reviews for: listing #12046 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii Condo rental

Remodeled and offering lowest rates of year
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,015 - $1,150 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Poipu Athletic Tennis and Swim Club membership

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

We do want to clear up the information that one guest posted. We DO have membership to the new Poipu Athletic Tennis and Swim club since February, 2014. Our guests use it with no problem. At the end of last year, the Kiahuna Tennis and Swim Club was in a questionable position and we waited til new owners did take over the club and bring it to a renovated and acceptable state in order for us to offer it to our guests. There is no cost to our guests for using this facility.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo is great and has everything we need!

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

Aloha! We arrived yesterday without any problems and all is well, your condo is great and has everything we need. The kids are already down at the beach on boogie boards.
Thanks, Michelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely and Relaxing

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We stayed in this lovely condo for 6 days. We were pleasantly surprised at how the "details" were taken care of. it felt very nice to be so pampered. The granite countertops, the well appointed bathroom, which includes soft towels, lovely soap, shampoo and lotions. There was coffee, boogie boards, a working DVD player and nice appliances. It was clean, well located and the grounds are pretty. We could walk to the beach and to many restaurants. The bed was comfortable as well. We would highly recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Almost perfect...

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

I really want to give this rental a great review, but I can't. The great part about this rental was the location to the beach (although with high tide partial beach entry from the property was closed because the tide comes very close to the property line), but still absolutley gorgous. I would go back just to spend time on the expansive lawn overlooking the sunset/ocean because it was quite simply, magical. The other great part of the rental was that it is a well appointed unit with all the kitchen space/cooking equipment you would need. I really could have enjoyed this unit and made some lasting memories if.... (the downside) it had air conditioning. The plantation shutters that allow the outiside air to flow through are pretty and functional if the outside air is not 85 degrees. It was very difficult to be indoors and cooking was not really enjoyable. It took a day or two to feel secure knowing there were no real windows to secure at night, the unit is essentially open air, but nonetheless I did feel safe and the outside noise and aromas because part of the experience. The other downside is that the HOA did not renew the agreement for use of pool/hot tub/tennis? so during my very warm stay we were not able to utilize a swimming pool or hot tub. For those reasons, no a/c and no pool I have to rate the stay two stars. A/C & Pool would have made it a 4 out of 5.

Owners response: I would like to state that the Kiahuna Plantation does not have air conditioning as most of Kauai, which most people enjoy having the trade winds flow through is part of their experience on the island. We have made it as open and airy as possible along with ceiling fans and portable fans if needed.

The pool is out of the owners hands, this is an association issue that has been in and out of negotiations. As you can see by our numerous reviews in the past, our place is a beautiful and a truly Hawaiian place to stay. Our completely remodeled and beautifully furnished condo will enhance your Hawaiian experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo absolutely perfect

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

Dear Shauna,

Just letting you know we made it back to Palm Springs following our beautiful week in Kauai. I am slowly getting back into the groove here in the triple digit weather.

The condo was absolutely perfect. Thank you for your attention to detail. Every amenity was there. We did not, nor could not, want for anything! I had planned to write in the condo journal but time just got away from us in the end, and I did not get the chance.

Once again, thank you for letting us enjoy the condo. We would love to get back there just one more time (before that "old age" bell rings....and, I am afraid it is starting to peal!). Well, if we are able to do it, I would only do so if we stay in 233!

All the best,

Mickey & Sue

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a hard time leaving. ...

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

Hello Shauna,

A quick hello and thank you for the wonderful stay at your Kiahuna condo; we
had a very hard time leaving! The central location was fantastic and the
condo had everything we needed. (And, we added a beach umbrella to the
extensive beach stuff collection in the closet!) We've stayed at the
Kiahuna Plantation three times now, and your condo was perfect for our needs
this time.

I meant to write in the guest book upon leaving but ran out of time, but did
want to let you know we greatly appreciated your quick response to the DVD
issue. Brett showed up immediately and had us watching a movie right away,
which helped get us through one day of crazy rain!

