reviews for: listing #1229 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Beach Cottage in Village from $165/night
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $336 /nt
    $1,132 - $2,350 /wk
    $2,800 - $2,860 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful location, right near the beach and Village!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

There were four of us (two couples) who stayed in this charming little house for three nights. It was just perfect for two couples; it's a converted duplex, so there are two kitchen sinks and two different sitting areas, which made cooking and relaxing very easy. And we did a lot of cooking, grilling fresh fish for most of our meals on the nice grill in the back yard. Each bedroom had a bathroom nearby, and while the bedrooms are rather small, they were just fine. The house is decorated very nicely and has quite a bit of character. Though it is somewhat jammed between two larger buildings, that didn't bother us. And it was very nice to have a spacious driveway off the street, as the street was often full of beach-goers' cars.

Speaking of the beach, it was just beautiful, and a short block away. And Carlsbad Village is right there also... just a few short blocks to all kinds of dining and shopping. We also hopped on the Coaster train in Carlsbad Village for a nice worry-free trip down to Old Town San Diego... why bother with freeways and parking?

We won't hesitate to stay here again! Our only regret is that we didn't get out on the 4 beach bikes!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderfully relaxing!

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

This was our second year staying at this beach house and it was perfect again!
Close to everything, beach, stores, etc.
House is well supplied with all you need. Owners are wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind remarks. The cottage really is close to everything that can make the stay enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VRBO 9/9/2013

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Perfect location. Well equipped with beach "toys" for adults and children. Ample parking which is scarce in the area. Walking distance to great restaurants. Bedrooms are very small but accurately represented.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. Having the off street parking is a blessing and it truly is a great location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

James

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

The cottage was great ! It is close to the village and the beach. So much better than a hotel. We will be booking it again, when we come out to visit our son and his family. If the bar on the corner was quieter, it would be perfect. Bob made everything about the rental very easy and laid back. We will be calling you again, Bob.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Jim, it's easy to have a good time there for sure. If we didn't have to pay the mortgage we'd be there a lot more ourselves! Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

good times

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

This place was perfect walking distance to the beach and towf, coldstone icecream 3 blocks away. Great for two couples with a few kids, bikes and boogie boards too. Fires at night were fun in the front yard.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Close to the beach and center of action

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The property is exactly what you want if you want to be very close to the beach and dining. The accomodations are average, but OK for the price / value. If it were me, I would replace the bedroom mattresses with something more firm, and don't encourage anyone to use the pullouts. However, we loved the fact that we could take our dog, and very much appreciated the beach awning and chairs. Again, for the price, the value was OK. The owner was very good and easy to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most convenient!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

This cottage is steps from the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants and little shops. It has the best layout of almost any rental where I've stayed. We had 3 teenage boys who set up their TVs and game consoles in one living room; they also slept on the floor in there. My husband, daughter, and I used the other TV for watching TV. The kitchen / dining room is nice and large, and I set up my desktop PC and printer on a portable table in one corner; it wasn't in the way at all. There were no problems hooking up the computer or the game consoles to the internet. Wi-fi was good too. We also cooked an entire Thanksgiving meal with all the trimmings, including a roast turkey. The dishwasher worked great, and so did the microwave. There was a coffeemaker, a toaster, and a hand mixer as well was two nice space heaters. Plenty of blankets and towels were included. There was a washer/dryer in the carport, plus space for two huge SUVs+ to park. The yard is a nice size and very pleasant; we had a bonfire in the fire pit and made s'mores. There are not a lot of outlets, and we brought power strips. We didn't have any problems with overloads until I tried to plug in both space-heaters on one circuit and blew the breaker. There are three TVs with cable and DVD players, one in each bedroom and one in one of the living rooms. These are not giant flat-screen TVs, so if you can't live without, like the teenagers with their game consoles, bring your own. Bob Flora was also very easy to work with and made everything about our stay very easy. I highly recommend this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to stay!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

This is really a great place to stay. Our family of 8 really filled the place up but the place essentially has 2 master bedrooms, 2 living rooms and a decent size kitchen. Nothing too fancy but very comfortable and all the conveniences right down to dishwasher tabs. Outside has a private area for reading, hanging out and eating. Walking distance to the village and only a couple of houses from the beach made it a really nice vacation base!!

