reviews for: listing #1237 - Sugar Mountain, North Carolina Condo rental

Unforgettable Mountaintop Views-The Reserve @ Sugar Mountain
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Reserve
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $250 /nt
    $500 - $1,330 /wk
    $1,600 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Adults

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

This is a beautiful condo with pretty views. Everything one needs is there except personal items. I would rent this unit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

What a wonderful vacation! We stayed here for two weeks in July and had an amazing time. The condo was immaculate and spacious. The view off the back deck is incredible, and we spent most of our time out there enjoying the fresh air. The owners are very friendly and provide lots of helpful information about the local area. There is a great outlook at the top where you can see 360 degrees at all of the surrounding mountains. The restaurants and grocery stores are conveniently close. We ventured out twice to the Profile Trail which is located on the side of Grandfather Mountain closest to the condo. It starts as an easy hike by a stream (my four-year-old niece loved it), and you continue onward and upward if you want a longer and challenging hike. This was a memorable trip and a refreshing reprieve from the summer heat back home. We have already recommended this getaway to friends and we hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My daughter 1st trip to Sugar Mountain

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

Every year, I visited Sugar Mountain and have stayed at many places. I'm really glad to have a chance to stay at the Reserve especially on this specific trip bringing my daughter to Sugar Mountain for the 1st time. She has been bragging and showing pictures to all her friends. The condo has the best view and is fully stock so we didn't really need to bring anything other than our clothing and skiing equipment. The beds were very comfortable and everything were very clean which make us feels like home. The warmth setting of the condo reflects the owner personality and we were glad to have the opportunity to stay. We would definitely like to come back and would recommend this place to our friends and family. PS- you can ski down the slope to ticket office to avoid congested parking. Thank you A.S...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo With Beautiful Views

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

We've had many trips to the Sugar Mountain area, but this place tops all of them. The condo was beautiful and exceptionally well kept. The endless views and sunsets were unbelievable! The owner was great to work with and very helpful. If you're looking for a top notch mountain retreat at a reasonable price...this is it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AH-MAZING view, amazing getaway!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

What a glorious mountain retreat! With busy work schedules, this was the perfect weekend getaway that included many hours by the fire place, great meals from the kitchen, spectacular sunsets, and a little amateur skiing & snowboarding! Whether you have the opportunity to stay a week or just a weekend, you'll have everything you need to make this condo retreat your home away from home. Easy to get to, amazing views, extremely comfortable beds, lots of parking, and very close to the ski slopes and nearby restaurants/ grocery stores. We highly recommend this rental at The Reserve at Sugar Mountain, and hope to go back again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The owner was great to work with! Condo was perfect for our group, quiet area, easy to find, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway location!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

We planned a fairly last minute trip to Sugar Mountain and were so happy we found this condo. The quality of the construction and furnishing surpasses much of what you find on Sugar Mountain. The unit was clean and comfortable and contained everything we needed to enjoy a few days in the mountains. The views are spectacular! The wind can really whip at the top of the mountain but that is the price you play for the view. Annie is very responsive and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

Great condo...and wonderful views. Furnished nicely with lots of kitchen supplies. Recommend Bella's and The Painted Fish for dining options.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

The condo is in excellent condition with fantastic views. The owner was very nice and easy to work with. The condo, however, is not walking distance to the ski slopes. You can, however, drive a very short distance away inside the Reserve to a great spot 100 feet away from the top of the mountain.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing condo!!!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

It was crazy cold outside, -20, with winds of 20-30mph. We were warm and toasty inside. Great kitchen, easy to find everything. Easy to get in and out of the condo from the parking lot. For tech geeks, just know that there is very limited cellular reception and the wifi is slow/spotty. Most people would probably not notice, but 4 laptops, skype, gaming, streaming, etc... My boys were frustrated, but that was probably for the better.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome condo!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

We had a great visit in Sugar Mountain! This condo was great...fully stocked with everything we needed! Comfortable, convienent and cozy! Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Horse whisperer