I'm sharing a few pictures of our trip. We were going to go to a luau but
ran out of time-- the free Tahitian dancing on Monday/Wednesday evenings
right across the street was a great alternative! Our 6-year old loved it.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was Perfect!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Dear Shauna,
We recently returned home from the Kiahuna and wanted to thank you for the fantastic stay in your home #233. Everything was perfect! We were so lucky to have the entire family together. Thank you for providing a wonderful place for us. We hope to return someday soon!

Thank you again,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots to do on Kauai and beautiful condo

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

Dear Shauna,

We had such a wonderful stay in your beautiful condo in Poipu. The condo itself was beautifully decorated and very clean and had all of the apmenities we could possibly need. We even appreciated and used the freezer martini glasses! We also very much appreciated the "starter pack" of paper towels, TP, laundry soap, coffee, etc. And also the reusable bag it all came in for our future use at the grocery store was great. It was all very thoughtful. Every morning we enjoyed our breakfast out on the lanai with the view of the gorgeous Hawaiian foilage and beautiful grounds. We ate about half of our dinners in and half of them out. And every time we ate "in" we used the close, convenient and very clean barbeques. It was also a good way to visit with our "neighbors." For Ken's birthday we had a delicious dinner at the Beachhouse. I had made reservations a couple of months before so we had a window front view of the gorgeous sunset. It was perfect! We also packed a picnic lunch most days but did try Puka Dog across the street and also loved Brick Oven Pizza. We had a fantastic hike in Waimea Canyon on the Pihea Trail through the Alaka'i Swamp (highest swamp in the world) to the Kilohana Lookout with an awesome view of Hanalei. Afterwards we stopped at Jo Jo's Clubhouse for amazing shave ice. Another day we rented kayaks and paddled up the Wailua River to the Fern Grotto and Secret Falls. The scenery was very tropical and gorgeous. Afterwards we stopped at Tropical Dreams for ice cream...yum! Kiahuna Plantation was also a great place to start and end my morning runs. From the condo to Spouting Horn and back was exactly 5.5 miles and a great place to run and enjoy the views. We also body surfed one afternoon at Poipu Beach Park. Another day we hiked Sleeping Giant. But we also loved ending our day sitting on the beach (and enjoying the warm ocean water) in front of Kiahuna Plantation. Having free use of the beach chairs and towels there was very convenient. One evening our "dinner" was happy hour at Keoki's across the street which was fun. We also enjoyed sunset cocktails at the Sheraton. I could go on and on but it was a very relaxing vacation and we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time in your condo at the Kiahuna!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Hi Shauna!

We had a great time at your condo in Kiahuna! Thanks so much!

The grounds are so lush and well kept, its really like a gorgeous tropical botanical garden there. Everything was just great, no issues at all. We saw turtles snorkeling in Whaler's Cove, we love seeing the honu. Our best dinner was at Red Salt.

I think we left everything in order per the instructions. Here are a couple photos. We hope to return soon!


Matthew and Laurie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kauai was amazing

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We all got home earlier today and just wanted you to know we loved your condo and Kauai was absolutely beautiful! The condo was decorated very nicely and the open air felt great!

We had good weather the whole time we were there which was perfect for our friends wedding. We also appreciated all the information you put together for your guests we used a lot of your suggestions for breakfast and dinner.