The ONLY negative thing I found was that it is the noise from the bar on the corner. Not at all a problem during the week but a little noisy on the weekends. Not a deal breaker but something to be aware of.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

June 2010

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Comfortable house RIGHT near beach. Great for familiy. Very loud bar/lounge across the street (only on Sat nights). Nice to have bikes, BBQ and toys to use. The beds are okay-back bedroom frame was very squeeky. Great beach decor in house. Very easy to work with owners.
Would return again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: December 31, 2007   Date of arrival: December 31, 2007

We stayed in the beach house in April 2006 and we absolutely loved it. We had plenty of room for our 3 children. The kids loved the toys you provided. I appreciated the warm hospitality and the washer and dryer. We are referring my parents since they will be planning a trip to San Diego. Thanks for providing a clean and comfortable place as an alternative to hotels.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2007   Date of arrival: April 13, 2007

Bob
I forgot to add my comment when we stayed last year..I have stayed in several condos In Carlsbad..but felt most comfortable in yours..It is a beach house that is cute and makes you feel like home..I loved the fact it is close to stores and wonderful places to poke around or eat..As you know I loved it so much there, I am renting again this year..it is a non-stuffy, fun place to rent..for a couple or a family..I would tell anyone who wants a place to relax, sit outside and enjoy the weather and read a book..or be on the go..this is a place where I found some fun and peace..thanks Bob..Sandi

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2006   Date of arrival: November 27, 2006

10/8/06 Thank you for the use of your place. We had a great time while here. Everything was perfect and made us feel at home! Aloha, Sam, Robyn, Chase and Nikki

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2006   Date of arrival: November 27, 2006

9/17/06 Wow! What an amazing place you have here. We so thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I loved the Oceanside Pier and walking on the beach. Also the quilt like shower curtain. We are here celebrating our cousin Dale's 60th birthday. What a blessing. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2006   Date of arrival: November 27, 2006

2 Oct 06 Thanks for your wonderful home! We had a great time enjoying the cool ocean breeze with the windows open in the evening. We hope to be back soon to enjoy more of the beautiful CA sun.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 27, 2006   Date of arrival: November 27, 2006

9/24/06 Bob and Monica. You have a beautiful place and in such a great location. We were here for our daughter's wedding, so we were running every which way and this was the perfect place to sit and relex when we got a chance. Thank you so much and I hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2006   Date of arrival: November 18, 2006

Bob and Monica, your beach house is so great! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here... close to the beach, close to the shops, it was great! You have made it so cute and we had everything that we needed. Thank you for your hospitality in calling to make sure that we had everything. We will be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2006   Date of arrival: November 18, 2006

What a lovely week! Such a cozy, cute place. For my husbands 85th birthday we could not have asked for anything better. Beats the Hilton all to heck and back. Our only regret is that it is yours and not ours. Not seriously, because so much to keep it up as nice as you do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2006   Date of arrival: November 18, 2006

We rented many homes- this is by far the most serene, quaint, and relaxation-inducing home. We entertained our family and enjoyed spending time with our son. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We hope to return. Your home is perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2005   Date of arrival: July 5, 2005

HIGHLY recomend for familys we took our 2 sons, and wives and two grand children 8 in all it was sooo comfortable clean cheerfull very close to the beach walking distance from shops,beds in the sofas werent very comfy but other than that it was sooo nice we really didnt want to leave just felt so comfortable there we would definetly go there again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 29, 2004   Date of arrival: September 29, 2004

This was the most wonderful place.I felt like I was coming home everynight, instead of staying in a hotel or "someone elses house". Everything we needed was there, and more.....boogie boards, bikes,surf boards, chairs, etc.

I would highly reccomend this to any family looking for a place to go and truly enjoy themselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review