reviews for: listing #12226 - Whidbey Island, Washington Villa rental

Mutiny Bay Getaway - Luxury Beachfront Living
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $625 /nt
    $2,500 - $4,375 /wk
    $9,000 - $18,500 /mth

sort by:

Perfect in EVERY way!!!

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

I recently rented out this property for a 3-day weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday! I have many fond childhood memories of Whidbey and Mutiny Bay and couldn't wait to relive some of them and share this beautiful spot with family and friends. This is a LOVELY home, clean and well appointed.

The greatest thing about this home is that it is ON THE BEACH! There are several rental properties on Whidbey, but few have beach access such as this! It was absolutely amazing! It was so great to feel as though you were a million miles away, yet there is a full-size grocery store 2 minutes away. Everyone agreed that it was a small slice of heaven to go to sleep and wake up to the sound of crashing waves! It just doesn't get any better than this!

We were all thoroughly impressed with the accommodations! I would highly recommend this property to anyone! It's a wonderful spot year-round!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! We are glad that you had such a wonderful time celebrating you birthday!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

family fun

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2005

What a great place! It is beautifully furnished in a sunny beach cottage theme. Everything we needed was available, so all we needed was a few pair of shorts, sandles and a swimsuit! One evening we even dug a hole in the sand for a "true, authentic Northeast Crab and clambake!" It is so great to sit in the living room, enjoy our compny, and still be able to watch the kids playing on the beach. The only downside was that we couldn't get the kids to come in at nite! We will definately be reccommending this property to others and hope that it doesn't get so popular that we are not able to get a spot reserved for us to go back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2008

Enjoyed 4 wonderful nights to celebrate a 50th birthday. The house has EVERYTHING we needed and is more than fully stocked. 3 barbeque's, every sort of kitchen gadget, entertainment center, beach chairs and toys for kids, very nice linens, shampoo and hair-dryer's. Just like a hotel but with privacy and space. Every room has a view. We had 9 adults and everyone had very comfortable sleeping arrangements and the house never felt crowded. It helped that the weather was unusually sunny for Sept. but would have been nice if stormy as well. A perfect getaway for friends and families. Thank you!

-Robin Russell, Seattle, WA (scubarobin@msn.com)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories!

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

My family and I stayed in the house in early October for my sister's 50th birthday. The house was absolutely perfect. Located right on a sandy beach with beautiful views of the Cascades and shipping lanes. Kathy was incredibly helpful in all aspects and went out of her way to make our stay memorable. It was a trip we will never forget as we look forward to our next visit.

-Rick, Orange County, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular views

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2008

Our family stayed here for our sisters Fortieth birthday party at the end of March and it was perfect. Everyone young and old-er were very happy and loved the spectacular views. The mornings were not to be believed with the sunrise and the kids could not stop playing on the beach. The house is amazing with fireplace and cozy kitchen. The bedrooms were perfect for us all and everyone was well taken care of. We will absolutely want to visit again. Thanks for everything.

-Troy Martin and Family, Hollywood, Fl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunsets!

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2008

Every sunset I just knew I had to call the owner and share what she was "missing", but I was so captivated by that 90 minute display of amazing color that I never got the call in! Wow! ??We had a great time and everything was perfect! Thank you so very much for all the attention to amenities. The kids had an amazing time with the beach and the adults

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Mutiny Bay Getaway

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

From the first moment we drove down the driveway we knew we were in for a great getaway. The house has an open floor plan and a "beachy" feel. The house sits right on the beach and each day the sky entertained us with constantly changing light and colors.

The house comes with many amenities. There are movies, a good kitchen with all the dishes, utensils, pots, pans and spices you will most likely need. The beds are comfortable and none of the furnishings are "tired".

During our stay salmon were leaping every few seconds out of water as we watched and each day we had long walks along the shore of the Bay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Salmon season is so much fun with all the sea lions and other sea life it brings!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Multi-age Family Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Our family enjoyed an amazing vacation at Mutiny Bay in mid-June 2013. The house had perfect accommodations for our two adult kids, their spouses, 2 grandkids (ages 3 and 6), my husband and I. We enjoyed dinners on the outdoor patio with a gorgeous view of the bay and beyond. We toasted marshmallows, watched ships go by, walked the beach, checked out the tide pools, observed herons and bald eagles fishing, played endlessly on the big sandy beach and explored the area towns, markets and historical sites. Oh, we saw some dolphins, too. Even the grocery store is conveniently close. The house is lovely and homeowners Kathy and Michael Gersch are a pleasure to rent from, as well as efficient and professional hosts. They go out of their way to provide useful information to those of us unfamiliar with the surrounding area attractions.
We highly recommend this house and would look forward to returning if and when family schedules allow. Everyone in the family said, “Let’s come here again!”

