reviews for: listing #12119 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Lake Cabin Retreat - screened room, hot tub, firepit, Wi-Fi!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pine Harbour
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $450 /nt
    $1,075 - $2,775 /wk

sort by:

Peace and Quiet in beautiful setting

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

This is a terrific lakefront property. It has 3 nice size bedrooms and a finished basement.
The views from everywhere are great. My wife and I enjoyed our week on the property. Our only wish was that we were there for two weeks.
Plenty of sun and plenty of shade. Perfect for everyone.
The lake is large and beautiful We rented a pontton boat for a day to explore all the coves.
A great family place.
A visit to Monticello is a must.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Tim. Glad to hear everyone enjoyed it. Hope you'll be back soon. Have a wonderful winter season.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

A pleasure. Exactly as advertised. We relaxed and enjoyed the comfort of the home and the scenic outside. We would recommend to anyone looking to get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing cabin on a quiet lake

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

When we arrived late Sunday evening, we were pleased to find this home away from home to be as welcoming as we had hoped. After settling in, we explored the property and discovered many notes on where things were, how to operate certain things, and other detailed information that made settling in quick and effortless. This home felt loved and lived in, unlike some other places I've stayed in the past. As my fiancé and I are expecting, this was a pre-baby vacation meant to let us relax and enjoy the solitude. This home is the perfect getaway for anyone looking to get away from it all. We will absolutely be returning in the future. Thanks for the attention to detail and care you showed for us and this home.

Owners response: Thank you. Glad to hear you'll be returning and all the best to the new addition to the family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful getaway even in the winter!

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

This gorgeous house, right on the lake, is by no means only for summer vacationers. Our group of six spent 3 very comfortable days here between Christmas and New Years and had a wonderful time. The kitchen is well stocked, the hot tub outside was clean and worked great, and there was plenty of room for us to spread out our board games, our laptops, and a big jigsaw puzzle. Would highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home for the Holidays

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

This cabin provided my family and I with an amazing location for a holiday to be remembered always. It is equipped with everything you may need to make you feel right at home. At all times you have a beautiful and serene view of the lake and scenery. It was kind of magical, a Home Away from Home….

Owners response: Wow. Blush. I love that - kinda magical. Thanks. :) Have a healthy and happy 2014.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT place to stay!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

My family and I went for a weekend getaway and this place had everything we were looking for. It sits on a beautiful lake with amazing views. We loved getting up and watching the sunrise over the lake and enjoying the beautiful scenery. The owners were very prompt and professional and answered all our questions right away. Definitely recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Holiday at the Lake Cabin Retreat!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely cabin with us.
My family came in from all over the world to celebrate Christmas and new years. We had an absolutely wonderful time and enjoyed this beautiful get away so much. The house is gorgeous and very well kept. The dock and boat house are so peaceful, with an incredible view. We were so thrilled to have a beautiful X-mas tree already up and decorated and a fire in the lovely stone fireplace made it all so cozy and festive! The house is very clean, well stocked and everyone enjoyed the hot tub on the deck and s'mores on the fire pit below!
Great customer service provided by the owners. The propane tank ran out while we were there and they had someone there to fill it within 1/2 hour.
Will definitely rent again, hopefully in the summer so we can enjoy swimming in the lake instead of just enjoying the beautiful view!
Thank you again!
Cindy

Owners response: Looks like you got to hit all my favorite spots (except coffee in the morning on the porch rocker - probably too cold) but glad to hear it worked out so well for you and your family. Looking forward to having you back again soon. Thanks - Andrea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible house!!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We had such a good time staying here for the weekend. Even though it was cold on the weekend we stayed we still had a blast! The fire pit was perfect and the jacuzzi was clean and worked great. There are so many different areas to relax on this property....screened gazebo, dock, basement, and multi-level deck. The inside has a unique "log cabin" look that is so neat and cozy! We had 12 people and there was always plenty of seating. Everything was clean and worked perfectly. No complaints!!! Would stay here again in a HEARTBEAT!!!

