reviews for: listing #12262 - Vilano Beach, Florida House rental

Vilano Beach Oceanfront Apartment
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Nice beach apartment

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We arrived to a freshly-painted interior--white and bright. Very comfortable, with a fully-equipped kitchen. Loved being close to the beach. If you like shelling, this is the place for you! The property manager is close-by and accommodating. Enjoyed exploring the area on our bikes. There's a boardwalk that goes under the Usina Bridge--an easy ride to Publix, the pier, Beaches, and other restaurants. A short ride by car gets you to Ponte Vedra or St. Augustine Beach. A drawback is that the bedroom is on the highway side, which can be noisy. It's an upper level with a staircase--no problem for us, but older friends had some difficulty with this. We would definitely stay here again. Hopefully, the weather will be better next time, but it was still better than Upper Michigan!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place in a perfect location

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We escaped from the cold and snowy Bloomington IL area to this wonderful condo. Cute, perfect, steps from the beach. Mike the owner was a pleasure to deal with. The great location was close to Daytona (bike week), Jacksonville and only 2 1/2 hours to Savannah. Publix grocery store walking distance. The view was spectacular. So close to historic St. Augustine and the beautiful and tasty Columbia resturant. We enjoyed our little getaway here and would highly recommend staying here. Everything was perfect and Mike the owner was a perfect host. We will return!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT RENTAL!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

The apartment was exactly as advertised, clean & very well equipped. Mike couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating, giving the personal touch that makes you feel right at home. Publix is a short walk down the road for everything you'll need. The beach is at your front door & the balcony is perfect for watching the sunrise with a morning cup of coffee.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this apartment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet vacation spot

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

My vacation at Crow's Nest was a very nice experience. The house is clean, cozy, comfortable and charming. It came with all amenities that I needed, i.e., basic kitchen supplies, paper goods, linens, laundry facilities, TV w/cable, and Internet access. I brought a long cord to connect my laptop to the router situated in the bedroom which enabled me to easily access the Internet from the living room. There is also a nice bookcase featuring dozens of good reads, primarily fiction, which made staying there all the more relaxing.

The owner Mike, Rae, and Marc were very nice and easy to work with, as well as prompt, cheerful, and attentive to any questions or concerns. It was a pleasure working with them. Marc was great and especially helpful once I got there, always at the ready no matter what time of day I called him.

The only drawback for me was that the bedroom is on the side of the coastal highway so there is traffic noise. However, I brought some earplugs which worked well in ensuring a good night's sleep. The bed was very comfortable.

The location is in good proximity to the local Publix supermarket and St. Augustine historic area. Considering that it took about one minute to walk to the beach to enjoy my morning coffee, in addition to having a spectacular view at night of the full moon shining over the ocean, one would be hard pressed to find as good a vacation spot elsewhere in that area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Left some things to be desired.....

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Beautiful beach & convenient location! First night Palmetto bug size of a kitten ran across kitchen floor, next night one in bedroom. Owner did put us up for 2 nights at local hotel as he needed to exterminate the place. Had to ask for a new charcoal grill as the one there was rusted and falling down. We bought a new shower curtin liner due mold on theirs. All the necessary conveniences but not very clean which made for an uncomfortable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Their first complaint was that the closet light didn't work. The on-site caretaker pointed out that they should turn on the switch. Next they complained that we provided no paper towels. We showed them how to open the cabinet door where the baggies, plastic wrap, paper towels, etc. were stored. Then they didn't like the grill because the legs were rusted. We pointed out that eventually everything rusts at the beach because of the salt air, but that the covered grilling surface was fine. We bought them a new grill anyway. Then they complained about a bug. We have our entire property treated each quarter by Florida Pest Control and the last treatment was completed three weeks prior. The caretaker saw no bugs or evidence of any, but we had it treated again anyway. Then the wife informed us that she "coudln't stand the spray," was "very sensitive and always had to leave" when their place was sprayed, and that she would "have to stay gone for two days." So we put them up in a hotel for two nights. I didn't find out about the mold complaint until after they had left and posted their review. If there was mold and they had told me immediately, we could have replaced the shower curtain in a few minutes. I was at the property a few days later and couldn't find any mold in any of our three units or my Dad's house next door. I am sorry they were unhappy, but nothing we did pleased these people. We use the place ourselves when we come to see family and we try to keep it ready as if we, our kids and grandkids showed up without notice.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mickey

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

The condo was very nice.... the description was very accurate and I will use it again if it is available on the dates I am in the area..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice!