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We would love to have you back any time!! I am so glad that your family had such a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You'll keep coming back again and again

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

This is the second year we have had the great pleasure of staying at the Mutiny Bay getaway. The last two years we have had our family vacations (kids, grandkids, and us grandparents, 10 in all. Within hours of our 1st visit, both of our sons and their wives asked if we could come back again next year and we did. We spent even more time on Mutiny bay this year (12 days) and were in heaven from the moment we arrived. The accommodations are comfortable and spacious. There is plenty of room for privacy and quiet and socializing as a family. The Gersch’s have a number of items for the grandkids, like booster seats, highchairs, toys, videos, and books. The kitchen is big enough for families to do all the cooking needed. Then there’s the beach…it is a kid’s dream, 20 feet from the house, sugar sand, plenty of water for making sand castles, and a patio to play on. We timed our visit this year to coincide with very low tides and just east of the house is a great area for tide pooling; we found, flounder, eels, lots of varieties of crabs, moon snails, goeducks, sea slugs, spiny sea urchins, nudibranchs, and more…all the while a local pair of adult bald eagles hang out on the pilings of the pier to the south. The sun rises and sun sets, sounds of boat/ship traffic, and the lapping of the waves to go to sleep by make this one great place to stay…we’ll be back next year too!!!

Owners response: We love having you every year! Our home is your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding for the Holiday

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

We rented this house for the Thanksgiving weekend. We had 9 people staying in the house. The kitchen was large enough for 4 people to cook.

The house was everything as advertised. 4 bedrooms, right on the beach, nice deck, and wonderful sunsets. We were able to spend a cold night outside around the fire pit on the deck. The kitchen was large and well equipped for serious cooking. 2 minor comments, one of the bedrooms had 2 bunk beds and is most approriate for children. The other 3 bedrooms were large, pleasant, and good for couples. The television and DVD were complicated to figured out and instructions would have been helpful. Overall, very highly satisfied with our stay and would highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the great feedback! We will add some improved DVD instructions! Please come visit us again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect weekend stay for my bridal party!

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

My bridesmaids and I stayed here in late September for the weekend of my wedding, and we had such a wonderful weekend! The home is gorgeous and in great condition. The kitchen was perfect for making community meals and the views from the patio were amazing. The owners were so easy to work with. I'd definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: SO glad we could be a part of such a special day. We are honored that you chose to spend it at Mutiny Bay Getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful time and wonderful memories

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

My husband and I, along with our two children ages 10 & 12 rented this house to spend our Thanksgiving holiday last year 2009. We had a wonderful stay, the house was warm and comfortable, very spacious and they kids enjoyed the beach even though it was cooler temperatures. The best part about it for me, was the kitchen, since my main goal was to prepare the Thanksgiving dinner. The house was well stocked with all the essential kitchen gadgets and I was able to cook to my hearts content. We would love to come back and stay another time when the weather is warmer and the kids can swim and fish. Thanks for a great stay and the great memories of our Thanksgiving on Whidbey Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We would love to have you back any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach getaway for families

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

Beautiful home on a beautiful beach. It is sometimes difficult to find a place large enough to accomodate all our "kids" and grandkids comfortably. We had plenty of room and did not feel like we were crowding each other. The best part, of course, is being able to step out the back door onto the patio and beach. But even on blustery spring days, we were able to enjoy the beauty of the beach and sunsets through the large windows. And it is easy to step right back outside when the sun comes back out! Everyone was posting on Facebook when we got home about the great time had by all. We hope to return...
Clark and Merry

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: So glad your family got some special time together!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach getaway for families...

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

This was a beautiful home on a beautiful beach...perfect for family gatherings. It is sometimes difficult to find a property that will accomodate all of us comfortably...parents, "kids" and grandkids. We had plenty of room for everyone, without feeling "on top of each other" all the time. The best part, of course, is being able to step right out the back door onto the patio and beach. We had blustery spring weather with a combination of warm and cool weather. But even when indoors, you can enjoy the beauty of the beach, sunsets...and be ready to step back outside when the sun comes out!
We hope to be able to return. Great time and beautiful memories.
Thanks! Clark and Merry

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us and for your referrals! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views, comfortable and spacious.