Owners response: Thanks Elizabeth. And thank everyone for taking care of our home. I'm glad they all enjoyed. Hope to hear from you again soon for your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Fun Getaway

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Lake Anna and what attracted us was the driving distance from Philadelphia (our toddler doesn't do well on planes), the ability to bring our 2 dogs and of course the amazing pictures of the home and property plus the description.

You're wowed as soon as you turn down the long driveway - of course our visit was in the Fall so the colors and weather certainly helped with the overall ambiance! The home is absolutely gorgeous and the multiple decks make you feel like you're in a treehouse (take advantage of the jacuzzi - it's surreal to be able to relax in that while looking at the lake and being under all of the trees). The wildlife here is pretty cool and sitting on the top deck early in the morning is an absolute must. We quickly made that our morning tradition - having coffee on the main deck while watching the lake and an incredible array of birds (who are not at all shy). We 'adopted' a pair of the friendliest ducks you'd ever want to meet while here too - they came for a nice visit every day after following me back to the dock while I was kayaking. While walking the dogs in the neighborhood we also saw deer and wild turkey.

We didn't do any side trips, we were too busy relaxing although there were lots of things to do in the area or close by if we wanted. There are vineyards right here at the lake, Monticello and Kings Dominion are nearby and even DC is close (plus much more). We brought a kayak with us and rented a pontoon boat from Sturgeon Creek Marina for 2 days. I was able to get in the kayak right from the dock here but had some trouble getting back out smoothly (there isn't a beach area) - the community boat launch is literally 3 minutes away via both the water or driving so that wasn't a worry. It was nice to rent the pontoon boat and be able to dock it right at the house - very convenient.

Fishing is really good and my husband was able to get some good catches right from the dock - our 3 year old caught his first fish too! The lake here is huge - we have another day with the boat to explore it and I don't think we'll be able to hit it all. Lake Anna wouldn't disappoint if you liked cruising, fishing or skiing/wake-boarding - it's a very interesting lake with islands, coves...etc. to explore.

For convenience, Food Lion grocery store is huge, minutes away and has everything you'd need (including beer/wine).

A++++ vacation - thanks Andrea & Roger!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad to hear how much you enjoyed and hit the highlights. I'm with you - rocker on the porch in the morning and jacuzzi at dusk. Hope you had a chance to enjoy the firepit too. btw -- ducks were looking for you. :) Thanks for the great review. Hope you'll come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful spot for a week on the lake

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Sorry for the delayed review....
We had a great time at the Lake Cabin Retreat with our 3 teenagers, several of their friends for short visits, and our big Golden Pyrenees (we left the older mutt home and good thing - he would have had a tough time with the stairs to the lake). There were many things to enjoy about LCR: the no wake zone that made swimming and lounging off the dock a pleasure; the fire pit and hot tub for evening relaxing; the natural setting at the end of the cove (and canoeing on Freshwater creek); a great spot for water skiing and tubing just beyond the no-wake zone; lots of parking for our visitors; a spot for the boat trailer at the top of the hilly driveway (that I did not discover right away:>); access to a nice boat ramp; the screened gazebo for dinner on a buggy night; and a wonderful wooded setting. It looks like LCR has Wi-Fi now (don't believe it did when we were there - nice addition!). The kitchen is filled with utensils and cookware - just keep hunting, what you need is probably there. (The knives are woefully dull however - be prepared:>)
Overall, the LCR is a wonderful spot for a getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome weekend! Awesome lake home!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Lake Cabin Retreat was a wonderful choice as the setting for my daughter's 30th birthday party. Plenty of parking was available at the house for many guests that arrived at various times. Security gate & keyless door were very easy to use. The high vaulted ceiling living room with massive stone fireplace made a fantasic first impression. All the rooms of the home were warm and welcoming. There was alot of cooking and baking in the fully equipt kitchen. (especially nice with Food Lion so close by!) The outside deck areas, including the hot tub, offered more gathering places for guests. The boathouse and dock was a great place to park the "lake toys"! We rented a jet-ski from a nearby marina. We had 16 guests for the party, with 12 spending the night, and all had great things to say about Lake Cabin Retreat! Even our Welsh Corgi, Rina, enjoyed the pet dishes & box of doggie toys she found behind the recliner! Thanks for being pet friendly! I recommend this beautiful home for a great weekend on the lake!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. I'm glad that everyone enjoyed and Happy Birthday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded Lofty Expectations

