reviews for: listing #12155 - Key Largo, Florida Condo rental

Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ocean Pointe Suites
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $179 /nt
    $775 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely Lovely Condo!

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay during our trip to the Keys. The condo was exactly as advertised and included everything you could possibly need during your stay. A quick trip to the grocery store and you're set. The unit was clean, neat and fresh. The water pressure in the master bath shower was a little lacking but the abundance of hot water made up for that. The water heater must be set at a very high temperature. The owner, Caroline Nelson, was very kind and responded quickly to my inquiry. She even called the unit on the first evening of our stay to be sure we had arrived safely and had everything we needed. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this unit again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a last minute vacation and have always love the Florida Keys. This was our 3rd time at Ocean Pointe Suites and this condo was by far the nicest one we have stayed in at that location. The weather was gorgeous and we had a wonderful mini vacation; the condo was exactly as shown, very clean and a beautiful view. We would not hesitate to recommend this property, and this condo in particular, for a cocouple and with two bedrooms, an entire family. Special thanks to Caroline who in spite of a personal loss, did all she could (and more) to ensure that we had a terrific vacation. Loved the property, loved the location, and loved the condo. A+. Pat & John Freeman

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Hated to leave!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

We've stayed at Ocean Pointe three years in a row, each time in a different unit, and love it. This unit was great, primarily because of the owner Caroline's attention to details in order to make her guests feel comfortable. It felt like home (only with better weather). We loved being on the top floor, had a great view of the water and of the osprey nest. If our plans work out, we'll be staying in this lovely unit again next year!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Ocean Point Suites - what a wonderful place.

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Your condo was absolutely beautiful, and the complex was terrific. We spent the entire weekend on the beach at Ocean Pointe and snorkeling at Harry Harris Park. It was a great time and provided a much needed rest. Thank you so much for the use of your rental...we plan to make it a yearly trip. We could not have found a nicer place. I have to admit, I was nervous booking a condo over the interet with all of the scammers out there, but you made it very easy and worry free. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We got lucky and picked the best time of year to be in the Key Largo area. The condo was everything promised. It was neat, clean and fully equipped. The resort was very nice with a beautiful pool, nice beach and a very helpful staff when we had questions.

The only downside was the restaurant at the resort. The service was slow and the food was mediocre to poor. We did go down the road to the Islamorada Fish Company and that was great. It had good entertainment (on the weekend) and the food was excellent. They feed tarpon every night at sundown and that was fund to watch.

I would advise this condo and resort to my friends and family and we are already contemplating coming back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good Choice

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

October is a perfect time to travel to the Key Largo area. The weather was fantastic and the crowds were minimal.

We enjoyed the condo and resort thoroughly. The owners represented it very well in their add and all that was promised was delivered. It was very comfortable and we were very satisfied with the condo and the resort.

We were very impressed with the resort swimming pool and the beach area. Staff at the resort were very helpful whenever we asked a question. We would advise against eating at the resort restaurant. The service was really slow and the food pretty medicore to poor. We did really like the Islamorada Fish Company. Great food, good entertainment on the weekends, and a nightly feeding of the tarpon for everybody to enjoy.

We went snorkeling with Sundiver tours and enjoyed that alot. The boat was very nice and the crew really took good care of us.

We would advise this as an excellent vacation spot and would advise our friends and family to rent this condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend away

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

This property is in a great location close to many activities. The condo itself is clean and fit our family of 5 comfortably. The pool is large and the beach/water access is great. The whole transaction with the owners was easy and friendly. A great weekend getaway for a taste of the keys. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Winter Reprieve

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This was a beautiful, clean and charming condo. There is lots to do just on the grounds and it is so nice to have everything else so close and yet be in a secure and private area. There were walking trails, a small beach, nice pool and hot tub and tennis courts. We didn't get to try the kayak rentals, just ran out of time!

We had everything we needed to have a wonderful stay and I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to be surrounded by crowds as in Key West.

The pool house was being re-done so we didn't get to use that, but the pool was so close that this was not an issue.

It was nice not to have to worry about bringing beach towels or any of the necessities like soap.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Property!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We are a family of four who like having the comforts of home when we are traveling -- and this beautiful condo provided all that, and more! In addition to the 2 bedroom/2 full bathrooms provided, the owners went the extra step to make sure that all our needs were met. A fully stocked kitchen, nice linens and more towels than we ever needed were provided. There were even books, dvds, games and a puzzle available. We also loved the combination lock on the door. It was worry and hassle free with four of us coming and going.