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

What a wonderful place to vacation! This property was spacious and very comfortable. The views were gorgeous and being on the water was so relaxing. We spent only a weekend for my nephew's wedding but would like to go back for an extended vacation. We were all sad to leave it. It will be great for future family reunions or for a girl's weekend getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We would love to host you again any time :)!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

We had a fabulous week here, so relaxing, with our family from England. The views (especially at sunset) were spectacular. We didn't want to go back home! There is everything you could possibly need here and shops and restaurants close by. Try wine tasting and fruit pies at Greenbank Farm. Sarah Knowles, Brookfield WI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 8, 2009

We loved it here! The house is wonderful, very clean, very comfortable and such a treat! The view is amazing from the living room AND EVERY bedroom! The set up is perfect for enjoying time with the 'grown-ups' sitting around the table, and for the kids playing games and exploring.

The owners were so helpful and welcoming in setting up our visit, and providing us with great information.

We were sad to leave; I would love to stay here again. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 8, 2009

We loved it here! The house is wonderful, very clean, very comfortable and such a treat! The view is amazing from the living room AND EVERY bedroom! The set up is perfect for enjoying time with the 'grown-ups' sitting around the table, and for the kids playing games and exploring. The owners were so helpful and welcoming in setting up our visit, and providing us with great information. We were sad to leave; I would love to stay here again. Thank you for everything. Natasha, Seattle, WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 19, 2008

Enjoyed 4 wonderful nights to celebrate a 50th birthday. The house has EVERYTHING we needed and is more than fully stocked. 3 barbeque's, every sort of kitchen gadget, entertainment center, beach chairs and toys for kids, very nice linens, shampoo and hair-dryer's. Just like a hotel but with privacy and space. Every room has a view. We had 9 adults and everyone had very comfortable sleeping arrangements and the house never felt crowded. It helped that the weather was unusually sunny for Sept. but would have been nice if stormy as well. A perfect getaway for friends and families. Thank you! Robin Russell, Seattle, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Enjoyed 4 wonderful nights to celebrate a 50th birthday. The house has EVERYTHING we needed and is more than fully stocked. 3 barbeque's, every sort of kitchen gadget, entertainment center, beach chairs and toys for kids, very nice linens, shampoo and hair-dryer's. Just like a hotel but with privacy and space. Every room has a view. We had 9 adults and everyone had very comfortable sleeping arrangements and the house never felt crowded. It helped that the weather was unusually sunny for Sept. but would have been nice if stormy as well. A perfect getaway for friends and families. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

We had have now stayed in this wonderful home on two occasions. Both are great memories with our kids and friends that we will have forever. I can't say enough about what a perfect spot this was.We'll be back. paul gast, seattle, wa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We had have now stayed in this wonderful home on
two occasions. Both are great memories with our kids
and friends that we will have forever. I can't say
enough about what a perfect spot this was.
We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

We had a wonderful time! With walks on the beach and time spent relaxing in the house, we couldn't have asked for better spot for a long weekend. There were 12 of us, and we had plenty of space. The kitchen was terrific for cooking big meals, and the fully stocked kitchen made it easy. Thanks so much - we'll be back! Rosenkranz Family, Seattle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time! With walks on the beach and time spent relaxing in the house, we couldn't have asked for better spot for a long weekend. There were 12 of us, and we had plenty of space. The kitchen was terrific for cooking big meals, and the fully stocked kitchen made it easy. Thanks so much - we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

What a wonderful vacation my family and I enjoyed in your beautiful beach house. Wonderful walks on the beach, sensational sunsets, the warmth of the fire pit and wonderful meals both there and at some fabulous restaurants. You offered all of the amenities we needed. As your sign over the back door says, we indeed made wonderful memories. Thank you! The Brotman Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

What a wonderful vacation my family and I enjoyed in your beautiful beach house. Wonderful walks on the beach, sensational sunsets, the warmth of the fire pit and wonderful meals both there and at some fabulous restaurants. You offered all of the amenities we needed. As your sign over the back door says, we indeed made wonderful memories. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2008   Date of arrival: July 3, 2008

Every sunset I just knew I had to call the owner and share what she was "missing", but I was so captivated by that 90 minute display of amazing color that I never got the call in! Wow! We had a great time and everything was perfect! Thank you so very much for all the attention to amenities. The kids had an amazing time with the beach and the adults were in awe of the eagles, peace and quiet and the sunsets! I could go on and on.We will be back! Anna Marie, Issaquah, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 3, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Every sunset I just knew I had to call the owner and share what she was "missing", but I was so captivated by that 90 minute display of amazing color that I never got the call in! Wow!