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a nice weekend away before the holiday season. After seeing all the other reviews (and looking at the photos), I knew this would be a fantastic place to stay. I had built it up quite a bit before we even arrived - and then it turned out that it was even better than I had imagined! It was even more spacious and beautiful than I had thought.

The hot tub was well-maintained, the kitchen was fully functional (with some spices and cooking oil left behind by previous guests and the owner for others to use, which was a nice touch), the fireplaces/outdoor hearth made for lovely evenings with wine, and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was very clean and there were holiday decorations throughout the house, which created a really nice personal touch - it just showed how well-cared for the property is overall.

The best part? If we had wanted to bring friends and family, there was PLENTY of space, not only for sleeping, but for everyone to have somewhere to sit on their own or with just a few others - or to congregate as a big group! The property suits couples and bigger parties alike.

I can't recommend this enough to others considering staying here. We can't wait to go back!

(P.S. We got to meet the owner and her husband. They are both lovely people, and it made me feel even better about the decision to stay at the Lake Cabin Retreat.)

Owners response: And it was wonderful to meet you both as well. I'm so glad you LOVED it like we do and look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for the wonderful review.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sour ending

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Mixed feelings about this house. The kitchen was dirty with crumbs on the countertop when we arrived and we had no water on Friday and Saturday due to a plumbing issue. Owner refused to refund us for the two nights without water, even though we had to spend two days going back and forth to the community porta-potty and could not wash dishes or shower. She only offered compensation if we rented during the fall/winter for two nights, and she would throw in two extra nights at no charge. Unique house, great location on the lake. We did enjoy ourselves the remaining two days. Unfortunately, we cannot recommend the house because the owner can't be trusted to be fair.

Owners response: It's unfortunate when someone mostly remembers an issue versus the feelings they expressed of really enjoying their stay at Lake Cabin. And despite what she wrote, I did compensate with a free night stay and an additional offer of 50% off their next stay. I try very hard to make sure guests are comfortable as noted in other reviews.

Being out of the country made it difficult in this situation, but I did try to make up for it as fairly as possible and since she did stay in the house and have a free night stay, an additional full refund of 2 nights does not seem warranted. They arrived at 5pm on Friday and the water was still working. The issue occurred during the night and a plumber was at the house by 10am Saturday morning. Water was back on Sunday morning so only 1 day going to a porta-potty. An option if that was an issue to do so, they could have used the bucket in the house to use water from the lake to flush the toilets, not optimal but an option. Fortunately, we have never had water issues before and are replacing the pressure tank that caused the problem. The renter wanted more than was reasonable and could be satisfied with nothing else offered. They were even offered to be moved to another house but chose to stay and enjoy the rest of the amenities at Lake Cabin. As to the cleaning, cleaners do miss things, if she had notified when she arrived, the cleaning team would have come back.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great vacation house

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our friends and family have rented this house for the last 3 years and this was the first time we were able to join them. This is a great house with plenty of room. Looking forward to going back next year. Thank you.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A week at Lake Cabin Retreat

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

A week at the Lake Cabin Retreat

Spacious accomodations with rustic charm. Enjoyed by up to 12 adults for a week stay. Space to be alone in one of the many sitting, swinging, relaxing areas in the house, on the several decks or at the dock. Lots of space to spend together in the great room or around the big dining table. Great screened room at the dock with fan to just relax. Close to Food Lion to replenish supplies. Docked an all day rental pontoon at the dock to change crew and sail from. Great swimming anytime from the dock. Hard to navigate all the steps for elderly folks. Steps to lower room (game room, laundry) DEFINITELY need a handrail.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Andrea,

Thank you so much for opening up your home to us. We had an amazing vacation. Lake Anna is a beautiful destination and your home gave us the perfect view and access. I did not leave the house once by car. We spent hours on the dock playing, eating, swimming and really enjoying family time. It was a true pleasure, we will definitely be back.

