reviews for: listing #12223 - Cudjoe Key, Florida Cottage rental

Tropical Breeze Conch Cottage on Ocean Front Property
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Amazing location, Boaters paradise!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We just recently brought the boat down and our dogs to this lovely rental.
When we checked in we where greeted by Mike the owner who spoke with me for a few minutes and gave me advice how to safely navigate the shallow waters near the house. He also gave us details on some good eats, where to get my dive tanks filled, an where to get groceries.

The property was exactly as described, it was well maintained and clean.


Over all we could not of picked a better place to stay, the other people staying there where friendly and it felt a lot more like home than a vacation.
We will be staying here every time we are going to the Lower keys.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location for great vacation

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

My wife and I were looking to come back to the lower keys to escape winter cold. We had stayed in Key West before, and while a lot of fun, it was pretty hectic and noisy for our tastes, so we wanted to stay within easy driving distance of KW, but stay somewhere a little more laid back and quiet. Staying in one of the Conch cabins was a great decision. First of all, making arrangements with Soo was super easy. She was very helpful, got back to us right away, and made the arrangements painless. Mike, who was staying on site was super helpful and friendly. He gave us great advice about snorkling trips to try, where to get fresh seafood, the best restaurants to try and things to do in general, and when he would see us made sure we had everthing we needed and were having a good time. What a great host, thanks Mike! The cottages were interesting, historically significant since they were built in the era when they were building the overland highway to Key West, but were nicely modernized. Very well maintained, and had the ammenities we needed. The 2 bedroom cottages are great for two couples or a family of 4 or so. The inground pool was great, and there is a private beach area around the pool and a private dock if you are bringing a boat. It is right on the ocean and the water views are awesome, especially around sunset. This rental is also a great value, very affordable considering the location and ammenities. 2 local fresh seafood shops if you want to cook in, and several great places to eat within close driving distance (don't miss Mangrove Mama's). Also suggest taking a charter to Looe Key NWP for diving or snorkling. Clearest water I've ever seen. Have fun!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing week in the sun

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

The cottage was in a lovely setting. We traveled from the UK and found the cottage met all our practical needs plus more. Ideal setting if you want to relax and chill. There was two restraunts within 1& half miles, we walked to both to enable us both to have a drink and the excerise meant I could eat a dessert !!! 30 mins drive to Key West which had all tourist attractions, well worth a visit. There were a number of places to drive to and go for a walk. There was a number of places to fish which the rest of the guests did and caught a great amount of fish. 


The owner Michael was very informative and made our stay hassle free and extremely enjoyable. His hospitality was greatly appreciated especially the special rum drink made with the coconuts from his trees ( thank you)  big thank you for our last evening it was lovely being able to star glaze from your fabulous  balcony.
Overall our week break in the Keys enable us to recharge our batteries meet some lovely people and eat amazing fresh sea food. We would recommend this accommodation. 

Thanks again!! hopefully we will be able to return Matt and Angela 

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

"Excellent spot away from crowded key west!"

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

My wife and kids loved this place..Owner was always available and very Polite on the phone for any questions.The Unit was clean, Kitchen was nice with all utensils. Even though it was not listed there was WiFi available. Violet, the cleaning lady always wants to help. Tony the handyman was cool.,I went on a party boat fishing from keywest and brought back 60 fish fillets one day (snappers & grunt). second day i went with paradise fishing charters key west and caught a 25lb King Fish. I wish there was a Fish Cleaning Station in the property .The Pool was good, there was a kayak which we could use.I wish if they had a fishing pole i could use, I could not get my Fishing gear on the plane. Next time i will rent a boat and go fishing. I will defnitely go back again..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great Location, Very Accomodating

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

The property is conveniently located-close enough to Key West but far enough away to be relaxing. The AC worked very well. Although we were not able to meet the owners, we were able to meet the housekeeper and groundskeeper who were very accomodating. Our boat broke down and we traveled up and down the keys trying to find someone to work on it. Violet (the housekeeper) saved our vacation by calling a mechanic that she knew for us. He fixed the boat that day and was very reasonable. We were there for lobster mini-season, caught our limit and had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Great stay

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

Property was very nice and conveniently located, 20-30 minutes from Key West and state park. Property clean and well maintained. Quiet. Air conditioning worked well. Ok fishing from back dock, other great fishing within 10 minutes driving distance. Owner approached us and asked if we needed anything. Washer/Dryer on property was extremely helpful. Relaxing.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great place to get away from it all!