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Very clean, nicely decorated, amazing view, very friendly owner. We Will come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Making memories at "Granddaughter Mountain"!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

I cannot say enough what a wonderful condo this was for our family (2 adults and 2 kids). We enjoyed every minute of our trip! Annie was fantastic to work with and so very helpful and organized! We have no need to look any further for a condo on our trips to Sugar…this is it for us! It is outfitted and furnished just as we would our own place! The kids LOVED all the games and puzzles and made for many fun family game nights! The views were beautiful and the huge deck was enjoyable and the beds were extremely comfortable! Thank you for sharing your place with us. Will be booking again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Like Home Plus Amazing Long Range Views!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

I'm a little picky and a bit anal, so I literally crawled through 1100+ listings in the area until I found The Reserve and Granddaughter Mountain and knew I had hit gold! It had all the comforts of home...clean, cozy, beautifully furnished, absolutely phenomenal unobstructed western views at 4900+ ft elevation making sunsets simply awesome. It was wonderfully appointed with everything needed to enjoy a week in the mountains! We had not been back to the area since 1989 and weren't sure what to expect so this "find" was even more special. Annie was a real pleasure to work with providing a wealth of information on the area. She even managed an earlier than usual check in for us which was great! There is no doubt we will be back! Thanks, Annie, for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation 10/12/13 thru 10/19/13 of Naples, FL family.

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Just a few words to describe our vacation. It was awesome. From the moment we entered the condo to the day we left was just wonderful The condo was way above our expectations. It was larger than it looked in the pictures and appointed very nicely. I enjoyed working with Annie and Peter. Their home was superb and the views just awesome and the condo was very, very clean. I would recommend this property to any of my family or friends. I believe we will try to come back here next October for a two weeks stay. Thank you Annie and Peter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Very organized and an excellent place to get away to!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything is claims and more

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

The accommodations were superb! This condo was decorated with style and it was so easy to simply relax and enjoy the glorious sunsets. The surrounding area provided plenty of activities and restaurants. The golfing was the highlight of the trip. It has been a long time since we went somewhere and said "we will be back"!

The Manager answered all the questions even before you had to asked. When furnishing the condo, they thought of everything.

We are already planning our next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Retreat.

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

We have been renting through VRBO since 2006, I have to admit that this property made us feel 'At home' Pictures do not do justice to the interior of the home. From the moment we walked into the property it just soothed us. Unlike the scary drive uphill to Beech mountain or other areas on sugar mountain the drive to "Grand Daughter's mountain" was enjoyable and not at all intimidating.

Annie was a joy to work with, ours was a last minute trip but she was so accommodative and made sure everything was taken care inspite of her regular schedule. The directions to the property were PERFECT and she had some lovely suggestions of places to visit and eat at. Although we cooked in the house mostly , we did visit the farm she suggested and my 7 and 3 yr old boys loved it.

The house had everything you could think of and in top condition.

We will be staying here without a second thought on our next trip.

Thank you Annie for making us feel so welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Couldn't be better!!!

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

The most outstanding rental place ever in the mountain!!! The pictures are exactly what the home looks like...beautiful, clean, well-decorated, and close to the mountains. We prefer to rent homes for our vacations because it's more comfortable and convenient with two young toddlers.

This home and location was just PERFECT! Grocery stores and restaurants were within 5 minutes away. In the meantime, you can enjoy total private and beautiful nature every minutes. The owner, Annie, is so nice and accommodating in many ways for our special occasion. Annie is such wonderful host! it was a great experience and we'd definitely come back in near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time in the mountains

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

This beautiful condo was clean, well-maintained, and nicely decorated. The kitchen had all the appliances needed and the beds were very comfortable. We really appreciated having two private baths. The icing on the cake, though, was the fireplace and the views from the balcony. Being at an elevation of about 5,000 feet allowed for some great views of the surrounding mountains. It was very convenient to be just a few steps from our car. The hiking in that area is fabulous, with Grandfather Mountain, Roane Mountain, and Linville Gorge less than an hour away. The town of Banner Elk has everything you need, but if you are looking for more choices for restaurants, Boone is about 20 miles away. Annie was wonderful to work with, answering questions by e-mail and phone. I would definitely recommend this property. Thanks for sharing your home with us, Annie & Peter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You should be HERE!

