reviews for: listing #12243 - Alexandria Bay, New York House rental

1000 Islands Summer Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Blind Bay
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing Waterfront Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Great place to just get away from the noise and traffic. Loved the openness of the kitchen, dining and living room area. You could sit anywhere in this area and look out to the water. This house was just the right size for 5 adults and one child. The weather was ideal to leave the windows open and feel the cool breeze all day long. The front yard was great for our grandson to run around and play ball. Downtown Alexandria Bay was only about 15 minutes away with restaurants along the water and some shopping. Visited Clayton and toured the boat museum and then did some shopping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

This home was the perfect location with plenty of room and a great yard. Truly a home away from home and had everything we needed from pots and pans to a washer & dryer. Home was neat and clean, extra blankets and pillows available, very comfortable. Coffee on the deck with the Kindle while the water laps the shore...nothing better!

We also rented a deck boat from Aqua Marina for the week and were able to go tubing and visit the castles. It can be shallow near the dock, we were okay, but any later in the season and you may have to anchor out a bit and wade to and from shore...if you have kids, worth it to bring a badminton net/ outdoor sports equipment since the yard is nice and big.

It is a short ride by car or boat to downtown Alex Bay or Clayton. Clayton is a bit further south but has better downtown/dining options. Grocery store is about 15 minutes south or if you are looking for a Walmart/Lowes/Price Chopper, worth it to go north on 12 for about 25-30 minutes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Property!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The house was great, with all linens, plates, etc provided - even a gas grille. Our family of five was able to coexist without feeling cramped. We found the place to be very clean and well decorated. The yard is incredible, offering lots of shade with an amazing view of Chippewa Bay, and nice views of the ships passing in the distance. Approx. 10 minute boat ride to Singer Castle, maybe 40 minutes to Boldt Castle. Alexandria Bay is about a 20 minute drive, Clayton perhaps 10 minutes further. We have no complaints about the driving, it's all very scenic and not at all crowded.

The house is on a private lane with little traffic. The yard ends at a dock on a nice, quiet part of the river. As first-time boaters we never felt crowded or nervous on the water. We boated every day. As one reviewer noted the water is a bit shallow at the dock, but we managed to get a pontoon boat in and out with no issues. We chose not to swim from the dock, but did just fine from the boat when anchored near the many nearby islands.

Blind Bay Marina a short walk away, offering boat rentals, fuel, and a small convenience store. Shermerhorn Marina is a five minute drive, with a larger rental and store operation. If renting a boat try and reserve well in advance. We waited too long and probably paid too much for an older boat.

This seems to be a year-round residence with heat (and fireplace). No air conditioning but even in August the evenings were cool and comfortable - we never missed it!

We would absolutely recommend the property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1000 Islands Vacation

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Fantastic time, fantastic cottage. Close to all the action, including a short escape to Canada. Would recommend this cottage to everyone. Very well appointed, bright, cheerful. We plan to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful view

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

The view from the deck of the house is one of the best I have seen. It is even better in person then you can guess from the photos, especially during sunset on a clear day.

The house is simple, but very well decorated: roomy, bright, and uncluttered.

Bring your boat, or rent one if you are adventurous. Beware that it is pretty shallow near the dock, but there was enough water for my 23' open bow. Singer Castle is accross the bay - couple of minutes ride, Alexandria Bay and Bold Castle are less then half an hour by boat. The river has so many places to explore.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Vacation

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

The vacation was great- did not want to leave. There is so much to do in the area. We ventured to Alex Bay, over to Canada for the day, Wesley Island and Cedar Island. The house is everything described and more. We had quite breakfast on the deck, fished in the morning or late afternoon and back for dinner with a view. We enjoyed fires in the pit, roasted marshmallows and hot dogs. The house was clean, decorated beautifully, and everything in working condition. The location offers a nice place to relax and enjoy the view or it is a short distance from everything Thousand Islands has to offer. Thanks for the great memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Beyond Our Expectations - Really Very Nice

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

Truly a lovely home at a lovely spot... We didn't want to leave. We enjoyed waking up to our quiet mornings , eating breakfast on the big deck and watching the kids run around the big, beautiful yard.

This home has a great view which can be seen from inside the house, as full size windows stretch along the great room. My wife enjoyed cooking and having family meals at the big table by the glass windows. The mature trees on this pretty piece of land frame the view of the river as if you are looking at a picture. It is clear that the owners are as meticulous about their trees and their yard as they are about the inside of the home.

The home was furnished exquisitely and was beyond what we expected from the pictures. The kitchen was well stocked and everything we needed was in the home. My wife was in awe of how everything was coordinated in every room. All the chairs and tables on the deck were wonderful and we got a lot of use out of the sturdy picnic table below the steps. We enjoyed having campfires and appreciated the firewood provided.

We had no logistical problems of any kind while we were there and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you for sharing your very beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review