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

We arrived 1/20/11 and spent 2 wonderful weeks at Michael and Soos' property. Reservations were made through Soo, who was very nice on the phone, and we were met by Michael upon our arrival. The cottages are simple and quaint with 2 nice size bedrooms, screened in porch and really everything you need to get the real feel of the Keys. The views from the dock/pool area are amazing. Fishing from the dock was great as was the fishing at near by bridges. We also rented a boat at Big Pine Boat Rental(very reasonable) and Bill at Big Pine Kayak Adventures(recommended by Michael) is great to deal with for kayak rentals. At Michaels' recommendation we also ate at Mangrove Mommas (about 2 miles south bayside) on our last night(reasonable and very good). Boondocks (about 5 miles north bayside) is great for mini golf and eating (a bit pricier but good). You will be about 20 miles from Key West but we did so much at the property and right around the cottage that we only ate out twice and never ventured far (sunset at Mallory Square on Key West is a must if you have never been though). Grills are available for cooking your fish outside, which we did so much Im almost fished out, as well as a kitchen for any inside cooking you need to do. There is room to dock a good size boat so if you have one...bring it! A boat ride Ocean side or Bay side at sunset cant be beat. Grocery stores are 10 minutes away but smaller stores with all your needs are even closer. We also took the kayak down to the end of Blimp Rd. (across from cottages) and explored the many islands out in the Gulf (well worth it). Anyway, it was a great spot, the other people that were staying were so much fun. Great people, great spot, great vacation! Thanks again Michael and Soo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We meet the greatest people at our property in the Florida Keys!!! Hearing back from guests like Scott and Tammy is what we live for! Thanks for the kind words! Michael & Soo

Helpful votes: 12 / 15

 

Great place, Great location

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Checked in December 22,2010 and had a great time immediately. Owners are very nice and a wealth of knowledge for the entire area. Gave recommendations on where to eat and have fun. Cottages are clean with heating and cooling. The views from the property are awesome. The pool is very nice to relax in for the times you want to do nothing but enjoy the views of the bay. Located in the perfect place in my opinion between Key west and Bahia Honda state park which was an amazing place to visit for the day. The property also had room for boat parking and if you want to kayak from the property you could explore the bay without a problem. You can fish from the pier and catch all sorts of fish, I did and caught six different types of fish including a barracuda and a gar. The property is quiet with a great tropical feel and atmosphere. Easy to get anywhere you want in a short period of time. We stayed for a week and my daughters aged 9 and 14 had a blast. If you have never visited the keys and always wanted to in my opinion this is the place to rent. The whole family had fun, it is centrally located in the lower keys so it is not far from anything and it is right off US route 1. Last but not least it was nice to be able to cook your own food in the fully furnished kitchens in the cottages, it seemed to make the vacation slow down and be more enjoyable than having to go out to eat all the time. If I get the chance I will go back and visit THE TROPICAL BREEZE CONCH COTTAGE on Cudjoe key. Thank you Micheal and Soo for an unforgettable Christmas vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hope we'll see your wonderful family back in the Florida Keys REAL SOON!

Michael and Soo Anton

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Very nice place

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the cottages. We had made reservations at another place in Marathon that turned out to be a nightmare and we left without a place to stay. I called Soo and even though she was out of town, she let us come and look at her place and got us in at a very resonable rate.
The cottage (#1) was just perfect. We had a water view, lots of room for our family, a dock and boat ramp and nice pool. We also met the nicests people!!
We were close to Key West, and close to Bahia Honda State Park.
All in all it was a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the greatest things we have enjoyed is meeting many of the wonderful people who have stayed with us through the years. Hope to see you again in the Keys!

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review