Best Regards,

The Ures

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spreading the word :)

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

What can I rave about that hasn't already been complimented among all the reviewers? :) We enjoyed everything that one can enjoy about such a place - the beautiful view whether spending time indoors or out, the ability to dock our boat right there, the coziness and cleanliness of the home, etc. Andrea is a most warm and attentive host. I have been spreading the word about this home away from home!

Owners response: <Blush> Thanks! We think it's pretty special too. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Lake Cabin With All the Amenities!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway! The cabin is gorgeous and fully equipped, just like being in my own home. The view of the lake from the porch is amazing and sitting next to the water in the screened-in deck house is soooo relaxing. We loved the hot tub! We loved eating dinner in the gazebo, and listening to the pattering of the rain. There are a couple of worthy resturants nearby, as well as a winery. All in all, we had a truly enjoyable stay and I recommend it highly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome deck, great location

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Excellent place to stay with friends and family, spacious deck, great hot tub, wonderful views!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

truly an amazing getaway!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Amazing place. First time @ Lake Cabin Retreat AND first time at Lake Anna.
Absolutely adored this place. Spacious, great scenery, amazing decks, private, right on lake... can I say more? Can't wait to return in the warmer months and take advantage of the lake itself... even in February this place was amazing. 100% recommmend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Awww <blush> oh wait the roof is red - it's already blushing. :) So glad you enjoyed it. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

truly an amazing getaway!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

This was our first visit to Lake Anna AND we was lucky enough to stumble upon the Lake Cabin Retreat.
This home is absolutely wonderful. It's spacious,has amazing views (directly on the lake but plenty of privacy!), enormous sprawling decks complete with hot tub and fire pit, and of course great accessibility!
We rented the cabin for my husbands 30th and were nothing short of thrilled when we pulled up.
Can't wait to visit again and hoping to do so in the warmer months to take advantage of the lake... but even in the colder months, its worth the trip. Serene, beautiful and just the relaxing getaway you need! Thanks to the Monaghans!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really Relaxing and Fun

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This is actually the second time we've used this cabin, because we had such a great time! We bring a bunch of friends, and it was such a great retreat. There is TONS of room, and a good sized kitchen for cooking. Plus it is so beautiful; the decking is to DIE FOR! We felt like the price was reasonable considering it was a holiday weekend in the summer.

The reason we did not give it a 5th star was because the hot tub looked murky, as in green. I'm sure a water change would have fixed this, and we didn't have that problem the first time. We did tell the owner, but never heard back about it. Also, you have to take your trash somewhere, and we were told they sometimes close early, so we had to drive with all of our trash back to the city, which was less than appealing.

Other than those two things I can't complain. It is just what you want in a lake home!

Owners response: Thanks and apologies that the hot tub was not clear. We make every effort to keep it in tip top shape. We drive down to clean the filters and check the chemicals every other weekend and drain it every 3 months like clockwork. Your stay was towards the end of that period and while it was clean and clear the weekend before it's possible that the folks between left the cover off. That can cause the filters to get clogged with leaves, twigs, pollen etc. and for the sun to bleach out the chemicals causing the murkiness. We leave tablets on the counter to help with that. And even bigger apologizes for not responding - I thought you were just letting me know.
Trash facility closes at sunset.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New year in a beautiful house in a beautiful area