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

From the first communication about this condo I knew I didn't need to keep searching. They could not have been easier to work with - very prompt in responses - they go above and beyond with detailed directions and even make suggestions on things to do while in the area. Now, as far as the accommodations go........in one word PERFECTION! It is decorated beautifully, stocked well, extremely comfortable beds, games, puzzles, DVR - all the luxuries of home and that's how this condo feels. Also, the view in the pics online are breathtaking, they are taken from the condo'slarge deck and as beautiful as the are, they still don't do it justice.
You should've be HERE. You will not be disappointed!
Thanks! We will be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

On Top of Sugar !!!!!!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Had a great time staying at this beautiful and extremely well equipped condo. Incredible view of several mountain ranges. Excellent appliances, TV's, DVD player, etc....Unit was exceptionally clean and well equipped. Annie, the owner/manager of the unit was very responsive-----even calling to check that everything was in order. If you're going to visit the "High Country" of NC-----this unit would be a great choice for location, comfort and for every other reason. Plan to visit again !!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Condo Get-Away!

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We have stayed at other condos at Sugar Mountain for get-aways and ski time but this is by far the BEST maintained condo! We would highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location to the slopes!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Property was in excellent condition, well equipped kitchen, very cozy, amazing views. Not far from slopes. Just be careful if it snows, you will need 4-wheel drive!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo & Owners

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

They were very responsive to our needs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow! FANTASTIC PLACE!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

What a fantastic place! We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Your place is well stocked and extremely nice! The views are amazing! We were blessed to have snow and had a blast tearing up the slopes! Look forward to booking again! Thanks for all your kindness and help along the way!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful ski weekend

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We decided to try Sugar Mountain as a first ski trip for our two children and my husband and my first time skiing in NC. We had an absolutely wonderful trip made perfect by the condo. Annie was incredibly nice to talk to and the effort the owners have taken to assure that the condo has everything anyone could want is obvious. The whole Reserve complex is beautifully maintained and this condo was immaculate. I really appreciated all the helpful notes, tips, and restaurant advice that was included also! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed over Christmas week, 2012. I traveled with my wife, my five year old son and my mother and her husband. Our hosts were wonderful in that they answered all questions timely, quickly worked to resolve any issues which may have occurred (the pilot light on the fireplace was out upon arrival and fixed the next day) and evem left a Christmas gift for my 5 year old son. As to the condo, the views were breathtaking. One bit of warning is that any travelers should be prepared to purchase chains if you do not have a 4x4. We had an ice storm in the middle of the night two days before we left. It was followed by two days of intermittent snow. This essentially left us trapped as there was no way for us to get down until the ice melted off. With that said, we enjoyed sitting inside near the fire, watching movies and playing board games inbetween running in and out of the snow showers. It was a short drive to the ski slopes and we traveled to Hawks Nest for tubing and Linville to explore the caves. Given the weather Blowing Rock was closed. We cooked in most night but enjoyed Bella's in Banner Elk. Stay away from Sagebrush Steakhouse in Boone - it was not the same as it was 5 years ago. All in all I would highly recommend this unit for its views and the cordiality of its owners. Thanks for the memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Views

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This property is beautifully furnished, immaculately clean and the views are amazing! The location is convenient to great restaurants, grocery stores, a pharmacy and several unique shops---all within a five to ten minute drive. There are several amazing hiking options--just outside the door. The owners have provided everything you need for a carefree mountain getaway. 'Just pack your bags! You won't want to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mountain Lovers

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

We absolutely loved the view from this lovely condo: National forest properties, multiple mountain ranges and Christmas tree farms. We hiked nearby but always hurried home to sit on the deck and watch as the sun set behind those beautiful mountains. We also appreciated how well appointed the kitchen was as we enjoyed cooking breakfasts and some dinners in. We cannot wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy condo with an incredible view

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

This condo was beautifully decorated and very clean. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners. We really enjoyed the view from the Master bedroom, living room and deck. We plan on staying there again and recommend the condo to others.