Thank you so much we loved everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect place for us

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We are spending a cozy day at the condo watching a huge rainstorm complete with thunder and lightening. Sadly, we see the end of this wonderful month approaching and since we are homebound today I thought I'd send you an update on our time here.
We have thoroughly enjoyed Kaua'i and found your condo to be ideal for us. The decor and comfort of the condo is superb-just the right size for the two of us and decorated to our taste. We especially enjoyed your choice of artwork.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

condo

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 12 night stay. The condo was clean, cozy and we loved its central location for day trips all around the island. We LOVED having the BBQ close by for the nights we chose to eat in.The kitchen has everything you might need! It is nice to have shopping and restaurants across the street and some just a little further in walking distance. Staying on a property with its own beach is a definate plus. We enjoyed body surfing there and the gorgeous sunsets each night. We enjoyed watching a sea turtle one evening and of course the whales!! The grounds are beautiful and so well kept and the staff is very friendly. What a wonderful vacation spot!! It was a pleasure working with Shauna!
Thanks-Jeff and Joyce

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jeff and Joyce, we hope to have you back in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful - relaxing visit to Kauai!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

We had a lovely stay at your Kiahuna Plantation condo over the Thanksgiving holidays. The condo was spacious, relaxing, a great set up for our young toddler. He had fun playing on the lanai and racing down the grassy areas to the beach! The waves at Poipu that particular week were a bit too energetic for a little one, but he thoroughly enjoyed playing with the sand toys (thoughtfully provided at the condo) on the beach.
Kiahuna Plantation is a great location with nearby restaurants and shops, and the beach virtually out the back door.
Thank you for letting us stay at your wonderful home - we can't wait to visit again!

Owners response: Thank you Jamey for your response. We appreciate renters like you and hope you will come back to visit our home in Paradise. Mahalo, Shauna

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Kiahuna 233. The condo was perfectly located - a few minute walk to the beach and an easy walk to the pool. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably maintained. The condo is spacious, clean, and comes stocked with many extra items for your convenience including boogie boards and a cooler. We truly did not want to come home, everything was perfect. We hope to return right back to Kiahuna 233 as soon as we can. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

just want to say thank you for the fabulous time we had in Kauai. Your property is absolutely charming with the lovely Tommy Bahama furniture and granite throughout. We were 100% impressed and it set the mood for the intimate time that we wanted to have on the island.

We enjoyed the amazing landscape that the island offers by foot, car and helicopter. It is a unique sanctuary of beauty. The Golf courses offered a great time and the village and restaurants were delicious. We enjoyed unwinding to the swells and sunsets before we cruised through the lush garden walk back to our cozy unit.

What a perfect Honeymoon.

Mahalo!

Todd and Jaime

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

This is a very belated Thank you! Your condo was wonderful, very comfortable, not to mention a great location, we had a fabulous time in Kauai! We did a few "tourist excursions" which included a helicopter trip around the island and a boat trip along the Napali coast, also took a day and drove to the other side of the island. Of course we indulged in some good ol beach time as well!

I'm not sure if I had mentioned it when scheduling our time there, but the son of a friend got married on 8/8 at the Kiahuna Plantation. It was a beautiful wedding and the weather couldn't have been more co-operative.

We also enjoyed a few dinners at the Kiahuna Plantation restaurant along with some of the other restaurants in the general vicinity. Delicious food....... What a great place Kauai is! We are looking forward to our next visit.

Thank you again.... Janie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

We have been coming to Kauai and Poipu for over twenty years. A few years ago we were fortunate to find out about The Nelson's condiminium at Kiahuna Plantation. It is a perfect location, beautifully
furnished, and close to the beach and restaurants. We expect this to be the place we will stay for all future vistits to Kauai. We have also suggested the unit to other family and friends, and those that have been here feel as we do that this is a perfect "home away from home" for future visits to Kauai.

Thanks, Shauna.

Greg and Terry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: October 1, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed here March 08 for a week and had a wonderful time. The condo is very nicely remodelled with granite and newer appliances and was spotless. Very easy to work with the owners. Wonderful condo. Can't wait to come back and the gardens that surround it are wonerful. They have BBQ's and picnic tables all over and its only a few minute walk to the beach. A+

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

I just wanted to write and let you know how much we enjoyed staying in your unit in September. It was our honeymoon and Kiahuna Plantation was the perfect place! We loved sitting out on the lanai, enjoying the birds and gardens. Your unit was very clean and comfortable and decorated very nice. We will definitely return. Thanks!



Sonja

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review