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Hi Andrea,

On behalf of the group, I just wanted to say thank you for helping us bring in the new year in a beautiful house in a beautiful area! We had a great time! We made some delicious food, played some music, and enjoyed the fire pit and hot tub :-)

Thanks again! Hope to stay in your house again in the future :-)

Best,
Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New year in a beautiful house in a beautiful area

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Hi Andrea,

On behalf of the group, I just wanted to say thank you for helping us bring in the new year in a beautiful house in a beautiful area! We had a great time! We made some delicious food, played some music, and enjoyed the fire pit and hot tub :-)

Thanks again! Hope to stay in your house again in the future :-)

Best,
Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing getaway

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

As soon as we arrived at the cabin, we were impressed and felt it was better than we expected. The location was perfectly quiet and secluded. Saw a bald eagle snatch a fish out of the water, just 50 yards off the dock, our very first full day. If that wasn't a welcoming sight, I don't know what is. At the end of our week long stay, the wife had to drag me up the driveway behind the pickup, will I kicked and screamed. Just kidding, I wasn't kicking and screaming, but we really didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Little Cabin on the Lake Girls Weekend

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

12 women in a cabin for the weekend equals a good time had by all!! We talked, ate, slept, ate a little more, got in the hottub and just totally relaxed. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful week at Lake Cabin Retreat!

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful week at the Lake Cabin Retreat! The cabin is in a beautiful location and right on the lake. We were able to enjoy the view of the lake while staying warm inside during the winter week we spent there :) The cabin also has an amazing deck, which made us wish it was a warmer time of year so we could have spent more time on the deck. It is also within an hour of many historical sites and attractions (including Monticello which we visited). The owners provided great customer service and left a binder with lots of information on things to do in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words. I'm so glad you and your friends had a chance to enjoy the cabin and thank you for taking good care of it while you were there. Hope you'll be back to enjoy it in other seasons.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spacious & Comfortable

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

The house was perfect for us....although more than we needed. We were just two people so all the extra rooms and places to sleep went to waste, but we enjoyed the luxury and the space. The house is very cozy and tranquil. We loved the indoor fireplace in the larger living room. The cooler weather (first week of December) was a good incentive to use it and to enjoy the outdoor hot tub. The house was clean and in perfect condition. In sum, nice house and wonderful owners. Would definitely recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I know what you mean about the extra rooms but it's so wonderful being able to curl up, relax and be together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect Christmas

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

My husband's family chose Lake Cabin Retreat for our Christmas celebration this year. We couldn't have picked a better place! We all felt at home right away with the comfortable surroundings. They even had a decorated Christmas tree and outdoor lights on timers. When the snow began falling, we tried to think of how the four young cousins (ages 6-15) could get in some sledding. Well, the house just happened to have a classic American Flyer sled! We spent hours flying down the steep driveway. We also enjoyed the hot tub (with snow flakes falling on our heads). The kitchen was equipped with every possible piece of cooking equipment you could ever need, and even had a cabinet full of items like cooking spray, salt, etc. for our use. And the views!! The lake is simply gorgeous and so serene. My husband and I loved walking amid the tall trees each day. The Tempurpedic bed spoiled us! I could go on and on, but will end this here with a happy THANK YOU!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

They thought of everything!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

My husband's family chose Lake Cabin Retreat for our Christmas celebration this year. We couldn't have picked a better place! We all felt at home right away with the comfortable surroundings. They even had a decorated Christmas tree and outdoor lights on timers. When the snow began falling, we tried to think of how the four young cousins (ages 6-15) could get in some sledding. Well, the house just happened to have a classic American Flyer sled! We spent hours flying down the steep driveway. We also enjoyed the hot tub (with snow flakes falling on our heads). The kitchen was equipped with every possible piece of cooking equipment you could ever need, and even had a cabinet full of items like cooking spray, salt, etc. for our use. And the views!! The lake is simply gorgeous and so serene. My husband and I loved walking amid the tall trees each day. The Tempurpedic bed spoiled us! I could go on and on, but will end this here with a happy THANK YOU!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. I'm so glad everyone enjoyed it. I didn't think the sled would get any use but there you have it. The driveway isn't "that" steep but I can see how it would make a wonderful sled run. ;)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lake Cabin Retreat Fall Weekend

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a beautiful fall weekend with our two grown sons, daughter-in-law, and future daughter-in-law. We found this charming cabin to be clean and well kept and were pleasantly surprised to find it decorated for fall both inside and out. This is not a stark rental house - it was warm and cozy - just like home.