The view from the condo was spectacular and the property grounds were immaculate. The pool was very large and at a perfect temperature. A new pool house was under construction that looks to be quite nice when complete. While the beach was relatively small compared to other Florida beaches, it was never packed and we were always able to find chairs. The mangroves and foliage at the beach was an interesting change from the usual beach surroundings. While we brought tennis gear, we were too busy to play -- but the tennis courts looked great.

This condo is nicely located near area attractions and one of our best days was at John Pennekamp State Park where we rented kayaks and snorkel gear together, then snorkeled in the mangrove lined waterways. (TIP: While this is not a package at the Park, you CAN do this and it was SO worth it!) A day trip to Key West was a wonderful getaway, and offered a more touristy experience, but we were glad to get back to the quieter Ocean Pointe Resort.

We had a fantastic time exploring all of the Keys and would definitely stay at this condo again if we ever go back. The owner was very helpful and made us feel right at home.

Thank you for a wonderful Christmas vacation!

Vince & Joanne

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Picture Perfect!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Great location, size, accomodations, and view!!! We especially liked the large pool area and beach where our granddaughter enjoyed herself every day of our visit and also the relaxing views we enjoyed each morning. Condo was ideal--loved the two full baths with TWO jacuzzi tubs. This is a perfect spot for families and/or friends to enjoy a great getaway. Couldn't have been better--we'll be back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spring Break!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

What an excellent place for our family to spend spring break! There was plenty of room for the six of us and the days were full and the nights were quiet. We fished, played tennis, relaxed on the beach, ate some fantastic local fare, (Snappers, Turtles, Craigs, Harriets), swam in the pool and enjoyed the beautiful ocean breeze. This is our second time and we will be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice place to stay

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

My family and I enjoyed staying here.
The owners were very kind and helpful in describing the location and amenities.
The condo was very clean,well maintained and had nice furniture.
There is a small beach in the complex ,but you need to bring your beach sneakers because it is rocky.
There is a grocery store at about 2 miles that is really convenient.
Key West is 2 hours away.
If you want some beautiful sandy, beaches you have to visit Smather's Beach and Bahia Honda Beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Paradise

Review submitted: December 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

This vacation rental was clean, well taken care of and the view of the ocean was awesome. The grounds were beautifully kept, the pool and hot tub were relaxing. We chartered the Sassy Lady with Captain Butch Green out of Holiday Isle marina in Islamorada. It was a great trip and brought our catch home with us. I would recomment this rental to anyone and plan on going back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

We enjoyed our time at the condo. It was well furnished with everything we needed. We loved the pool and the grounds. They were very well maintained. It was a great location for us, as we spent a day in Key West and Miami, so the drives were not bad. The condo was clean and met all of our expectations. It was great to be able to e-mail the owner, who was so responsive and helpful. We would and will definately recommend your condo to others.
Thanks for everything !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Experience at the Keys

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

'Home away from home' is exactly how our vacation at the Florida Keys felt. Immaculately clean [and recently re-carpeted], this condo has everything to make for a really enjoyable and comfortable stay. The resort is excellently maintained, has a lovely marina and sandy beach, a large pool and separate restaurant and bar for lazy, relaxing time out. We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: October 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

As a family with 2 small children, this was a fantastic place to stay. Clean and well maintained with friendly grounds staff. Our girls spent hours with their fishing nets and rods and catching crabs on the rocks, they snorkelled and swam in water that was just deep enough for fun but shallow enough for Mom and Dad to lie back and enjoy some quality relaxation. It's close to the 'best fish sandwich in the world' at Craig's, and also to Theatre of the Sea, which is a marine animal park, and where you can actually swim with dolphins! We live up in Palm beach so it was only a couple of hours' drive, but we felt like we were a million miles away! As we said to each other while we lay back on the recliners in the Florida sun: "It's a little piece of Paradise".

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place to vacation

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

For the past TWO years, the accomodations at Ocean Pointe Suites have been a high point of our vacation while dropping down to the Keys to do some Tarpon fishing. Their unit has everything that two old salts from the Northeast (and anybody from anywhere else, I'd imagine) might desire - two bedroom, two bathrooms, a full kitchen (to cook up your days catch) a terrace with ocean view and access to a great swimming pool to cool down after a day at sea. With its close proximity to the fishing fleet at Islamorada, the lodging worked out perfectly for all our needs !!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

First vacation rental experience

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: January 27, 2009

My husband and spent 5 days here in late January 2009. This was our first vacation rental experience and it was a great one. The owners were more than willing to answer any of our questions and the facilities were beautiful. The condo itself was very clean and was supplied with anything we might have needed. There was always someone tending the grounds (which were lovely), or making sure the buildings and areas were clean. We would recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review