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Just returned home after a week's stay at the Crow's Nest. The apartment is roomy, clean and very comfortable. Everything you will need is furnished......just bring your clothes and food and you are ready to enjoy your stay. When we decide to vacation in Vilano beach again, we will check the Crow's Nest first for available dates.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beachfront property!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Crow's Nest - perfect spot. Convenient to beach and St. Augustine area. Very nice private off-street parking. Cozy, clean and comfortable. Owner great to work with and accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful, steps from the beach apartment

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Property just like the photos; about 50 feet to the beach. We had an absolutely wonderful time! Saw a lot of dolphins, found a few sharks teeth. There is actually 2 rentals available - Crows Nest & Dolphins Run - we had the opportunity to stay at both properties and both are great. Property was supplied with just about everything you would need, but if not, there is a Publix right up the road. St. George street is also about 5 minutes away if you want to do the tourist thing. We are pretty much locals living about 45 min away in Jacksonville and rent every year in either Vilano or Crescent beach. This property and owner, Mike, is the best we have rented from. Mike was very accommodating along with the property manager, Joe, who my 5 year old absolutely loved. Between the two of them they made sure we were comfortable and did not want for anything. If I could give more stars I would. Highly recommended!! Thanks Mike for sharing your wonderful place with us! Oh, almost forgot Rae, she is awesome too, very pleasant! :0)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Crowns Nest

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

We spent three days at the Crows Nest and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay right on the beach. Very comfortable accomadations and well stocked. The owners were very nice to work with and we will return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A sweet retreat

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our vacation, and very much felt like we had arrived at home. The property is well equipped and well located on Vilano Beach. For our family of three, there was plenty of space and when we had friends visit for the day, their family of 5 was easily accommodated for meals and chilling after the beach.
The beach is 5th star of this property - shells abounding, dolphins swimming, sea stars, fishing and more! We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just perfect!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay! Private entrance to your own apartment just steps away from the beach! The hosts are wonderful, the space is ample, and the apartment is well maintained. The only drawback was the internet. It is not wireless. I had a lot of online school work to accomplish and was stuck inside in one place for hours at a time because of this. Additionally, my husband and I could not be online at the same time.

The beach is in its natural state with beautiful sand- not the ugly gray stuff like Myrtle Beach. Caution: there are NO lifeguards as this is a private area so I do not recommend it for families with small children.

The location is out of the hubbub of St. Augustine yet plenty close enough when you want that kind of thing. The center of Vilano Beach reminds me of Radiator Springs from the movie Cars and I would love to see it revitalized a bit more with businesses and people.

Overall, a terrific home away from home for a week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Couldn't Be Better

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

The Crow's Nest is accurately described and the photos are exactly what you get. It was very clean and well-maintained. Mark and Linda were waiting in the drive upon our arrival. They were very helpful with suggestions regarding things to do, places to eat, etc. The beach was a very short walk from the Crow's Nest on a landscaped path. I would recommend this property to anybody looking for a quieter beach getaway. The beach was never crowded. Be sure to take your fishing rod for surf fishing. We took advantage of the close proximity to Old St. Augustine and visited often. We toured the historic fort and the Fountain of Youth. Maybe we will get the Alligator Farm on our next trip. We enjoyed eating at Harry's in Old St. Augustine. Caps at Vilano Beach is a must as you eat on the water under live oaks with Spanish moss.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Will definitely go back

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We just got back and had a great time. The location was perfect. The beach was just over the dunes and there was nice walkway all the way there. The place was clean and stocked with all your basic needs and then some. Mark, the caretaker, was very nice and helpful. There was plenty of room for my kids to run around. We had a fabulous time!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a Great Time

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

My family and I recently rented this apartment and it is exactly as described! It was more than enough room for my husband and I and our 2 year old, the apartment was very child friendly, not too many things for him to possibly break. The on-site managers were very nice and helpful, providing shovels and pails for our little one and suggesting places to eat. Right on the beach, can't beat it! Very secluded beach and great for shell hunters. Would definitely stay again. Bed very comfortable. Could easily sleep 2-3 more in the pull out in the living area. Kitchen well stocked and clean.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

Our family of four stayed here July 2009 and had just a wonderful stay. The oceanfront apartment was perfect! We loved being at the beach, close to the attractions, St. Augustine, everything! The on site caretaker was very helpful. Place was just what we were looking for to make our stay perfect. We highly recommend staying here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review