The kitchen was fully equipped, and the large dining table was perfect for family meals or playing games. Nights were spent watching TV and lounging in front of the fireplace in the great room. Of course, making smores in the outside fire pit was a must. Although a bit chilly, the younger folks and the dog felt obliged to jump in the lake - just so they could say they did. They were all in agreement that returning in the warmer weather is tops on their list.

Andrea provided lots of information on things to do in the area and was very accomodating. We enjoyed visiting several local wineries.

Whether sitting in a rocker on the porch, soaking in the fabulous hot tub, or enjoying early morning coffee down on the dock, the changing fall leaves provided picture perfect scenery.

This tranquil setting was the ideal place to unwind, and it provided lots of family bonding time. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed all my favorite spots and thank you for taking good care of our home. We look forward to your returning. btw - I thought I was the only crazy that jumped in the lake in October. :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely the best!!

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

What a beautiful setting and wonderful lake!! Swimming off the dock was great -clean water and no jellyfish. The dock had both sun and shade which gave everyone a choice. Sitting in the hot tub before breakfast looking out at the lake was heaven. The gazebo made our dinners cozy and comfortable. Quiet cove next to great skiing area. Absolutely the best!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Fall Getaway Get-Together

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

We had a great weekend at the Lake Cabin Retreat. We brought 10 adults and had plenty of room for everyone. We loved the hot tub and fire pit, and are already thinking we should come back when it's warmer to take more advantage of the lake and the beautiful deck area. Great amenities! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving Rental

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

We stayed in this home for the first time from 11-22-28-09. We were so pleased with the comfort and house set-up. The view is lovely and we plan on renting again in the spring.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

We stayed in this home for the first time from 11-22-28-09. We were so pleased with the comfort and house set-up. The view is lovely and we plan on renting again in the spring.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

We had a great weekend at the Lake Cabin Retreat. We brought 10 adults and had plenty of room for everyone. We loved the hot tub and fire pit, and are already thinking we should come back when it's warmer to take more advantage of the lake and the beautiful deck area. Great amenities! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

Thank you so much for letting us use your wonderful cabin for the Labor Day weekend to celebrate my birthday. My friends and I had an amazing time playing in the lake, resting in the hot tub, and sleeping in the hammock. My dog also had a wonderful vacation and loved running around in the backyard. I highly recommend Charades and S'mores by the campfire, a wonderful way to end the weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

What a beautiful setting and wonderful lake!! Swimming off the dock was great -clean water and no jellyfish. The dock had both sun and shade which gave everyone a choice. Sitting in the hot tub before breakfast looking out at the lake was heaven. The gazebo made our dinners cozy and comfortable. Quiet cove next to great skiing area. Absolutely the best!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very relaxing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

My wife and I went with another couple and we had a great time,the views were beautiful and the area was very quiet.We were able to catch 5 to 6 fish per night from the dock and really enjoyed going fishing from our boat or just for a ride.The house was awsome very comfortable and we all enjoyed the gazebo for eating out and game playing.The hot tub offered a great view of the cove and the lake,the boat ramp is close and easy to get to.Overall I would reccomend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

I came with four children and my parents to the log cabin home. We were amazed at what a beautiful home and location we were blessed to enjoy. Truly a wonderful place to visit. I would recommend the log cabin retreat to anyone interested in a very relaxing vacation spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 18, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

we went to the lake cabin retreat for an early Holiday gathering. The cabin was wonderful. It easily accommodated 8 adults and 6 children under 5 years of age. We had all of the necessities and had a wonderful time. The view was beautiful. We plan to return in the spring