We did eat at some restaurants I would like to recommend. Stonewalls in Banner Elk, Nick's Restaurant and Pub in Tynecastle and Canyons in Blowing Rock.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Class

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Wow! That was our reaction when opening the door to this unit.
The mountain views are fantastic. This unit at The Reserve is clean, neat, well stocked kitchen,
Comfy beds and plenty of large fluffy towels. Our stay here was a very delightful one
The area has much to offer for most everyone. We golfed at Sugar Mountain. It was hilly, but fun. There was a problem with the fireplace, I called Annie and the repairman was there early the next day. Annie and Peter were extremely helpful, there is a mountain of information in notebooks just for the renter. We had a wonderful stay and recommend this fashionably furnished unit to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Premier Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

The Reserve at Sugar Mountain is the premier place to stay in the Banner Elk, Sugar Mountain, Linville area. Unlike most of the condos at Sugar Mountain, these are practically new. And, the views are spectacular. This unit was amazingly clean and well stocked, and the owner was super nice. It was one of the best places we’ve ever stayed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break at Sugar MTN

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Our experience here was AWESOME !!! There was plenty to do and great places to eat. We enjoyed snow skiing and the nearby ZIP-LINE. We toured around the area to Banner Elk, Boone, and Blowing Rock. There were many interesting things to see and unique places to shop. My son even put Appalachian State on his list of colleges to look at. The condo was better than described. It was like being at home. The furnishings are top quality and very well maintained. The entire condo was very clean and well organized. The sun set view from the back deck is absolutely incredible!! The area is very peaceful; we even saw deer and raccoons from the back deck. It was my best condo rental ever by far.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well Stocked!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need for cooking, including staple pantry items. Very nice interior furnishings. We'll be back!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

v & B Green Abbeville , AL

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

This is a great place to stay. All the small details that Annie made sure were
there, was great. All the comforts of home and more. We had very little snow but we still ended up having a great time.
Thanks Annie for all your help

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Reserve

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

The Reserve is beautiful, clean, and modern. Can't beat the view and close proximity to slopes, grocery store, and restaurants. Had 14 inches of snow in 2 days. They kept the roads clear and stress free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Granddaughter Mountain condo

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We had a great time at the Granddaughter Mountain condo. It was very clean and well-maintained. The owner was very helpful in answering all of my questions and also sent us a list of main attractions and restaurants in the area. We would definitely recommend this property, and my family is looking forward to going back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Stay at Sugar Mountain's Reserve!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Our family stayed in this beautiful Reserve condo @ Sugar Mountain, NC over Christmas holiday this year and absolutely loved it! Wonderful, convenient location to the slopes and local area. Condo is equipped with all of the comforts of home. Plan to return with our family again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sugar Mountain

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Owners are very helpful. We have stayed in the Reserve several summers, for a month, two and three. The Perfect Place; meaning condo, activities, and weather are great and very comfortable. Just bring golf clubs, tennis racquet, hiking boots or a book. Resturants and shopping are just down the mountain. This property is perfect for a long or short stay. Photos are
exactly as it is. We enjoyed every minute.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect summer climate, beautiful sunsets

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Sugar Mtn. is our favorite in summer, now and for 7 years. This condo has everything you need for a long stay, just bring your golf equiptment, tennis stuff and or hiking boots. The view is spectacular.
I would recommend it. Anne and Peter were very accomodating. We really enjoyed all of it , especially the humming birds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review