We had a great time and everything was perfect! Thank you so very much for all the attention to amenities. The kids had an amazing time with the beach and the adults were in awe of the eagles, peace and quiet and the sunsets! I could go on and on.

We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2008   Date of arrival: April 18, 2008

Our family stayed here for our sisters Fortieth birthday party at the end of March and it was perfect. Everyone young and old-er were very happy and loved the spectacular views. The mornings were not to be believed with the sunrise and the kids could not stop playing on the beach. The house is amazing with fireplace and cozy kitchen. The bedrooms were perfect for us all and everyone was well taken care of. We will absolutely want to visit again. Thanks for everything. Troy Martin and Family, Hollywood, Fl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 18, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Our family stayed here for our sisters Fortieth birthday party at the end of March and it was perfect. Everyone young and old-er were very happy and loved the spectacular views. The mornings were not to be believed with the sunrise and the kids could not stop playing on the beach. The house is amazing with fireplace and cozy kitchen. The bedrooms were perfect for us all and everyone was well taken care of. We will absolutely want to visit again. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 1, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

My family and I stayed in the house in early October for my sister's 50th birthday. The house was absolutely perfect. Located right on a sandy beach with beautiful views of the Cascades and shipping lanes. Kathy was incredibly helpful in all aspects and went out of her way to make our stay memorable. It was a trip we will never forget as we look forward to our next visit. Rick, Orange County, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

My family and I stayed in the house in early October for my sister's 50th birthday. The house was absolutely perfect. Located right on a sandy beach with beautiful views of the Cascades and shipping lanes. Kathy was incredibly helpful in all aspects and went out of her way to make our stay memorable. It was a trip we will never forget as we look forward to our next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2006   Date of arrival: July 24, 2006

Fabulous house with everything you need for a perfect vacation! Very well equipped kitchen, clean and comfy home, great beach, deck, backyard with garden, very quite and serene. We had a wonderful family reunion and would love to visit again!The Nakaoka's april Nakaoka, Los Alamos, NM

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Fabulous house with everything you need for a perfect vacation! Very well equipped kitchen, clean and comfy home, great beach, deck, backyard with garden, very quite and serene. We had a wonderful family reunion and would love to visit again!
The Nakaoka's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We had a fabulous week here, so relaxing, with our family from England. The views (especially at sunset) were spectacular. We didn't want to go back home! There is everything you could possibly need here and shops and restaurants close by. Try wine tasting and fruit pies at Greenbank Farm.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 14, 2005   Date of arrival: September 14, 2005

We spent a fun weekend at the Mutiny Bay Getaway. It's a beautifully remodeled luxury getaway, complete with 100' of no-bank waterfront. The kids couldn't get enough of the beach, boats and crabbing in the Sound. We awoke to waves lapping on the beach, and went to sleep after bonfires and s'mores in the evening. A lovely weekend. Kathy, Mercer Island, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 10, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

Wonderful Weekend. Right on the beach and the kids loved playing in the sand. You can fish. Very well kept. Easy to fit several famalies

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 10, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

We spent a fun weekend at the Mutiny Bay Getaway. It's a beautifully remodeled luxury getaway, complete with 100' of no-bank waterfront. The kids couldn't get enough of the beach, boats and crabbing in the Sound. We awoke to waves lapping on the beach, and went to sleep after bonfires and s'mores in the evening. A lovely weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 9, 2005   Date of arrival: September 9, 2005

What a great place! It is beautifully furnished in a sunny beach cottage theme. Everything we needed was available, so all we needed was a few pair of shorts, sandles and a swimsuit! One evening we even dug a hole in the sand for a "true, authentic Northeast Crab and clambake!" It is so great to sit in the living room, enjoy our compny, and still be able to watch the kids playing on the beach. The only downside was that we couldn't get the kids to come in at nite! We will definately be reccommending this property to others and hope that it doesn't get so popular that we are not able to get a spot reserved for us to go back again! Anonymous

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

What a great place! It is beautifully furnished in a sunny beach cottage theme. Everything we needed was available, so all we needed was a few pair of shorts, sandles and a swimsuit! One evening we even dug a hole in the sand for a "true, authentic Northeast Crab and clambake!" It is so great to sit in the living room, enjoy our compny, and still be able to watch the kids playing on the beach. The only downside was that we couldn't get the kids to come in at nite! We will definately be reccommending this property to others and hope that it doesn't get so popular that we are not able to get a spot reserved for us to go back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 30, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

A great house and fabulous beach and views! Excellent for kids and lots of room and things to do. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review