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

The cabin was all we hoped it would be and made for a great 33rd anniversary! So quiet and peaceful. A great place to watch the birds, boats and day go by. It had all the comforts of home without all the distractions. Already thinking about coming back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 11, 2008

You have a lovely home! We had a great time. It was very relaxing and we couldn't have asked for better weather. It had everything we needed for the perfect "getaway": fireplaces/pit, hot tub, grill, multi-level decks, private dock right on the water, hammock. Next time we will be bringing more people with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 7, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

The Lake Cabin Retreat is a great weekend getaway to share with friends. The views of the lake are beautiful, and the cabin is cozy and welcoming. Be sure to build a fire in the outdoor firepit and roast s'mores!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Thank you for an absolutely perfect Girls' weekend! 5 tired mothers (to a total of 12 children, 11 boys!) arrived on Friday, 5 refreshed and relaxed women went back home on Sunday! The cabin is wonderful, you have put so much thought and effort into making it as comfortable as possible for your renters--we fell in love and the "Desperate Housewives" will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 31, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We have been going to Lake Anna for many years, and this is by far the best place that we have ever stayed. Everything was great from the hot tub to the patio to the dock to the deck to the house itself. We really relaxed and had a GREAT time. Thanks for all the wonderful extras!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 29, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

What a perfect weekend getaway! We had a wonderful girls birthday weekend sitting in the hot tub and watching the sun set. We each loved it so much, we cant wait to come back and bring our families. We were lucky enough to be there to enjoy the beautiful holiday lights and decor, which make the house even more welcoming. Thanks so much for a great time, we look forward to visiting again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 19, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

As good as it gets. Flet far more like a home than a rental property and the setting of the grounds is perfect. Lots of nice touches and attendion to detail throughout the house, the gazebo, and the decks. Looking forward to an early (and frequent return).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We had a great Labor Day weekend at the lake house. Even Ernesto couldnt ruin our great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 18, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

We spent a wonderful Mother's Day weekend at the cabin. From the moment we drove down the driveway, we fell in love with the place. The cabin is beautiful and the views of the lake spectacular. It made a perfect setting to spend time relaxing with family. We definitely plan to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

we spent one of our family's most magical christmas
holidays in this wonderfully cozy and intimate cabin
with room for all nine of us! i can honestly say that is
was the most wonderful rental we have ever had the
pleasure of staying in...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 22, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

This is the ultimate hidden get away. It is so peaceful here....We don't want to leave. WOW is the only thing you can say when you stay at this beautiful log cabin retreat. Spacious, warm feeling you get upon entering the living room. We enjoyed using all the extra amenities that were left for us. Thanks so much for a serene weekend get away!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Unique, charming, one-of-a-kind! From the cozy cabin, to the beautiful setting & lake view, to every little nook & crannie, we loved it all! Can hardly wait to return. Thank you Andrea & Roger for sharing your lovely, storybook vacation home. A rare gem!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 22, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

A great place to spend time at with friends (as we did) or by yourself. Highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2005   Date of arrival: August 21, 2005

A perfect setting, perfect home, equals a perfect vacation! Wish I were here full-time.Thanks for sharing. Don't think it could be any nicer.Gloria & Dick Shelton, Michael, Chris & Reed Thompson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2005   Date of arrival: July 24, 2005

We had a GREAT time! The cabin was perfect and we are planning another trip soon. :) Thanks for sharing your home with us.Scott, Alissa & Bree Fulkerson, Stuart & Megan Allison & Jeff, Carrie & Daisy Hatfield

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 23, 2005   Date of arrival: June 23, 2005

We had a great time. The house was beautiful and the weather was lovely.Dawn & Iris Culpepper, Jimmy Tipon, Lori Yamamoto & Craig Yamamoto

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review