reviews for: listing #12220 - Gulf Shores, Alabama Condo rental

Top of the Gulf - Lighthouse Condo - 15th Floor
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Lighthouse
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $850 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Location

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

This condo is large and has EVERYTHING you could possible need for a wonderful beach vacation. There are four of us, mom, dad, and two teenagers, and we had plenty of room. I loved how quiet it was. I loved the views. The pictures show a black patio set, but that one was not there. Instead there is a lovely white, bar height set, and we loved sitting on the balcony, enjoying the views. My concerns: The master bath shower is angled so high. It was difficult for this short person to get properly wet. ;) Also, though the decor is nice, the condo needs some freshening up. Those are minor complaints though. All in all this place was comfortable and we highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location!

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

This condo was in a great location and had a beautiful view of the beach! Everything was very clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The only complaints we had were in regards to the thin walls and small 3rd bedroom. The bunkbed room was smaller than the laundry room which we thought was a bit odd. Also, starting at 6am, the upstairs neighbor pushed their chairs around the hardwoods nonstop for hours. It literally sounded like a restaurant upstairs because of the constant shuffling of chairs. Other than that we had a great time and Bettheny was very easy to work with! Great condo, great location! Would recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great view and a few changes could make this condo go from average to awesome

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

The owner was terrific to work with & her condo was fine but we have stayed at nicer here. The beds were great & the view was awesome, also they have a lot of extra's like books, games, sand toys & beach chairs, but the dresser, small book shelf, table in the master bedroom looked like they were from a Wal-Mart type store, small & falling apart. The whole condo needed a thorough cleaning-eg. the vents were filthy, actually getting black on the ceilings & some of the shelves with a lot on them were not dusted. A TV with DVD on the wall in the bunkroom would be helpful for the kids. A few nice furniture additions, & better cleaning could change this condo from average to awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We strive to make everyone's stay a great beach experience. We have changed cleaning staff and continue to add and upgrade furnishings as needs arise.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My favorite long week-end(So far.)

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay @ The Light House. The condo was clean and we had plenty of towels etc. I was happy there was a washer and dryer to keep up with the wet towels. The balcony was my favorite spot. There was a nice table and stools that I utilized while I drank my sweet tea, read my book and listened to the waves. My kind of a long week-end.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great if you have kids!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

This was our first experience with VRBO and I was very pleased. Our condo was nice and clean with everything we needed. The location was great (within a short distance to dining, shopping, and activities). The two outdoor pools at the lighthouse were wonderful, especially the infinity pool for my little one, and the indoor pool ended up being a good backup since we had rain! The owners of the condo were easy to communicate with and quick to respond with any questions we had. My little one loved at the little toys stocked in the condo and having the highchair and pack n play available made traveling with a toddle much easier since we didn't have to bring our entire house with us! If we go back to Gulf Shores we will certainly look to stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

This condo was spot on with the online description and amenities. The condo had everything you needed for a wonderful family vacation. My son just commissioned as an officer in the Marine Corp., so this will probably be one of the last family vacations for a while and we are so blessed to have chosen. this condo.
The view is gorgeous, the deck chairs are bar height so you can see over the railings and made sitting on the deck the one of the best parts. The pools were cleaned every morning, we saw the Blue Angels fly over 3 mornings and the owners had 5 beach chairs in the closet for our use. Thank you again, for a lovely time.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation July 2013 @ 1513

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Condo was great ! It matched it's description. Beds were comfortable, spacious.we loved the fact that we used a code for entry & didn't have to fool with a key or card. Condo had almost everything we needed. Others in our group were jealous, that our was such a great deal & well stocked. A few families had to purchase even hangers. Owners were great & easy to work with . Only draw back to the building was that sometimes the elevators took forever. Workers on the beach checked on us all the time to see if we needed anything. Weather was pretty good. When it rained we just went to the indoor pool. Our group rented 12 different condo's & I would say we got the best deal. Had the best seafood at DeSoto's.. It was well worth the wait. Don't miss it. A night at the Hangout was fun for everyone.. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing beach getaway!!!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Owners were great to work with. Overall great condo. Wi-fi was a little slow. Light house resort was awesome.....great family athmosphere.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4th of July!!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Nice condo - owners extremely easy to work with. Our 6th year at the Lighthouse - we love this place because of all the friends our children make. Very affordable and nicer compared to other units we've stayed in at the Lighthouse. Wishes: better wireless connectivity - bunk beds - would have been nice to have a small tv for late night - 2nd bedroom perfect for teenage son....Master was very nice - TV should be upgraded as well as channels available - same as living room. View is perfect as is the balcony....elevators ran smoothly....we eat out mostly - Wietzels/Zen/Nolans/and Lillians for pizza on 7th day! Always go by the fresh seafood market about 2 miles to the east LARTIGUES the best freshest around. We love Gulf Shores - we love the Lighthouse - we loved this condo.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really great place!!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

Second time at lighthouse, first time in this unit. The unit and place in general are really great!!! The view from the 15th floor is breathtaking, and the unit is very comfortable. The closet of all the beach/pool toys, chairs, etc was extremely nice, and the kitchen was nicely stocked as well. The owners were extremely easy to get a hold of and work with, which always makes things go much more smoothly. Also, the low all-inclusive rate is great!!! I couldn't recommend this place, and in particular this unit, more!!! You will have an amazing time!
PS. Go do the Cold Mil Fleet dolphin cruise in Orange Beach, it is unlike any other dolphin cruise and you will be amazed!!! Also walking distance to Sea N Suds is awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Lover

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

The condo was perfect! It was clean and had everything you need to be a beach bum plus some. All kind of extra cooking/pantry items. View was amazing. Loved everything about it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Large family

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

Perfect location for large family. Best furnishings of my condo and great pools indoor and out. Well stocked kitchen and the beach toys available for use made packing easier and lighter. Will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL STAY!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Family of 4 plus BFs stayed here from Dec 26 til Dec 30....our first time in Gulf Shores...the condo was excellent in every way! Owner was MOST hospitable we had great communication throughout the stay! We want to return in the warmer months if possible, but weather was great while we were there, and we enjoyed the beach, hot tub, patio, shopping, and restaurants (Lambert's and Lulu's were favorites). I would highly recommend this owner and property! Thanks so much :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to relax and enjoy yourself!

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

This is the second time we stayed in the Lighthouse but the first time we rented this unit. This unit was great! It was everything we wanted. It was spacious, and well-appointed, a very family-friendly place to stay!. The owners have provided lots of information about places to eat and things to do. It made the stay very easy and enjoyable. This condo is close to EVERYTHING! The owners were extremely helpful and gracious. We definitely recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great to work with!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Our family of four, along with another family of three, enjoyed a full weeks stay here this summer! The condo owner was extremly easy to work with & very quick to respond to any request or questions! I would highly recommend this unit for your next stay in Gulf Shores! The kitchen was well stocked & there was plenty of pool/beach toys available for use! Both of our two families were very pleased!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review