxing time. Exciting astronomy talk! Thank you for the comfortable, clean and lovely quiet holiday and with the chance to discover and explore birds, fish and the stars."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beguiling

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

"Beguiling sea breezes, sometimes stunning beauty, tasteful decor, convenient sleeping and dining arrangements, reliable cleaning service, a plethora of visual treats and aquatic adventures, prompt, efficient and charming innkeepers. As our male host is fond of saying, "very good." And to paraphrase Paul Newman's "Hustler," .. "You shoot a great game of pool, Margo."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxation

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2009

"We came for 10 days and our level of relaxation feels like we've been here 3 weeks! Beautiful, welcoming, wonderfully fascinating hosts and guests. Stunningly beautiful scenery, beautiful warm water. So glad we came to visit and likely will return."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Idaho Bunch

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2009

"Helpful and hospitable, always greeting interruptions and questions with a smile, so generous with the Margo-ritas and conversation--that's our Margo and Robert. The Idaho bunch (K and K's third visit) is already talking about next year. Meanwhile, we'll talk about the fishing: Big bone caught right in front of the Villa, the snorkeling (a turtle, nurse shark and rays) were highlights, and of course the toothy grin of Barry the Barracuda. Paddling in the Lagoons (the wetlands are a slog, but ohhhh, the birds). Until next year's adventures, thank you Margo and Robert and your whole crew for taking such good care of us! The Idaho Bunch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunnyside, NY

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

"Margo-Robert, you have built a wonderful community at Sin Duda and we thank you for including us in it for a short time. I had a feeling about Sin Duda and it was even better than I expected. I haven't been in a rhythm in life this nice for a long time. Please keep in touch and ask me about those Spanish iPodcasts (Chris); M & R -- Sin Duda answered my prayers of relaxation more than I could have imagined. This is truly the way to live and your kindness and ability to welcome us with open arms was a big part of why I loved it here. I hope to one day become a neighbor so these feelings can be permanent (after the "potholes" are filled, of course). With lots of love and thanks, Alison."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Quebec

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

"Just perfect! What a treat ... The MOST relaxing vacation we've ever had. Margo and Robert are just soooo nice, the dogs are fun to be around, the kayaking, the snorkeling just so fine. Our teenagers loved to snorkel and play with the fish on the Reef. We had a wonderful time. Gotta' come back! We had a super good dinner at the Leaky Palapa."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Choices

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

“You never know what you’re in for when you jab your finger on a map and say, “Let’s go there.” But, what a treat Sin Duda has been!! We can’t sum it up with all of the obvious … the great snorkeling, kayaks through the “Mangles”.. but all I know is we shared great times as a family with Margo and Lyda and the Boys. Sorry we missed Robert!! We gained great perspective on each other and the world around us. Thank you, Sin Duda. P.S. The Leaky Palapa is some of the best food we’ve had anywhere!!!”

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Out of New York

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

"Serious relaxation coupled with snorkeling, biking and kayaking--WONDERFUL. We loved waking up to the sunrise and making big batches of guacamole. Margo, Robert, all the staff and all the locals we met were nothing but smiles and sincerely nice. P.S. Ian saw a bird with a big beak while kayaking in the lagoon! :)"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lunar show

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

(Feb 2008 + Feb 2009 + Feb 2010) "Margo and Robert and Corgis, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and especially appreciated the lunar show you arranged! You have created a most pleasant and relaxing place--without a doubt! (Kathy) Full moon, lunar eclipse, clear nights, my birthday and a lesson on the night skies--now that's style! So back to winter we go, but will see you next year! (Mike)"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another visit

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

"We loved our stay in Bailando! Thank you so much for your kind generosities. We are charmed once again by the wonderful setting and accommodations. To awaken to the expanse of sea and sand makes for a perfect vacation. Until next time ... love Barbara & Mac."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Virtues

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

"If you are here--reading this-- you already know the extremely attractive aspects. We enjoyed Sin Duda tremendously. Hope to return. We are very fortunate to have the ancient connections and parallels with Margo and Robert: Whitefish and Polebridge--hope to return with Gary/Erin/Charles/Susan and etc."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review